View Full Version : 24th/25th rounds LOI August 15th - 18th

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

18/08/2014, 10:29 PM
Absolute joke the game in Dalymount being called off. Looking at Rob Rogers' pictures, it seems pretty clear Connolly had no choice. Absolutely disgraceful. If your pitch isn't up to it during a mild week in August then we might as well just call the whole thing off. They obviously thought they could get away with a hovel of a pitch but for once this season they've actually been called out on it. Hopefully the replay takes place in Richmond.

White Horse
18/08/2014, 10:57 PM
Another good win for us. We played well and deserved the three points. It's hard not to look back at our league campaign as one wasted but getting into the winning habit now will benefit us greatly for the cup.

It could have been a lot worse. Before you got rid of Horgan, it looked like you were going down. Now the gates are improving and you can build for next season.

White Horse
18/08/2014, 11:11 PM
Looking at pictures of Dalymount on this Twitter page:

https://twitter.com/RFJRogers

Ref made the right call. Bohs should be ashamed and the FAI should act.

18/08/2014, 11:15 PM
Looking at pictures of Dalymount on this Twitter page:

Ref made the right call. Bohs should be ashamed and the FAI should act.
Think your lot had complaints about the pitch after you played down there?

DannyInvincible
18/08/2014, 11:20 PM

Some interesting photos of what is alleged to be the Dalymount pitch here. Looks like it is shocking condition altogether.

I can only assume replacement sods were placed on various run-down patches around the pitch but have been lifted out of the turf for those snaps? Either way, it looks like someone was at the pitch with a spade and got a bit chop-happy. Looks a terrible state and I can't blame the ref. Bohs have to take full responsibility here.

Ezeikial
18/08/2014, 11:24 PM

After Dundalk won 2-0 last time out in Dalymount, most of the players who were interviewed mentioned the poor condition of the pitch. The length of the grass was very noticeable and it was assumed at the time that it was intentional to try to disrupt the Dundalk passing game.

White Horse
18/08/2014, 11:29 PM

Only that they hadn't cut the grass for some time. They were trying to make it difficult for Dundalk to pass the ball quickly. It wasn't a safety issue.

Tonight was completely different issue. Those pictures are frightening. If those pieces of sod were loose, someone could have really have hurt themselves. I'm disappointed that Bohs are trying to dodge responsibility and blame the ref.

wonder88
18/08/2014, 11:37 PM
Surprised that folks are giving so much credence to Rob Rodgers twitter pictures. The Bohs president said that the turf pictured was ripped up by the ref/officals. Anyone who is a regular at LoI for last decade or more will know that many games have been played on worse surfaces. A disgraceful decision was made and there is no point in trying to justify it afterwards. Now if proper attention was being paid to the League by the FAI, the concerns of other clubs and match observers about Dalymount would have been acted on before this farce happened, but sadly this is not the case. Maybe it could have been raised at the recent annual conference even, but apparently all the clubs are happy with the standard of officiating and other decision-making we have in the LoI.

MeathDrog
18/08/2014, 11:40 PM
Surprised that folks are giving so much credence to Rob Rodgers twitter pictures. The Bohs president said that the turf pictured was ripped up by the ref/officals. Anyone who is a regular at LoI for last decade or more will know that many games have been played on worse surfaces. A disgraceful decision was made and there is no point in trying to justify it afterwards. Now if proper attention was being paid to the League by the FAI, the concerns of other clubs and match observers about Dalymount would have been acted on before this farce happened, but sadly this is not the case. Maybe it could have been raised at the recent annual conference even, but apparently all the clubs are happy with the standard of officiating and other decision-making we have in the LoI.

Of course nobody is naive enough to think the divots were left in an upright position.

"Ripped up" looks to be exaggurating the difficulty of moving the turf. Judging by the pics it looks like it didn't take a whole lot of difficulty to move them.

Ref made the right call. It should serve as a wake up call for Bohs, but they have a history of ignoring those...

19/08/2014, 12:38 AM
just home, tired and peed off, what can i say its hard enuff to be a LOI supporter:mad: (shams V Bohs)

NeverFeltBetter
19/08/2014, 12:47 AM
It really doesn't look like it would have taken much to rip that pitch up- a sliding tackle, a sudden twist of a boot, even just a hard shot/pass of the ball connecting with the turf.

