Friday

Athlone Town v Cabinteeley FC

UCDAFC v Waterford United

Saturday

Wexford Youths v Finn Harps 7pm

Cobh Ramblers v Shelbourne

seand
17/04/2015, 11:14 AM
Rovers conceded one goal in 7.... Dundalk conceded one goal in 7.... draw not a bad result for either..... gotta be worth a fiver on 0-0?

whitehall
17/04/2015, 12:05 PM
Rovers conceded one goal in 7.... Dundalk conceded one goal in 7.... draw not a bad result for either..... gotta be worth a fiver on 0-0?
I was just thinking the same, under 1.5 goals anyway. ;)

17/04/2015, 6:25 PM

6/1 on that, not bad value. Hard to see neither scoring though really.

17/04/2015, 7:04 PM
Athlone 1-1 Cabinteely

Cabo took the lead after 4 minutes.

patrickccfc
17/04/2015, 7:11 PM
City 1-0 up in Drogheda, Billy dennehy with the goal

patrickccfc
17/04/2015, 7:11 PM
Make that 2-0 djilali

17/04/2015, 7:52 PM
Galway 1-1 Limerick HT

patrickccfc
17/04/2015, 8:09 PM
Upset on the cards in athlone as cabinteely go 2-1 up, Ronan Finn scores in tallaght to put dundalk 2 up

patrickccfc
17/04/2015, 8:13 PM
Shamrock Rovers 0 - 2 Dundalk
46' - Goal -
Ronan Finn scores for Dundalk. Amazingly Finn scores his first goal for Dundalk against his employers

Finn scores against his employers?

patrickccfc
17/04/2015, 8:26 PM
All change in tallaght after Rogers red card drennan scored the resulting penalty and has now scored a second

Meanwhile, Drogheda pull one back against city in the 81st minute

17/04/2015, 8:33 PM
Galway 3-1 Limerick, 5 mins to go.

patrickccfc
17/04/2015, 8:44 PM
Big win for ourselves in Drogheda tonight.. not looking past longford on Monday but dundalk next week is going to be massive.. poor cabo coughing up a late equalizer

17/04/2015, 9:03 PM
That was a serious blow dealt by Dundalk to the Tallaght team's title ambitions and goal machine McMillan scores again.

17/04/2015, 9:03 PM
FT Galway 3-2 Limerick

17/04/2015, 9:33 PM
Really enjoyable second half in the Bowl tonight. Waterford weren't up to much, but it was our first really promising performance of the season. Some of the players are starting to find their feet at this level, and get that bit of extra confidence, and it's showing. With no-one really stamping their authority on the division, I reckon we could be a good bet for the play-offs, which I had more or less ruled out after losing three of the first four games.

17/04/2015, 9:33 PM
That was a serious blow dealt by Dundalk to the Tallaght team's title ambitions and goal machine McMillan scores again.

Doubt its a serious blow. First big test for Dundalk (Pats 9 men doesnt count) and we coughed up a 2 goal lead, even if the 2nd was against 10 men. In the end it was a point gained. Assuming we get the form guide result against Galway on Monday then Friday night really will be a corker!

ridiculous pun!!

Yossarian
17/04/2015, 9:36 PM
Two mistakes from the centre halves cost us the game. Let the ball bounce and got caught. We should have held out after going two up but did well to get a draw out of it.
It's a rare sight to see the guards and stewards in front of the home fans to keep them off the pitch but that's rovers for ya.

Calcio Jack
17/04/2015, 10:01 PM
Rovers gifted Duns 2-0 goals a minute either side of ht having shaded proceedings until then.

Rodgers then made a dumb tackle to give away peno and red card.

Drennan then destroyed Boyle and finished spectacularly . Rovers should of gone onto win but Drennan missed an absolute sitter .

Overall when 11 v 11 Dundalk looked a pale shadow of last year and Towell was very poor.

Based on this evening I think Rovers have a more than decent chance of winning the league as we're a work in progress and will get better as the season progresses - big question is will Dundalk rekindle their swagger of last year- with Cork in the mix think we're heading for a decent 3 way title battle with Pats maybe as well.

Highlight of tonight was the way Drennan celebrated his second goal in front of the away section- he's starting to look like Twigg v 2- he can finish as well as him and celebrates with the same enthusiasm ,

So cracking game and also a decent crowd, I'd est. 4,800

mcgonigle
17/04/2015, 10:14 PM
Don't agree with most of that. Thought we were the better side and deserved to be ahead. Before the sending off it looked like it could be a route.

It was a gift that got Rovers back into it when they looked buried. Second was a gift as well. Rovers looked clueless after that and I thought we held out comfortably.

