View Full Version : Soccer Republic
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/04/2015, 2:14 PM
Did anyone else see "Sligo Rogers" on a graphic, or was I just hallucinating?
Yeah I saw that as well
27/04/2015, 10:33 PM
That sligo pats game highlights was quite dark in terms of tv footage.
27/04/2015, 10:52 PM
I quite enjoyed that two minutes of silence, simply imagining what sort of waffle Rico was talking.
Dalymountrower
28/04/2015, 7:06 AM
Rico's praise of Rovers plucky draw with Limerick was beyond satire.
Couldn't bring himself to say anything positive about Kealon Dillons wonder goal..
28/04/2015, 1:18 PM
Rico's praise of Rovers plucky draw with Limerick was beyond satire.
Couldn't bring himself to say anything positive about Kealon Dillons wonder goal..
What did he say? I can't remember anything too annoying.
28/04/2015, 4:07 PM
I love do as I say not as I do nature of Collins, pure bull**** entertainment. Heary has failed the 10 game test and pack it in as should Hutton - how would Collins hae applied this to himself at Derry who were worse off at the same point under Collins. He has a neck like a jockeys ballbag!
11/05/2015, 11:05 PM
A short discussion on the First Division including footage of a goal from Finn Park. Something mad going on in RTÉ towers.
Hitman
12/05/2015, 12:07 AM
A short discussion on the First Division including footage of a goal from Finn Park. Something mad going on in RTÉ towers.
They're just warming up for the imminent weekly half-hour dedicated to Waterford United.
ger121
12/05/2015, 7:48 PM
Did I imagine it or were they not showing the score of the game before the highlights. Must have been on here recently.
12/05/2015, 8:46 PM
Did I imagine it or were they not showing the score of the game before the highlights. Must have been on here recently.
Noticed that too, about bloody time and all.
gufcfan
12/05/2015, 10:05 PM
http://i.imgur.com/x9ehAkU.gifv
You'd think that people on here would remember the score, but with me when there's 3 days between the match and the highlights, most of the time it might as well have been months ago.
12/05/2015, 10:42 PM
I watched that way too many times before I realised what I was supposed to be looking for.
Kiki Balboa
22/05/2015, 1:13 PM
What is to stop the clubs releasing the full 90 minutes or at least highlights themselves? Do clubs record the games ? If they do , why not stick the videos on the internet, wont cost anything.
22/05/2015, 1:17 PM
What is to stop the clubs releasing the full 90 minutes or at least highlights themselves? Do clubs record the games ? If they do , why not stick the videos on the internet, wont cost anything.
Harps release footage of any their goals scored the day after the games.
Cobh also released footage of their goals a day after game last weekend.
Waterford usually have some sort of footage.
Shelbourne had a live mobile stream of the Harps game in Finn Park a few weeks back on an app called Periscope.
What is to stop the clubs releasing the full 90 minutes or at least highlights themselves?
Do clubs record the games ? If they do , why not stick the videos on the internet, wont cost anything.
Some do. But they have to wait until after Soccer Republic because that's part of the participation agreement.
Kiki Balboa
22/05/2015, 1:23 PM
Harps release footage of any their goals scored the day after the games.
Cobh also released footage of their goals a day after game last weekend.
Waterford usually have some sort of footage.
Shelbourne had a live mobile stream of the Harps game in Finn Park a few weeks back on an app called Periscope.
Great for the first division, espically for people away from home.... but there must be a separate deal for the premier clubs ?
gufcfan
22/05/2015, 2:47 PM
Great for the first division, espically for people away from home.... but there must be a separate deal for the premier clubs ?
There is no First Division "deal". They don't show First Division highlights, so there is no conflict.
I would argue that for all the people what watch youtube highlights produced by club volunteers, it's only a very small amount of those who watch Soccer Republic and those that would see the youtube highlights would be extremely likely to watch Soccer Republic anyway in the first place.
The club produced highlights are a potential marketing tool that RTÉ and the FAI are blocking, for extremely questionable reasons.
There is great potential for clubs to market themselves by uploading videos of goals etc. Stuff like, when Chris Forrester scored that chip against Rovers (bad example, it was live on tv).
When you can't upload highlights or even goals until 3 days after the game, it tends to kill the momentum. The league cup games on Monday and Tuesday won't be shown until a week later and even then, it will just be the goals. In the case of Cork/Pats, it might just be the winning penalty.
I think RTÉ and FAI are only flexing their muscles because they can.
Soccer Republic won't show any league cup stuff. That's free to go up immediately. So is the FAI Cup, especially when RTE don't send cameras to every game
27/05/2015, 2:40 PM
An ode to the League of Ireland - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrBgDxW52WE&feature=youtu.be
01/06/2015, 11:06 PM
Isn't the idea of last man standing that once you get a prediction wrong, you're out?
01/06/2015, 11:21 PM
Brian Kerr doesn't seem to give anyone else a chance to speak on the panel. Constantly interrupting others when they're trying to speak.
01/06/2015, 11:55 PM
Brian Kerr doesn't seem to give anyone else a chance to speak on the panel. Constantly interrupting others when they're trying to speak.
It's not his fault the others are eejits and he knows more than the rest of them combined
SPXcyan
02/06/2015, 10:16 AM
Kerr is the only one with real football sense, Stuart Byrne isn't too bad now, it was good to see Clinton Morrison again, potential for him to play in Ireland soon perhaps?
