View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2015/16
05/08/2015, 7:26 PM
Surprising if Rathkeale are struggling... they'll be fine before the start of the season i have no doubt plus as someone said above the GAA would be having a big effect on them.
Ballingarry are a strange one, have some great players and can always threaten any team but need to be more consistent. In fairness they got to the last 8 in Munster last season! Wouldn't surprise me if they were there or there abouts at the end of the season if they signed a few more players.
Who's that Cillian O'Connor; Newcastle West Rovers have signed lads? good player?
Any local friendlies about in the next few days?
I think its the Cillian O'Connor that was with Limerick FC Under 19's a good few years back now.
sportsfanatic
05/08/2015, 7:43 PM
Cillian O Connor blonde hair up front for Athea ? Didn't even start a few games for them? Wouldn't write home about him personally
fanaticfan
06/08/2015, 9:58 AM
Ya thats the one sportsfanatic, nothing great to be honest. He loves his drink on a saturday night which is another reason he wouldnt be at the races on a sunday morning
sportsfanatic
06/08/2015, 10:09 AM
Haha that's probably the reason Fanaticfan!
Ballingarry vs Breska Rovers tonight in Ballingarry.
The comment about no frienflies is stupid in my opinion. Yes teams are playing GAA but so what? Most boys play both, frienflies gives teams that have got new management or new players an opportunity to gel. They also give unfit players who may not have played GAA over the summer a bit of match fitness because I personally think you get fitter from playing matches, there's only so much you can do in training. To say "most clubs would be at nothing playing frienflies" would be inaccurate for me because the teams that are well prepared and fit from the start usually have a say in May.
sexyfootball
06/08/2015, 11:17 AM
Sound for that lads, if he played with Limerick U19 he must have something about him... Personally don't really know much about him. best of luck to him anyway.
Both you, sportsfanatic & Abbeyman make good points regarding preseason friendlies, from first hand experience; I know it can be hard trying to get a team together for a match especially if it's away... with fellas committed to GAA and work etc. but as sportsfanatic said they can be very useful to fellas who need to sharpen up if they don't play any GAA and for new players to integrate into a new team with different players.
Abbeyman if you're from Abbeyfeale, how're ye set for the coming season? Retain the 3 trophies? Push on in the national competitions?
Abbeyman
06/08/2015, 3:20 PM
Abbey will be there or thereabouts again , junior footballers lost last night and if seniors don't win tomorrow it'll give a very strong hand from the start where points were lost other years , a reorganised NCW would have to be a big threat and Broadford should be the other danger . Hard to know with other competions , Munster junior the more achievable as city teams more interested in FAI Junior.
thomas72
06/08/2015, 11:05 PM
Carew park 5 Newcastle west rovers 0
junior scribe
08/08/2015, 10:10 AM
Junior Tournament in Athea last Monday
SFs
Na Fianna (Listowel) 1 Athea Utd 1 (Na Fianna on pens)
Glin Rvs 2 Classic FC (Tralee) 0
Final
Na Fianna (Listowel) 2 Glin Rvs 0
sexyfootball
08/08/2015, 3:40 PM
5-0? bit a beating there... wouldn't exactly put them as contenders on that evidence! Prob missing a few, but still...
Shoot
08/08/2015, 11:20 PM
Hi everyone i personally believe that it is getting harder and harder to arrange friendly games in July and August. No matter what club or populated town you are from it will always come down to the local Gaa, how far they have or are going in their respective championships (football /hurling). i don't think there is too many lads who don't play Gaa and only soccer so that one does not wash with me. i know from a friend that Askeaton A only had 2 at training last week regardless of the reasons work gaa etc.. it is too early! They had a friendly last night against Newmarket B lost 2-1 but where missing 7 players due to the normal reasons of Gaa and work. I presume they played B team players so what advantage can mixing A&B players in friendlies do only to see what you have and not have and then come September the players start coming back and of course you can not play friendlies then when the season has started so how long will it take players to gel then. So sorry lads that is my humble opinion
last man back
09/08/2015, 10:12 AM
Your spot on shoot.
sportsfanatic
10/08/2015, 1:38 PM
Corbally 3:4 Ballingarry.
League kicks off in under 2 weeks. When will the fixtures be out?
southern kid
10/08/2015, 2:27 PM
Abbey man, u cannot be involved too much wit yer team as I believe yer A team played two friendlies over the weekend, one against Limerick an one against tipp premier teams an a referee told me yere B team played also in abbeyfeale yesterday??? So to say preseason games are stupid is crazy. Obviously all clubs differ but I always felt good preseason was vital... Games in town start this sunday
junior scribe
10/08/2015, 5:17 PM
Corbally 3:4 Ballingarry.
