View Full Version : Dundalk's pitch and ground discussion thread.

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

blueblood
01/04/2015, 7:37 PM
Dundalk wait till ye see our pitch and ground on Saturday! Unfair advantage to the Superblues !!!

GCdfc
02/04/2015, 7:23 AM
Dundalk wait till ye see our pitch and ground on Saturday! Unfair advantage to the Superblues !!!

Do you want to start the thread about it or will I?

dundalkfc10
02/04/2015, 9:27 AM

Looking forward to it. Have never been in Jackman. Good crowd heading from the town, 4 buses going a decent few staying over I seen on Facebook/twitter.

Were leaving Dundalk at 1 so should be in Limerick before 5 with all the **** stops :) Any decent pubs near the ground?

White Horse
02/04/2015, 9:31 AM
Looking forward to it. Have never been in Jackman. Good crowd heading from the town, 4 buses going a decent few staying over I seen on Facebook/twitter.

Were leaving Dundalk at 1 so should be in Limerick before 5 with all the **** stops :) Any decent pubs near the ground?

Should be a great crowd from Dundalk, the biggest we've brought to Limerick for a while. Lots of lads who are working in the UK are home for the weekend and want to see the Town play before they go back.

It being on an Easter Sauturday has encouraged a lot of people to make a weekend of it.

02/04/2015, 10:56 AM

God help ye all.

02/04/2015, 11:18 AM

Pub..ah jesus, I remember looking for the pub that's around the corner from Jackman a few years back. A crowd of around 20 of us walked right past it before realising it was actually a pub and not a derelict building. The one with simply a Munster crest above the door.

03/04/2015, 12:12 AM
Pub..ah jesus, I remember looking for the pub that's around the corner from Jackman a few years back. A crowd of around 20 of us walked right past it before realising it was actually a pub and not a derelict building. The one with simply a Munster crest above the door.

That's actually an ok pub inside.

There is the Railway Bar right across from the bus&train station also, and maybe half a dozen pubs on the street leading away from the station (between the Railway bar and the off-licence on the other side of the road).

Great to hear that there will be a decent Dundalk crowd down. You have been warned - Jackman is bad. Bad. Very bad.

Some of the Limerick fans (if there are any out after a crushing defeat) will go to Phil Flannery's on Denmark street, and others will go to The Still House on Thomas Street - away fans will be grand in either place.

03/04/2015, 1:05 AM
away fans will be grand in either place.

Its the home fans i'm worried about!!

patrickccfc
16/04/2015, 7:49 PM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/14042/win-a-5k-pitch-redevelopment-for-your-club-as-fifa15pitchinvasion-launches/

Dundalk fans looking for a change? Get voting

16/04/2015, 7:54 PM
Why always us? :)

Meant to post this the other day.

"DERRY CITY: Patrick McEleney hits out at ‘shambolic’ Brandywell pitch"

http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/derry-city/derry-city-patrick-mceleney-hits-out-at-shambolic-brandywell-pitch-1-6687342

16/04/2015, 8:30 PM
“It was noticeable that players had to take two or three touches of the ball rather than the one-touch we’re used to in training,” said the Dubliner last Friday night" Fenlon's Fancy F**kers!

17/04/2015, 8:49 AM
One touch but it's 50 yards long

whitehall
17/04/2015, 11:34 AM
In this day and age, with the money some clubs are gaining from European qualification surely the playing surface is something that is of the upmost importance. How are clubs suppose to play a good (watchable) brand of football if the surface isn't up to scratch. The isn't really any excuse for the Brandwell being in disrepair at this early stage.

17/04/2015, 12:04 PM
Why always us? :)

Meant to post this the other day.

"DERRY CITY: Patrick McEleney hits out at ‘shambolic’ Brandywell pitch"

http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/derry-city/derry-city-patrick-mceleney-hits-out-at-shambolic-brandywell-pitch-1-6687342

Third season in a row this has happened. Terrible to start with, but it'll be grand in a month's time.
Problem is that it never gets a break, the pitch is used all winter long.

Sure won't be a issue whenever we get this new sooper-dooper plastic pitch in along with our redevelopment. Any day now, we've been told (since 1993).

Ezeikial
17/04/2015, 12:50 PM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/14042/win-a-5k-pitch-redevelopment-for-your-club-as-fifa15pitchinvasion-launches/

Dundalk fans looking for a change? Get voting

But are these 5k pitches better then 3g?

patrickccfc
17/04/2015, 1:45 PM
But are these 5k pitches better then 3g?