It's easy to say "Just play on, players were happy to play on (immaterial, though it shouldn't have to be said), what's the big deal, i've seen worse". But if the officials on the day were not happy, that's all there is to it. On another day they play on and someone breaks his leg, and suddenly everyone is asking why the game was allowed to be played at all. We should be asking why Bohs allowed the pitch to fall into that state of disrepair, or why officials in previous games weren't willing to call a halt if the pitch was in the same nick as it was tonight.

It really should not be a case of teams and spectators settling for substandard pitches because that's just the way it is (and I have seen a boatload that looked troubling, not least Jackman in 2012 or Thomond Park a few days after the rugby this season). This should be a wake-up call for the whole league, not just Bohemians.

Pablo Escobar
19/08/2014, 6:39 AM
I couldn't make it to Cork for our game, but it seemed like we were hitting every part of the goal frame from the updates. It sounded like a very frustrating evening and is a very frustrating result. I'd suppose the only positive is that we didn't lose ground.

CityRebel
19/08/2014, 7:43 AM
Important goal from McMillan. Surprised at Cork not beating Bray even though they had an extra man for over an hour.
We spent the best part of that hour watching Bray players lie down off the ball with mystery (head) injuries to stop play, probably the most unsportsmanlike performance I've ever seen, I'd be embarrassed if City players behaved like that. I brought a neutral to the game and even they left infuriated by it, why would you pay €15 to watch grown men spend the best part of an hour feigning injury? Having said that, we only have ourselves to blame for not winning.

desaintsno.12
19/08/2014, 8:26 AM
Well done Limerick last night. We were shocking, but they played a good game .
wouldnt mind us getting Gaffney next year. would suit us perfectly

Ezeikial
19/08/2014, 8:38 AM
We spent the best part of that hour watching Bray players lie down off the ball with mystery (head) injuries to stop play, probably the most unsportsmanlike performance I've ever seen,

Even worse then Bambi and that diving, whinging lot from Inchicore?

White Horse
19/08/2014, 8:50 AM
wouldnt mind us getting Gaffney next year. would suit us perfectly

There'll be a lot of takers if he decides to move.

donnrua
19/08/2014, 8:54 AM
What's the story with St Pats support? 711 at the game last night isn't great for a club that are chasing a European spot and are reigning league champs. I know it was a Monday night against Limerick but surely Pats have to be the worst supported "big club" in the country?

desaintsno.12
19/08/2014, 8:58 AM
What's the story with St Pats support? 711 at the game last night isn't great for a club that are chasing a European spot and are reigning league champs. I know it was a Monday night against Limerick but surely Pats have to be the worst supported "big club" in the country?

not a lot of buzz about the team/club at the moment. the feeling of disappointment is massive. One of the best sides we have had in a long time and they havent clicked for an entire game once all year. between injuries, suspensions, red cards, defeats, early european exit , etc etc, its just been a horrible season. The crowd was poor last night and you could feel the lack of energy from the fans which probably spreads to the players.

donnrua
19/08/2014, 9:20 AM
not a lot of buzz about the team/club at the moment. the feeling of disappointment is massive. One of the best sides we have had in a long time and they havent clicked for an entire game once all year. between injuries, suspensions, red cards, defeats, early european exit , etc etc, its just been a horrible season. The crowd was poor last night and you could feel the lack of energy from the fans which probably spreads to the players.
Fair enough but Pats are 3rd in the league and their home form has been very good results wise, don't know about performances, but I think it was 10 wins from 12 before last night. I suppose that result against Legia and the fact that the league has more or less been a two horse race for some time might have a lot to do with alright but still?

sidcon
19/08/2014, 9:27 AM
The pitch was playable last night, while it was not great it was playable. rob Rogers pictures (4th official) were taken after the sods had been removed to show Connolly what had been done. Rodgers photos are very biased.
Bohs took to the pitch afterwards and done a full training session on it afterwards and even play match on it themselves in training.
This is Connolly making a name for himself. When players, managers, garda, and everyone else wants them game to go ahead there is something wrong with the person making the decision.

PartySaint
19/08/2014, 9:51 AM
We spent the best part of that hour watching Bray players lie down off the ball with mystery (head) injuries to stop play, probably the most unsportsmanlike performance I've ever seen, I'd be embarrassed if City players behaved like that. I brought a neutral to the game and even they left infuriated by it, why would you pay €15 to watch grown men spend the best part of an hour feigning injury? Having said that, we only have ourselves to blame for not winning.