League kicks off in under 2 weeks. When will the fixtures be out?
Juniors start date: Friday 21st August. This will be followed by fixtures on Sunday 23rd, Friday 28th, Sunday 30th August. No team will be fielded on both Fridays.
Youths: Saturday 22nd August.
sportsfanatic
11/08/2015, 10:35 AM
Although Abbeyman has a point about teams not having a full squad and it sometimes is a bad reflection on the teamif you lose by a few goals because you don't have a full team and I was at the Rovers match and they didn't have a full squad. But saying its a waste of time is a bit much. Like I said earlier getting match fitness and your touch back in a proper soccer match is far better than just training IMO. Yes you won't have everyone due to holidays, GAA and work etc but its quite obvious that a team that plays a few friendly matches before the season starts will be in a good position come the first game of the season.
Any friendlies going on this week??
Ballistinianlad
11/08/2015, 2:01 PM
Division 1 should be tight this year. Lot of good teams. We played Pallas last night in a tournament. Missing 8 due to gaa commitments and lost 5-0. They have a good team tho and I hope they do well. I fancy themselves and Carrig to go up
Have It
13/08/2015, 12:33 AM
First nights fixtures according to the official site
Friday 21st August
Weekly Observer Premier Division (all 7pm)
Glin Rovers V Killeaney
Kildimo Utd V Shannonside FC
Newcastle West Rovers V Broadford Utd in Woodfield Estate
Newcastle West V Ballingarry
Rathkeale V Abbeyfeale Utd
Weekly Observer Division 1 (all 7pm)
Athea Utd V Carrig Celtic
Breska Rovers V Pallaskenry
Feenagh V Glantine
Rockhill Rovers V Askeaton
old man
13/08/2015, 10:20 AM
Rathkeale v Abbey should be good.was told Rathkeale were finding it hard to field a team.which I find very hard to believe,since they have a fine prem team and a solid B team
fanaticfan
13/08/2015, 7:44 PM
I heard they were in trouble preseason but they will definitely have a team , no doubt bout that. Who do ye think will be good this year and not so good?
fanaticfan
13/08/2015, 7:46 PM
Any know the fixtures for the second or 3rd division?
sportsfanatic
14/08/2015, 9:24 AM
I reckon they will be out Sunday night Fanaticfan.
Friendly last night; Rathkeale 1:1 Ballingarry
Predictions for next Friday's games:
Glin 2:1 Killeaney
Kildimo 0:0 Shannonside
Rovers 1:2 Broadford
NCW 2:2 Ballingarry
Rathkeale 1:3 Abbeyfeale
Anyone else??
fanaticfan
14/08/2015, 9:53 AM
Glin 2-2 Killeaney
Kildimo 1-2 Shannonside
Newcastle Rovers 3-1 Broadford
Newcastle West Afc 4-2 Ballingarry
Rathkeale 2-3 Abbeyfeale
Have It
17/08/2015, 1:56 AM
Friday 21st August
Weekly Observer Premier Division (all 7pm)
Glin Rovers V Killeaney (G. O’Connor)
Kildimo Utd V Shannonside FC (T. Fitzmaurice)
Newcastle West Rovers V Broadford Utd in Woodfield Estate (P. Manning)
Newcastle West V Ballingarry (J. Roche)
Rathkeale V Abbeyfeale Utd (D. O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 1 (all 7pm)
Athea Utd V Carrig Celtic (P. O’Brien)
Breska Rovers V Pallaskenry (P. O’Connor)
Feenagh V Glantine (P. King)
Rockhill Rovers V Askeaton (L. O’Connor)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Saturday 22nd August
Youths Division 1
Newcastle West Rovers V Killeaney 230 (D. O’Gorman) in Woodfield Estate
Askeaton V Newcastle West 230 (P. King)
GB Rovers V Rathkeale 230 (G. O’Connor)
Youths Division 2
Athea Utd V Feenagh 230 (J. Molyneaux)
Carrig Celtic V AK Utd 230 (S. Hartnett)
Glantine V Broadford Utd 230 (P. O’Brien)
Pallaskenry V Shannonside FC 230 (E. Barrett)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Sunday 23rd August
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Broadford Utd V Newcastle West 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Killeaney V Rathkeale 1130 (J. Roche)
Ballingarry V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 (P. O’Connor)
