Dinny Corcoran
Steven Beattie
Keith Ward
Rafael Cretaro
01/11/2014, 1:55 AM
Shamrock Rovers:
Conor Kenna
Stephen McPhail says he expects to sign a contract soon, and as far as I know Cian Kavanagh has signed but nothing official yet.
01/11/2014, 2:09 AM
Town:
Paul Hunt
Pat Flynn
Jamie Mulhall
Mark Salmon
Rhys Gorman
Lorcan Shannon
Davy O'Sullivan
Gary Shaw
Think that's all that's been officially announced so far..
ATFC-1887
01/11/2014, 2:11 AM
Town:
Paul Hunt
Pat Flynn
Jamie Mulhall
Mark Salmon
Rhys Gorman
Lorcan Shannon
Davy O'Sullivan
Gary Shaw
Think that's all that's been officially announced so far..
Paul Skinner
01/11/2014, 2:17 AM
Paul Skinner
Yep you're right. I missed the official announcement earlier but it's on our site now alright.
06/11/2014, 7:07 PM
Confirmed signings/re-signings only.
Sligo Rovers:
Gavin Peers
Ruairi Keating
Regan Donelon
Gary Armstrong
David Cawley
Gary Boylan
Kevin Devaney
Dinny Corcoran
Steven Beattie
Keith Ward
Rafael Cretaro
Alan Keane and John Russell now re-signed.
adamd164
06/11/2014, 10:26 PM
Cork City
Ross Gaynor
Karl Sheppard
Gavan Holohan
Mark McNulty
Liam Kearney
Garry Buckley
Cillian Morrison
Mark O'Sullivan
John Dunleavy
Billy Dennehy
Ezeikial
07/11/2014, 7:57 AM
Cork are shaping up nicely
Ross Gaynor and Karl Sheppard are big additions, although a change in style might be necessary to get the best out of Sheppard
Gavan Holohan is unproven, but seems to have shown some potential at Drogheda. He could sink without trace or be in the team of the year!
The champions starting eleven, 2014....
Cherrie (released)
Gannon ????
Boyle Signed Up
Gartland Signed Up
Massey Signed Up;
Shields Signed Up
Towell ????
Horgan ????
Meenan Signed Up
Byrne Signed Up;
Hoban ????
McMillan Signed Up
O'Donnell ?????
Higgins, Rossiter, Sava, McDermott ?????
Mountney appears to be on the way out
Ward gone to Sligo
El-Pietro
07/11/2014, 9:08 AM
Did ye only give Horgan a 1 year deal after paying to sign him from us? That seems odd, though I suppose hes still U23 so can be retained and a fee can be extracted if he moves.
adamd164
07/11/2014, 9:47 AM
I read somewhere that Dundalk wanted him to sign a longer deal but he wouldn't sign it as he has designs on going to England. That's not to say he won't be back with them this year though.
07/11/2014, 10:02 AM
Confirmed signings/re-signings only.
Sligo Rovers:
Gavin Peers
Ruairi Keating
Regan Donelon
Gary Armstrong
David Cawley
Gary Boylan
Kevin Devaney
Dinny Corcoran
Steven Beattie
Keith Ward
Rafael Cretaro
Are you sure about all of that? Heard today that Gavin Peers is to leave Sligo. There's a few names on the PFAI transfer list there too, although obviously we know that's not to be taken as serious.
White Horse
07/11/2014, 10:25 AM
Did ye only give Horgan a 1 year deal after paying to sign him from us? That seems odd, though I suppose hes still U23 so can be retained and a fee can be extracted if he moves.
Many up and coming players like Hoban, Horgan, and Towell only want one year deals as that gives them the maximum flexibility to negotiate for the next season.
It is not always the clubs who dictate the length of contracts.
El-Pietro
07/11/2014, 10:31 AM
Many up and coming players like Hoban, Horgan, and Towell only want one year deals as that gives them the maximum flexibility to negotiate for the next season.
It is not always the clubs who dictate the length of contracts.
True but he didn't have a lot of suitors last year due to the compensation issue, that should have given Dundalk some leverage.
White Horse
07/11/2014, 10:42 AM
True but he didn't have a lot of suitors last year due to the compensation issue, that should have given Dundalk some leverage.
It's possible that the board did not anticipate the rapid progress he would make this year and saw a one year (40 week contract) as a more cost effective option. If so, it may backfire.
Exiledrover
07/11/2014, 10:54 AM
Are you sure about all of that? Heard today that Gavin Peers is to leave Sligo. There's a few names on the PFAI transfer list there too, although obviously we know that's not to be taken as serious.
Peers signed a 2 year contract in 2013. Maybe still be leaving bit it will have to be with club's agreement.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/11/2014, 11:54 AM
Peers signed a 2 year deal last season. Only one on Sligomans list I didn't see them re-signing officially was Gary Armstrong.