Awwww bless, did the bad men waste time and get their team a very good result?

Crowd last night was 911 not 711 as stated above, point still stands tho, crap crowd.

Straightstory
19/08/2014, 9:54 AM
Looking at the picture of the penalty spot again, it seems bizarre to call the game off. Presumably it was in the same condition for the Bohs v Drogs game on Friday (three days before). Should that game have been played? Should the points now be awarded to Drogheda!!!!?

White Horse
19/08/2014, 10:12 AM
Looking at the picture of the penalty spot again, it seems bizarre to call the game off. Presumably it was in the same condition for the Bohs v Drogs game on Friday (three days before). Should that game have been played? Should the points now be awarded to Drogheda!!!!?

Buttimer (who else) requested repairs to be carried and Bohs decided to perform remedial work three hours before the game. The remedial works seems to have entailed resurfacing several areas of the pitch. They would have been better leaving well enough alone rather than hacking into the sod at such a late stage.

19/08/2014, 10:23 AM
Love this from the Dundalk twitter account:
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC/status/501436044643168256

CityRebel
19/08/2014, 10:31 AM
Awwww bless, did the bad men waste time and get their team a very good result?

Crowd last night was 911 not 711 as stated above, point still stands tho, crap crowd.
Credit to them for getting a point, and I understand completely why they'd waste time, but the manner in which they did that was disgraceful. As I said, if City players behaved like that our own fans shouting at them to get up and cop on. Our manager wouldn't tolerate it either.

19/08/2014, 10:35 AM

Thats it ye have done it now..you're going to win the cup!!

desaintsno.12
19/08/2014, 10:50 AM
Thats it ye have done it now..you're going to win the cup!!

the sooner we get that agony over with the better

desaintsno.12
19/08/2014, 10:51 AM
if City players behaved like that our own fans shouting at them to get up and cop on. Our manager wouldn't tolerate it either.

HA ... brilliant. of course ya's would

White Horse
19/08/2014, 10:51 AM
Will Bohs be able to stage another game at Dalymount this season? The ref mentioned 8 weeks for the botched repair to work?

desaintsno.12
19/08/2014, 10:52 AM
Will Bohs be able to stage another game at Dalymount this season? The ref mentioned 8 weeks for the botched repair to work?

the ref isnt a groundsman to be fair, so not sure what sort of an authority he'd be to make that call

White Horse
19/08/2014, 10:58 AM
the ref isnt a groundsman to be fair, so not sure what sort of an authority he'd be to make that call

Apparently, 8 days was quoted not 8 weeks.

CityRebel
19/08/2014, 11:21 AM
HA ... brilliant. of course ya's would
Yeah, we would.

PartySaint
19/08/2014, 11:49 AM
Cork City once again saving the morals in football

Praise the Lord.

patrickccfc
19/08/2014, 12:13 PM
I can see why bray would time waste they are desperate for points but was just ridiculous staying down for 2-3 minutes and then jumping up like nothing happened.. and also if I'm not mistaken a team can play on when an opposition player is down unless it is a head injury? Well that didn't happen last night as whenever a bray player went down the ref stopped play.. ah well no point moaning over it.. very frustrating knowing dundalk were dropping points that we couldn't get the win.. hit the crossbar and the post and if Danny Morrissey was more clinical he could of scored at least 2.. only upside is we didn't lose any ground on dundalk and pats lost

19/08/2014, 12:14 PM
There weren't any more people there at the start of the season either.

The pitch was playable last night, while it was not great it was playable. rob Rogers pictures (4th official) were taken after the sods had been removed to show Connolly what had been done. Rodgers photos are very biased.
Bohs took to the pitch afterwards and done a full training session on it afterwards and even play match on it themselves in training.
This is Connolly making a name for himself. When players, managers, garda, and everyone else wants them game to go ahead there is something wrong with the person making the decision.
Players and managers always want the game to go ahead. The Gards wanted it to go ahead because otherwise thought there'd be a riot like they've seen on TV3. The only person who matters is the referee and he decided it wasn't worth the risk to players' safety.

