View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2015/16

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

fanaticfan
16/07/2015, 10:44 AM
Adare and kilcornan are NOT joining together lads, one of the clubs players refused to join..

Its the under teams that are joining together, not the junior teams

sportsfanatic
16/07/2015, 1:12 PM
Ballingarry have signed 2 or 3 outsiders to add to what they had last year and have a friendly against corbally Sunday morning. Keith Hartnett back to Rathkale is one I'm hearing and is suppose to be true. Goalkeeper for Rathkeale gone back to kildimo after kildimo getting promoted. Broadford have lost big names and with some leaving mid season last year will be hard to get them back now that more have left.

Rovers need to add especially now after losing two good players, if they want to win the league because I do think they have a good chance .
Haven't heard anything from Abbey?

Glin, Kildimo and Killeaney will battle it out for relegation.

fanaticfan
16/07/2015, 4:33 PM
Who are the players ballingarry signed?

sportsfanatic
16/07/2015, 6:15 PM
One or two from Adare, think Barry O Callaghan is one, and one or two from town don't know who they are. New managers also in Ballingarry, Gary Shanahan and Dermot Costello

walkover
17/07/2015, 9:15 AM
Rovers playing friendly at home against Holycross Sat at 7pm

fanaticfan
19/07/2015, 2:51 PM
I heard ray lynch and Marty Foley are staying with Broadford

Dobbo
20/07/2015, 11:03 AM
I heard ray lynch and Marty Foley are staying with Broadford
Was talking to marty last week definitely with charleville this year they are back training since end of June

sportsfanatic
20/07/2015, 11:27 AM
Wouldn't surprise me Fanaticfan, but I did see on Facebook that Charleville were looking for a friendly and to contact Marty??

How did Rovers get on in their friendly Saturday evening? Ballingarry were winning 2:0 against Corbalky Sunday when I left with about 10 minutes to go.

fanaticfan
20/07/2015, 4:05 PM
Dunno if its true or not, only saying what i heard, i heard rovers won 5-1. Joyce got 2 eoin murphy 1 and tony quaid with 2. Looks like he is gone to Rovers if he played in the game and scored two goals

sportsfanatic
20/07/2015, 4:35 PM
We will see in the coming weeks. Rovers will be very strong if they get Quaid but he went to shannonside for a few matches last year so that's probably not set in stone yet either. Great signing if he stays though

last man back
20/07/2015, 6:49 PM
Friday 21st Aug start date

Cruyff
21/07/2015, 6:56 AM
Any teams outside the premier back training (looking for challenge?) yet lads?

sexyfootball
21/07/2015, 8:52 AM
Tony Quaid played with Rovers?? Ah here... if that's true and he signs; be some signing for them. Doesn't bode well for Newcastle West AFC though if he's playing for Rovers. I hope they have all their problems sorted, they seemed to have turned a corner towards the middle of last season.
I also heard Marty & Ray were staying with Broadford... 'spose we won't know until the start of the season!

fanaticfan
21/07/2015, 9:56 AM
I heard broadford held their agm or something last week and they decided to stay with them, but it might be only rumours... was chatting to a ncw player on saturday and he said that quaid went and played for rovers and scored two goals,didnt say anything if he signed for them or anything. He also said ncw were back training since last week and had over 17 at it. That shaka guy who played with broadford is signing for ncw and rathkeales michael quilligan was ther along with keith power..

jackass
21/07/2015, 11:23 AM
heard pj Kinsella and some Keogh fella are over feenagh this year and there back training

sportsfanatic
21/07/2015, 1:05 PM
If NCW sign those boys and keep it together they will be strong too.

fanaticfan
21/07/2015, 1:32 PM
Ya kinsella is over feenagh this year I heard as well. Any preseason friendlies going on this week?

sportsfanatic
21/07/2015, 1:59 PM
Ballingarry have another one Sunday

fanaticfan
21/07/2015, 2:46 PM
Who are they playing sportsfanatic

sportsfanatic
23/07/2015, 9:42 AM
Carew Park,

Newcastle West had a friendly in town last night I believe ? How did they get on?

