View Full Version : Dundalk's pitch and ground discussion thread.
What pitch are you on about GCdfc?? :confused:
Hiney Park.
White Horse
26/03/2015, 1:32 PM
100% of those home goals were to do with the fact that away teams can't defend the high bouncing ball...
Or you know, it was one factor among many and Dundalk were the best team in the country regardless
I saw all the home games last season and I can't recall too many goals that were due to the opposition failing to defend high bouncing balls.
As you know, Dundalk tend to play a quick passing game and keep the ball on the deck.
There were a number of very high scoring games, we put 7 past Drogheda (but then everyone was trouncing Drogheda at that time), 5 past Derry (who had turned up with a reserve side) and 5 past UCD (who couldn't defend).
The one factor that was noticable at home was that the pitch lends itself to quick passing and teams tended to tire in the second half as they didn't have the fitness levels needs to keep pressing the ball. As grass surfaces tend to be quite poor in Ireland, Dundalk couldn't play as quick a passing style away from home. Some teams even started letting their grass grow and not watering the pitch to slow Dundalk down. However, that is appearently fair.
Town Legend
26/03/2015, 1:57 PM
This one?
:confused::cool:
http://i.imgur.com/yMi0CxG.jpg
lucky that Dundalk haven't a green pitch, saves them painting the other half of it!
26/03/2015, 2:02 PM
One half will be better maintained than the other obviously as no black rubber will be seen kicking up.
colonelwest
26/03/2015, 2:10 PM
lucky that Dundalk haven't a green pitch, saves them painting the other half of it!
Unfortunately they've spent the budget on tayto and coke for the boardroom!
Thats just plain wrong.
2.5 points per game at home against 2 points per game away. 2.8 goals per game at home vs 1.6 away.
Everyone gets more points at home than away though. Dundalk were more ahead of average away from home than at home last season though. As were Cork.
Town Legend
26/03/2015, 3:57 PM
I didn't think their boardroom were the tayto and coke type...also what is it about tayto and coke that the Dundalk fans keep on harping to me about? :confused:
Ezeikial
26/03/2015, 4:40 PM
100% of those home goals were to do with the fact that away teams can't defend the high bouncing ball...
Typically understated - it was way more than that
26/03/2015, 5:20 PM
I didn't think their boardroom were the tayto and coke type...also what is it about tayto and coke that the Dundalk fans keep on harping to me about? :confused:
Don't be trying to drag Harps into your misfortune.
26/03/2015, 5:32 PM
Obviously evident during the drubbing of Cork where the high bounce added to Corks reluctance to make a tackle racked up a few home goals and then cost the title last day! The benefits of our pitch are such that every club should be clamouring to install one to level the playing field (especially in the Brandywell).
Pablo Escobar
26/03/2015, 6:38 PM
Everyone gets more points at home than away though. Dundalk were more ahead of average away from home than at home last season though. As were Cork.
He was responding to a claim that Dundalk were better away from home. The evidence appears to be to the contrary.
26/03/2015, 7:42 PM
He was responding to a claim that Dundalk were better away from home. The evidence appears to be to the contrary.
Yeah, I suppose I was only thinking of the evidence against the big teams :)
St Pats 1 Dundalk 4
DundalK O Pats 0
Dundalk 2 Shamrock Rovers 2
Shamrock Rovers 0 Dundalk 1
26/03/2015, 8:17 PM
I'm thoroughly enjoying this exclusive Dundalk FC thread! For years, too many to want to remember, stuck at the bottom of the 1st division there was practically nothing about Dundalk. Logging in and seeing threads full of Rovers boycotts, Drogs getting insulted by Cork fans 6 finger jibes, the big club brags, Fingal's coming and going, Dublin City, Roddy, Keeley, tallaght council grounds etc etc. Feck all on Dundalk bar the DVD incident or Kilkenny's late reinstatement to a playoff - now a dedicated thread for good or bad while currently top of the league as champions...take heart Longford fans! (rubbish plastic pitch I tell yiz...).
Ezeikial
26/03/2015, 8:30 PM
Now back on topic................
please will someone explain again about the outrageous and unfair advantages the pitch provides to the home club
Now back on topic................
please will someone explain again about the outrageous and unfair advantages the pitch provides to the home club
Some of us have never claimed it was an advantage for Dundalk. I've always said it was awful, not beneficial
This current Dundalk team is too good to be playing on that rubbish. It's a real shame for them
El-Pietro
27/03/2015, 8:08 AM
Glad somebody else spotted that!
