View Full Version : 24th/25th rounds LOI August 15th - 18th
CityRebel
19/08/2014, 3:05 PM
Kick lumps out of other teams players so they actually get injured, that way they're not wasting time on purpose when they're on the ground.
Like Quigley hacking Mark O'Sullivan and getting sent off a week or two ago? The opposition physio has rarely had to come onto the field in our games.
19/08/2014, 3:06 PM
Like Quigley hacking Mark O'Sullivan and getting sent off a week or two ago? The opposition physio has rarely had to come onto the field in our games.
Except when you play in Dublin.
CityRebel
19/08/2014, 3:07 PM
There is nothing more moral about any of that. In the first its actively denying any kind of play to be possible, and in the second its pretending you need more time to take a set-piece than you really need. The first is bad sportsmanship (and always has been) and the second is dishonest.
Teams do this. And they pretend to have injuries when they don't. And I can presume, without much cause for doubt, that Cork have done all of them at some point or another. You're frustrated over a result, but please do not sit there and pretend your team is an exception.
If a Cork City player continuously falls to the ground off the ball holding his head pretending to be injured in order to stop the game and waste time, he can **** off because he's not interested in playing football. I have never seen us or any other team in the league play quite as cynically as Bray did last night.
Cannot question Brays actions and while they were a tad more exceptional at the time wasting than any other team I've ever seen, I'm sure if we did take the lead in Oriel then it would be carpet burns all round.
What I did notice was the Bray goalkeeping coach sat in the Derrynane stand giving out orders to goalkeeper and players, (mostly go down, hold your head etc etc) but is it allowed for someone to coach from anywhere other than the dugout/technical area?
PartySaint
19/08/2014, 3:50 PM
Not sure where to put this but a nice mention for Dundalk on the Guardians website, have them included in the 'Top 20 team goals of all time' category here.
http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/aug/19/chelsea-pass-move-football-team-goals-spain-barcelona-arsenal
Overthemoon
19/08/2014, 5:13 PM
Nice one thanks for putting it up
ATFC-1887
19/08/2014, 5:46 PM
Bloody students :(
19/08/2014, 5:49 PM
Bloody Town more like! :p
Or maybe we're just as bad as each other?
Ezeikial
19/08/2014, 6:14 PM
Not sure where to put this but a nice mention for Dundalk on the Guardians website, have them included in the 'Top 20 team goals of all time' category here.
http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/aug/19/chelsea-pass-move-football-team-goals-spain-barcelona-arsenal
Bah! Sure what would the Guardian know.
If you ask a connoisseur of passing football only 2 of dem 36 passes were incisive
Ezeikial
19/08/2014, 6:17 PM
What would have been a more moral way to waste time?
Mick O'Brien - Athlone Town V Finn Harps, FAI Cup Semi-final (http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/the-loneliness-of-the-longterm-goalie-26252091.html)
ATFC-1887
19/08/2014, 6:21 PM
Bloody Town more like! :p
Or maybe we're just as bad as each other?
I think so :P
Thought we could/should of won the game with the amount of ball we had but UCD had some good chances too. Been our problem all season. Cant finish our chances. Good crowd up from Athlone too. Pity we couldn't get the 3 points. We are more than likely screwed now. Can't wait for the likes of Harps and Cobh away :D
19/08/2014, 6:26 PM
Yeah, can't argue with that (well, apart from "should of" instead of "should have" :p)
Obviously if we'd scored instead of hitting the post shortly before ye scored, the game would have been hugely different.
Long way back for Athlone now, but still doable. Our form and Bray's form has been awful; Athlone's is slightly less awful.
Also, was surprised to see Roddy Jnr back in the league!
Here's our goal btw. Third assist in about 15 minutes for Ayman, including the end of the Pat's game.
o5_ULq1zczA
19/08/2014, 6:53 PM
Long way back for Athlone now, but still doable.
I see what ye did there...i'd given up at this stage on 'had of been' as part of the vernacular of Dundalk!
19/08/2014, 7:10 PM
I'm confused!
What'd I do where?
19/08/2014, 7:51 PM
'Long' way back......golden local newspaper headline stuff :p
19/08/2014, 7:56 PM
Ah! Get it now.
I can categorically state I did not intentionally make that horrendous pun!
19/08/2014, 8:02 PM
I know! Thats why I had to point it out:p
El-Pietro
19/08/2014, 9:35 PM
Well thats true, but with us having the much harder game, and especially after your impressive away win in Derry, this was certainly two points dropped by Cork. That could be costly with only 7 games to go before the final game away in Dundalk. We will need to lose two games and Cork win same two for them to go ahead.
However a 4 point lead (5 really with the GD) is by no means out of sight stuff with 8 games to go. A lot could still happen.
no. you need to draw one game for us to have it in our own hands. we'd be within 2 points of you on the last day.
sullanefc
19/08/2014, 10:13 PM
What I did notice was the Bray goalkeeping coach sat in the Derrynane stand giving out orders to goalkeeper and players, (mostly go down, hold your head etc etc) but is it allowed for someone to coach from anywhere other than the dugout/technical area?