The groundsman allegedly told him sand would take eight days to bed in, which sounds like total waffle from whatever volunteer Bohs had appointed to talk to him. It was a shambles from start to finish.

oriel
19/08/2014, 12:44 PM
only upside is we didn't lose any ground on dundalk and pats lost

Well thats true, but with us having the much harder game, and especially after your impressive away win in Derry, this was certainly two points dropped by Cork. That could be costly with only 7 games to go before the final game away in Dundalk. We will need to lose two games and Cork win same two for them to go ahead.

However a 4 point lead (5 really with the GD) is by no means out of sight stuff with 8 games to go. A lot could still happen.

patrickccfc
19/08/2014, 1:12 PM
Well thats true, but with us having the much harder game, and especially after your impressive away win in Derry, this was certainly two points dropped by Cork. That could be costly with only 7 games to go before the final game away in Dundalk. We will need to lose two games and Cork win same two for them to go ahead.

However a 4 point lead (5 really with the GD) is by no means out of sight stuff with 8 games to go. A lot could still happen.

oh definitely 2 points dropped by us especially being a man up for an hour, more composure in front of goal and we would of won for sure.. wouldn't necessarily need ye to lose 2 games even one or two draws with us capitalizing would reel ye back in.. a lot can happen but whatever does happen it's been a fantastic season and one which we can build on for next year

CityRebel
19/08/2014, 1:17 PM
Cork City once again saving the morals in football

Praise the Lord.
If Pats concentrated on playing football with the players ye have instead of the amateur theatrics ye might get more than 900 through the gate.

19/08/2014, 1:19 PM
Exceptional.

19/08/2014, 2:12 PM
Yeah right, I can see Cork last day of the season taking the lead and rushing around keeping play quick to ensure Dundalk have every chance possible to get a result that could lose Cork the title.........

19/08/2014, 2:15 PM
Sure they'll probably bring their own ball boys to keep things moving.

PartySaint
19/08/2014, 2:35 PM
Yeah right, I can see Cork last day of the season taking the lead and rushing around keeping play quick to ensure Dundalk have every chance possible to get a result that could lose Cork the title.........

Even taking the lead would be against the spirit of the game, a team of Corks moral superiority wouldn't do that to bring the game into disrepute

CityRebel
19/08/2014, 2:41 PM
If we ever "perform" where our players continuously collapse to the floor off the ball holding their heads to stop the play, I won't hesitate to condemn it, even if it's in the last game of the season against Dundalk. Some people can't seem to read, I don't blame Bray for wasting time, I completely understand that, the manner in which they did it though was disgraceful.

19/08/2014, 2:43 PM
What would have been a more moral way to waste time?

CityRebel
19/08/2014, 2:46 PM
Running it into the corners (which they didn't even attempt once), taking time over set pieces (which they did at goal kicks).

desaintsno.12
19/08/2014, 2:53 PM
Running it into the corners (which they didn't even attempt once), taking time over set pieces (which they did at goal kicks).

If Pats concentrated on playing football with the players ye have instead of the amateur theatrics ye might get more than 900 through the gate.

brilliant.

Please don't ever change.

19/08/2014, 2:56 PM
Cork players, of course, would never kick lumps out of opposition players and then put ten men behind the ball for an hour with no ambition other than to hold out for an away win. Nor would Cork fans view ever their players' actions subjectively rather than objectively .

yO4ymrOEu7c

CityRebel
19/08/2014, 3:00 PM
Cork players, of course, would never kick lumps out of opposition players and then put ten men behind the ball for an hour with no ambition other than to hold out for an away win. Nor would Cork fans view ever their players' actions subjectively rather than objectively .

yO4ymrOEu7c
We didn't have players continuously falling down off the ball holding their heads trying to stop the play. Your post is completely irrelevant.

PartySaint
19/08/2014, 3:02 PM

Kick lumps out of other teams players so they actually get injured, that way they're not wasting time on purpose when they're on the ground.

NeverFeltBetter
19/08/2014, 3:04 PM
There is nothing more moral about any of that. In the first its actively denying any kind of play to be possible, and in the second its pretending you need more time to take a set-piece than you really need. The first is bad sportsmanship (and always has been) and the second is dishonest.

Teams do this. And they pretend to have injuries when they don't. And I can presume, without much cause for doubt, that Cork have done all of them at some point or another. You're frustrated over a result, but please do not sit there and pretend your team is an exception.