sportsfanatic
23/07/2015, 10:26 AM
Forms are out today are they?

fanaticfan
23/07/2015, 12:12 PM
The carew match should be a good game. Good hard opposition

sportsfanatic
23/07/2015, 1:02 PM
Very tough game alright, especially away from home. Ballingarry have new management and a few signings so I expect them to be a lot better this season. Be tough to get a result Saturday though

walkover
23/07/2015, 1:05 PM
Rovers beat Granville last night 3-2 (played in the city)

sportsfanatic
23/07/2015, 1:08 PM
Have rovers any new signings? Was Quaid playing with them?

walkover
23/07/2015, 5:31 PM
Quaid and AJ O'Connor both played, and both scored I think. They were still missing a good few players last night due to work

thomas72
23/07/2015, 8:17 PM
Carew v Ballingarry is Saturday

junior scribe
24/07/2015, 10:23 AM
Junior / Youths forms were handed out last night

fanaticfan
24/07/2015, 12:33 PM
So will we assume that quaid is playing with rovers this year? Thought AJ O Connor was gone to fairview?

sportsfanatic
24/07/2015, 1:22 PM
Think he wasn't going to get much game time so decided to stay with rovers, Fair play to him too as many lads are happy to sit on the bench inside there,

Tony went to Shannonside for a few games last season but went back to NCW before the transfer window so id nearly wait until October to see what he does, maybe he has heard NCW might nave a similar team to last year and thinks they won't do well. But earlier post on this suggest that they have got stronger, only time will tell I presume.

Are abbey still as strong as last year?
Have Rathkeale sorted managers and bringing up players from the B's?

sexyfootball
24/07/2015, 4:33 PM
Should we rename this the 'Newcastle West Rovers' Thread :confused: !!
They're only challeneg games lads; can't read too much into them. Fellas are only testing the waters seeing what teams are like, also some fellas just fancy a game of 'ball on a fine evening too regardless of who it's for.
For what it's worth I don't see Tony Quaid signing for them!
Would be interesting to see if Abbeyfeale have signed/ lost any players.
Anyone know how Askeaton are shaping up? Reckon they could give Division 1 a right lash this season, although I do fancy Carrig Celtic to come straight back up.

sportsfanatic
26/07/2015, 8:40 AM
Heard Carew best Ballingarry 4:1. Ballingarry only took in 9 players and the manager played. Loads missing due to hurling and work commitments. Was 1:1 at half time

thomas72
26/07/2015, 11:14 AM
They started with 10 ridiculous coming in with ten players should of cancelled the game when they knew what they had surely knew lads be working Thursday or Friday.
Carew also with 9 players missing work and holidays had bare 11 two more came along at half time

fanaticfan
26/07/2015, 3:07 PM
Went watching Newcastle West play against holycross from limerick league this afternoon. Newcastle had about 18 player togged out. Left with about 15 mins to go and Ncw were up 5-2 at that stage. Any friendlies on today or during the week?

sportsfanatic
28/07/2015, 9:42 PM
They played the whole game with 10

fanaticfan
29/07/2015, 1:11 AM
Bad enough ballingarry had only 10 players due other reasons but carew were at home and could brought B players or youth players to the match. Any other friendlies going on?

thomas72
29/07/2015, 5:37 AM
Carew don't have a B team or youth team

sportsfanatic
29/07/2015, 9:40 AM
Ballingarry are suppose to have another one Thursday Fanaticfan but didn't hear who they are playing!

