View Full Version : Blues or Bust

Mister X
24/09/2014, 6:17 PM
Another "cup final" as they say. We always seem to find it hard down in the RSC so hopefully we can get a win, on paper it should be easy considering they only manage to pick up two points out of theere last ten or so matches...

Praying harps do us a favour on the night!

Going go go with 3-1 Town prediction as i cant see us keeping a clean sheet, we were shaky at the back at times v cobh

Darklordsbane
24/09/2014, 7:38 PM
I think it will be the same line up and positions as last weekend so I will back a draw and will be more than happy to lose a couple of € as long as we win

24/09/2014, 8:18 PM
Could see Salmo coming back in for Kevin O'Connor maybe, not that he did anything wrong, maybe play him left and Lorcan on the right. Would put Havo in centre back though, it's not Rhys' position. Havo has played there a lot more. Gary Shaw will hopefully be fit to start up front and I think he'll be important.

24/09/2014, 9:39 PM
Could really do with sully bagging a few on Friday night, been a few games without one now. As long as we win that's all that matters but if Pele can reproduce his last performance down here we are laughing.

L.T.F.C.
25/09/2014, 3:50 PM
Anyone driving from Dublin?

25/09/2014, 4:32 PM
is this sullys longest drought without a goal? he hasnt scored since in Tallaght v Shams B which is six games or so!

25/09/2014, 4:39 PM
is this sullys longest drought without a goal? he hasnt scored since in Tallaght v Shams B which is six games or so!

He played well last weekend was Unlcuky not to score so im not worried at all, his touch was in and he looked sharp so I fancy him to run riot in waterford

Darklordsbane
27/09/2014, 12:00 AM
I thought that was the best we have played in a good while, good entertaining game, I would devide the MOTM award if there was one between Section O and Rhys

27/09/2014, 12:09 AM
Good to hear Rhys did well. I thought he was shaky last week and it was understandable but he's a good player and he seems like a great young lad.

27/09/2014, 6:11 PM
Mulhalls goal was somethin else from wot 30 yards out! I was goin to vote for Gary Shaw for player of the mth but based on the importance and class of his goal and his tender years I am givin it to Jamie! the mans immense!

27/09/2014, 9:11 PM
Not that it matters but there could only be one candidate for MOTM last night and it was Mulhall, the lad is head and shoulders above the rest every time he plays and I can't wait to see him become the star he is destined to be even if it means leaving de town for England, he deserves it more than any.

On the game itself, it was our best performance since the hammerings of Shels and galway a few months back and yes while waterford are probably the worst team in the league right now (cobh honestly impressed me 10 times more last week) we put on the most professional and entertaining of displays with 2 magical goals.

Section O take a bow lads that's all i will say, best decision ever to join the lads the far side of the stand this season at long last and there's no where I would rather be next Friday night than bang in the centre as we hopefully secure that trophy. CMON de fecking town!

28/09/2014, 9:14 AM
If scouts were flocking to watch Josh last year I can only assume there's plenty watching Jamie. He's a really top prospect, reminds me of Seamus Coleman.

28/09/2014, 10:08 AM
I'd say we'll get one season or at least 6 months with him in the premier before he leaves, wouldn't harm him to make the smaller jump up before making any big decisions and going abroad.

L.T.F.C.
28/09/2014, 12:19 PM
I'd say we'll get one season or at least 6 months with him in the premier before he leaves, wouldn't harm him to make the smaller jump up before making any big decisions and going abroad.

I would agree. Sign him into a two or three season contract. Wonderful player.

Darklordsbane
28/09/2014, 12:53 PM
I think the rose tinted glasses are firmly on where Jamie is concerned,Jamie is a grand lad, but he is far from the finished article and playing in the first division in the league of Ireland,
any pacey full back will look great when he has a centre half covering for his runs forward and everyone looking for him to pass to, he would be even better if he had a winger that dropped back to full back when he went forward, imo he loses the ball a bit and also drifts inside too much and leaves a lot of space for the opposition winger to get down to the corner/ edge of our box area, Rhys Gorman covered this up on Friday and Pat Flynn had to in Tolka,
all that aside he is a very good tackler, great runner, good shot on him not a bad passer either, good heart well up for getting stuck in, and has enormous potential and I would love to see him go all the way to the top

my wish is that if Shelbourne fail to go up and we do go up Cousins should do whatever it takes to get Dylan Connelly from Shels just imagine him and Jamie on that side overlapping

feel free to shoot me down I'm not having a go at him but all this hype is a bit over the top

28/09/2014, 3:13 PM
Nobody is saying he's the finished article. How could he be at 18 and in his first season? But I haven't seen many 18 year olds as good as him over the years. Tony Cousins said on the radio that he's the best 18 year old in either division in his opinion. Couldn't speak to what other young lads are out there but he's a top prospect. He's demanding a song from Section O by the way.

http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/longford-town-2-waterford-united-0-the-aftermatch-reaction/

Darklordsbane
28/09/2014, 3:53 PM
Absolutely agree he is only 18 and while it's great for him to be adored it can also give him a false sense of how good he is, he looks great but what standard is he playing against,
He will most likely go on trial somewhere in the close season, but then he will be judged against far superior opposition, building him up is marvellous but if it doesn't go well it could knock his confidence badly

28/09/2014, 3:57 PM
Well he's already played for Ireland at u18 level and Paul Doolin has been to watch him a fair bit so I'd expect he'll play for the u19s at some stage. That'll give him an indication of how he compares to the top players of his age.

Darklordsbane
28/09/2014, 9:24 PM
I meant in the possible trials in the uk, I wish him all the success in the world, I just hope the plaudits don't go to his head

28/09/2014, 9:32 PM
I meant in the possible trials in the uk, I wish him all the success in the world, I just hope the plaudits don't go to his head

We've been hailing him for the last season and a half and it hasn't gone to his head so don't expect it to start now. Totally agree with Cousins, he is the best 18 year old in either division and your comments about him needing a player to drop in and cover when he goes forward is just pointless as that is the job of a holding midfielder, top drop in to the back 4 when one of them go forward, nothing to do with him. Jamie's job is to defend first which he is excellent at for a small player (wins so many headers) and secondary get forward and attack and he's superb at that so all in all this boy has all the attributes to go all the way. No player in the FD is the finished article let alone any 18 year old. Don't worry Jamie wel get you a song

Darklordsbane
29/09/2014, 5:33 AM
I won't get into our midfielders not doing thier jobs for 90mins, so as I said earlier best of luck to Jamie and all the young player may they blossom and mature into all thier potential talent and skill allows them to be

29/09/2014, 10:20 PM
I won't get into our midfielders not doing thier jobs for 90mins, so as I said earlier best of luck to Jamie and all the young player may they blossom and mature into all thier potential talent and skill allows them to be

But what your saying makes no sense? You said jamie has a lot to work on becuase the midfielders don't drop in when he goes forward? Are you trying to say he shouldn't go forward? No

Darklordsbane
30/09/2014, 2:03 PM
What I said was
any pacey full back will look great when he has a centre half covering for his runs forward and everyone looking for him to pass to, he would be even better if he had a winger that dropped back to full back when he went forward,
imo he loses the ball a bit and also drifts inside too much and leaves a lot of space for the opposition winger to get down to the corner/ edge of our box area, Rhys Gorman covered this up on Friday and Pat Flynn had to in Tolka,
all that aside he is a very good tackler, great runner, good shot on him not a bad passer either, good heart well up for getting stuck in, and has enormous potential and I would love to see him go all the way to the top

you said it was the midfields job to drop in,

Jamie or any fullback shouldn't have to tell anyone to drop back, they should know that themselves, it should be winger first and then midfielder if both are forward. and a centre half shouldn't have to tell the midfielder to drop back when he goes forward either

anyway this is getting silly I am only offering constructive criticism, would we rather everyone agreed about every player, no, so lets leave it at that

30/09/2014, 2:34 PM
What I said was
any pacey full back will look great when he has a centre half covering for his runs forward and everyone looking for him to pass to, he would be even better if he had a winger that dropped back to full back when he went forward,
imo he loses the ball a bit and also drifts inside too much and leaves a lot of space for the opposition winger to get down to the corner/ edge of our box area, Rhys Gorman covered this up on Friday and Pat Flynn had to in Tolka,

you said it was the midfields job to drop in,

Jamie or any fullback shouldn't have to tell anyone to drop back, they should know that themselves, it should be winger first and then midfielder if both are forward. and a centre half shouldn't have to tell the midfielder to drop back when he goes forward either

anyway this is getting silly I am only offering constructive criticism, would we rather everyone agreed about every player, no, so lets leave it at that

Why the hell would a winger drop in to full back to allow a full back to get forward? If that was the case there would be no point in having wingers!

Darklordsbane
30/09/2014, 3:22 PM
maybe I'm a idiot, but I thought that was how wingers and full backs, centre halves and holding midfielders, and attacking midfielders and skrikers were supposed to overlap/interchange
The winger isn't supposed to allow the full back forward it just sometimes happens naturally, if the full back is running forward and passes out the winger the winger should drop back otherwise the centre half has to move over and the midfielder has to then drop back to cover, that move leaves space to be exploited in the centre for the oppositions playmaker to exploit,
didn't the special one make Duff do it at Chelsea

30/09/2014, 4:20 PM
Depends on what the manager wants him to do. As far as I can see Cousins wants him to go forward as much as he can. He's mentioned it in interviews a couple of times that he sees it as an important part of his tactics. If the manager is thrilled with how he's doing then Jamie is obviously doing what he wants him to. Don isn't much of a man for tracking back either so it's going to be up to the centre halves or holding midfielder to cover him. Not having a go at you before you get upset just debating the issue.

30/09/2014, 4:58 PM
maybe I'm a idiot, but I thought that was how wingers and full backs, centre halves and holding midfielders, and attacking midfielders and skrikers were supposed to overlap/interchange
The winger isn't supposed to allow the full back forward it just sometimes happens naturally, if the full back is running forward and passes out the winger the winger should drop back otherwise the centre half has to move over and the midfielder has to then drop back to cover, that move leaves space to be exploited in the centre for the oppositions playmaker to exploit,
didn't the special one make Duff do it at Chelsea

If the full back over takes the winger as you put it it's usually becuase he's slowed down to look for a pass to the over lapping full back and as soon as he's released him the winger can then get into the box and look to get on the end of the full backs cross. Anyway this is a pointless debate.

Darklordsbane
30/09/2014, 8:12 PM
I have never been upset by anyone or anything on here, thats what forums are all about in my opinion, no use everyone agreeing about everything, anyway who cares what anyone thinks as long as De Town get promoted happy days

30/09/2014, 9:48 PM
I have never been upset by anyone or anything on here, thats what forums are all about in my opinion, no use everyone agreeing about everything, anyway who cares what anyone thinks as long as De Town get promoted happy days

Spot on, good man