Oh and the highlight of the game was Drennan blazing over from 6 yards, perfect karma ;)

17/04/2015, 10:20 PM
The Dundalk fans gave it back to Drennan when he missed the sitter :D
If you think he's the new Twigg i have news for you,he isn't!
Dundalk rode a rocky spell for about 15 mins in the 1st half but then it was all Dundalk and Meenan should have fired us ahead but paniced and shot at Hyland.Rovers started getting sloppy at the back and it was no surprise to me when McMillan scored because we had come into the game more.The goal straight after half-time from Finn came about from more Rovers sloppiness at the back and he celebrated it like a King.Then comes the Rogers sending off/pen and the whole game flips.Drennan scored a great goal for his and Rovers second and i thought that we would lose then but we didn't panic and seen the game out for a point that most of us would have settled for before the match.Cracking game of ball played in an atmosphere(2nd half anyway) that only this league can produce.

WoodquayBoy
17/04/2015, 10:25 PM
Delighted with the win but good God, we should have scored 6 or 7. Limerick very poor in first half, improved in second half but can be no argument with the result. Hats off to the traveling support, they sang for the 90 minutes and well after the game, the noisiest and most atmospheric fans we've had in Eamonn Deacy Park this season. Onwards and upwards now, doddle of a game on Monday on the plastic.

White Horse
17/04/2015, 10:30 PM
Crazy game in Tallaght.

I thought we were going to cruise to victory. Rovers had nothing up front in the first half and were completely toothless.

Then the ref gives them a penalty for a foul that was a yard outside the box and we were down to 10 men and lost our composure for 10 minutes.

Rovers then huffed and puffed for 30 minutes and McMillan nearly scores a winner in the 97th minute.

Who said the LOI is boring?

17/04/2015, 10:31 PM
That's the most fun I've had in Tallaght in years. I'll even accept the odd free goal gifted to the opposition as long as there's some sort of intent to win the game.

Thought Rovers had shaded it marginally until the goal, but once the second went in I expected Dundalk just to pick us off for the rest of the game, but they sat back and Rogers let us back into it. First impression was he fouled Brennan (I think) outside the box but I suppose that's the risk you take with professional fouls. We really should have won it in the end but I don't think we're solid enough to really pressurise teams. Drennan is a diamond.

Louth4sam
17/04/2015, 10:39 PM
That's the most fun I've had in Tallaght in years. I'll even accept the odd free goal gifted to the opposition as long as there's some sort of intent to win the game.

Thought Rovers had shaded it marginally until the goal, but once the second went in I expected Dundalk just to pick us off for the rest of the game, but they sat back and Rogers let us back into it. First impression was he fouled Brennan (I think) outside the box but I suppose that's the risk you take with professional fouls. We really should have won it in the end but I don't think we're solid enough to really pressurise teams. Drennan is a diamond.

It was 100% outside the box and footage on Monday will show this. Doyle's performance was disgusting tonight

17/04/2015, 10:41 PM
Apart from that decision I can't think of any glaring bad decisions.

17/04/2015, 10:49 PM

Yeah that ONE!
The biggest decision in the match like!! :rolleyes:

17/04/2015, 10:53 PM
Well when you're talking about terrible performances you usually mean the referee did more than one thing wrong.

Louth4sam
17/04/2015, 10:54 PM

Any 50/50 challenge went Rovers way for a free.
Horgan and Madden went in together Madden jumps on the ground free out. Few minutes later dives the far end looking for a free Doyle waves him up, no yellow card.
Massey jumps straight up in the air, Rovers player back in to him. Free to Rovers.
North jumps up in the air kicks one of the dundalk players in the stomach right in front of ref. Free out no yellow card
Towell wins ball cleanly. Free kick and yellow card.

Those just off the top of my head. Probably a load more. His refereeing is beyond suspect when it comes to Rovers games. Apparently there is footage of him pointing for a free and then awarding the penalty after.

17/04/2015, 10:56 PM
Rovers have quite a soft underbelly. Apart from being easily knocked over and seemingly injured, teams can get at them if they dont sit back. I think we were over confident in our ability to close out a game. If we had continued to push as if it was 0-0 or 1 down when we were 2 to the good we'd have taken the 3 points. Dunno myself why a peno was given, agreed Doyle was bad but there was an awful lot of gamesmanship going on, slowing the match right down at times. Rogers has nearly been caught out a couple of times this season already, I do think he is better overall than Cherrie, but not as much as initially expected. Maybe he will grow in to the season as I would epect the rest of the side to do and improve. Chance now for Sava to put a bit of pressure on the first choice keeper.

17/04/2015, 11:02 PM
Could think of plenty of counter-examples too, like Towell getting away with taking out Cregg after the pass in the first half or playing on after Kenna had been caught with studs, but a game like this will always have loads of 50/50 calls and some wrong decisions. Doyle's an OK ref and it's a big accusation to claim somebody is biased.

