View Full Version : LOI Series 1 fixtures 6th/7th March

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

07/03/2015, 11:52 PM
I thought Deady struggled a little to be honest. The pace of the game caught him out I think but that's understandable as he's never played Premier Division as far as I'm aware. He is a worker though and has a good touch so he should grow into it hopefully. Of the new lads I was quite impressed with Powell and Ben Mohamed has a trick or two that could come in handy. Pleased for Willie Tyrell who did well at CB after a long injury lay off too.

07/03/2015, 11:57 PM
Wow! You new to watching the LoI?

Eh you new to this forum?

08/03/2015, 12:12 AM
It was clear that Dundalk's defence were more aware of whatever you do don't let it bounce, whereas Town defenders were treating through balls as they would on a grass pitch.

Long may it continue! Hope every away defence struggles in Oriel!

08/03/2015, 9:25 AM
I thought Deady struggled a little to be honest. The pace of the game caught him out I think but that's understandable as he's never played Premier Division as far as I'm aware. He is a worker though and has a good touch so he should grow into it hopefully. Of the new lads I was quite impressed with Powell and Ben Mohamed has a trick or two that could come in handy. Pleased for Willie Tyrell who did well at CB after a long injury lay off too.

Powell was out of position for first goal but agree he had a decent game, Ben Mohammed was superb again his touch and control is so tight

mcgonigle
08/03/2015, 11:30 AM
Longford fans could have saved themselves a lot of typing time by just quoting other fans Oriel comments over the last few years! Anyway welcome back to the premier, you're certainly making yourselves heard. Looking forward to my trip to the CCS, hope it's not raining though and the pitch has no divots or bumps, would hate to have to come on here and complain about the obvious!

patrickccfc
08/03/2015, 12:08 PM
God knows I'm not a fan of the pitch at oriel but for crying out loud I'm sick of hearing about it at this stage.. I suggest a temporary forum ban for people who mention it anymore.. or create a thread on its own where people voice their complaints so it won't spill over into every other thread on here

PartySaint
08/03/2015, 12:19 PM
God knows I'm not a fan of the pitch at oriel but for crying out loud I'm sick of hearing about it at this stage.. I suggest a temporary forum ban for people who mention it anymore.. or create a thread on its own where people voice their complaints so it won't spill over into every other thread on here

All Dundalk fans would be banned, they mention it more than everyone else

Town Legend
08/03/2015, 12:20 PM
Well at least when ye come down ye might get some food and water, more than what we had!

Keen2win
08/03/2015, 2:04 PM
In fairness though lads, that pitch up there in Dundalk... Shocking!

08/03/2015, 2:15 PM
Champ10ns! :)

08/03/2015, 2:22 PM
In fairness though lads, that pitch up there in Dundalk... Shocking!

Good! Shrewd move maximising home advantage. Not unlike clubs not cutting the grass (or watering or not watering the pitch... snigger) v teams who like the ball on the deck. No excuses for the standard of the away terrace, it needs investment. There was a time where access to the bar was allowed from the away terrace but unruly behaviour by certain clubs' supporters put a stop to that. Also letting people on the terrace in to the stand in poor weather was also stopped due to an unfortunate accident in the stand a previous season.

mcgonigle
08/03/2015, 2:48 PM
Long may it continue! Hope every away defence struggles in Oriel!

Well at least when ye come down ye might get some food and water, more than what we had!

Were you not able to use the chipper van behind the goal? I didn't see any barriers or stewards to stop that and I'm sure I seen some away fans going over to it.

Seagull
08/03/2015, 3:07 PM
This is in today's Sunday Times....
http://i61.tinypic.com/10rstxg.jpg

da bishop
08/03/2015, 3:28 PM
Highlight so far is saying Galway had taken the lead from an own goal after hearing Oji had scored.

Ya heard that,pure amateur stuff really,then again what else would you expect from him.

