View Full Version : 2015 Predictions

Pages : 1 [2] 3

oriel
03/03/2015, 10:26 AM
Took a long time to get mine posted. I've gone for Dundalk due to the quality of the MF, which I think is the best in the league. We are weaker upfront though, but I still feel with better service and established players in same positions for over 2 years now, that goals will flow all over the team, and the defence is stronger with a better keeper.

Premier Division

1. Dundalk
2. Shamrock Rovers
3. Cork City
4. St Pats
5. Sligo
6. Derry City
7. Longford Town
8. Bohs
9. Galway United
10. Drogheda United
11. Limerick
12. Bray Wanderers

First Division

1. Shelbourne
2. UCD
3. Athlone
4. Wexford Youths
5. Finn Harps
6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Waterford United
8. Cabinteely

Zi_Zou
03/03/2015, 10:50 AM
1. Dundalk
2. Shamrock Rovers
4. St.Pats
3. Cork City
5. Sligo
6. Derry City
7. Longford Town
8. Bohs
9. Galway United
10. Drogheda United
11. Limerick
12. Bray Wanderers

Yossarian
03/03/2015, 1:37 PM
Premier Division

1. Dundalk
2. Shamrock Rovers
3. Cork City
4. St Pats
5. Sligo
6. Longford Town
7. Derry City
8. Bohemians
9. Galway United
10. Bray Wanderers
11. Drogheda United
12. Limerick

First Division

1. Shelbourne
2. UCD
3. Finn Harps
4. Wexford Youths
5. Athlone
6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Waterford United
8. Cabinteely

wonder88
03/03/2015, 3:02 PM
Many going for Pats to finish 4th, if that happens you would expect the manager to be sacked there. Maybe an avenue back for Crolly?
Pats have not replace Russell and to a lesser extend Bisto Flood from the championship winning team. However they under achieved last year, much more than Shamrock R when you consider the players they had, so I think they have a great chance of the title provided money is available for summer signings.

1 Dundalk
2 St Pats
3 Cork City
4 Shamrock R
5 Bohs
6 Derry
7 Galway
8 Sligo
9 Bray
10 Limerick
11 Longford
12 Drogheda

First Division
1 Athlone
2 Shelbourne
3 Wexford
4 Finn Harps
5 UCD
6 Cobh
7 Waterford
8 Cabinteely

FAI Cup Shamrock R
LC Dundalk

desaintsno.12
03/03/2015, 3:41 PM
Maybe an avenue back for Crolly?....................

However they under achieved last year, much more than Shamrock R when you consider the players they had

the first statement will never happen.
the second one seems a bit OTT.

PartySaint
03/03/2015, 4:19 PM
Our first FAI Cup in 53 years. Bucko must go, under achiever.

Croly IN...It's the Science of Soccer as he would say.

wonder88
03/03/2015, 5:55 PM
I wouldn't say Buckley should go, but 4th seems a dangerous position to be in for a manager of a team with title expectations. So Pats didn't expect more from last season? If I recall the only other player (in the league) that their fans considered would improve their squad was Towell. There was expectations more than 4th when K Fahey signed I say.

Why should Trevor Crolly not be given another chance. He might have learned some lessons after been over-promoted in the media as a great coach. The manager sacked before him by Jonathan Roache seem to have done OK.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/03/2015, 7:37 PM
1 Pats
2 Shams
3 Dundalk
4 Rovers
5 Cork
6 Bohs
7 Galway
8 Derry
9 Bray
10 Longford
11 Limerick
12 Drogheda

First Division
1 Athlone
2 Shelbourne
3 Waterford
4 Finn Harps
5 Wexford
6 Cobh
7 UCD
8 Cabinteely

Strawberry
03/03/2015, 7:58 PM
1. Pats
2. Dundalk
3. Shams
4. Cork
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Longord
7. Bohs
8. Derry
9. Galway
10. Drogheda
11. Limerick
12. Bray

1st Division
1. Athlone
2. UCD
3. Harps
4. Shels
5. Cobh
6. Wexford
7. Waterford
8. Cabinteely

League Cup: Sligo Rovers
FAI Cup: Dundalk

03/03/2015, 8:39 PM
1. Dundalk
2. Rovers
3. Cork
4. Pats
5. Sligo
6. Longford
7. Bohemians
8. Bray
9. Galway
10. Derry
11. Limerick
12. Drogheda

1. UCD
2. Shelbourne
3. Athlone
4. Cobh
5. Finn Harps
6. Waterford
7. Cabinteely
8. Wexford

total hoofball
03/03/2015, 8:42 PM
1. St. Patrick's Athletic
2. Dundalk
3. Shamrock Rovers
4. Cork City
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Bohemians
7. Derry City
8. Longford Town
9. Galway United
10. Limerick
11. Bray Wanderers
12. Drogheda United

1. UCD
2. Athlone Town
3. Wexford Youths
4. Finn Harps
5. Shelbourne
6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Waterford United
8. Cabinteely

PartySaint
03/03/2015, 10:19 PM
I wouldn't say Buckley should go, but 4th seems a dangerous position to be in for a manager of a team with title expectations. So Pats didn't expect more from last season? If I recall the only other player (in the league) that their fans considered would improve their squad was Towell. There was expectations more than 4th when K Fahey signed I say.