I presume there will be 4 games played the first two weeks Frifay Sunday Friday Sunday

sexyfootball
29/07/2015, 10:08 AM
Went watching Newcastle West play against holycross from limerick league this afternoon. Newcastle had about 18 player togged out. Left with about 15 mins to go and Ncw were up 5-2 at that stage. Any friendlies on today or during the week?
Newcastle had about 18 togged? Fair play, could be dark horses yet... what kind of a team had they fanaticfan? Would Holycross be considered a decent team?

fanaticfan
29/07/2015, 2:24 PM
Not sure who most of them were to be honest but the ones i knew from watching down through the years were keith power, michael quilligan, that woods guy, ray cahill, sean cronin, tony quaid, that shaka guy who played for broadford, that yound downes fella who was desmond youths player of the year for two years, is it peter his name is or something. Dont know anything about holycross but they had a good strong striker up front.. is there any friendlies around the league where we could go and watch?

sexyfootball
29/07/2015, 3:53 PM
Not sure who most of them were to be honest but the ones i knew from watching down through the years were keith power, michael quilligan, that woods guy, ray cahill, sean cronin, tony quaid, that shaka guy who played for broadford, that yound downes fella who was desmond youths player of the year for two years, is it peter his name is or something. Dont know anything about holycross but they had a good strong striker up front.. is there any friendlies around the league where we could go and watch?

Keith Power's back? Some very good players there (even Rovers' Tony Quaid :eek:) alot of attacking players there apart from Donnchadh Woods... looks like they can still attract players from different clubs though (Rathkeale, Carrig, Broadford).
Although as i've said previously, it is only preseason & can't read too much into these matches.

sportsfanatic
29/07/2015, 9:40 PM
Your right sexyfootball, I wouldn't get too excited about NCW, players are asked to come to games and then fade off after the first or second game.. BUT if they somehow all stay then they will be very strong, but keeping them is the problem, I remember Broadford couldn't get Shakka to play with them so how NCW will will be interesting. No surprise Tony Quaid is back with NCW either

fanaticfan
30/07/2015, 1:14 AM
Any truth in rathkeale being in trouble preseason? Only 3 people turning up for training

sportsfanatic
30/07/2015, 8:24 AM
Heard they were in a bit of trouble alright. Think the chairman is managing the A's (forget his name) until they can find a manager, as no one step forward at the AGM. B's still don't have a manager last I heard. Realistically they should be ok considering it's a big town, B's did well last year and A's are usually challenging for the league. Would expect them to be well off the pace this season with the players they lost, the current bad organisation with no training etc. I think they have senior football this weekend so that could also be the reason to a lack of numbers at training

sportsfanatic
30/07/2015, 2:15 PM
Just found out there that Ballingarry are playing Kildimo in Ballingarry at 7:15, be good match to see what Kildimo will be like for next year

sportsfanatic
30/07/2015, 8:31 PM
Ballingarry 4:1 Kildimo. Both missing players but Ballingarry were far superior. Will be challenging for the league from what I have seen so far, could of won by much more

fanaticfan
03/08/2015, 12:34 PM
Cillian O Connor signed for Newcastle west Rovers from Athea

sexyfootball
05/08/2015, 11:48 AM
Surprising if Rathkeale are struggling... they'll be fine before the start of the season i have no doubt plus as someone said above the GAA would be having a big effect on them.
Ballingarry are a strange one, have some great players and can always threaten any team but need to be more consistent. In fairness they got to the last 8 in Munster last season! Wouldn't surprise me if they were there or there abouts at the end of the season if they signed a few more players.
Who's that Cillian O'Connor; Newcastle West Rovers have signed lads? good player?
Any local friendlies about in the next few days?

junior scribe
05/08/2015, 2:17 PM
Any news from last nights delegate meeting? I know junior season starts on Friday, August 21st with premier and div 1 games with premier games also on Sunday, August 23rd and Sunday, August 30th. Youth starting on Saturday, August 22nd.

Abbeyman
05/08/2015, 5:04 PM
Most clubs are at nothing playing friendly matchs , clubs have players playing hurling and football at this time of the year and it will be difficult get players for opening league games not to mind friendly matches, a heavily populated area like ncw might get away with it but with football this weekend and hurling the following weekend it's only causing unneccesary grief for players