Well 5 is a higher number that 3 and k is further along the alphabet than g so it's possible?

placid casual
17/04/2015, 5:28 PM
One touch but it's 50 yards long

Over Jason "the racist carthorse" Mcguinness's head for Danny North to bury it past a helpless junkie keeper.
1 nil.

Louth4sam
17/04/2015, 9:59 PM
“It was noticeable that players had to take two or three touches of the ball rather than the one-touch we’re used to in training,” said the Dubliner last Friday night" Fenlon's Fancy F**kers!

They mustn't train on the pitch in Tallaght as it was very bumpy. So many bad grass pitches in the league this season

Calcio Jack
17/04/2015, 10:12 PM
They mustn't train on the pitch in Tallaght as it was very bumpy. So many bad grass pitches in the league this season

Believe it or not tonight was the best the pitch in Tallaght has been this season- will improve with change in weather

17/04/2015, 10:37 PM
Bit of a trend going on! Pitches all over the league are currently rubbish but will improve when the weather does. So its ok that the pitch is bad but it will get better....lets hope we dont get a long dry summer! Other wise we shall be back to which pitches or their ends get watered blah blah.

17/04/2015, 10:40 PM
The pitch did play very well in Tallaght tonight from what I saw. The two-week break was probably what it needed to come up to scratch.

White Horse
17/04/2015, 10:42 PM
The pitch did play very well in Tallaght tonight from what I saw. The two-week break was probably what it needed to come up to scratch.

It's getting there. Easily the best grass surface we've played on this year.

17/04/2015, 10:43 PM
Was almost quietly impressed by this then I remembered you've played at the Brandywell, Jackman and Dalymount.

White Horse
17/04/2015, 10:48 PM
Was almost quietly impressed by this then I remembered you've played at the Brandywell, Jackman and Dalymount.

I did say "easily" though. I thought the pitch played well, the ball was on the deck for most of the game and both sets of players seemed to have no difficulty passing the ball. Not quite sure what was going on in the heads of both sets of centre halves, they will probably try to blame the pitch for their poor control.

17/04/2015, 10:52 PM
Rovers were playing some kamikaze passes around the back four. Ryan Brennan should have been punished a few minutes before the goal when he pinged it straight to Meenan.

Louth4sam
17/04/2015, 10:57 PM

I thought it was poor. Apart from the monsoon of a Setanta cup final, pitch is normally very good in Tallaght

17/04/2015, 11:08 PM
I thought it was poor. Apart from the monsoon of a Setanta cup final, pitch is normally very good in Tallaght

Everything relative I suppose. We haven't played at grounds where the surface have been considered as traditionally good. Tonight was top of the heap so far. It wasnt bad to the point of really effecting the game, a backhanded compliment I suppose. Turners Cross next week will be interesting to see considering the silky football played at home compared to the long ball away.

Ezeikial
17/04/2015, 11:11 PM
Stop it!

Make another thread to discuss other pitches. This one is for building up the myth of the invincibility of the Oriel pitch

17/04/2015, 11:28 PM
Stop it!

Make another thread to discuss other pitches. This one is for building up the myth of the invincibility of the Oriel pitch

Myth? What Myth? The Oriel pitch has magical powers! This was never questioned..

GCdfc
20/04/2015, 1:50 PM
Believe it or not tonight was the best the pitch in Tallaght has been this season- will improve with change in weather

I wonder how it would be after a typical Irish summers day when we have all four seasons in the space of a few hours.

Ezeikial
24/04/2015, 2:20 PM
The legend of the pitch grows......

It's now eating lumps out of football boots

Towell will travel south in fine fettle after his treble against the Galwegians brought his tally to seven goals in his last five league outings, a good start for a new pair of black adidas boots that he was sent which are a lucky charm.

"I've only worn them five times so I think there's something in them," he says. "I don't even wear them to training any more because the pitch (at Oriel) takes lumps out of them."

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/towell-excited-by-prospect-of-showdown-with-idol-miller-31161823.html

It won't be long before visiting players will need hob nailed boots to even tread on the Oriel surface

CrowdedHouse
24/04/2015, 4:02 PM
Serious question - can players wear their regular boots at Oriel or do they need a particular type for the surface?