08/03/2015, 7:24 PM
Were you not able to use the chipper van behind the goal? I didn't see any barriers or stewards to stop that and I'm sure I seen some away fans going over to it.

I certainly got chips from the van, a long wait yes but still got them.

oriel
08/03/2015, 7:27 PM

The away section is a disgrace and is in urgent need of an upgrade. However as mentioned before this won't happen until the club get ownership of the lease sorted, then they can apply for sports and capital grants, to add to their own funding and make proper structural improvements. A much better idea would be to build a new covered terrace behind the goal close to the away section. The same place where the temporary stand was put up for the EA Sports Cup final and the final league game v Cork.

However it's still worth nothing that there are around 100 seats, possibly just less, reserved for away fans at the front on the stand, and there are always away fans sitting in other parts of the stand.

08/03/2015, 8:15 PM
I was in the stand myself. €20 is steep enough, €15 for OAPs too. Still it was a good trip all in all. Hadn't been there before.

08/03/2015, 8:29 PM

I was allowed to get food.. I think people are on about crisps and minerals!

08/03/2015, 8:33 PM
I have no problems in Oriel in general just the condition. It was only my fourth trip and my first since early 08. Dundalk fans are amongst the friendliest in the land and I shared a house in Carrick On Shannon where I worked with who he and his family are huge Dundalk Fans !

mcgonigle
08/03/2015, 8:45 PM

Minerals available from the van, not sure about crisps but it's just moaning for the sake of it at this stage! Getting embarrassing now

08/03/2015, 10:22 PM
I have no problems in Oriel in general just the condition. It was only my fourth trip and my first since early 08. Dundalk fans are amongst the friendliest in the land and I shared a house in Carrick On Shannon where I worked with who he and his family are huge Dundalk Fans !

Name and shame - these need to be ran out of Leitrim (lest they breed).

08/03/2015, 10:24 PM
Agree with Martinho dundalk fans were extremely friendly and for that reason Id go back again (I go to every game but from a less regulars point of view). I think some people have gone over the top in criticing. Yes the view and the seat in the away end are awful and the steps were pure slippy even though it was a dry day that's my biggest concern really don't know how someone hasn't broke their neck there yet. But let's remember our away end is also uncovered and has no toilets unless we hire portlaoos and a chip van isn't usually in operation for away fans so really we'd want to stop digging a hole for ourselves becuase we have a big job on our hands hosting rovers this weekend and I think everyone is hoping security isn't totally over the top as has happened in the past. As for dundalk holding us back after the game yes it was totally unnecessary given our bus was Right outside and that fans had mixed wonderfully before the game and at half time but i think it's something we may get used to in the premeir and lets just say a few hooligans had attacked us after the game Wed be asking why the stewards hadnt moved them on before letting us out, only thing I'd say is the stewards were very reckless with the moving the barriers, I nearly broke my leg off one becuase of the idiot steward pushing if out of the way without looking to see if anyone was in the way first.

Town Legend
08/03/2015, 10:43 PM
You shouldn't of been in the way ;)

White Horse
09/03/2015, 8:42 AM

Jaysus lads, crisps and a mineral? This is not a GAA match. There were no hawkers from Moore Street selling chocolate bars or lads flogging headbands either.

09/03/2015, 9:40 AM
The wind is ruining the game according to twitter.

The players ruined the game. Absolutely terrible game of football.

Neither side deserved to win the game. Bray missed 3/4 fairly routine chances to go in front before Drogs scored a break away goal which was very poor from Bray's point of view. How Joe Gorman stayed on the pitch for his waist height challenge is a mystery.

both sides need to do a lot better if they want to have any chance of staying up this year.

Straightstory
09/03/2015, 9:41 AM
The wind is ruining the game according to twitter.
Terrible game - none of the players could cope with the wind at all. It was dire. (I found myself counting how many of the lights on the floodlight pylons on the far side of the pitch weren't working: eight out of twenty eight).