Town Legend
27/03/2015, 8:10 AM
Nesta in case you hadn't noticed we are in the Prem and not bottom of the First Division. So apart from Dundalk fans sticking their heads under the covers and not admitting their black plastic is s*i* they seem to only think the Prem League consists of......Dundalk!! I'm having a great time reading this thread and waiting for the next Dundalk fan to bite the bait.....us against the world mentality!! I love it. Oh and you seem to of left out the thread of Mad Man Maxi threatening to burn down the FAI!!
Now ow be nice and don't take too long with your replies!! :cool:
White Horse
27/03/2015, 8:11 AM
This current Dundalk team is too good to be playing on that rubbish. It's a real shame for them
It should be noted that it is still, by a considerable distance, the best surface we've played on so far this season.
27/03/2015, 9:08 AM
Nesta in case you hadn't noticed we are in the Prem and not bottom of the First Division. So apart from Dundalk fans sticking their heads under the covers and not admitting their black plastic is s*i* they seem to only think the Prem League consists of......Dundalk!! I'm having a great time reading this thread and waiting for the next Dundalk fan to bite the bait.....us against the world mentality!! I love it. Oh and you seem to of left out the thread of Mad Man Maxi threatening to burn down the FAI!!
Now ow be nice and don't take too long with your replies!! :cool:
Ah but we were floundering in the first division like Longford were, got promoted became mid table for a couple of seasons, flirted with relegation but went on to win stuff. and it all started with the laying of the super plastic pitch!! so take note and grab a snickers:p
Town Legend
27/03/2015, 9:13 AM
Duly noted Nesta fair point :cool:
27/03/2015, 9:15 AM
It should be noted that it is still, by a considerable distance, the best surface we've played on so far this season.
I wasn't aware Dundalk were exempt from playing away matches?
27/03/2015, 11:17 AM
I wasn't aware Dundalk were exempt from playing away matches?
We feel right at home everywhere! with such a bobbly bumpy unpredictable pitch...
KeepersBall
27/03/2015, 11:53 AM
How long has Craptowns pitch been laid, because I can tell you from having refereed on it that it is Danny Dyer.
Seen an under 18 game between Kevins and Dundalk last season and Kevins got one goal directly attributable to the pitch, the ball was passed back to the 'keeper and it bobbled that high he could have headed it, but missed it totally and it went in.
Reason I ask about how longs it's down is I was at a game iN Solitude, Cliftonvilles ground, they have a 2 star 3g pitch laid since 2010 and it was top class
oriel
27/03/2015, 12:28 PM
I think this is the final season with the current pitch in oriel park. The club were indicating pre season that a decision will need to be made at the end of this season whether to go back to grass, or upgrade to the latest artifical surface thats available.
Seen an under 18 game between Kevins and Dundalk last season and Kevins got one goal directly attributable to the pitch, the ball was passed back to the 'keeper and it bobbled that high he could have headed it, but missed it totally and it went in.
Wow, one goal. I have one goal too and it's on a grass pitch.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zi8nzTjJXOI
27/03/2015, 1:36 PM
speaking of the bold Maxi how is he getting on these days? havent heard from him since Merrion Sq!
El-Pietro
27/03/2015, 1:42 PM
speaking of the bold Maxi how is he getting on these days? havent heard from him since Merrion Sq!
you missed last season so? he was in the news quite a bit around the time Dundalk were in Europe.
And this season all over Facebook with Maxi Taxi.
27/03/2015, 2:00 PM
Yeah I've unwittingly and unwillingly seen one or two of his maxi taxi videos. One of them with a drunk young lad who seemed even thicker than Maxi.
El-Pietro
27/03/2015, 3:02 PM
And this season all over Facebook with Maxi Taxi.
I can honestly say I've missed that, whats that about?
27/03/2015, 3:29 PM
Pandoras box EP, once ye open one of the videos ye wont be able to unwatch!
El-Pietro
27/03/2015, 3:43 PM
Pandoras box EP, once ye open one of the videos ye wont be able to unwatch!
a bit like starting a conversation on the surfact at Oriel Park!
I think it wss 2008 that Maxi brought part of Dublin city centre to a standstill, fast forward to 2015 and he's making a cameo appearance on a live link on RTE tv in 'The afternoon show', which ends with Daithi O Se announcing 'Up the town' only to be corrected by Maxi who says 'Its c'mon the town'....................unbelievable
Anyway back to the pitch, there's a full 90 mins to have a good old look at it tonight for the tv audience.
27/03/2015, 3:45 PM
I think it wss 2008 that Maxi brought part of Dublin city centre to a standstill, fast forward to 2015 and he's making a cameo appearance on a live link on RTE tv in 'The afternoon show', which ends with Daithi O Se announcing 'Up the town' only to be corrected by Maxi who says 'Its c'mon the town'....................unbelievable
Anyway back to the pitch, there's a full 90 mins to have a good old look at it tonight for the tv audience.