24/04/2015, 4:21 PM
You can wear normal boots but there are specific boots made for artificial surfaces that a lot of players would have. Modern boots would be better at coping with artificial ground than the old-style metal studs but they're not ideal either, as Towell says.

Ezeikial
24/04/2015, 6:04 PM
...... as Towell says.

Ya what?

Ezeikial
07/08/2015, 1:13 PM
Just a timely reminder to Longford fans that this thread is dedicated to all whinges and moans about Oriel Park pitch, away sections, stewards, lack of crisps or any other random grievances

07/08/2015, 3:13 PM
Just a timely reminder to Longford fans that this thread is dedicated to all whinges and moans about Oriel Park pitch, away sections, stewards, lack of crisps or any other random grievances

I'm sure we will use this to its full extent after a heavy beating tonight. Thank you.

Trainee
12/08/2015, 12:12 PM
Are Dundalk going to keep Astro truf pitch for next year? I heard that they will have to rip it up & end of this season or next, heard dundalk want ownership of Oriel sorted ASAP so they can decide what to do with the pitch.

12/08/2015, 12:23 PM
Are Dundalk going to keep Astro truf pitch for next year? I heard that they will have to rip it up & end of this season or next, heard dundalk want ownership of Oriel sorted ASAP so they can decide what to do with the pitch.Might help explain
https://medium.com/@McLaughlinGavin/this-club-is-at-a-crossroads-bond-oriel-lease-needs-to-be-resolved-91931f0f1b9a

colonelwest
12/08/2015, 1:24 PM
Are Dundalk going to keep Astro truf pitch for next year? I heard that they will have to rip it up & end of this season or next, heard dundalk want ownership of Oriel sorted ASAP so they can decide what to do with the pitch.

Talk is 1 more season and then either return to grass or upgrade it to the newer model synthetics. All depends on the lease of the ground though with the previous owner of the club playing silly beggars with it as that and the YDC are his main assets these days after the arse fell out of the building game.

12/08/2015, 4:44 PM
He did have to flog a piece of land for €60 that was bought for €800k, never mind the Quayside office block going for a song like €300k or something. He is hanging on for dear life to claw back some of his bank balance. If people boycotted Tool Fix his supposed one last standing income he might hand over the lease - he can keep the YDC though that would be an issue with Des Casey i'd say!

colonelwest
13/08/2015, 11:34 AM
He did have to flog a piece of land for €60 that was bought for €800k, never mind the Quayside office block going for a song like €300k or something. He is hanging on for dear life to claw back some of his bank balance. If people boycotted Tool Fix his supposed one last standing income he might hand over the lease - he can keep the YDC though that would be an issue with Des Casey i'd say!

Exactly, his portfolio/ businesses have taken a hammering the last few years and Hiney Park was bought purely on speculation that he'd be able to grease the right palms and get it rezoned for housing etc.

The YDC should have stayed with the club when the Fastfix lads took over, even with it being built partially on Casey land but the price GM was looking was exorbitant, he really got a fantastic deal at the time considering the situation he was in, which has only increased over the last few years. I wonder now if he'd be more agreeable to a deal at a reasonable price given his current situation. Within the next year is the time frame to try and hammer something out with him before the property/ construction/ land merry go round really starts picking up again. It's fantastic facility to be fair and sure the only reason he got the grant money in the first place was because he was the owner of the club/ leasee on the land and it was supposed to be a long term benefit for the club itself.

As far as I remember Oriel/ DFC is one of the regional centres of excellence now for the FAI as well, in an ideal world we could work out the lease/ ownership of the ground so we could draw down grant money and possibly in an ideal world take ownership of the YDC too. Maybe work out a deal on the price for it where the club leases it out to GM for 5/ 10 year term which would be a reversal of the current situation but at least he maintains control of the operating business out of it.

dundalkfc10
13/08/2015, 1:33 PM
Exactly, his portfolio/ businesses have taken a hammering the last few years and Hiney Park was bought purely on speculation that he'd be able to grease the right palms and get it rezoned for housing etc.

The YDC should have stayed with the club when the Fastfix lads took over, even with it being built partially on Casey land but the price GM was looking was exorbitant, he really got a fantastic deal at the time considering the situation he was in, which has only increased over the last few years. I wonder now if he'd be more agreeable to a deal at a reasonable price given his current situation. Within the next year is the time frame to try and hammer something out with him before the property/ construction/ land merry go round really starts picking up again. It's fantastic facility to be fair and sure the only reason he got the grant money in the first place was because he was the owner of the club/ leasee on the land and it was supposed to be a long term benefit for the club itself.