Shannonside FC V Glin Rovers in Shanagolden 1130 (L. O’Connor)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Kildimo Utd 1130 (P. King)
Weekly Observer Division 1
Carrig Celtic V Feenagh 1130 (P. Manning)
Pallaskenry V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 (L. O’Connor)
Glantine V Athea Utd 1130 (E. Barrett)
Askeaton V Breska Rovers 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Rathkeale B V Rockhill Rovers 230 (P. Manning)
Weekly Observer Division 2
Ballysteen V St. Itas 230 (J. Molyneaux)
Granagh Utd V AK Utd 1130 (S. Hartnett)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Creeves Celtic 230 in Woodfield Estate (T. Fitzmaurice)
Bally Rovers V Shountrade 230 (G. O’Connor)
Adare Utd V Old Mill 1130 (P. Manning)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Friday 28th August
Weekly Observer Division 1 (645pm)
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Rathkeale B
Weekly Observer Division 2 (all 645pm)
St. Itas V Newcastle West Rovers B
AK Utd V Adare Utd in Kilcornan
Creeves Celtic V Ballysteen
Shountrade V Granagh Utd
Old Mill V Bally Rovers
fanaticfan
17/08/2015, 10:28 AM
When is the 3rd division starting anyone know? Is there no premier division games on friday 28th
last man back
17/08/2015, 6:22 PM
Ak utd and adare ? Whats the story there i taught ak was adare and kilcornan
fanaticfan
17/08/2015, 8:55 PM
I think AK utd are kilcornan in juniors and kilcornan and adare together for underage
WhoShotJR
18/08/2015, 11:27 AM
I think AK utd are kilcornan in juniors and kilcornan and adare together for underage
Its Askeaton and Kilcornan from what I can see
fanaticfan
18/08/2015, 11:39 AM
Its definitely not Askeaton. AK Utd is adare and kilcornan at underage level... but i think AK Utd in junior level is just kilcornan, i could be wrong
sexyfootball
18/08/2015, 2:19 PM
Here are all the winners and runners up for the season lads...
Prem. :Winners - Abbeyfeale Runners-Up - Broadford
Div. 1 :Winners - Carrig Celtic Runners-Up - Abbey B
Div. 2 :Winners - Granagh Utd Runners-Up - Creeves
Div. 3 :Winners - Knockaderry Runners-Up - Glin B
My score predictions for this Friday nights games.
Glin 5:0 Killeaney
Kildimo 1:2 Shannonside
NCW Rovers 1:3 Broadford
NCW AFC 2:2 Ballingarry
Rathkeale 0:3 Abbeyfeale
fanaticfan
19/08/2015, 12:09 PM
Here are my winners and runners up.
Prem. :Winners - Abbeyfeale Runners-Up - Newcastle West
Div. 1 :Winners - Carrig Celtic Runners-Up - Rathkeale B
Div. 2 :Winners - St Itas Runners-Up - Creeves
Div. 3 :Winners - Glin B Runners-Up - Knockaderry or Newcastle West B
I'm gonna make a bold prediction and say that not only will abbeyfeale retain their treble but will also go the season unbeaten in the league. Runners up to be someone like Broadford.
SixPack
21/08/2015, 3:29 PM
Did you leave the word "Rovers" out of your prediction fanaticfan :confused:
Abbeyfeale look strong but I am sure other teams will feel they have a chance like Ballingarry, Broadford & Newcastle Rvs.
Game of the night b'ford v ncw rvs ?
old man
21/08/2015, 3:57 PM
Hi lads.im working late tonight so I can't watch any matchs.when ye know the results could ye post them up please
last man back
21/08/2015, 8:58 PM
Rathkeale 0 Abbeyfeale 4
rovers 3 Broadford 1
newcastlewest 7 Ballingarry 2 ( just heard this one, 2nd hand info) big win for NCW
went to rovers game, Broadford led 1 nil ht, good finish from ray lynch, rovers got the 3rd with time almost up.
broadford gone back a bit on tonites performance
fourfour3
21/08/2015, 8:59 PM
Rovers beat broadford 3-1. Wasn't at it but was told rovers were well on top even though they went down 1-0. Could have scored a couple more supposedly.
sportsfanatic
21/08/2015, 9:06 PM
Rathkeale 0:4 Abbey
Broadford 1:3 Rovers
NCW 6:2 Ballingarry
Killeaney vs Glin off
Anything from Shannonside?
last man back
21/08/2015, 9:24 PM
Killeaney starting early this year !!
Johnnie C
21/08/2015, 9:29 PM
Feenagh 2 Glantine 0.
I think that Killeaney v Glin game was re- fixed for next Wednesday evening.