There is surely a rule against it. What's the point in the technical area then? Hopefully it's reported and Bray get fined. Would make up for that "performance" last night.
19/08/2014, 10:28 PM
Why would there be a rule against it? Anybody can shout things on the pitch from the stand. As long as they're not encroaching on the pitch or the opposition penalty area, they can say whatever they like from wherever they like.
sullanefc
19/08/2014, 10:44 PM
Why would there be a rule against it? Anybody can shout things on the pitch from the stand. As long as they're not encroaching on the pitch or the opposition penalty area, they can say whatever they like from wherever they like.
Can a manager do that?
19/08/2014, 10:46 PM
If he's not banned, yeah. When Steve McLaren took over at Nottingham Forest he spent a couple of games around the top of the stand and relayed instructions back to the bench. Alex Ferguson started watching more games from the stand towards the end of his time in charge at Manchester United. Sitting in the stand screaming instructions would be an unusual approach but there's nothing in it that's against the rules of football. And why would there be? It would be silly.
In the Ireland U19s game with Serbia during the summer, the Serbs had three coaches positioned in the East Stand at Tallaght watching the game and occasionally communicating with the players. I assume that's what the Bray coach was doing, sitting in a different position to get an alternative view of the play.
sullanefc
19/08/2014, 11:04 PM
Not saying you're wrong or anything, just not sure what the rules are regarding technical areas, but what is stopping a manager going to the opposite sideline and walking up and down the length of the pitch barking instructions? You would prob argue that it's ok once he is in the stand. But what if there is no stand on one side, like say in athlone. Can a manager go to the other side and manage the game from there???
19/08/2014, 11:12 PM
I don't see why not. It is hardly going to give him an unfair advantage, is it?
sullanefc
19/08/2014, 11:22 PM
I don't see why not. It is hardly going to give him an unfair advantage, is it?
Well I just don't see the point in having technical areas then??
19/08/2014, 11:37 PM
There is no point to the technical area in my mind. I think and have always thought they were daft.
NeverFeltBetter
19/08/2014, 11:48 PM
Had a quick gander at the FIFA rulebook PDF. Page 57 here: http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/footballdevelopment/refereeing/02/36/01/11/27_06_2014_new--lawsofthegameweben_neutral.pdf
It states "...only one person at a time is authorised to convey tactical instructions from the technical area" and then "...the coach and other officials must remain within its confines except in special circumstances" which are generally defined as a medical issue.
19/08/2014, 11:49 PM
Technical areas only refer to the field of play and the immediate surroundings. Any spectator area is not covered by it. The purpose of the technical area was to allow coaches to better relay instructions to players. Originally, the rule was that coaches must always be seated on the bench, but this was impractical.
Strangely, the FAI rule book doesn't have any mention of technical areas or ground markings: http://www.fai.ie/images/FAI_Rule_Book.pdf
NeverFeltBetter
19/08/2014, 11:56 PM
But coaches are supposed to stay in the technical area according to FIFA, as long as they are "identified" before the match as coaches to the officials. So, the Bray goalie coach would still be at fault for leaving and going into the stand to shout instructions/whatever if that procedure was followed.
If it wasn't (that is, if he was not "identified" by the officials, as FIFA puts it), then I guess he wasn't violating any rule, though he was certainly bending them severely. Of course, its far more likely that the officials just didn't care too much about what one Bray coach was doing.
20/08/2014, 12:02 AM
It's a matter for a FIFA official I'd imagine, but I can't see how the technical area rules would apply to somebody in the stands. You may have a point that a coach can't leave and go into the stand without permission, but again it's not clear. The technical area specifications are designed to keep the respective coaching staff separate from one another and the players, not to stop coaches from relaying information.
NeverFeltBetter
20/08/2014, 12:34 AM
Regardless, we all know that FIFA rules aren't going to be followed to the letter on a LOI Monday night game in Cork. I find it hard to imagine that a 4th official would try to track down and return an errant coach over some shouted instructions, even if (IF) the rulebook explicitly backed him up in doing so.
20/08/2014, 12:37 AM
Nonsense. If Buttimer is in charge, you can rest assured the most obscure and outdated rules will be enforced with pedantic efficiency while the action on the pitch goes by unnoticed.
sullanefc
20/08/2014, 3:21 AM
Photo from hincha on ccfcforum:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-KA-9VV_0QXk/U_KUBVjpPrI/AAAAAAACchQ/xSBbJi3lxiA/s800/467.JPG (https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/WXU19wyAmK9Z25vK09v1ZNMTjNZETYmyPJy0liipFm0?feat=e mbedwebsite)From 2014-08-18 City 1-1 Bray (https://picasaweb.google.com/108646912622354413796/20140818City11Bray?authuser=0&feat=embedwebsite)
sullanefc
20/08/2014, 3:33 AM
Again, don't know if the rules of the technical area are clear on situations like this, but it would seem to defeat the purpose of having technical areas when you see a situation like this.