As far as I remember Oriel/ DFC is one of the regional centres of excellence now for the FAI as well, in an ideal world we could work out the lease/ ownership of the ground so we could draw down grant money and possibly in an ideal world take ownership of the YDC too. Maybe work out a deal on the price for it where the club leases it out to GM for 5/ 10 year term which would be a reversal of the current situation but at least he maintains control of the operating business out of it.

I don't think he wants it anymore. No way is it making money. Football pitches are only in use for 2/3 hours Mon to Thurs, and the odd 21st/40th etc... and the odd charity event

GCdfc
13/08/2015, 2:47 PM

I believe that GM has leased out the YDC to a former staff member of his that is running it.

13/08/2015, 3:05 PM
So while the terms of the lease forbid it it is sub let to a sub let? Surely that is a breach of the lease and allows the Caseys withdraw the lease for the breach and reissue to Dundalk FC. So it seems to me that if DFC take the lease back as is certainly possible the planning levy on the YDC will becom become a liability to the club or the Casey trust for a facility that is built on land of 2 owners...wont be able to slag Bohs off over land issues anymore as this all comes out in the wash!

colonelwest
13/08/2015, 4:03 PM
So GM has sub let the sub let? Inception level stuff at this stage! Shirley as Nesta says that's breach of contract never mind he's in breach of the original lease with the Casey family? It's a horrible can of worms we're in the process of opening, as much as I and most appreciate what GM did for the club while he was there it's an absolute mess of a situation to try and sort out now, all tying back to him getting out of the club and the fastfix lads coming in.

13/08/2015, 7:29 PM
I still believe that he never wanted to sell up and hoped to cash in on Oriel Park. Any building development in the area seemed to be linked with a new home for DFC as is happening with DkIT now albeit for different reasons - DkIT have said nothing and all there is is a tenuous link due to a former plan with Louth GAA that collapsed as a result of lack of central GAA funding. i doubt the FAI would help resurrect the project with their financial contribution. GM should cut his losses and give up his leasehold otherwise he will end up down his initial money with €300k of council rates and levies on top; Not hanging in there in the hope circumstances may change and Boom II will bail him out of the hole.

13/08/2015, 7:37 PM
There's a boom ii ?
Is GM still involved in the building game ? I know he had a steel business at Castletown Cross but is that still going or is Toolfix and the YDC all he has now?

jinxy lilywhite
13/08/2015, 9:00 PM
I still believe that he never wanted to sell up and hoped to cash in on Oriel Park. Any building development in the area seemed to be linked with a new home for DFC as is happening with DkIT now albeit for different reasons - DkIT have said nothing and all there is is a tenuous link due to a former plan with Louth GAA that collapsed as a result of lack of central GAA funding. i doubt the FAI would help resurrect the project with their financial contribution. GM should cut his losses and give up his leasehold otherwise he will end up down his initial money with €300k of council rates and levies on top; Not hanging in there in the hope circumstances may change and Boom II will bail him out of the hole.

While lack of central GAA funding was an issue as they want most if not all games in the Leinster championship played in crooker, the nail in the coffin for it was the south Louth GAA clubs refusal to have them based in Dundalk.

In relation to this debacle the one who loses out the most in all this is the club. I am under no illusion that the current setting was developed under the best intentions but then why should the lads invest more money in an area that they don't own and are only theoretically subletting.

The dkit project I would take with a huge ladle of salt. Because there is no official word from them that they would wish to build a stadia and wish for is to be anchor tennents. Also is it going to be municipal with a running track, as I can't see it being just for footy.

In all honesty I think the cheapest option for the club is to try to buy the lease outright

13/08/2015, 11:20 PM
There's a boom ii ?

"hanging in there in the hope circumstances may change and Boom II will bail him out of the hole"

13/08/2015, 11:41 PM
"hanging in there in the hope circumstances may change and Boom II will bail him out of the hole"
Cool :cool:
BTW no way would i be calling for or supporting a boycott of his store in Park street as was suggested,that's just stupid.I know a couple of lads that work there & they have families to feed and houses that need paying for.Wise up.