As for the penalty, I read that but I was looking at Doyle from the moment Brennan went down and it looked like he pointed straight to the box but the players weren't sure what he was actually indicating.

Louth4sam
17/04/2015, 11:05 PM
Doyle's an OK ref and it's a big accusation to claim somebody is biased.

He's a Rovers fan, how can he not be? If I was referring a Dundalk vs Rovers match, it would have been a similar performance as Doyles tonight but in reverse.

Louth4sam
17/04/2015, 11:06 PM
Could think of plenty of counter-examples too, like Towell getting away with taking out Cregg after the pass in the first half or playing on after Kenna had been caught with studs,

And Kenna wasn't caught by studs. It was a 50/50 ball and if anything it was an overzealous challenge by Kenna. It was right in front of me. Don't remember the Towell one

Ezeikial
17/04/2015, 11:08 PM
Rovers gifted Duns 2-0 goals a minute either side of ht having shaded proceedings until then.

Thought Rovers had shaded it marginally until the goal,

I think ye are both badly deluded

Overall when 11 v 11 Dundalk looked a pale shadow of last year and Towell was very poor.

Before the sending off, Dundalk were strolling at 2-0

17/04/2015, 11:10 PM
He's a Rovers fan, how can he not be? If I was referring a Dundalk vs Rovers match, it would have been a similar performance as Doyles tonight but in reverse.
Because it's his job.

Kenna looked clear-cut to me. Looked like McMillan had a little push on Webster before the first goal too. Sometimes things that look one-way live look a different way on replay. I think it's absurd to suggest all the decisions went Rovers' way regardless.

WoodquayBoy
17/04/2015, 11:12 PM
It was 100% outside the box and footage on Monday will show this. Doyle's performance was disgusting tonight
As it was last week when awarding Sligo a ridiculous promo against us, but he still gets a game tonight, and its Rovers as well (considering his 'connection' with the Hoops, previous season ticket holder I think?)

Ezeikial
17/04/2015, 11:15 PM
I don't think Doyle is biased; incompetent perhaps, but that is the norm we have come to expect.

17/04/2015, 11:15 PM

You may be doing yourselves a disservice here, if you are comparing Dundalk v Rovers last season as opposed to this seasons. Maybe Fenlon has closed the gap on the quality of the respective sides?

Louth4sam
17/04/2015, 11:22 PM
Because it's his job.

And this means he can make a split second decision without prejudice both consciously and subconsciously when he has an emotional attachment on the outcome?

17/04/2015, 11:26 PM
And this means he can make a split second decision without prejudice both consciously and subconsciously when he has an emotional attachment on the outcome?
Ah would you go away, he's not a superfan like Maxi. Adults are able to put aside their feelings to act impartially all the time in the real world.

17/04/2015, 11:36 PM
Ah would you go away, he's not a superfan like Maxi. Adults are able to put aside their feelings to act impartially all the time in the real world.

I agree, Dinny McArdle managed to put aside his hometown status in an especially effective manner in the past. I shall especially be looking forward to Doyle running the show against Rovers title rivals from now on, and unbiased reviews of his performances.

17/04/2015, 11:38 PM
As long as he keeps fixing games for Rovers I'll keep the good reviews flowing.

17/04/2015, 11:53 PM
Anyway any other games tonight? :D:ball:

wonder88
18/04/2015, 12:03 AM
So two weeks in a row Doyle gets crucial penalty decisions wrong. Galway were robbed last week. I myself consider him one of the best refs in the LoI, but if he keeps this up

wonder88
18/04/2015, 12:06 AM
Enda Curran got 2 goals tonight. Think he is a player with some potential and can see why Roddy Collins rated him.

PartySaint
18/04/2015, 12:27 AM

Is he still allowed ref Rovers games? Ha, I wonder if he's still a member?

Pats first 'big' win of the season, Bohs knock the ball around well but don't have much upfront.

We still won't be anywhere near making a title challenge this year

18/04/2015, 12:33 AM
Jaysus, he's a member now? He'll be on the board by tomorrow at this rate.

PartySaint
18/04/2015, 12:34 AM
Jaysus, he's a member now? He'll be on the board by tomorrow at this rate.

He was previously, his father certainly still is

18/04/2015, 12:40 AM
If you say so.

Olander
18/04/2015, 1:16 AM
Relieved to win tonight. We made such hard work of a game we should have been out of sight in. Limerick were very poor, we were understrength tonight and with the amount of chances we created, we should easily have scored 5-6 goals. We need to start being more ruthless in front of goal or better teams will continue to punish us.