07/11/2014, 12:19 PM
Limerick FC:
Shane Duggan
A few more of last seasons squad are said to be signed but not announced yet.
atfconline
07/11/2014, 12:46 PM
Athlone Town:
Aidan Collins
Derek Doyle
http://athlonetownfc.ie/aidan-collins-and-derek-doyle-re-sign-for-de-town/
disgruntled
07/11/2014, 1:47 PM
It's possible that the board did not anticipate the rapid progress he would make this year and saw a one year (40 week contract) as a more cost effective option. If so, it may backfire.
Rapid progress ;)
Its not like you're Barcelona.
He was already a fine player when he left us.
All ye had to do was fit him in your team.
07/11/2014, 2:55 PM
The champions starting eleven, 2014....
Cherrie (released)
Gannon ????
Boyle Signed Up
Gartland Signed Up
Massey Signed Up;
Shields Signed Up
Towell ????
Horgan ????
Meenan Signed Up
Byrne Signed Up;
Hoban ????
McMillan Signed Up
O'Donnell ?????
Higgins, Rossiter, Sava, McDermott ?????
Mountney appears to be on the way out
Ward gone to Sligo
Gannon has some trials lined up in the UK. Hoban supposedly thinks he's done well enough that he shouldn't need to go on trial, so he's holding out for a firm offer. Fair play to him.
White Horse
07/11/2014, 2:59 PM
Hoban supposedly thinks he's done well enough that he shouldn't need to go on trial, so he's holding out for a firm offer. Fair play to him.
You would think that playing over 50 games in the last 7 months would give British teams enough opportunity to decide if you were good enough.
07/11/2014, 3:05 PM
You would think that playing over 50 games in the last 7 months would give British teams enough opportunity to decide if you were good enough.
I doubt SPL clubs apart from Celtic would have scouts over here who'd know the standard. Surprised he's not been publicly linked with anyone in England though. Roddy's obviously had a word.
07/11/2014, 3:53 PM
I doubt SPL clubs apart from Celtic would have scouts over here who'd know the standard.
There's plenty of TV coverage. I think offering players trials here is nothing short of an insult. I could understand the need for a trial for a First Division player, but with the amount of tv coverage in the Premier Division at the minute, there's simply no need for trials.
07/11/2014, 3:58 PM
Are players getting sick of wasting their time going over for trials too?
A good few have gone over in recent years and come straight back home. If clubs were genuinely interested in them they maybe would make more of an attempt to get them that just offer them to come over for a day or twos trial.
07/11/2014, 4:02 PM
There's plenty of TV coverage. I think offering players trials here is nothing short of an insult. I could understand the need for a trial for a First Division player, but with the amount of tv coverage in the Premier Division at the minute, there's simply no need for trials.
Ah, signing a player based on TV is only one step up from signing him based on Youtube clips. Agree with Jofspring that players are getting tired of going on trials, but that's what you have to do when you're not playing full time football at the pace of English football. I suspect a lot of Irish players would fare better if they were trialling outside of England/Scotland.
disgruntled
07/11/2014, 4:40 PM
The money isn't in the UK lower div game like it used to be.
Any players going over from here would be looking at 1st & 2nd Div with the odd one at championship level so they have to pimp themselves around in trials looking for a contract.
The exception to that would be up & coming lads like Brian Lenehan who have obvious talent & may develop into something better given full time training & coaching.
07/11/2014, 5:03 PM
McCarthy was quite proudly saying recently they've spent no money on fees since he took over. We've done well in recent years selling Cowan to Stevenage for about €20k I think and Josh O'Hanlon to Bournemouth last January for (I think, it was in a Bournemouth paper at the time) about £50k. Wouldn't be at all surprised if we sell Jamie Mulhall to an English team soon too. If they're not aware of him they should be. In the last few u19 squads too.
Horgan re-signs with Dundalk http://www.dundalkfc.com/horgan-pens-new-deal/
Absolutely. English clubs are well able to send scouts over if they are interested in a player. I thought I read something about Hoban going on trial to Kilmarnock, or have I got that wrong ? Anyway, would be nice to see more Irish players have the self respect to turn down trials.
07/11/2014, 6:32 PM
Kevin O'Connor and Tom Morris just confirmed as re-signings for LTFC.
Paul Hunt
Paul Skinner (Athlone)
Jamie Mulhall
Tom Morris
Pat Flynn
Pat Sullivan
William Tyrrell
Lorcan Shannon
Kevin O'Connor
Stephen Rice
Mark Salmon
Rhys Gorman
Don Cowan
Conor O'Brien
Gary Shaw
Davy O'Sullivan
Ger Pender
ger121
07/11/2014, 8:02 PM
I suspect a lot of Irish players would fare better if they were trialling outside of England/Scotland.
I'd agree with this. It's just a shame that more don't seek out that option. Though I'd think continental clubs may not think of our players due to perceptions on style of Football played.
07/11/2014, 11:45 PM
I'd agree with this. It's just a shame that more don't seek out that option. Though I'd think continental clubs may not think of our players due to perceptions on style of Football played.
Hopefully that's going to change with more European performances like Pats'. In fact, I don't think it's all that surprising that Legia would consider Pats tougher opponents than Celtic - not because they have better individual players (Celtic do) but I think they're better set up to play the type of football required in Europe. A couple more results like Dundalk's in Hadjuk would raise some eyebrows too.