I think stuey is developing quite well between TV and radio. I didnt see the point of Morrison tbh. Just to give him a break/ bit of exposure?
White Horse
02/06/2015, 11:54 AM
I think stuey is developing quite well between TV and radio. I didnt see the point of Morrison tbh. Just to give him a break/ bit of exposure?
It is cringe worthy listening to his answering generic questions. "What is it like when a manager comes in part of the way during the season"? etc.
Why not have a current LOI player on the panel for a bit of media exposure?
02/06/2015, 12:04 PM
Byrne does play it safe almost as if he has a default or pre rehearsed stance. At least Kerr alluded to the money the FAI had received from FIFA and it was a good opportunity to develop that point in relation to our own CEO possibly if one of the pundits had bit or were allowed to?? Not something a current player or manager would be in a position to do. Morrison was a bit of a strange one, he looked nervous enough and isnt the most articulate of guys but is oddly likable nonetheless.
02/06/2015, 12:36 PM
Why not have a current LOI player on the panel for a bit of media exposure?
current players, and managers, are the worst pundits to have. They can't say anything for fear of upsetting future team mates or managers. Sky do it in England and they're always abysmal
02/06/2015, 12:58 PM
Isn't the idea of last man standing that once you get a prediction wrong, you're out?
They've started again a couple of times now. There was a point where Rico and Tony McDonnell, I think, were the last ones left and kept picking the same teams.
Azrob Spooh
02/06/2015, 3:09 PM
Seemed to develop an instant Love affair with "Eden"
02/06/2015, 3:58 PM
did Dessie Baker have any involvement in the cup match as he didnt give the speech in the dressingroom before the game?
02/06/2015, 5:40 PM
Did soccer Republic do the piece on the Markets Field yet? Have missed the last few episodes.
03/06/2015, 3:53 PM
Did soccer Republic do the piece on the Markets Field yet? Have missed the last few episodes.
definitely no JOFspring
08/06/2015, 10:14 PM
Jaysus Dave Barry is agony to listen to. You know like.
09/06/2015, 1:22 PM
My sister who would be a LOI person at all watched the show with me last night her reaction to the whole thing ''Do they not show anything twice on this'' 😂 Sick of them rushing the LOI highlights so they can show Ireland highlights they've already shown earlier in the week
On last night. Showed some footage of Limerick v Southampton, early 80's I'd guess. Keegan and Steve Moran playing. Looked quite a big place back in the day. New pitch looks lovely.
14/07/2015, 8:55 PM
Martin Russell last night: "We never stopped giving up." You said it, gaffer.
20/07/2015, 10:32 PM
Pure shoite by RTE tonight showing the Dundalk highlights from Europe that were recorded off a pish stream.Awful amateur stuff :mad::mad:
White Horse
20/07/2015, 10:34 PM
Pure shoite by RTE tonight showing the Dundalk highlights from Europe that were recorded off a pish stream.Awful amateur stuff :mad::mad:
Amateur hour.
Ezeikial
20/07/2015, 10:44 PM
Did my ears deceive me?
"Sander Puri, who was signed from Cork"
Say it ain't so Joe
20/07/2015, 11:08 PM
They really should have more pride in what they do! No footage with interviews with SK and players would be better than what was done. There is a load of youtube footage too that could have been used unless they were avoiding paying any fees.
Pablo Escobar
21/07/2015, 9:34 AM
Did my ears deceive me?
Say it ain't so Joe
More bias. They try to blame us for everything.
22/07/2015, 12:02 PM
Did my ears deceive me?
Say it ain't so Joe
Strangely enough Setanta made the same mistake on live match coverage
22/07/2015, 12:42 PM
Maybe everyone is mishearing York City as Cork City?
SPXcyan
22/07/2015, 4:42 PM
It clearly sounded "York" to me both on Setanta and SR, I think most people don't realise they was last with York so it just sounds like Cork I suppose ;)
TheBoss
22/07/2015, 5:32 PM
Is it just me or is it slightly embarrassing that they have commentary on some games when we all know they did it in the editing booth.
sullanefc
22/07/2015, 9:34 PM
Is it just me or is it slightly embarrassing that they have commentary on some games when we all know they did it in the editing booth.
Does it matter once they show the games?
I suppose if they had to fly out there the added cost might deter them from showing it.
Found it funny tho at the last World Cup when the après match boys exposed Steven alkin and Brian Kerr commenting just off studio during the 3rd place match.
22/07/2015, 10:27 PM
It clearly sounded "York" to me both on Setanta and SR, I think most people don't realise they was last with York so it just sounds like Cork I suppose ;)
They defiently said York on Setanta as the commentator then corrected himself a few moments later. Just find it strange RTE made the same mistake.
10/08/2015, 10:52 PM
Was Rovers last goal against us at Tallaght not included in the Goal of the Month competition? Or did I just miss it?
I thought it was a cracker.
11/08/2015, 8:43 AM
No, just Miele's first goal.
blueblood
11/08/2015, 10:39 AM
Did it just seem like the Limerick Bohs roundup was the shortest. That match had everything real end to end stuff but RTE only just about showed the goals and sending off!!! Far too much shown from some other games!