I have it set to record but only so I can catch a glimpse of Maxi.
You might be in luck, for the big games and ones on tv, he sometimes puts on the suit with dfc tie to give the impression he's part of the scene. He likes to stand behind the home dugout too. Can't fault him for trying..............
El-Pietro
27/03/2015, 4:35 PM
You might be in luck, for the big games and ones on tv, he sometimes puts on the suit with dfc tie to give the impression he's part of the scene. He likes to stand behind the home dugout too. Can't fault him for trying..............
I thought he'd switched over to the Shed last year?
27/03/2015, 4:42 PM
The minions are in the Shed and so would he if the cameras faced that way.
White Horse
27/03/2015, 4:56 PM
Posters will have great fun spotting all the wayward bounces (more fun that watching their own teams play, in some cases).
27/03/2015, 5:24 PM
Posters will have great fun spotting all the wayward bounces (more fun that watching their own teams play, in some cases).
I kinda feel we've tempted fate now and there will be a pitch related incident or dozens of them for non Dundalk fans!
El-Pietro
27/03/2015, 6:45 PM
Look at McMillan falling all over the place, clearly the pitch...
27/03/2015, 10:24 PM
Only just switched it on but looks like all the crisps have been cleared up, fair play.
27/03/2015, 10:28 PM
Only just switched it on but looks like all the crisps have been cleared up, fair play.
That's what Maxis for.He clears up the crisps and we use him the odd time to roll the pitch.
White Horse
27/03/2015, 11:22 PM
Home from the game and found out my Sky box didn't record the game.
I had a bet on that Kerr would mention the pitch as an issue less than 10 times. My mate said more than 10 times.
Do I owe him a tenner?
28/03/2015, 12:10 AM
No WH but it was a close call!
oriel
28/03/2015, 10:04 AM
Home from the game and found out my Sky box didn't record the game.
I had a bet on that Kerr would mention the pitch as an issue less than 10 times. My mate said more than 10 times.
Do I owe him a tenner?
Hate when that happens on the planner. You might get it on rte player, check later today or tomorrow as they upload all the time.
Kerr did have a fair few mentions, but he said previously he was no fan, so it wasn't unexpected. The pitch definitely suits our quick passing game and that's 21 league games now unbeaten at home, but it's not impossible to lose on it.
Rovers beat us in the cup at home last year. Also we lost two other competitive games at home, Coleraine in Setanta, and Hajduk Split in EL, and to complete the list for all anoraks, Barnsley in a friendly.
In season 2012 during the holiday year the club had with McCaffrey we lost considerably more than we drew at home and even when we were competitive in 2009-2011 we lost over 5 games per season at home.
28/03/2015, 10:14 AM
Shussssh Mike.Tell the feckers nothing.Need to know only ;)
wonder88
28/03/2015, 12:04 PM
Came across a Dundalk v Galway FAI Cup game on youtube recently, sunday afternoon 3.30 game, where John Saunders stated that Oriel Park was one of the best soccer grounds in Ireland. It has not been improved too much since but I think there is a bit too much giving out about facilities in the LoI. I saw on twitter that the Bohs president said that Jackman Park in perfectly fine for our league. Until we get a lot more going to games I think he has a valid point.
I know Tony Cousins had strong words to say about the surface there after his team came from behind to get a draw against Limerick. However the surface in E Deacy Park wasn't too bad last night yet Longfords most effective and popular tactic was the long high ball into the box.
28/03/2015, 1:41 PM
In any small community there will be over criticism of others. For me the eccentricities of the league is what gives its appeal, Its not the Sky version of the EPL and thats the version that many football fans expect. Things like a football flying in the hatch of a chip van from a wayward shot in Oriel, standing in a cow field in Monaghan wathing a game make for interesting experiences rather than the sanatised experience people get watching foreign games on tv. Those that travel to games abroad will have some more insight as they may witness and have stories to tell of say large scale crowd trouble or just little things about the effort of travelling. I like the away section in Drogheda but hate the souless Tallaght. I'm all for improving things and a league wide programme of ground improvements need to be put in place but all in when it comes to this league we should be less critical of our own - people in glasshouses shouldnt throw stones. When clubs have wembley like grass pitches then rant about the Oriel pitch as much as you can...its always about the Oriel pitch with us....
redobit
01/04/2015, 3:44 PM
Could they not throw in a few concrete steps behind the goal, watching football standing on a grass bank ... is a bit 1950's really.
01/04/2015, 4:07 PM
Could they not throw in a few concrete steps behind the goal, watching football standing on a grass bank ... is a bit 1950's really.
Have you not seen the pics of Turners Cross early '90's? Agreed though it is an area of the ground that can be developed but rather with a stand than another terrace. The away terrace in Oriel was brand new at one time too!