Thread: Blues or Bust

Blues or Bust

Another "cup final" as they say. We always seem to find it hard down in the RSC so hopefully we can get a win, on paper it should be easy considering they only manage to pick up two points out of theere last ten or so matches...

Praying harps do us a favour on the night!

Going go go with 3-1 Town prediction as i cant see us keeping a clean sheet, we were shaky at the back at times v cobh
    I think Smithers picked me because of my motivational skills.
    Everyone says they have to work a lot harder when I'm around.

49 Posts
    I think it will be the same line up and positions as last weekend so I will back a draw and will be more than happy to lose a couple of € as long as we win

1,101 Posts
    Could see Salmo coming back in for Kevin O'Connor maybe, not that he did anything wrong, maybe play him left and Lorcan on the right. Would put Havo in centre back though, it's not Rhys' position. Havo has played there a lot more. Gary Shaw will hopefully be fit to start up front and I think he'll be important.

860 Posts
    Could really do with sully bagging a few on Friday night, been a few games without one now. As long as we win that's all that matters but if Pele can reproduce his last performance down here we are laughing.

205 Posts
    Anyone driving from Dublin?
    Sporting F*ck All!

is this sullys longest drought without a goal? he hasnt scored since in Tallaght v Shams B which is six games or so!

860 Posts
    is this sullys longest drought without a goal? he hasnt scored since in Tallaght v Shams B which is six games or so!
    He played well last weekend was Unlcuky not to score so im not worried at all, his touch was in and he looked sharp so I fancy him to run riot in waterford

49 Posts
    I thought that was the best we have played in a good while, good entertaining game, I would devide the MOTM award if there was one between Section O and Rhys

1,101 Posts
    Good to hear Rhys did well. I thought he was shaky last week and it was understandable but he's a good player and he seems like a great young lad.

Mulhalls goal was somethin else from wot 30 yards out! I was goin to vote for Gary Shaw for player of the mth but based on the importance and class of his goal and his tender years I am givin it to Jamie! the mans immense!

860 Posts
    Not that it matters but there could only be one candidate for MOTM last night and it was Mulhall, the lad is head and shoulders above the rest every time he plays and I can't wait to see him become the star he is destined to be even if it means leaving de town for England, he deserves it more than any.

On the game itself, it was our best performance since the hammerings of Shels and galway a few months back and yes while waterford are probably the worst team in the league right now (cobh honestly impressed me 10 times more last week) we put on the most professional and entertaining of displays with 2 magical goals.

Section O take a bow lads that's all i will say, best decision ever to join the lads the far side of the stand this season at long last and there's no where I would rather be next Friday night than bang in the centre as we hopefully secure that trophy. CMON de fecking town!

1,101 Posts
    If scouts were flocking to watch Josh last year I can only assume there's plenty watching Jamie. He's a really top prospect, reminds me of Seamus Coleman.

622 Posts
    I'd say we'll get one season or at least 6 months with him in the premier before he leaves, wouldn't harm him to make the smaller jump up before making any big decisions and going abroad.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    I'd say we'll get one season or at least 6 months with him in the premier before he leaves, wouldn't harm him to make the smaller jump up before making any big decisions and going abroad.
    I would agree. Sign him into a two or three season contract. Wonderful player.

49 Posts
    I think the rose tinted glasses are firmly on where Jamie is concerned,Jamie is a grand lad, but he is far from the finished article and playing in the first division in the league of Ireland,
    any pacey full back will look great when he has a centre half covering for his runs forward and everyone looking for him to pass to, he would be even better if he had a winger that dropped back to full back when he went forward, imo he loses the ball a bit and also drifts inside too much and leaves a lot of space for the opposition winger to get down to the corner/ edge of our box area, Rhys Gorman covered this up on Friday and Pat Flynn had to in Tolka,
    all that aside he is a very good tackler, great runner, good shot on him not a bad passer either, good heart well up for getting stuck in, and has enormous potential and I would love to see him go all the way to the top

my wish is that if Shelbourne fail to go up and we do go up Cousins should do whatever it takes to get Dylan Connelly from Shels just imagine him and Jamie on that side overlapping

feel free to shoot me down I'm not having a go at him but all this hype is a bit over the top

1,101 Posts
    Nobody is saying he's the finished article. How could he be at 18 and in his first season? But I haven't seen many 18 year olds as good as him over the years. Tony Cousins said on the radio that he's the best 18 year old in either division in his opinion. Couldn't speak to what other young lads are out there but he's a top prospect. He's demanding a song from Section O by the way.

http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/long...atch-reaction/

49 Posts
    Absolutely agree he is only 18 and while it's great for him to be adored it can also give him a false sense of how good he is, he looks great but what standard is he playing against,
    He will most likely go on trial somewhere in the close season, but then he will be judged against far superior opposition, building him up is marvellous but if it doesn't go well it could knock his confidence badly

1,101 Posts
    Well he's already played for Ireland at u18 level and Paul Doolin has been to watch him a fair bit so I'd expect he'll play for the u19s at some stage. That'll give him an indication of how he compares to the top players of his age.

49 Posts
    I meant in the possible trials in the uk, I wish him all the success in the world, I just hope the plaudits don't go to his head

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Darklordsbane View Post
    I meant in the possible trials in the uk, I wish him all the success in the world, I just hope the plaudits don't go to his head
    We've been hailing him for the last season and a half and it hasn't gone to his head so don't expect it to start now. Totally agree with Cousins, he is the best 18 year old in either division and your comments about him needing a player to drop in and cover when he goes forward is just pointless as that is the job of a holding midfielder, top drop in to the back 4 when one of them go forward, nothing to do with him. Jamie's job is to defend first which he is excellent at for a small player (wins so many headers) and secondary get forward and attack and he's superb at that so all in all this boy has all the attributes to go all the way. No player in the FD is the finished article let alone any 18 year old. Don't worry Jamie wel get you a song