09/03/2015, 9:50 AM
Terrible game - none of the players could cope with the wind at all. It was dire. (I found myself counting how many of the lights on the floodlight pylons on the far side of the pitch weren't working: eight out of twenty eight).

Nothing a million euro grant from the government wouldn't sort out :)

seand
09/03/2015, 1:05 PM
Statistically Dundalk picked up 60% more than the average points per game at home last season.... and 70% more than the average away. Massive advantage, obviously. Don't make me type the word fact in upper case.

Couch Potato
09/03/2015, 1:34 PM
Statistically Dundalk picked up 60% more than the average points per game at home last season.... and 70% more than the average away. Massive advantage, obviously. Don't make me type the word fact in upper case.

So Dundalk who like to play football on the ground were statistically better away from home than at home on the plastic pitch, I think that basically tells it's own story on how bad the pitch actually is.

I've played on plenty of Astro pitches in LSL games and whilst I've never played in oriel it certainly looks worse than any of the one's I'd have played on. I don't think it is an advantage to Dundalk as they like to play it on the ground.

What it does do is unease away defences due to the odd bounce of the ball which is probably something the Dundalk defenders a more used to.

White Horse
09/03/2015, 2:15 PM
So Dundalk who like to play football on the ground were statistically better away from home than at home on the plastic pitch, I think that basically tells it's own story on how bad the pitch actually is.

I've played on plenty of Astro pitches in LSL games and whilst I've never played in oriel it certainly looks worse than any of the one's I'd have played on. I don't think it is an advantage to Dundalk as they like to play it on the ground.

What it does do is unease away defences due to the odd bounce of the ball which is probably something the Dundalk defenders a more used to.

In my opinion, the better results away from home are related to two factors; teams not parking the bus to the same extent, and the players being less nervous than in front of expectant home fans.

The quality of football served up by Dundalk in Oriel Park over the last two seasons was the best I've seen in 40 years of going to Oriel Park.

Captain2007
09/03/2015, 2:35 PM
Nothing a million euro grant from the government wouldn't sort out :)

Lights are missing 2 seasons now, the front wall facing the Bowling Alley is condemned and needs replacing. (yes, another wall ready to collapse)

09/03/2015, 2:37 PM
In my opinion, the better results away from home are related to two factors; teams not parking the bus to the same extent, and the players being less nervous than in front of expectant home fans.

The quality of football served up by Dundalk in Oriel Park over the last two seasons was the best I've seen in 40 years of going to Oriel Park.
Kenny has always preferred a counter-attacking style too, I think, which works best when the opposition are the ones trying to force the game.

My issue with the pitch isn't that it gives Dundalk an advantage, just that it's ****e. I think it probably helps less footballing teams more often than not.

ltfc_2004
09/03/2015, 3:54 PM
We talk about marketing the league to non LOI fans if any new fans had been in the away end of Oriel last friday, they will never be back. The view was ****, the facilities less than basic and then being kept back at the end and the stewards not having a breeze as to why we were being held back. Unless its a cup semi final I wont be heading back to Oriel Park in a hurry.

09/03/2015, 3:55 PM
We talk about marketing the league to non LOI fans if any new fans had been in the away end of Oriel last friday, they will never be back. The view was ****, the facilities less than basic and then being kept back at the end and the stewards not having a breeze as to why we were being held back. Unless its a cup semi final I wont be heading back to Oriel Park in a hurry.
No bloody crisps either.

El-Pietro
09/03/2015, 4:23 PM

Look at the number of goals you scored at home. And if you ever get bored, take a look at how many of those goals look eerily similar, long balls that defenders don't deal well with, Horgan and Meenan reacting quicker to the bounce and breaking into space.

Yossarian
09/03/2015, 8:28 PM
Look at the number of goals you scored at home. And if you ever get bored, take a look at how many of those goals look eerily similar, long balls that defenders don't deal well with, Horgan and Meenan reacting quicker to the bounce and breaking into space.

