View Full Version : Fixtures Weekend April 3rd-5th

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

PartySaint
07/04/2015, 11:04 AM
I think the key for Pats is having defensive consistency. Get our first choice back five playing regularly and we'll be grand. That's what killed us last year. Attack wise I think we're absolutely fine. Would prefer Fahey to have stayed, but c'est la vie.

He's left a huge gap which we haven't got close to filling (we actually haven't replaced John Russell really) Chambers isn't up to it IMO.

Maybe Forrester in the middle with Brennan and Bolger would work better.

desaintsno.12
07/04/2015, 11:05 AM
Pitch is usually good. I'd imagine it will be again when there's been a bit more growth and less rain. I didn't think it was that bad to be honest, just not as good as it usually is.

it looked fine, but it was just fairly "bobbly" in places

The Donie Forde
07/04/2015, 1:00 PM
Bohs look pretty strange in green!

L.T.F.C.
07/04/2015, 1:11 PM
Jjjjjjjjjjjjjzjjjzjjjjjjjjjjjzj~ ^ 1¹
®™™

ccqttyç
qq6
VB yv 6y

patrickccfc
07/04/2015, 2:24 PM
®™™

ccqttyç
qq6
VB yv 6y

I totally agree, in fact I was just thinking of posting it up before I saw it

Eminence Grise
07/04/2015, 3:13 PM
Looks to be a lot of
Jjjjjjjjjjjjjzjjjzjjjjjjjjjjjzj on your keyboard. You might want to clear your history!!:p

MeathDrog
07/04/2015, 4:31 PM
®™™

ccqttyç
qq6
VB yv 6y

No sh*t.

legendz
07/04/2015, 10:00 PM
Cork City seem to be the most vibrant club at this time. A baton that gets handed around in relay turns nearly. In recent enough times, Shamrock were vibrant and then Sligo. What's going on at Sligo?

Dalymountrower
07/04/2015, 10:33 PM
. What's going on at Sligo?
Either not enough or too many ex Bohs players.

sulywaterfordfc
08/04/2015, 3:14 PM
Brian Nolan's worldie Friday night https://youtu.be/xqbS1Au4K0o

08/04/2015, 3:31 PM
Shocking pitch in Longford tonight as well.

Really enjoyable game, not sure how it only ended 2-2, I hope Cowan is ok he absolutely tore us apart tonight, same trick every time but very effective.

Longford look dangerous going forward but poor at the back, poor Conor Powell isn't a footballer at all.

We haven't really got going yet this season, we need a big performance and win like the 2-0 win against Sligo in 2013 which kick started our season. Cork in Richmond on Friday would be a start

Pitch In longford is usually one of the best in the country but it's had its problems this year, state of pitches across the league is a disgrace and needs addressing

08/04/2015, 3:34 PM
If i were a longford fan, the bigger sour note for me would be that Powell didnt go off injured. Does he always look that useless and clueless ???

Seriously entertaining game. I dont mean to do an oriel park on it, but the pitch was really poor, is that a regular occurence ?
we did our very best to give Longford as a big a headstart as possible in the first half.
Longford played a smart game against us and pressed hard and put us under pressure. The few times we got our passing game going you could see the gap between the two teams, but longford will be fine this year anyway.
Stephen rice is still a horrible knacker.

What about Greg Bolger? He can score all the 60 yarders he wants he's a horrible c*nt

PartySaint
08/04/2015, 3:53 PM
What about Greg Bolger? He can score all the 60 yarders he wants he's a horrible c*nt

That was one of Bolgers cleanest games TBH, he still got booked obviously.

He's great, every team needs a Greg Bolger.

08/04/2015, 6:32 PM

Haha. Gregs a legend. Other teams are supposed to hate him. :p

jinxy lilywhite
08/04/2015, 7:58 PM
The Audacity of Longford bitching about the Op pitch and their own is a rotten cabbage patch.

08/04/2015, 8:09 PM
I've always thought Longford's is quite good.

08/04/2015, 8:16 PM
Longfords pitch has always been decent enough, but the players have always complained about it being too sandy.

08/04/2015, 8:35 PM
The good thing about grass pitches is that it doesn't take an awful lot to get them back in good nick once the weather improves.

08/04/2015, 8:43 PM
but the players have always complained about it being too sandy.