Zenith
22/08/2015, 12:38 PM
Kildimo 2-1 Shannonside
Battery Rover
23/08/2015, 1:02 PM
Ballysteen V St. Itas 230 (J. Molyneaux)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Creeves Celtic 230 in Woodfield Estate (T. Fitzmaurice)
Bally Rovers V Shountrade 230 (G. O’Connor)
Adare Utd V Old Mill 1130 (P. Manning)
Granagh Utd 2 AK Utd 3
Any scores from the others
Cruyff
23/08/2015, 4:38 PM
Ballysteen 1-1 St Ita's
Ita's could have won by 5 goals had they taken even half of their chances.
churchtownroad
23/08/2015, 4:56 PM
Adare 1-0 Old Mill
fanaticfan
23/08/2015, 5:42 PM
Newcastle Rovers 2-0 creeves
bally rovers 1-1 shauntrade
Ballistinianlad
24/08/2015, 1:48 AM
Ballysteen 1-1 St Ita's. Home side definitely the happier of the teams. Both had a player sent off for an off the ball incident.
Pallaskenry 8-1 abbey b. Good win for Pallas. Played some great ball apparently.
fanaticfan
24/08/2015, 10:47 AM
Sunday 30th August
Newcastle West Rovers V Newcastle West (T. Fitzmaurice)
Rathkeale V Ballingarry 1130 (P. O’Connor)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Killeaney V Shannonside FC 1130 (P. Manning)
Athea Utd V Feenagh 1130 (J. Molyneaux)
Breska Rovers V Rockhill Rovers 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Rathkeale B V Carrig Celtic 230 (P. O’Brien)
Pallaskenry V Askeaton 1130 (P. King)
Ballysteen V Newcastle West Rovers B 1130 (E. Barrett)
Granagh Utd V Bally Rovers 1130 (J. Roche)
Adare Utd V Creeves Celtic 230 (P. King)
Old Mill V St. Itas 1130 (D. Wallace)
AK Utd V Shountrade in Kilcornan 230 (D. O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 3
Newcastle West B V Glin Rovers B 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Kildimo Utd B V Askeaton B 230 (P. O’Connor)
Ballingarry B V Carrig Celtic B 230 (P. Manning)
Ferry Rangers V Shannonside FC B 230 (J. Molyneaux)
Feenagh B V Knockaderry 230 (S. Hartnett)
Glantine B V Pallaskenry B 230 (G. O’Connor)
fanaticfan
24/08/2015, 10:56 AM
Newcastle West Rovers V Newcastle West DRAW
Rathkeale V Ballingarry HOME
Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd HOME
Killeaney V Shannonside FC DRAW
Athea Utd V Feenagh DRAW
Breska Rovers V Rockhill Rovers HOME
Rathkeale B V Carrig Celtic DRAW
Pallaskenry V Askeaton HOME
Ballysteen V Newcastle West Rovers B AWAY
Granagh Utd V Bally Rovers HOME
Adare Utd V Creeves Celtic AWAY
Old Mill V St. Itas AWAY
AK Utd V Shountrade DRAW
Not sure about the 3rd division
walkover
24/08/2015, 11:43 AM
Anyone know all the results from the premier division games on Sunday?
sexyfootball
24/08/2015, 11:58 AM
Things we've learned from the first weekend (in my opinion):
1. Abbeyfeale will take some stopping this season - have improved since last season have won their first 2 games handily; could have beaten Kildimo by more; the team to beat.
2. Broadford have lost a few players since last season (a lot of young players in now) will struggle to challenge this season... on early evidence.
3. NCW Rovers have won their first 2 games but nearly let a 3 goal lead slip v 10 man Ballingarry (who were hammed by NCW on the Friday night); & have lost a few players since last season. will be there or there abouts but will probably fall short.
4. Newcastle West demolished Ballingarry in their first game of the season. Have made some very good signings & look best placed to challenge Abbeyfeale.
5. Rathkeale convincingly beaten by Abbeyfeale; seem to be in the same boat as Broadford will find it tough this season.
I know teams have played only 2 games (some only 1) but if teams don't have players in place now, it will be very hard to make up the ground (points) later on in the season.
The game between NCW Rovers & Newcastle West this weekend will tell a lot of how those teams will do this season.
I see NCW Rovers 'B' are down to play at 11.30 away to Ballysteen & there's no time for the NCW Rvs v NCW AFC game, 'twill hardly be at 2.30 will it?
fanaticfan
24/08/2015, 2:28 PM
Great post sexy football, agree with everything you said. I just noticed it there also after you said it about the Newcastle rovers vs newcastle west game. Usually B teams dont play same time as their A team in case the A team need some players from the B side. So maybe it will be half two because Ncw Rovers B and Ncw B are playing ar half 11
fanaticfan
24/08/2015, 2:31 PM
Anyone know all the results from the premier division games on Sunday?
Sunday 23rd August
Broadford Utd V Newcastle West (off due to bereavement )
Killeaney 1-4 Rathkeale
Ballingarry 2-3 Newcastle Rovers
Shannonside FC 0-0 Glin Rovers
Abbeyfeale Utd 7-1 Kildimo Utd (i think)