When the instructions are of a time wasting variety though, it sticks in the craw. I would like if there was a violation of a rule and for Bray to get fined for it just out of bitterness over the result. :D
20/08/2014, 7:19 AM
Not saying you're wrong or anything, just not sure what the rules are regarding technical areas, but what is stopping a manager going to the opposite sideline and walking up and down the length of the pitch barking instructions? You would prob argue that it's ok once he is in the stand. But what if there is no stand on one side, like say in athlone.
It's happened before. Pat Dolan got sent off in Belfield Park I think, and just went behind the fence. Brendan Place got sent off in the Bowl when he was Athlone manager and did the same, though the ref did make a bit of a deal of getting him to go back a few yards. I remember seeing our goalkeeping coach in the stand opposite the Lego end in Tolka because it gave him a better view of what the keeper was doing.
Gordon Strachan used to name himself as a sub when he was player-manager of Coventry just so he had an excuse to go up and down the touchline giving orders to his players. I think he was told to stop - if he was outside the technical area, he was in his capacity as a player, not a manager.
I presume you have to name a minimum of officials on the bench. And others can go where they want. But it does sound like a bit of a loophole alright.
Hulsey
20/08/2014, 8:53 AM
This has been happening for a good while now. Would it have been brought up if cork had have won? Move on lads, the reason you's didn't win was down to poor finishing nothing else
CityRebel
20/08/2014, 8:55 AM
This has been happening for a good while now. Would it have been brought up if cork had have won? Move on lads, the reason you's didn't win was down to poor finishing nothing else
It would have been brought up if we had won. We've acknowledged that it's our own fault for not scoring a second goal.
It'd be common enough for opposition coaches to be over our side (the Section O side) in the City Calling. I don't see how managers and coaches have to be in the technical area - it's common practice in much more high profile leagues for managers to sit in the stand/ director's box. I don't see the difference between that and being in the stands in the LoI, except for scale (of stadiums and crowds).
btw legend has it that when Keely was our manager in Abbeycartron, the ref threatened to send him off, but Keely was already behind the barrier so there was nothing the ref could do about the stick he was getting.
It would have been brought up if we had won.
Sure it would.
This is an absolutely nothing story. Every league in the world has coaches/officials away from the technical area. Cork fans are moaning about a goalkeeper coach giving instructions to an outfielder? Seriously?!
PartySaint
20/08/2014, 9:34 AM
I can not believe you have the cheek to show your face around here after Brays disgusting performance on Friday night. We will be lucky if football ever recovers from the bad name you've given it.
This could be the end.
20/08/2014, 9:41 AM
Bray don't mind about the end. We all know that after the end, all that'll be left will be the cockroaches and Bray Wanderers.
sullanefc
20/08/2014, 9:58 AM
I would like if there was a violation of a rule and for Bray to get fined for it just out of bitterness over the result. :D
It would have been brought up if we had won.
No it wouldn't. It's bitterness on my part pure and simple. I was just hoping there was no grey area and Bray would get a big fine.
CityRebel
20/08/2014, 11:05 AM
Lads, once again to spell it out, I'm not talking just about the official in the stand giving instructions. In general, these sort of things, including referees performances etc., are brought up win, lose or draw. Some people really need to get a grip.
20/08/2014, 11:39 AM
Sure it would.
This is an absolutely nothing story. Every league in the world has coaches/officials away from the technical area. Cork fans are moaning about a goalkeeper coach giving instructions to an outfielder? Seriously?!
Either that or I just threw it in as a distraction to stop the bold boys bullying poor City Rebel and questioning his morality.
Some people really need to get a grip.
Couldn't have said it better CR
If this bray official is at it during the next match they play, a small group of supporters should follow him around singing and shouting whilst he tries to instruct his player !
A similar thing has been done before.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n55ab5-dVcI&feature=player_detailpage#t=14
20/08/2014, 6:53 PM
Tom took it to an extreme level in a friendly between Town and UCD at the Foster's Avenue pitch in UCD some years back where he actually ran into the linesman and knocked him over. Tom took off like a rocket, I think he was afraid he'd be banned or something.
wonder88
20/08/2014, 9:46 PM
I remember Brian Kerr coaching, the Pats left back, from shed/stand up at Finn Harps when he was director of football at the club. He was right beside me in a fine suit, and really it was more encouragement than positional instructions he was giving out. Pats won 3-1 I remember, and the left back was the guy who had been in a court case along with John Terry, name anyone?
Plenty of money in the league at the time anyway. It is a surprise that Kerr has not tried to get back managing in the LoI again as he seems to have a lot to say about it, maybe if he has no interest in managing any more.
20/08/2014, 10:08 PM
It is a surprise that Kerr has not tried to get back managing in the LoI again as he seems to have a lot to say about it, maybe if he has no interest in managing any more.
Nobody could afford Brian Kerr now. He's got far too high an opinion of himself and would outprice any manager in the league by a long distance.