Bloody hate sand on a pitch especially when it skites off a swinging boot or a wet football and blinds ye and every bite of food after has a crunch to it. Rubber pellets aint half as bad.

08/04/2015, 8:49 PM
The good thing about grass pitches is that it doesn't take an awful lot to get them back in good nick once the weather improves.

if you pay any less than the equivalent of 3 full time professional LOI footballers wages then youre not paying enough. ;)

08/04/2015, 9:15 PM
Bit of vinegar would sort that sand issue out.

08/04/2015, 9:30 PM
The salty tears of our vanquished opponents more like.

08/04/2015, 9:44 PM
The salty tears of our vanquished opponents more like.
Might have to wait until you're back in FD so :D

Town Legend
08/04/2015, 9:48 PM
I thought it looked in good nick Saturday night and will only get better as the season goes on. Its a sight Jinxy when our 'cabbage patch' is in better nick than your carpet in Oriel!!

mcgonigle
09/04/2015, 1:44 PM
Yeah but what flavours of crisps do ya have?

09/04/2015, 2:53 PM
And are the minerals cadet or coca cola?

Town Legend
09/04/2015, 4:51 PM
Why are you Dundalk boys fascinated with minerals and crisps??!!! I have to say ye have lost me on that one!

09/04/2015, 5:07 PM
Why are you Dundalk boys fascinated with minerals and crisps??!!! I have to say ye have lost me on that one!

Assuming you are serious...One of the most pressing issues with the Longford fans and the away section in Oriel was the lack of sweet shop to buy crisps and coke, not the view or lack of toilets but having no Tayto on sale sacandalised us. Take a look in to the Dundalk pitch thread.

Town Legend
09/04/2015, 5:46 PM
Assuming you are serious...One of the most pressing issues with the Longford fans and the away section in Oriel was the lack of sweet shop to buy crisps and coke, not the view or lack of toilets but having no Tayto on sale sacandalised us. Take a look in to the Dundalk pitch thread.

I checked out out that thread and the first mention of crisps was from a Rovers fan. Now if there was a gripe over crisps and minerals from Town fans, I can assure you I was not one of them. Therefore anytime I comment on here about Oriels pitch all the Dundalk fans (Nesta, I don't think you're one of them!) retaliate with crisps and minerals comments which have nothing got to do with me. In fact I have to say I get a good laugh out of them posting up that tripe. Off the top of my head, what I said about Oriel was, the pitch was crap, 1/4 of the pitch is non existant because of the stand cutting it out and also that there was no shop. No mention of crisps or minerals!! And just to let those funny boys know, I'm not a big fan of crisps and I don't drink fizzy drinks.......so I definately wasn't upset over the lack of those at Oriel Park!

now enough of the crisps and minerals debate and let's get the thread back on track :cool:

09/04/2015, 5:49 PM
It was Martinho that was missing his crisps and minerals I believe! Can we have a Dundalk crisps and minerals thread as well?

Town Legend
09/04/2015, 5:54 PM
Oh I should of known it was Marty! ;)

09/04/2015, 6:17 PM
You won't like him when he's hungry.

gufcfan
09/04/2015, 8:18 PM

You don't understand, that's his secret. He's always hungry.

09/04/2015, 8:25 PM
They've stopped putting a burger van over the home side in the CCS since Marty started working nights and weekends.

mcgonigle
09/04/2015, 8:47 PM
Crisps and minerals will now be the standard response to all moaning from Longford fans so you'll see it quite a bit! An awful noisy bunch since getting back to the big time!

redobit
09/04/2015, 8:48 PM

" He's a hungry little fighter, in fact he's fighting for a sandwich! "

Best Simpsons line ever.

09/04/2015, 8:52 PM
Crisps and minerals will now be the standard response to all moaning from Longford fans so you'll see it quite a bit! An awful noisy bunch since getting back to the big time!
Bull****, we've always been a noisy bunch.

Town Legend
09/04/2015, 9:41 PM
We'll look forward to it Mcgonigle! You won't see us getting upset over it like ye do over your precious sheet of plastic :cool:

09/04/2015, 10:18 PM
" He's a hungry little fighter, in fact he's fighting for a sandwich! "

Best Simpsons line ever.