Why should Trevor Crolly not be given another chance. He might have learned some lessons after been over-promoted in the media as a great coach. The manager sacked before him by Jonathan Roache seem to have done OK.

We didn't finish 4th last season. The team with the '4th highest budget' did.

wonder88
03/03/2015, 10:49 PM
My mistake. Crolly of course was right as their is a 92% correlation between the wages paid by a club and where they will finish in the table. Difficult to get accurate figures as clubs accounts are not usually made public in the LoI, but I would speculate Cork over achieved last year.

03/03/2015, 10:51 PM
My mistake. Crolly of course was right as their is a 92% correlation between the wages paid by a club and where they will finish in the table. Difficult to get accurate figures as clubs accounts are not usually made public in the LoI, but I would speculate Cork over achieved last year.
There's probably no real difference between what last season's top five spent, and Limerick were probably close too. The wage correlation would be fairly weak in this league compared to others where there's a clear hierarchy of ability to spend.

PartySaint
04/03/2015, 8:34 AM

Dundalk as well as I've no doubt Pats and Rovers had a higher wage bill than them last season.

gormacha
04/03/2015, 11:36 AM
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Cork City
3. Dundalk
4. St. Patrick's Athletic
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Bohemians
7. Derry City
8. Drogheda United
9. Bray Wanderers
10. Galway United
11. Limerick
12. Longford Town

1. Shelbourne
2. Athlone Town
3. Wexford Youths
4. Cobh
5. Waterford United
6. UCD
7. Finn Harps
8. Cabinteely

04/03/2015, 1:09 PM
Think Harps will surprise alot of people. Stronger at the back, more creative in midfield and more pace up front that last season. Still think we dont have the strength in depth to challenge for the league but staying in the race for a play-off spot would be a welcome improvement from last season on the same size of budget.

Joe Dixon
04/03/2015, 5:24 PM
Premier Division:

1. Shamrock Rovers
2. St Pat's
3. Cork City
4. Dundalk
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Derry City
7. Drogheda Utd
8. Bohemians
9. Limerick
10. Longford T
11. Bray Wanderers
12. Galway United

First Division:

1. Shelbourne
2. Athlone T
3. UCD
4. Finn Harps
5. Waterford U
6. Wexford Y
7. Cobh Ramblers
8. Cabinteely

FAI Cup: Cork City
League Cup: Sligo R
Play-off: Athlone

04/03/2015, 5:48 PM
Think Harps will surprise alot of people. Stronger at the back, more creative in midfield and more pace up front that last season. Still think we dont have the strength in depth to challenge for the league but staying in the race for a play-off spot would be a welcome improvement from last season on the same size of budget.

Back 4 wasn't your problem last season with the 3rd best define ive record and its definitely stronger this season so should concede very few goals. In midfield I don't see much creativity but there's more pace in the team with the likes of Donnelan, Crolly, Keating etc but still don't think youl score enough goals under Horgan. He's my bet to be first sacked.

04/03/2015, 6:02 PM
Back 4 wasn't your problem last season with the 3rd best define ive record and its definitely stronger this season so should concede very few goals. In midfield I don't see much creativity but there's more pace in the team with the likes of Donnelan, Crolly, Keating etc but still don't think youl score enough goals under Horgan. He's my bet to be first sacked.

I'll definitely take that money off you so. I'm sure you meant Brolly there too, who's injured for the first month or two of the season.
McNamee and Foy are two good additions in midfield for any First Division side and Brian McGrory with a full pre-season under his belt will prove to be one of the best wide midfielders in the division. He was very highly thought of at Wolves and only for a condition that affects him he'd probably be still over there.

Quietly confident about our chances of at least a play-off spot. You're right enough about Horgans tactics though, hope to feck he's learned a lesson and will need to attack teams this year.

Kevin McHughs last season as a player and he'll be determined to go out with a bang. Just thought I'd add that.

04/03/2015, 6:57 PM
Just for giggles, arithmetical mean of the predictions so far:

=1. Dundalk 2.21
=1. Shamrock Rovers 2.21
3. Cork 2.57
4. Pats 3.14
5. Sligo Rovers 5.0
6. Derry 6.7
7. Bohemian 7.0
8. Drogheda 9.07
9. Longford 9.21
10. Galway 9.8
11. Bray Wanderers 10.28
12. Limerick 10.8

Top four very tight indeed, bottom five pretty competitive!

