View Full Version : Cyrus Christie D Swansea City b.1992
31/05/2018, 12:14 AM
He can move anywhere he wants now. The three-club thing only applies within a season, and the English league season has finished so his clock is reset, so to speak.
DeLorean
31/05/2018, 11:09 AM
Newcastle are apparently chasing Fredericks so a move for him could give Christie an opportunity, though you'd tend to think that if he wasn't first choice in the championship nor would he be in the PL, i.e. Fulham would likely look to sign another right back should Fredericks depart...
Didn't know Fredericks was out-of-contract. West Ham linked also - http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11685/11390514/west-ham-in-talks-to-sign-fulham-right-back-ryan-fredericks
Yes, a host of clubs now linked with Fredericks so it very much looks like he will be on the move, with West Ham still the frontrunners.
seanfhear
01/06/2018, 5:28 PM
This is probably why Fulham got Christie in . Good forward planning from Fulham . Their plans are working well at the moment .
Olé Olé
01/06/2018, 7:33 PM
Yeah, makes sense. Fingers crossed they don't replace Fredericks without giving Christie the chance. I think he can step up. And I think that facing better players will make him better for us. Trying to keep an eye on Eden Hazard will surely draw improvement over time.
DeLorean
05/06/2018, 5:41 PM
Yes, a host of clubs now linked with Fredericks so it very much looks like he will be on the move, with West Ham still the frontrunners.
Fredericks signed for West Ham today.
liamoo11
11/08/2018, 2:24 PM
Nice to See him Start. Apart From fosu mensah who ARE The othe competitors för him At right Back?
25/09/2018, 8:57 PM
Cracking finish from Christie tonight
CraftyToePoke
25/09/2018, 10:23 PM
How he and we could do with one or three of those from him while in a green shirt.
08/10/2018, 7:33 AM
Came in for heavy criticism on MOTD2 as the weakest link in fulham's Fragile defence.
Diggs246
08/10/2018, 10:14 AM
I dont think he is anywhere near good enough to be a right back in international football. His positioning is as poor as ive seen for years
08/10/2018, 11:17 AM
Tbf I though he got a bit too much criticism last night - he was criticised for being too far forward and not tracking back enough, but it looked to me like Fulham wanted to really press Arsenal high and keep them in their own half as much as possible. It was a tactic that failed miserably, but it would help to explain his positioning.
irishfan86
08/10/2018, 12:10 PM
Fulham's coach strikes me as tactically naďve, but he seems to have a lot of faith in Christie.
Christie is a high risk, high reward player. He will create chances for you almost every match, but inevitably get caught out of position and expose your defense.
Arsenal appeared to target him or at the least Fulham's right side, and had great success.
I think Christie has value for us against equal or inferior opposition. I have serious concerns about using him against superior opponents.
I would also add that he is a tremendous athlete and it could be worth using him as a winger, even if he is all over the place positionally.
Fixer82
09/10/2018, 12:24 PM
I would also add that he is a tremendous athlete and it could be worth using him as a winger, even if he is all over the place positionally.
O’Neill used him on right side of life field against Wales and he was not great at all.
Give Doherty a chance at RB and use a diamond midfield I think
samhaydenjr
20/01/2019, 4:33 PM
Appears to be having some success raiding down the right against Spurs today, winning the corner that led to Fulham's goal and sending in a good cross that almost led to a goal for Ryan Babel. I know people seem to rate Doherty higher as a full-back/wing-back, but I've also read that Doherty doesn't have the pace to be an out-and-out winger. Christie, on the other hand, does. With that in mind, is there a case to be made for accommodating Christie further up the pitch, especially as we don't really have any pure right-sided winger currently?
21/01/2019, 10:09 AM
Appears to be having some success raiding down the right against Spurs today, winning the corner that led to Fulham's goal and sending in a good cross that almost led to a goal for Ryan Babel. I know people seem to rate Doherty higher as a full-back/wing-back, but I've also read that Doherty doesn't have the pace to be an out-and-out winger. Christie, on the other hand, does. With that in mind, is there a case to be made for accommodating Christie further up the pitch, especially as we don't really have any pure right-sided winger currently?
He got blamed on Sky for one of the Spurs' goals.
21/01/2019, 1:39 PM
He got blamed on Sky for one of the Spurs' goals.
It couldn't have been the first goal as some Fulham defender should have cleared the ball, so they must have been talking about the winner. Christie was easily outfoxed as the spurs player sent in a gorgeous inswinger which landed with pin pointed accuracy directly on the head of Winks who was virtually a yard or two out from the goal line, I thought the Sky pundits were critical of the fulham defender who let Winks get goal side.
Christie was quite reasonable at this level and one of the better Fulham players , though he has only one gear - hyperactive, if he stops for a second and pauses there's a good chance he'll be mugged.
Definitely wasn't at fault for the first. And I would have placed blame on the keeper for the second. Needs to take charge there.
Olé Olé
21/01/2019, 5:32 PM
He has a lot of tools but is missing one or two. He went on a delightful run down the right after the 80th minute and when he got into the Spurs half he passed it straight to one of their players and they broke. It summed up a lot of his performance for me. He's quick, strong, powerful running but allows himself to be punished by top level players for lapses too frequently.
Diggs246
21/01/2019, 7:28 PM
He has a lot of tools but is missing one or two. He went on a delightful run down the right after the 80th minute and when he got into the Spurs half he passed it straight to one of their players and they broke. It summed up a lot of his performance for me. He's quick, strong, powerful running but allows himself to be punished by top level players for lapses too frequently.
Tbh he is actually a sh*t player. Zero understanding of positioning and easily tricked. I wouldnt dream of playing him.
samhaydenjr
21/01/2019, 9:52 PM
Which kinds of backs up my thought about playing him further up the pitch and allowing him more freedom to run at defences without having to worry so much about defensive duties, while still taking advantage of his experience in defence (flawed though it may be) to give extra protection on our right flank.
Tbh he is actually a sh*t player. Zero understanding of positioning and easily tricked. I wouldn't dream of playing him.
Don't hold back Diggs... tell us how you really feel! Seriously, though, my point is that we could take advantage of his positive qualities (fast, strong running, decent crosser) and mitigate against his negative ones (his defensive positioning and tendency to be tricked that you mentioned) by playing him on the right side of midfield, with Coleman or Doherty behind him.
21/01/2019, 11:28 PM
I wish I was as **** a player as he is. Could have made a career for myself.
CraftyToePoke
22/01/2019, 12:18 AM
Which kinds of backs up my thought about playing him further up the pitch and allowing him more freedom to run at defences without having to worry so much about defensive duties, while still taking advantage of his experience in defence (flawed though it may be) to give extra protection on our right flank.
He doesn't have the footwork to play further up, the technique, I don't think.
Olé Olé
12/08/2020, 9:09 AM
Interviewed on Off the Ball AM on Newstalk this morning. I'm listening to it on podcast form here now and the description refers to experiences of racism and promotion with Fulham as the main points of conversation.
12/08/2020, 9:51 AM
The racist incidents were while he was in Ireland meeting up with the Irish squad for training and after matches. He said his usual behavior was not to react or make any deal about it, that is until Derry rebel James McClean heard it after the Denmark game and brought it up for wide public attention. Cyrus was appreciative of the support from James.
When asked about the incident going into the training ground, he said there were some schoolkids with their teacher, one of the kids (14 year old) started throwing abuse at him and the teacher did nothing. That the teacher did nothing shocked Cyrus.
He brought evidence to the Gardai and made a formal complaint, one of the Guards receiving the complaint said he didn't believe that racism existed in Ireland.
Olé Olé
12/08/2020, 11:47 AM
Something else very ugly reared its head. Cyrus says that he gets abuse every game from Irish supporters telling him that he isn't Irish. He says that himself, Callum Robinson and Didsy get this abuse because they are black. He says that , Clark, Arter and other white lads born in England are not told that they are not Irish.
Honestly utterly despicable behaviour and it is distressing to hear that it is so frequently perpetrated and I wish that it had been highlighted earlier. The fact that the comments/abuse aren't isolated would aso worry me.
12/08/2020, 2:40 PM
Something else very ugly reared its head. Cyrus says that he gets abuse every game from Irish supporters telling him that he isn't Irish. He says that himself, Callum Robinson and Didsy get this abuse because they are black. He says that , Clark, Arter and other white lads born in England are not told that they are not Irish.
Honestly utterly despicable behaviour and it is distressing to hear that it is so frequently perpetrated and I wish that it had been highlighted earlier. The fact that the comments/abuse aren't isolated would aso worry me.
and yet these same morons will gladly tell you that they are part of the "best supporters in the world"
Bielsa´s irish
12/08/2020, 5:12 PM
We kick racism out of football.
The problem with Cyrus is that he is not a good international player, was exposed in that 1-5, as Ward was! Martin didnt protect him, Cyrus, playing him in midfield, unsensible football. Young Doherty is the better player even Kevin Long was a better option.
I think Roy Keane told once to Vieira to play for Senegal if he loves his country which was spot on. Big nations stole players from small countries.
I think Sterling is jamaican. Should play for Jamaica. There is double standard in football.
The irish are forgetting they were expelled from places and jobs because of their irishness. The globalization is killing the nations.
12/08/2020, 6:30 PM
I think Roy Keane told once to Vieira to play for Senegal if he loves his country which was spot on. Big nations stole players from small countries.
I hope Viera told him to pee off and start playing for his own country if he professed to love it so much. France must have had some vision to steal Viera when he was a kid.
I think Sterling is jamaican. Should play for Jamaica
Sterling can figure out for himself his own ethnicity and decide who he wants to play for.
The irish are forgetting they were expelled from places and jobs because of their irishness.
There must be one person who remembers the great exodus, movement of the people.
youngirish
12/08/2020, 6:49 PM
The irish are forgetting they were expelled from places and jobs because of their Irishness. The globalization is killing the nations.
Irish people who were discriminated against both at home and abroad for centuries should remember their history and not to start racially abusing other people now. It just makes us look like the worst of the English supporters discriminating against our own players due to the colour of their skin.
However if a player goes to a different church than you then that's fair game.:rolleyes:
Diggs246
12/08/2020, 7:41 PM
"You dont get to be racist and Irish"
Eirambler
12/08/2020, 8:05 PM
This is clearly a huge issue in Irish football, and one that we haven't really faced up to at all. I think we spend too much time slagging off xenophobic English supporters, sectarian Northern Ireland supporters etc and we act as though we are superfans that don't have a nasty element within our base.
But it's there and it needs to be tackled - if we run anti racism campaigns at our matches and take the time to out the twitter trolls and the like we should hopefully be able to make some progress on this.
12/08/2020, 8:56 PM
Stay on topic, i.e. Cyrus Christie. If you want to discuss globalisation, there's a politics forum for exactly that,
elatedscum
12/08/2020, 11:07 PM
i genuinely wonder to what extent this is football fans targeting Cyrus and to what extent it's followers of G O'D etc. etc. who are targeting successful black Irish sportspeople. I know Gemma very openly targeted Patience Jumbo Gula and Rhasidat Adeleke on Twitter, posting their photos and saying they weren’t irish. The issue with the likes of Gemma, GT and similar mongers of hate (patriots!) is they generally know the how to say things that are xenophobic and racist and hugely hurtful without necessarily breaking the law. And when you’ve got 100 to 500 idiots, many of whom clearly have mental health issues, who are determined to push a racist agenda, it’s very difficult for the average person to combat that, except for denouncing every racist action and showing support to the victims of racist abuse...
not that racism doesn't exist or campaigns and education aren't critical to ensuring it doesn't grow - but with social media, where a player's inbox is only a click away, it's hard to imagine you'd ever be able to stop the 0.0001%
Bielsa´s irish
13/08/2020, 1:08 AM
The thing with Christie is that he is like Chris Morris, a squad player.
All players get some stick when from fans when the national team is in dire straits.
I think it was Curtis Fleming who talked about it.
13/08/2020, 10:12 AM
All players get some stick when from fans when the national team is in dire straits.
its not "stick"..... its abuse and a crime...
livehead1
13/08/2020, 10:55 AM
Calling someone a black b****** is not 'stick'. Calling someone an idiot is stick. Idiot.
13/08/2020, 11:40 AM
Cutris FLeming did not say that, what he spoke about was very different and he also mentioned being abused as a child (racially) by an adult. what kind of adult does that regardless of their upbringing. He did very well to not let it get to him but clearly never fully got over it, the parallels with what happened Cyrus, and he spoke so humbly about it, with the school teacher is awful.
Irish people got abuse the world over, we should not be dishing out that same abuse, especially in our own country.
Unfortunately there are negative and positives of positive discrimination. If any player does bad he gets abused, its always the lowest common denominator, sadly that becomes colour for anyone non-white or "non-conforming" to some people.
Lads not everyone is a WUM, some people are just ignorant.
Yard of Pace
13/08/2020, 3:23 PM
I've only heard racism once, when Clinton Morrison was warming up on the sideline close to the terrace where the schoolboy section is and some toerag shouted "Where'd ya get yer sun tan??!"
Several people, including myself immediately whirled around to tell the kid to shut the f*** up. I figured that would be the norm. But I guess that was 16 years ago or something. Which actually is quite depressing.
If more incidents come to light, then an initiative by the core support would be great. I won't have it. There's far more of us than however amount of casual or not so casual racists.
Bielsa´s irish
13/08/2020, 9:01 PM
Calling someone a black b****** is not 'stick'. Calling someone an idiot is stick. Idiot.
Well check out what Alvaro "Palito" Pereira said on that issue back then against Patrice Evra in 2011. No bull**** nor hypocrisy. It follows what Curtis Fleming said and was spot on. I have got sympathy for Cyrus, but you just cant let those insults from the stands affect you when you are a professional footballer. Every player gets some bashing and insults. Remember Maradona? Remember 1994 U.S.A those fake tests?
Anyway, Idiot is a big world for your keyboard. im not gonna insult you im a cath, i forgive you
Bielsa´s irish
13/08/2020, 9:09 PM
Cutris FLeming did not say that, what he spoke about was very different and he also mentioned being abused as a child (racially) by an adult. what kind of adult does that regardless of their upbringing. He did very well to not let it get to him but clearly never fully got over it, the parallels with what happened Cyrus, and he spoke so humbly about it, with the school teacher is awful.
Irish people got abuse the world over, we should not be dishing out that same abuse, especially in our own country.
Unfortunately there are negative and positives of positive discrimination. If any player does bad he gets abused, its always the lowest common denominator, sadly that becomes colour for anyone non-white or "non-conforming" to some people.
Lads not everyone is a WUM, some people are just ignorant.
Well in my country irish are very well received and respected like the basques are. My granny was irish. Of course in the anglophone world the irish were prosecuted systematically. Ireland used to be the Ernest "Che" Guevara Lynch De La Serna of the countries worldwide
Bielsa´s irish
13/08/2020, 9:15 PM
I've only heard racism once, when Clinton Morrison was warming up on the sideline close to the terrace where the schoolboy section is and some toerag shouted "Where'd ya get yer sun tan??!"
Several people, including myself immediately whirled around to tell the kid to shut the f*** up. I figured that would be the norm. But I guess that was 16 years ago or something. Which actually is quite depressing.
If more incidents come to light, then an initiative by the core support would be great. I won't have it. There's far more of us than however amount of casual or not so casual racists.
Well maybe the irish are forgetting they are irish. Thats globalization. The end of nations. Here you can explain Rice and Grealish and their emotional detachment. Dont think that from the previous generations. Im a plastic paddy but i feel attached to the island and its tragedy
Eminence Grise
13/08/2020, 11:04 PM
Mods, can we nip this BS in the bud? Even better than not feeding the trolls is reigning them in.
Diggs246
13/08/2020, 11:09 PM
I live the way he is breaking his a*s laughing believing we believe he is Argentinian. When he is probably from templogue
Bielsa´s irish
14/08/2020, 12:54 AM
I am from Argentina and i live in Hurlingham. Actually it is William C. Morris our town. On the west side of greater bs.as founded by irish and italian and basques inmigrants. I have lived 5 years in Europe between Geneve and the french border, i worked for ITU and OMPI and i also lived in Villafranca del Penedčs in Catalunya.
Bielsa´s irish
14/08/2020, 1:06 AM
i have also met Bielsa twice when at Lezama the training facilities of Athletico of Bilbao the saturday after he defeated Man. U at Old Trafford that midweek. That afternoon he gave us tickets for free when they played Osasuna the former club of Michael Robinson in El Sadar. Michael was broadcasting the game live there for spanish tv that night.
Thats why i remembered Bielsa was contacted for the irish national team back in 2013.
NeverFeltBetter
14/08/2020, 7:38 AM
Where you are from, or not from, or who you have met is completely immaterial. No one should ever, ever be subject to insults, abuse, "stick" whatever you want to call it, solely because of their skin colour. Insisting they just put up with it is asinine.
Fixer82
14/08/2020, 9:22 AM
I played with a soccer team years ago full of Brazilians and a few Africans and East Europeans.
The racism I heard on the pitch toward them from Irish lads was disgusting and made me ashamed.
Bielsa´s irish
14/08/2020, 1:58 PM
if this is happening in lil' old Ireland well there is something strange maybe are becoming insensitive because of more money and better incomes and salaries less poverty. Fathers, mothers, grandpas, grannies, uncles, aunts etc etc should take the blame.
It is part of globalization, if a young irish thinks he is at the same level as w.a.s.p people are well he or she hasnt read history.
Irish are more related to the people in Galicia and the Basque Country than anyone in the world. Poverty and exploitation is part of history and i read somewhere that the irish population 120 years ago was like 12.000.000 or something like that.
Here we are the fifth nation with the larger irish population in the world. And with celtic background, half the country is. At least. 20 millions are celtic related down here.
Bielsa´s irish
14/08/2020, 2:19 PM
Where you are from, or not from, or who you have met is completely immaterial. No one should ever, ever be subject to insults, abuse, "stick" whatever you want to call it, solely because of their skin colour. Insisting they just put up with it is asinine.
hey pal isnt James McClean getting abused in England week in and out because of his irishness. Diego Maradona was the most abused and insulted footballer in football history. Do you know he has a close irish friend? Colin Farrell.