/thread

09/04/2015, 10:20 PM
An awful noisy bunch since getting back to the big time!

Bit like people rustling crisp packets in a cinema?

Come on lads its all tongue in cheek (getting at the stuck chewed crisp gunk no doubt). We aint that precious about our pitch as some seem to think. I know we got our very own thread about it but only cause it a broken record from pundits rather than fans its has to be said. The pitch is muck, no pun intended. Its here to stay for at least the remainder of this season and damn all we can do about it. As I mentioned in the other thread, and my only defence of the Oriel pitch is that other pitches are hardly Wembley. Some people feel that a poor grass pitch is better than our surface I happen to feel that a bad pitch is a bad pitch no matter what - dodgey bounces, turning on ankles in divots, bare in patches, too sandy or rubbery, and so on so bar the divots feck all difference in complaints. Cant wait for the current pitch to go so as it cant be rolled out as reason for influencing results. This same damn pitch is the reason for the poor sight lines from both terraces on the stand side as when the new pitch went in it was moved closer to the stand, I presume to make room for future development Hiney Park side. This totally f*cked up the views Carrick Rd side and even caused the need for additional floodlighting to be installed under the canopy of the stand as the stand itself cast a shadow from the main floodlights which their focus was also now off with the pitch moved. For those that dont remember there was the width of a running track from the perimeter wall to the start of the grass area previous. Anyhow crisp jibes and being offered a snickers to moany posts will probably continue but no doubt will the magic carpet stuff too. We are an affible bunch that can laugh at ourselves, no better example than Queen tunes being played by our rather eccentric PA announcer 2013 for which we could do nothing but laugh ourselves. Its all a bit of fun on a football forum and anyone who gets a nose out of joint by anything said here well think of Waterford, Harps, Bray, Shels, Athlone, Sligo...it could be a whole lot worse :p

09/04/2015, 10:54 PM
Oh I should of known it was Marty! ;)

Should have Should have not should of - mistaken phonetically for should've, short for should have....I need a snickers pity we're not playing Longford and I'd have access to a sweet shop. Maybe thats why Shamrock Rovers fans are so troublesome in Dundalk, they are just hungry for crisps and coke after their day out in Bridge Streets' finest places of libation?!

09/04/2015, 11:26 PM
Fecking hell nesta chill out sir!

10/04/2015, 12:31 AM
Fecking hell nesta chill out sir!

Hungry and cranky eh? I'm not a Grammar Nazi I swear...

Town Legend
10/04/2015, 5:34 AM
I didn't realise I was in English class. I should have known Nesta would slap me on the wrists for my bad grammar. Their...no that's not write or right? ...They're was a.....there was a time when lads could get away with the odd slip up on here! I have a habit of typing the way I speak. Sher is sher really a word? And what about ye and yer? Nesta, help me out here, I'm cracking up!

patrickccfc
10/04/2015, 9:25 AM
From the outside looking in, does this video reflect longfords fans not having access to crisps?

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8C1z7OlhJJ4

10/04/2015, 10:57 AM
We aint that precious about our pitch as some seem to think.
Some dundalk fans definitely are. Good example of that a few days ago when ElPietro pointed out to another poster that their assertion about Dundalk's home performances was incorrect. Cue a handful of posters in 'defence mods' about the pitch when it was completely unwarranted.

10/04/2015, 10:57 AM
From the outside looking in, does this video reflect longfords fans not having access to crisps?

Until I seen your man, I was worried he was someone I knew, uncannily similar accent..

10/04/2015, 1:36 PM
I didn't realise I was in English class. I should have known Nesta would slap me on the wrists for my bad grammar. Their...no that's not write or right? ...They're was a.....there was a time when lads could get away with the odd slip up on here! I have a habit of typing the way I speak. Sher is sher really a word? And what about ye and yer? Nesta, help me out here, I'm cracking up!

You know that 'tongue in cheek' thing I mentioned previous.....

Town Legend
10/04/2015, 3:00 PM

Patrick, I think what you meant was, 'does this video reflect Martinho not having access to crisps?' :p

Town Legend
10/04/2015, 3:01 PM
You know that 'tongue in cheek' thing I mentioned previous.....

Did you not notice the friendly sarcasm in reply? Dry, but friendly sarcasm. We are all friends again, are we not? :D