08/11/2014, 10:13 AM
Limerick FC:
Shane Duggan
Ali Abass
Prince Ageymang
Prince and Ali signed but gone home for the off season and awaiting work permits for next year but have signed forms according to 95fm.
09/11/2014, 10:04 AM
Galway United re-signed Alex Byrne and Jake Keegan for the coming season
09/11/2014, 4:18 PM
Sligo Rovers:
Gavin Peers
Ruairi Keating
Regan Donelon
Gary Armstrong
David Cawley
Gary Boylan
Kevin Devaney
Dinny Corcoran
Steven Beattie
Keith Ward
Rafael Cretaro
Alan Keane
John Russell
Danny Ledwith
Ryan Coulter
Galway United updated:
Ger Hanley
Stephen Walsh
Alex Byrne
Jake Keegan
adamd164
13/11/2014, 6:45 PM
I wonder if Tommy Dunne will try and pick up a few ex-Cork City players for Galway. Ian Turner who was on loan at Limerick would be a decent signing. Can't see him coming back to us.
patrickccfc
13/11/2014, 6:52 PM
I wonder if Tommy Dunne will try and pick up a few ex-Cork City players for Galway. Ian Turner who was on loan at Limerick would be a decent signing. Can't see him coming back to us.
When he's on form he is a very good player very quick and scores a few goals. Hasn't worked out for him under Caulfield. Seemed to do well for limerick so wherever he ends up I wish him well
He said in an interview in a local paper today that he was looking at retaining as many as possible of the team that were involved in the final few matches of the season, and on top of that he was also talking with 4-5 players with LOI experience that would add to the team.
He hopes to finalise most of the signings by the middle of December as he looks at a return to training in the 2nd week of January.
patrickccfc
15/11/2014, 12:00 PM
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2014/11/15/michael-mcsweeney-signs-for-2015/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Michael mcsweeney signs back for next year.. did well for us last year
Onefootednopace
15/11/2014, 6:32 PM
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2014/11/15/michael-mcsweeney-signs-for-2015/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Michael mcsweeney signs back for next year.. did well for us last year
He slotted in well when injuries and suspensions left us shorthanded. Question is , can he push on and challenge for a regular starting slot?
gufc2000
19/11/2014, 3:59 PM
Galway United
Goalkeepers: Ger Hanley
Defenders: Stephen Walsh, Killian Cantwell
Midfielders: Alex Byrne, Jason Molloy, Ryan Connolly, Gary Shanahan
Strikers: Jake Keegan (subject to being granted a work permit)
Harps:
Ciaran Gallagher,
Keith Cowan,
Thomas McMonagle,
Michael Funston
Tony McNamee
Kevin McHugh
Derry City
Goalkeepers: Gerard Doherty
Defenders: Shane McEleney, Aaron Barry, Ryan McBride, Shaun Kelly
Midfielders: Philip Lowry, Mark Timlin, Michael Duffy, Josh Daniels
Forwards: Rory Patterson, Nathan Boyle, Patrick McEleney
Danny Ventre (Released) and Ciaran Gallagher (Finn Harps) have left us. Futures of the following still to be decided
Barry McNamee
Dean Jarvis
Barry Molloy
Stephen Dooley
Sean Houston
Ryan Curran
Sam O'Connor re-signs for athlone.
Galway United
Goalkeepers: Ger Hanley
Defenders: Stephen Walsh, Killian Cantwell, Colm Horgan
Midfielders: Alex Byrne, Jason Molloy, Ryan Connolly, Gary Shanahan
Strikers: Jake Keegan (subject to being granted a work permit)
More signings in the next week.
21/11/2014, 9:55 PM
Harps:
Ciaran Gallagher,
Keith Cowan,
Thomas McMonagle,
Michael Funston
Tony McNamee
Kevin McHugh
Brian McGroary added today. More expected in the coming week.
adamd164
22/11/2014, 12:09 AM
Cork City latest:
Mark McNulty
Ross Gaynor
John Kavanagh
Liam Kearney
Dan Murray
Colin Healy
Gavan Holohan
Kieran Djilali
Darren Dennehy
Garry Buckley
Michael McSweeney
Billy Dennehy
Mark O'Sullivan
Dave Mulcahy
John Dunleavy
Rob Lehane
Karl Sheppard
Kevin O'Brien
Pablo Escobar
22/11/2014, 6:47 AM
Cork City latest:
Mark McNulty
Ross Gaynor
John Kavanagh
Liam Kearney
Dan Murray
Colin Healy
Gavan Holohan
Kieran Djilali
Darren Dennehy
Garry Buckley
Michael McSweeney
Billy Dennehy
Mark O'Sullivan
Dave Mulcahy
John Dunleavy
Rob Lehane
Karl Sheppard
Kevin O'Brien
That's looking very strong, but there is a the glaring lack of Gearóid Morrissey who we will undoubtedly miss IMO.