I was hoping someone would do this.

Premier Division:

1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Cork City
3. St. Patrick's Ath
4. Dundalk
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Derry City
7. Bohemians
8. Drogheda United
9. Limerick
10. Galway United
11. Longford Town
12. Bray Wanderers

First Division:

1. UCD
2. Shelbourne
3. Finn Harps
4. Athlone Town
5. Waterford United
6. Wexford Youths
7. Cobh Ramblers
8. Cabinteely

FAI Cup: Sligo Rovers
League Cup: Derry City
Play-off: Athlone

littlebray
04/03/2015, 7:42 PM
Did a
Second count after about twelve more predictions came in (and included the 1st Div), but that'll do me. Life's too short ...

placid casual
04/03/2015, 9:11 PM
Eh... now might be a good time to remind everyone that Rovers have no striker as such.
I'd be genuinely surprised if the Hoops won the league
sausage-in-batter North may do the business , but i;d be sceptical.
then again dundalk dont have a striker either. and if fagan gets injured the junkies will have to rely on Kilduff:D:o

ped_ped
04/03/2015, 9:32 PM
How sad that the predictions of Limerick finishing 11th look positive.

Premier Division:

1. St. Patrick's Athletic
2. Cork City
3. Dundalk
4. Shamrock Rovers
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Derry City
7. Bohemians
8. Drogheda United
9. Galway United
10. Longford Town
11. Limerick
12. Bray Wanderers

I don't know enough about the First Division to make any kind of an education guess.

PartySaint
04/03/2015, 10:44 PM
and if fagan gets injured the junkies will have to rely on Kilduff:D:o

That's what you think ;)

North will score goals especially with Fahey in behind him. I wouldn't be surprised if he got 20+ this season.

Mister X
04/03/2015, 10:47 PM
Here are the results of the second count, incorporating predictions from 10pm last night to 5pm today.

New position (previous position); 1st coefficient; 2nd coefficient

Premier

1. (=1) Dundalk 2.21 2.14
2. (=1) Shamrock Rovers 2.21 2.23
3. (3) Cork 2.57 2.64
4. (4) Pats 3.14 3.09
5. (5) Sligo Rovers 5.0 4.95
6. (6) Derry 6.7 6.64
7. (7) Bohemian 7.0 6.86
8. (9) Longford 9.21 9.05
9. (8) Drogheda 9.07 9.23
10. (11) Bray Wanderers 10.28 10.00
11. (12) Limerick 10.8 10.09
12. (10) Galway 9.8 10.32

First

1. (3) Athlone 2.31 2.18
2. (2) Shelbourne 2.30 2.23
3. (1) UCD 2.0 2.32
4. (5) Wexford Youths 5.07 4.54
5. (4) Finn Harps 4.69 4.73
6. (6) Cobh Ramblers 5.23 5.86
7. (7) Waterford 6.46 6.73
8. (8) Cabinteely 8.0 7.86

can you explain how in the world you did that because i cant manage to get my head around it

04/03/2015, 10:47 PM
North will either score 15-20 or he'll score 4-5. We'll see how things go when the season proper gets up and running.

littlebray
05/03/2015, 12:43 AM
It's dead crude - add all the positions predicted, team by team, and divide by the number of predictions. lots of adding and dividing, but hey!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/03/2015, 6:34 AM
Think North at 10/1 to be top scorer is a great bet

Ezeikial
05/03/2015, 8:06 AM
North will either score 15-20 or he'll score 4-5. We'll see how things go when the season proper gets up and running.

Fitness (or lack of) is probably the key with North

Think North at 10/1 to be top scorer is a great bet

Karl Sheppard at 33/1 seems a good value outside bet - although Cork's style of play last season did not create a load of chances

05/03/2015, 3:25 PM
under Horgan. He's my bet to be first sacked.

€50 on that prediction please....

gufcfan
05/03/2015, 3:34 PM
One of those managers that are likely to stick around because they have survived this long without getting the sack.

ltfc_2004
05/03/2015, 4:02 PM
Premier Division:

1. St Pats
2. Shamrock Rovers
3. Dundalk
4. Cork City
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Derry City
7. Longford Town
8. Bohemians
9. Drogheda United
10. Galway United
11. Limerick
12. Bray Wanderers

First Division:

1. Athlone
2. UCD
3. Shelbourne
4. Wexford Youths
5. Finn Harps
6. Waterford Utd
7. Cabinteely
8. Cobh Ramblers

FAI Cup: Dundalk Runners Up: Sligo Rovers
League Cup: Derry City Runners up: Longford Town
Play-off: Limerick

First Manager sacked: Alan Matthews

ForzaForth
05/03/2015, 8:10 PM
Premier Division:

1. Dundalk
2. Shamrock Rovers
3. St. Patrick's Athletic
4. Cork City
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Longford Town
7. Derry City
8. Galway United
9. Bohemians
10. Limerick
11. Drogheda
12. Bray Wanderers

First Division:

1. Athlone Town
2. Shelbourne
3. Wexford Youths
4. UCD
5. Finn Harps
6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Waterford
8. Cabinteely

Briuk
06/03/2015, 12:58 PM
Premier Division:

1. Dundalk
2. Cork City
3. Shamrock Rovers
4. St. Patricks
5. Sligo Rovers

MILES AHEAD

6. Bohemians
7. Derry City
8. Galway United
9. Bray Wanderers

SPACE

10. Drogheda United
11. Longford Town
12. Limerick

First Division:

1. Wexford Youths
2. Shelbourne
3. Athlone Town

SPACE

4. UCD
5. Finn Harps

SPACE

6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Waterford United

MILES AHEAD

8. Cabinteely

FAI Cup: Shamrock Rovers Runners Up: Dundalk
League Cup: Shamrock Rovers Runners up: Sligo Rovers
Play-off: Longford or premier team to stay up
Top Scorer Premier: Edited: D McMillan
Top Scorer First: P Gorman

Europe: Best performance ever, several teams close to get to the group stages if injury free.

First Manager sacked: Tony Cousins

06/03/2015, 6:28 PM
Going with Dundalk and Wexford Youths
And think Sligo will do well this season
Limerick to finish bottom

18/10/2015, 1:11 AM
First Division:

1. UCD
2. Shelbourne
3. Finn Harps
4. Athlone Town
5. Cobh Ramblers
6. Wexford Youths
7. Waterford United
8. Cabinteely

FAI Cup: Dundalk
League Cup: Shamrock Rovers
Play-off: Limerick

First Manager sacked: Peter Hutton

First Division is over at least. Will revisit for Premier Division.

So, Wexford were woefully overlooked. Got the bottom two right, UCD and Harps in the top three, missed out on Cobh in 5th only because of tonights results.

All set for Dundalk to win the FAI Cup and Limerick to end up in the play-off.

At least Hutton was actually sacked in the end..

18/10/2015, 9:54 AM
Going with Dundalk and Wexford Youths
And think Sligo will do well this season
Limerick to finish bottom

I won a bit this season, also had Towell and Furlong as top scorers. :cool:

18/10/2015, 11:16 AM

Don't attempt a career at betting.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/10/2015, 1:05 PM
Don't attempt a career at betting.

From the man who predicted Bray to lose, us to draw and Limeruck to win last night!

18/10/2015, 3:35 PM
From the man who predicted Bray to lose, us to draw and Limeruck to win last night!

I didn't bet on it though ;)

Darklordsbane
18/10/2015, 5:01 PM
I backed Finn Harps each way @28/1 at the start of the season, happy enough with 1/3rd the odds for 2nd but it was looking good for a long time,
I would love to know was it Willie Tyrell who gave Wexford that bit extra, I suspect it was, plus the return of all the players that the management let go to Korea for the world college cup. and fair play to them for letting them go they got their just deserts

18/10/2015, 7:08 PM
I backed Finn Harps each way @28/1 at the start of the season, happy enough with 1/3rd the odds for 2nd but it was looking good for a long time,
I would love to know was it Willie Tyrell who gave Wexford that bit extra, I suspect it was, plus the return of all the players that the management let go to Korea for the world college cup. and fair play to them for letting them go they got their just deserts

Willie played about 3 games, got sent off twice.

Darklordsbane
18/10/2015, 7:24 PM
Willie played about 3 games, got sent off twice.

that answers that then

18/10/2015, 7:30 PM
Sent off twice against Harps I believe.

18/10/2015, 8:32 PM
Sent off twice against Harps I believe.

I told him to hack ye for the laugh

07/11/2015, 11:07 PM

http://backpagefootball.com/finn-harps-season-preview-2015/92010/

09/11/2015, 11:52 PM
http://backpagefootball.com/finn-harps-season-preview-2015/92010/
How did Gabriel Frei get on in the end?

gufcfan
10/11/2015, 12:14 AM
Premier Division:

1. Dundalk
2. Cork City
3. Shamrock Rovers
4. St. Patricks
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Bohemians
7. Derry City
8. Galway United
9. Bray Wanderers
10. Drogheda United
11. Longford Town
12. Limerick

First Division:

1. Wexford Youths
2. Shelbourne
3. Athlone Town
4. UCD
5. Finn Harps
6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Waterford United
8. Cabinteely

You called the PD top four, in order and Wexford to win the PD, which nobody went for. Not bad.

10/11/2015, 1:43 PM
How did Gabriel Frei get on in the end?

As good as Marc Brolly.