Looks like you've been bored enough to look already.
Have you ever considered that maybe Dundalk were just a better team than everyone last season. I don't recall the pitch being much use to us during our disastrous season in 2012.

Ezeikial
09/03/2015, 8:48 PM
take a look at how many of those goals look eerily similar, long balls that defenders don't deal well with

El Pietro's News Flash - Dundalk are a long ball team!

El-Pietro
09/03/2015, 8:48 PM
Have you ever considered that maybe Dundalk were just a better team than everyone last season. I don't recall the pitch being much use to us during our disastrous season in 2012.

If you read my posts from the final game of the season you'll note that I said nothing other than Dundalk deserved to win the league as they were the best team over the course of the season, and on the final day.

But to say that the pitch has no impact is ridiculous.

Nothing wrong with 3/4g pitches either, the ones in the IL are decent.

White Horse
09/03/2015, 8:49 PM

They're still whinging.

Dundalk won the league because they got two more points away from home than Cork. Home record was the same.

El-Pietro
09/03/2015, 8:52 PM
They're still whinging.

Dundalk won the league because they got two more points away from home than Cork. Home record was the same.
not whinging, not complaining. Dundalk won the league because we couldn't take a point from our three games.

mcgonigle
09/03/2015, 9:01 PM
If you read my posts from the final game of the season you'll note that I said nothing other than Dundalk deserved to win the league as they were the best team over the course of the season, and on the final day.

Nothing wrong with 3/4g pitches either, the ones in the IL are decent.

Every teams pitch is to their advantage! Some are long, some are short, some are wide, some are narrow, some are bobbley, some are flat. That's why it's called home advantage. Now can we end this broken record until the Pats game?

Town Legend
09/03/2015, 9:18 PM
How about we now talk about how Dundalk only seemed to water (for the 15 mins before kick off that I seen ) the end they were attacking the other night! :shock:

Ezeikial
09/03/2015, 9:26 PM

Of course the pitch has an impact - probably practically, but certainly psychologically

According to Liam Buckley, Keith Fahey would not play on it and Colin Healy is alleged to have opted to sit out the first Oriel Park league meeting last season (that's the 4-0 one).

Managers and players, aided and abetted by media punters and internet posters have created a growing myth surrounding it - long may it continue.

Although it's boring at this point - this continued whinging actually adds to the psyshological impact on visiting teams

09/03/2015, 9:32 PM
How about we now talk about how Dundalk only seemed to water (for the 15 mins before kick off that I seen ) the end they were attacking the other night! :shock:

They wouldn't have known which end they were attacking first half though? Unless the toin coss was fixed. Probably was knowing bloody Dundalk.

patrickccfc
09/03/2015, 9:34 PM
They wouldn't have known which end they were attacking first half though? Unless the toin coss was fixed. Probably was knowing bloody Dundalk.

http://foot.ie/threads/198735-Dundalk-s-pitch-and-ground-discussion-thread?p=1807786#post1807786

09/03/2015, 9:36 PM
Whatever. I'm sick of it now anyway.

09/03/2015, 9:44 PM
Soccer Republic soon on RTE2 and according to the blurb on RTE -

Peter Collins is joined by Alan Cawley, Stephen Kenny and Stuart Byrne to preview the opening round of fixtures in Ireland's SSE Airtricity League.

White Horse
09/03/2015, 9:48 PM

They knew who was going to win the toss?

09/03/2015, 9:51 PM

Funny I noted at half time at the FA Cup game tonight at Old Trafford only one end, that Arsenal would be attacking, was being watered at half time. I was debating whether to drag it up by mentioning it.

Town Legend
09/03/2015, 10:11 PM
Jaysus ye Dundalk boys are easily wound up :rolleyes:. The sooner one of the Dublin clubs win back the title the better for ye cos one week in as defending champions and yer biting back at any small remark :laugh: