View Full Version : TG4 shows Rangers/Celtic game on Wed
08/11/2004, 4:55 PM
TG4 are showing the QF cup game Live from Ibrox.Should be good but I wont be able to understand the commentators :D
19:40 Wednesday
Rangers V Celtic BEO
Live coverage of Rangers v Celtic in the Scottish League CIS Insurance Cup Quarter-final live from Ibrox Stadium in Glasgow. Gary Mac Donncha will provide the commentary for this crucial match.
http://www.tg4.ie/bearla/scei/wed.htm
liam88
08/11/2004, 7:03 PM
Does anyone know how I can watch it in ingurland? I pick up BBC1 Scotland through the ol' sky dish but sometimes they block the matches from being shown through sky.....anyone able to shed any light?
Liam don't hold me to this, but I think that if games are shown on Setanta PPV as well as BBC Scotland then the picture is scrambled. I've checked out Setanta and their not showing the game so hopefully the game will be able to be seen on BBC Scotland.
Oh the Irony.
In a real CELTIC pub, the last time TG4 screened an Old Firm game, there was war because they couldnt get English commentary.
10/11/2004, 8:03 AM
Anybody with Sky Digital here or in the UK can get the game on BBC 1 Scotland.
Only the premier league games were blocked on Digital last year as BBC had no rights. Hearts in Europe were FTA on BBC. Tonight's game will also be available.
However Caernarfon v Newport is also live FTA on BBC Wales in the Welsh Cup. Probably just as interesting. :)
dublinred
10/11/2004, 8:31 AM
Most live football matches are telecast via the web these days including the sat premiership for a quid www.freelivefootball.co.uk will provide the links to the foreign streams availible via the net although commentary is in thai but slightly easier to understand than irish.
Junior
10/11/2004, 11:23 AM
Anyone going to watch it in London. working here today, might head to the 'edge of town' or somewhere NW Londish??? where do the harrow bhoys watch the games these days??
dublinred
10/11/2004, 11:44 AM
Anyone going to watch it in London. working here today, might head to the 'edge of town' or somewhere NW Londish??? where do the harrow bhoys watch the games these days??
Try the lough inn in Belmount circle home of Harrow Celtic supporters club , small pub opposite the the spanish arch.
Pat O' Banton
10/11/2004, 11:47 AM
If its on The Edge of Town (Edgeware) should have it, however you'd be more than welcome in O' Rafferty's in Wood Green, again if its on they will have it and myself and Sylvo will be there, what more could you want from a night out. Can get back to NW London on a bus from there or the Tube is fairly handy. I won't be there until second half though. (directions - left out of Wood Green tube station walk straight on for about five minutes O' Raffs is just past the Civic centre )
10/11/2004, 11:49 AM
You can stick the Glasgow derby, I'm off to Morton Stadium tonight to watch Drumcondra v Whitehall Rangers, a real local derby.
Junior
10/11/2004, 11:54 AM
cheers lhads and errr...Drummerboy.
I know O'rafferty's & 'Edge of Town', though time will be tight so I think I'll head to the Lough Inn, I used to drink there a few years ago when I was based in harrow (didn't think the club was still based there)
Jnr
come on the Rangers! beat the cancer that is Glasgow Celthick
:D :D
Don't you just hate them foreign language stations...
Yea but it looks like we're stuck with RTÉ1, 2 and TV3 for now:D
sure as all Celtic fans are 173% irish they'll all be fluent in their mother tongue so TG4 is ideal
liam88
10/11/2004, 4:29 PM
come on the Rangers!
Wow-the first Cork man ever to be a fan of rul* britt*nia, the o*ange or*er, a nazie salutes :rolleyes:
Dav. re. the HB I've lost ma floggin passoword!
Going to take the risk with BBC Scotland-cheers lads for the advice-Sylvo Gspain, Londonred, Dav and everyone else good luck to the Bhoys tonight-do Erin proud and whips those huns! :D :D
Was invited to watch it up the Wish Well in Reading (Reding CSC) with ma bro but have a parents evening that finishes 15 mintues before kick-off :rolleyes: ;)
Erin
I know they needed to replace Larrson but Erin Brockivich, why would they sign her!
Pat O' Banton
10/11/2004, 4:41 PM
Was invited to watch it up the Wish Well in Reading (Reding CSC) with ma bro but have a parents evening that finishes 15 mintues before kick-off :rolleyes: ;)
Ah the Reading CSC, :eek: anyone who I've met from there is seriously bonkers.
liam88
10/11/2004, 5:15 PM
I seriously doubt it. I know a good few in Cork who will be rooting for the Gers.
And I know a fe*kin LOAD who'll be cheering their hearts out for the Celts!
HAIL! HAIL! TO CORCAIGH AND CELTIC!
ERIN GO BRAGH! :D :D :ball: :D
Ye cannae bring me down with your anti-Celtic cr*p I get enough of it from the huns round here-not after we whip them tonight and Cork celebrates!
God bless the Rebel County and Tipperary! :D
liam88
10/11/2004, 5:19 PM
Ah the Reading CSC, :eek: anyone who I've met from there is seriously bonkers.
:D :D aye! bit of a 'rough area' but if ya get in trouble and are in the Hoops/Erin jersey you're fine!
Conor74-SEE YOU DOWN PILLARS OR ONE OF MANY MANY OTHER CSCS AROUND OUR GREAT COUNTY!
Ryans int he Sqaure was AMAZING last time I was there for a hoops game so HAIL HAIL!
GOD SAVE IRELAND! :D
:ball:
HAIL! HAIL! TO CORCAIGH AND CELTIC!
what do a scottish team have to do with cork
ERIN GO BRAGH!
or ireland for that matter. ****s sake. :rolleyes:
Pat O' Banton
10/11/2004, 5:34 PM
However Caernarfon v Newport is also live FTA on BBC Wales in the Welsh Cup. Probably just as interesting. :)
Ouch put them claws back :D
sylvo
10/11/2004, 11:25 PM
Say that to yer beloved RMK! ;)
Seems the only lobotomy suspect on here is of the pseudo-Iberian variety?!
No-one says you have to support the Celts,but next time you leave school,make sure you pass yer Leaving in Spelling...... :rolleyes: & History! :o
Not that I go into these Celtic arguments cause they go around in circles Dav, but I wonder how Senior Pedro from Cork feel's about an even bigger cancer subject, bigger then being phissed off by teenage kids in Sellic shell suits in Cork that don't know Sellic's fixtures and that is the constant racist abuse and monkey noise's that is handed out to black players by fans of Cessnock's best loved club.
Tonight on telly you could hear the same old sad carry on, I would'nt mind hearing what Boumsong and Andrews have to say about opposing players getting this sort of abuse.
11/11/2004, 6:59 AM
what do a scottish team have to do with cork or ireland for that matter. ****s sake. :rolleyes:
I am sure there was many a wry smile last night among those non-Sellthick fans among us when Shota Arveladze got the winner, after the abuse this guy took last year at Lansdowne from the 'grand old team' rabble. Fair play to you my man , I hope you enjoyed the moment! :D :D
Dublin12
11/11/2004, 8:22 AM
Am I the only person to see that Camara and Juniniho are a total waste of space?,McGeady looked lively enough when he came on though.There was a spell during the second half when Celtic could of finished them off but with Camara and Juniniho in the team,well,enough said!.In fairness though Rangers stuck to the task and deserved the victory.Should be a very interesting league game on Saturday week,lets see how good MON's tactics are for that one.
liam88
11/11/2004, 8:26 AM
Thousands of fans
Hundreds of thousands of fans....see you up the lyric...
NEXT! :D
Regarding support for the huns-if you don't want to support Celtic then whatever; but openly supporting the 'gers' as people are calling them.....surely you have even LESS reason to support these U*A, Or*nge ****s..........did you all have fun jumping up and down to celebrate the barbaric murder of Robert Hammel last night? OR did you go straight for the Nazi Salute, Rul* B*ittania songs and tribute to the terrorists who killed our countrymen in the Rising Sun?
eejits :rolleyes:
liam88
11/11/2004, 8:28 AM
And for what it's worth Celtic played some brilliant football and Johhny Hartson's goal was legendary hail! hail!
Dublin12
11/11/2004, 8:31 AM
They weren't nazi salutes they were doing,they were meant to be showing thw red hand of Ulster,hence holding the hand up,I'm not defending it just pointing it out.
liam88
11/11/2004, 8:50 AM
Fair balls lads-sorry if I was a bit extreme; just the 'bouncy' p*sses me off :mad:
Aye we do have some eejit fans but generally we are the best :D whenever i've been at a hoops game I never heard anything racist and never anything overtly secaterian (Boys of the Old Brigade being the most contreversial)....really the worst abuse I've heard was PP giving JAcki stick for his highlights :D :D
Anyway college awaits lads..............
They weren't nazi salutes they were doing,they were meant to be showing thw red hand of Ulster,hence holding the hand up,I'm not defending it just pointing it out.
When Rangers played Arsenal in a freindly a few years back, loads of fans of Irelands new favourite club came down to North London, and we got a look at this red hand salute up close, more so anyone with black or brown skin did get an up front close up of this symbol of the O'Neill clan, complete with outstretched arm.
I know yer not defending them, but they always come out with this craic about it just prentending to be a red hand (which if only they knew what that was ;) ) but it is compleatly something else when you do see it.
11/11/2004, 8:57 AM
Regarding support for the huns-if you don't want to support Celtic then whatever; but openly supporting the 'gers' as people are calling them.....surely you have even LESS reason to support these U*A, Or*nge ****s..........did you all have fun jumping up and down to celebrate the barbaric murder of Robert Hammel last night? OR did you go straight for the Nazi Salute, Rul* B*ittania songs and tribute to the terrorists who killed our countrymen in the Rising Sun?
Liam, calm down! We are talking about supporting football teams!
The majority of Rangers fans no more support the UDA or celebrate acts of murder and bombing than do the majority of Celtic fans support the Provisional IRA or celebrate acts of murder and bombing. Sure, there are certain elements that do on both sides, but branding all Rangers fans in such terms, also brands all Celtic fans in a similar manner and makes them no better or worse than each other.
Let's concentrate on supporting Ireland!
Fair play to the Celtic fans. Depsite the presence of non-white players, I didn't see them throw one banana this time round as they have done in the past (cue Celtic fans saying it never happened, it was Rangers fans etc. etc. despite Celtic fanzines written by people actually at the games condemning their own fans). And no aeroplane gestures either...
Look I know Celtic have great fans, but they also have morons, just like Rangers, just like every club in the world.
Oh, and despite your distaste for it, it strikes me that Rule Brittania is a perfectly acceptable song in a British football match between British clubs...
I was reasonably neutral in the whole thing, I certainly wasn't 'for' Rangers, but they throroughly outplayed, outclassed and outfought Celtic.
MMMM you say people will say it never happened, it did sadly and there was an outcry at the time about it from the overwhelming vast majority of fans back in 86 and the situation was put down before it happened again, (i'll tell ya how I know, I was at the game in question ;)
One stupid clown made an aeroplane gesture at Renya after 9/11 not a whole stand, I'm told the first people to kick off about the incident were people around him, and he was quite correctly banned by the club, as well as having the media turning up on his doorstep , so his so called funny actions got him really far.
Agree with yer on one point, Rangers were by far the better team.
11/11/2004, 11:36 AM
Which is kinda ironic given your handle :rolleyes: .........perhaps yer a secret Tim......here's to that tw*t,'Dildo Persil' getting the bird next week for being a H*n,sh*t & a play-acting goat,to boot!
Dav, you queried my handle previously, a reminder;
Dav, just to put your mind at rest, and something I am sure you would understand judging from other posts by you and about you! -
If you are wearing 'stripes' and are lying on the ground horizontal, all tired and emotional (maybe with drink involved!) those 'stripes' to the casual onlooker become 'hoops'. Savvy!
A Closet Tim? now there's a species that I suspect would be even more dysfunctional than the real thing!
Sorry, to disappoint but not if my life depended on it could I ever bring myself to profess the Sellthick faith!
Junior
11/11/2004, 12:02 PM
Lads and Lassies,
A serious point, most of the posts on this thread are from regular posters. Is there any need to gatecrash it and turn it in to the usual 'sellthick', 'scottish club' huns this & that argument????
Those who are anti celtic - we have pretty much got the jist of your views over the last few years, and very rarely is any new point made.
Can I suggest if you have no interest in a celtic game why don't you just ignore the thread and let the significant number of celtic fans post on the related subject?
just a thought?
Anyhow,
- Rangers dominated the first half
- Celtic looked in control for majority of the second half, good goal for JH to go one up.
- Another defensive lapse - cost us the equaliser.
- Never thought celtic would take anything from the game once it went in to ET. Probably a fair result in the end.
- Nice little trick from Mcgeady towards the end, hope he continues to get a few chances in the coming months
Jnr
11/11/2004, 12:06 PM
Understand the embarrassment,yer obviously a closet Sham......Incidentally,give my regards to 'Bore' Wanderers......unlike you my mind's not so closed......I've always supported this shower on yer many forays in Europa)
Better chance of me declaring for Tims than Shams! Signature added as declaration of true allegiances ;)
Sorry about the spelling :o obviously not one of the success stories of the great Irish education system, but I have managed to get by! :rolleyes:
Wellwishers always welcome at the Carlisle. :)
11/11/2004, 1:49 PM
So 'Rule Britannia' is distasteful in a British game with British teams?!!! I love the way Celtic fans will try and suspend all forms of logic. It's a 'hun' anthem, so of course it's evil. Bad people, nasty songs.
As for your analysis of the game, maybe Celtic pick players like Balde, Varga and Lennon because they are football purists who love to play the beautiful game but for any neutral last night Rangers just outclassed Celtic and looked hungrier (what I meant by 'outfought', not your 'huns love fighting' take).
The bottom line is, like many Celtic fans here, you think if one says 'hun' enough times it makes their hatred of Rangers valid.
I s'pose it beats throwing bananas...
Conor, steady! Or like myself you are likely to be accused of having a closed mind! :rolleyes:
11/11/2004, 2:14 PM
Thousands of fans
or ireland for that matter. ****s sake.
So do Man Utd, doesn't mean they have anything to do with Ireland or Cork.
Wellwishers always welcome at the Carlisle. :)
Grand so, i'd like to wish Limerick all the best tomorrow night v you fellas. ;)
I s'pose it beats throwing bananas...
A sad incident that happened in 1986, and was sorted out by the fans right away to make sure incidents like that did'nt happen again.
If though you have proof to suggest that this happens all the time or that there have been incidents of this nature since that sad incident please inform us and show us your proof, i'm all ear's Conor.
Pat O' Banton
11/11/2004, 2:48 PM
Relax Sylvo, put all your ears away, I never made the slighest suggestion that it happened more than once/ I mean, JFK was only assassinated the once, but it still was pretty big news. I didn't see you getting too excited at the mention by davros of the Lansdowne Road riots. Strikes me that that only happened once too...
Ingerland fans only thrashed one city / football ground? Now that really is news. Wasn't there a lot of trouble in Dublin in 91 as well?
Relax Sylvo, put all your ears away, I never made the slighest suggestion that it happened more than once/ I mean, JFK was only assassinated the once, but it still was pretty big news. I didn't see you getting too excited at the mention by davros of the Lansdowne Road riots. Strikes me that that only happened once too...
How do you suggest I should react then to Davros :confused: . If its about songs being sung and played, I can't say i'm one bit bothered. Both sides have done less then PC things to gain some form of advantage so you won't hear me giving out about who sung or done what in that aspect.
My problem about anything that was non football related was the monkey noise's which were pretty often heard when Celtic's black players touched the ball. You were correct about the Mark Walters incident and about how disgracfull that was. But that was an incident that was sorted out right away thankfully, where as this problem is ongoing and nothing seems to be properly said or done about it.
Thousands of fans
in which case David Beckham is chinese?! :rolleyes:
Listen, I've always liked Celtic. Always watched their games when I can and always supported them when I've been watching. But every time I see some moron claiming they're irish, it turns my stomach and makes me more and more convinced I should be supporting whoever they play just to see the neanderthal "Eire 32" brigade on the losing side.
I consider myself a nationalist. I also consider myself a fan of Celtic to a certain degree. But those two things have absolutely FÚCK ALL to do with each other, and anyone who pretends otherwise is a fool IMO. So by all means, post about Celtic if you want,but post about them as another team in another country and stop trying to make connections that only exist in the minds of wannabe ra heads with too much time on their hands.
For whats its worth, re the game last night Celtic badly need a few new defenders- Balde is the only one worth keeping. varga and valgaeren are absolutely atrocious and agathe can hardly kick a ball.
Pat O' Banton
11/11/2004, 7:24 PM
in which case David Beckham is chinese?! :rolleyes:
Listen, I've always liked Celtic. Always watched their games when I can and always supported them when I've been watching. But every time I see some moron claiming they're irish, it turns my stomach and makes me more and more convinced I should be supporting whoever they play just to see the neanderthal "Eire 32" brigade on the losing side.
I consider myself a nationalist. I also consider myself a fan of Celtic to a certain degree. But those two things have absolutely FÚCK ALL to do with each other, and anyone who pretends otherwise is a fool IMO. So by all means, post about Celtic if you want,but post about them as another team in another country and stop trying to make connections that only exist in the minds of wannabe ra heads with too much time on their hands.
For whats its worth, re the game last night Celtic badly need a few new defenders- Balde is the only one worth keeping. varga and valgaeren are absolutely atrocious and agathe can hardly kick a ball.
Man its been like Bagdad with keyboards round here today, where's Fr. WW to give us a few calming reassuring words?
Anyway can people accept this then, Celtic and Hibs are teams with destinct Irish origins and one of many organisations throughout the world serve to remind people of Ireland's age old problem of immigration. Best to leave it at that (or have I started something worse :eek: )
Anyway bit harsh on Varga who has been Celtic's most constant central defender this season. Bobo was better last night but has been having a poor time by his high standards this season. Your right about Valgaeren, he has been poor for some time. Agathe tends to play brilliantly when asked just to defend - stunning in the Nou Camp last season - but looks sus when asked to play as a wing back (he certainly can't cross the ball and last night was actually the first time in ages I seen his crosses regularly beat the first defender) It was a generally poor performace last night.
Hibs were the first team of Irish origin and it ****es me off to see all these uneducated morons jump on the Celtic bandwagon and strut around with their Celtic jersies when really they haven't got a clue. As for the Celtic team, they are muck are present. The football they play is rubbish. Larsson kept them together for as long as he could but he finally fulfilled his ambitions and is now playing in a proper league with a fantastic club. The SPL, apart from the top two is on a par with the Eircom League and this speaks volumes.
liam88
11/11/2004, 8:49 PM
Lads and Lassies,
A serious point, most of the posts on this thread are from regular posters. Is there any need to gatecrash it and turn it in to the usual 'sellthick', 'scottish club' huns this & that argument????
Those who are anti celtic - we have pretty much got the jist of your views over the last few years, and very rarely is any new point made.
Can I suggest if you have no interest in a celtic game why don't you just ignore the thread and let the significant number of celtic fans post on the related subject?
just a thought?
HERE! HERE! :D :D
Eanna if what you claim is ture about no links then why on earth do you support Celtic? Got relatives in East Glasgow have ya or are you just a glory supporter............would explain it as you support city rather than the real historical Cork team ;)
All seriousness.......and I know we've hit this one before........if the Grand Old Team of Belfast Celtic (God bless them) began playing again and once more all of Ireland supported them would you anti-Celts be so quick to dismiss them as a 'yoo-kay' team just because they don't play in the Republic?
Eanna if what you claim is ture about no links then why on earth do you support Celtic? Got relatives in East Glasgow have ya or are you just a glory supporter............would explain it as you support city rather than the real historical Cork team ;)
Why? Because I think Martin O'Neill is a great manager and I think the noise made by Celtic fans home and away is what everyteam should aspire to- I love clubs with loud, passionate fans.
All seriousness.......and I know we've hit this one before........if the Grand Old Team of Belfast Celtic (God bless them) began playing again and once more all of Ireland supported them would you anti-Celts be so quick to dismiss them as a 'yoo-kay' team just because they don't play in the Republic?
No. I'd regard them as another irish team, and therefore a rival.
Why would all of Ireland support a team from Belfast? I'm from Cork, I'd still be part of the Rebel Army. I couldn't see any Bohs or Rovers fans going off supporting Belfast Celtic!
In fact they'd probably be hated rivals of ours if they played in the EL and if they played in the IL they'd be irrelevant to us.
Liam, what would make Belfast Celtic better than any other Irish club? So unless you're from Belfast what possible reason would there be for supporting them?
I really have no idea where you're coming from with this!
Junior
12/11/2004, 11:42 AM
Thanks for allowing us the privilege of posting about our team. In fact this thread was a simple thread aimed at discussing the match against Rangers on Weds.
No mention of how 'Irish' Celtic are or 'making up' connections that don't really exist.
In fact that rubbish is generally instigated by a fairly repetitive bunch of Eircom League fans on this site who obviously have 'Too much time on their hands'.
As I said earlier, stop creating debates that have been done to death already and were never the intention of the original subject.
Pat O' Banton
12/11/2004, 5:37 PM
Hibs were the first team of Irish origin and it ****es me off to see all these uneducated morons jump on the Celtic bandwagon and strut around with their Celtic jersies when really they haven't got a clue.
Again gross generalisations, this doesn't apply to the vast majority Celtic fans that I know and I get the distinct impression that I mix with far more than you.
Yes well done you are soooo right Hibs were the first club in Scotland of Irish origin, however you will be aware that Irish people went to Glasgow in greater numbers than Edinburgh which inevitably gave them greater pulling power and made them a bigger club.
adamd164
13/11/2004, 9:25 AM
I LOVE YOU PRSO, I DO
I LOVE YOU PRSO,I DO
I LOVE YOU PRSO, I DO
OH PRSO I LOVE YOU!
God I LOOOVE seeing Celtic lose!
Support your local team
We all do it, so should you
Support your local team!
13/11/2004, 9:42 AM
Hibs were the first team of Irish origin and it ****es me off to see all these uneducated morons jump on the Celtic bandwagon and strut around with their Celtic jersies when really they haven't got a clue. As for the Celtic team, they are muck are present. The football they play is rubbish. Larsson kept them together for as long as he could but he finally fulfilled his ambitions and is now playing in a proper league with a fantastic club. The SPL, apart from the top two is on a par with the Eircom League and this speaks volumes.
What have Hibs got to do with it? Their chairman broke with the Irish identity in the early 1900's and even led a campaign to stop the Irish flag being flown at Parkhead.