View Full Version : LOI fixtures 17th - 20th April
20/04/2015, 9:17 PM
We just keep getting worse. My god. A terrible derry team beat us handy. I knew we were going to be bad this year but I have been shocked by the genuine lack of quality in every team I've seen play so far this season.
That's the worst thing. A lot of teams have come and done nothing special at all, and still walked away with 3 points.
White Horse
20/04/2015, 9:36 PM
Great to see a team with the confidence to come to Oriel and attack. Galway were terrific in the first half, they controlled the game with intensity and good ball control. They deserved a goal for their good play but just couldn't get behind Dundalk's defence.
Galway gave away a needless penalty when the defender misjudged McMillans pace and clipped him as he was running away from goal. There was no need to make the tackle.
Once Galway had to chase the game they were vulnerable on the break.
However, after seeing the likes of Drogheda and Longford come to Oriel and park the bus, Galway's approach was refreshing.
Richie Towell will be happy with his hat-trick. However, he is still not at his best but is getting better with each game.
PartySaint
20/04/2015, 9:59 PM
Is this season over yet??? Sh*te again tonight, Drogheda are awful, dropping 2 points at home to them is criminal
20/04/2015, 10:57 PM
That was a crazy tackle from the American lad for the Dundalk penalty.
Just back from Tallaght. Rovers were alright but Bray were terrible, although to be fair they had to play the same XI as on Friday whereas we made changes. A better attacking team than us would have hit a couple more goals. A bit worried Danny North still isn't fit enough to make a proper appearance - kept on the bench tonight and presumably never came on because of Webster's injury. Hope he's not out for too long because he's been immense for us.
wonder88
20/04/2015, 11:04 PM
Agree with the Limerick fans, nothing special about Derry but won easy enough. Keeper should do some kicking practice this week.
21/04/2015, 1:01 AM
Longford are the best side I've seen at the Cross this season. The are solid, soaked up a lot of pressure and caused us problems.
First goal came from a Billy Dennehy cross that went over the keeper hit the post and bounced down to an unmarked Garry Buckley. Second was a direct free kick from Colin Healy from the side of the box that he hit in between head and waist height that no one got a touch on.
Longford fans were impressive, only about 10 of them but they never stopped singing.
And that was far from our best XI (know ye were missing key players as well) Dave Sully only came on as a sub and had an immediate impact, TC should have had him on earlier as it was game over as soon as Healy made it 2-0 (Healy was a joy to watch tonight). Also Pat Sullivan out for us which was a shock to us all, will be interesting to hear why he missed out. Aymen Ben Moahmed with another big impact for us but like sully didn't start as we have a massive game against Drogheda on Friday. Should take at least a point off them.
21/04/2015, 1:20 AM
And that was far from our best XI (know ye were missing key players as well) Dave Sully only came on as a sub and had an immediate impact, TC should have had him on earlier as it was game over as soon as Healy made it 2-0 (Healy was a joy to watch tonight). Also Pat Sullivan out for us which was a shock to us all, will be interesting to hear why he missed out. Aymen Ben Moahmed with another big impact for us but like sully didn't start as we have a massive game against Drogheda on Friday. Should take at least a point off them.
Renewing his vows?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/04/2015, 7:51 AM
Just back from Tallaght. Rovers were alright but Bray were terrible, although to be fair they had to play the same XI as on Friday whereas we made changes. A better attacking team than us would have hit a couple more goals. A bit worried Danny North still isn't fit enough to make a proper appearance - kept on the bench tonight and presumably never came on because of Webster's injury. Hope he's not out for too long because he's been immense for us.
Hosting live streams at the ground?
Dalymountrower
21/04/2015, 8:39 AM
Only real surprise last night was Pats dropping two points.Didn'make it up to Sligo ..Are the natives getting restless with Heary?
ciaraa
21/04/2015, 10:26 AM
Is this season over yet??? Sh*te again tonight, Drogheda are awful, dropping 2 points at home to them is criminal
st pats will drop a lot more points with forward play like last night. abysmal up front. their 2nd goal was a gift from drogs defence. tons of posession but when it came to finishing off moves it was panic stations or ignore the obvious lay off for a chance of personal glory.
gufcfan
21/04/2015, 10:48 AM
I don't know about that penalty given against Garcia for taking down McMillan. Looks like he threw himself down or fell over. (http://www.gfycat.com/RecklessMarvelousIvorybilledwoodpecker#?speed=0.5)
dublinwanderer
21/04/2015, 10:59 AM
We were terrible last night! Started the game ok, but once Rovers scored that was it! Fahey was poor in the 1st half and gave the ball away a lot but then his quality showed with his crosses for the goals! I wasnt expecting to get anything from the game, Saturday will be the big one for us! The sooner we get our new manager the better!
21/04/2015, 11:02 AM
Diverted on the way home from Bray?
White Horse
21/04/2015, 11:11 AM
I don't know about that penalty given against Garcia for taking down McMillan. Looks like he threw himself down or fell over. (http://www.gfycat.com/RecklessMarvelousIvorybilledwoodpecker#?speed=0.5)
I was only a few feet away. Garcia thought he was going to get to the ball comfortably. McMillan came from the blind side, nipped in ahead of him and Garcia caught him.
21/04/2015, 11:12 AM
Diverted on the way home from Bray?
Maybe stopped at the pub in Tallaght on the way home? Our Charlie Darwin is one mysterious fella.
21/04/2015, 11:53 AM
Hosting live streams at the ground?
Bray :o
All these places in Wicklow look the same to me.
21/04/2015, 12:48 PM
I thought we did OK up until you took the lead, we stayed Rovers and created a few chances but once the goal went in, which was offside, you dominated the game in every area. Really should have won by 5 or 6. The big game for us will be on Saturday against Galway
21/04/2015, 1:36 PM
We were terrible last night! Started the game ok, but once Rovers scored that was it! Fahey was poor in the 1st half and gave the ball away a lot but then his quality showed with his crosses for the goals! I wasnt expecting to get anything from the game, Saturday will be the big one for us! The sooner we get our new manager the better!
Has the caretaker not done a good job though? Thought most bray fans would be keen to keep him (I know he can't stay on more than 60 days due to license) but more than likely a token manager will be appointed and he will still call the shots as we've seen at LOI clubs in the past.
21/04/2015, 1:42 PM
Has the caretaker not done a good job though? Thought most bray fans would be keen to keep him (I know he can't stay on more than 60 days due to license) but more than likely a token manager will be appointed and he will still call the shots as we've seen at LOI clubs in the past.
90 days far as I know. But I too thought this Polish fella was very highly thought of around Bray and a lot of people pushing for him to look after the first team on a permanent basis.
da bishop
21/04/2015, 9:34 PM
Agree with the Limerick fans, nothing special about Derry but won easy enough. Keeper should do some kicking practice this week.Maybe the keeper coach should do some too as O Donnell is making the same mistakes since game one.
gufcfan
21/04/2015, 10:57 PM
McMillan came from the blind side, nipped in ahead of him and Garcia caught him.
Looks a clear dive to me. Others have said the same as you but changed their mind after seeing replay.
If he caught him, how did he exactly? Genuine question.
Ezeikial
21/04/2015, 11:10 PM
Looks a clear dive to me. Others have said the same as you but changed their mind after seeing replay.
If he caught him, how did he exactly? Genuine question.
My immediate reaction was that it was a soft penalty and seeing it back reconfirms that. During his time at Dundalk, McMillan has no track record of diving and it is not at all clear like you suggest. He certainly cut in front of Garcia and was probably inviting contact. The relatively muted reaction from Garcia and other Galway players suggests that there was some sort of contact.
While the opening goal is always significant, Dundalk were worthy winners with or without the penalty award. Fair play to Galway though for giving it a go.