View Full Version : 22nd round LOI - 1st & 2nd August

31/07/2014, 1:22 AM
Prem division Friday

Cork City v Dundalk 8pm live on Setanta.

Bray W. v Athlone T.

Derry C. v Bohemians

Drogheda U. v UCD

Limerick v Shamrock Rvrs

St.Pats.Ath v Sligo Rvrs

First division Friday

GalwayFC v Shelbourne

Finn Harps v Wexford Yths 8pm

Shamrock Rvrs v Longford Town 8pm

Saturday

Cobh Rams v Waterford Utd.

Setanta sub for August for a euro.

IT'S BACK!

Subscribe to the Setanta Pack on satellite from Friday August 1st and receive your first month for just €1. Offer only available online.
https://www.facebook.com/SetantaSportsIreland/photos/a.148614645193312.47798.146104712110972/685403828181055/?type=1&theater

Pablo Escobar
31/07/2014, 6:14 AM
I feel that we're screwed for this game. We're missing far too many crucial players. On the flip side, we haven't lost at home for close to 16 months. Not many teams win in Turners Cross, but the teams that do tend to win the league. 2007 was the last year the team that won the premier failed to win in Turners Cross (with us in the premier obviously).

White Horse
31/07/2014, 8:51 AM
Must win game for Cork. A full house expected, so the pressure is on.

Dundalk play really well on their travels as shown in Coatia last week, so I'm quite hopeful.

adamd164
31/07/2014, 9:34 AM
Few of these up around Cork.

https://scontent-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t1.0-9/p526x296/10370802_845750658769961_3574784007357774670_n.jpg

PartySaint
31/07/2014, 9:38 AM
Although I think the title is Dundalks already, a Cork win coupled with a Pats win could make the next few weeks interesting.

In saying that I don't feel confident about us going into any game this season so Sligo could easily get something in Richmond.

Ezeikial
31/07/2014, 10:00 AM
Although I think the title is Dundalks already, a Cork win coupled with a Pats win could make the next few weeks interesting.

In saying that I don't feel confident about us going into any game this season so Sligo could easily get something in Richmond.

Dundalk may be the bookies favourites, but the league race is far from over. As Cork have strengthened their squad they have every reason to be hopeful that they can maintain the form shown over series 1 and 2. Pats have a quality squad of galacticos, and if they can get central defence tighter they could go on a run that puts pressure on the teams above them.

That said, I expect Dundalk to come away from Turners Cross with at least a point - or if both teams play to recent form then there will be a 6 point gap tomorrow night

White Horse
31/07/2014, 10:10 AM
Although I think the title is Dundalks already....

Being a tad mischievious?

No-one in Dundalk thinks anything is in the bag.

adamd164
31/07/2014, 10:27 AM
I think we're just happy to be at the party... Cork people are naturally humble and unassuming. :o

PartySaint
31/07/2014, 10:40 AM
I know you Dundalk guys have to be cautious but it's over :)

orielabu
31/07/2014, 10:54 AM
" ... but it's over..."
For Pats maybe but not for Cork and Dundalk.

PartySaint
31/07/2014, 11:01 AM
" ... but it's over..."
For Pats maybe but not for Cork and Dundalk.

Cork won't catch Dundalk

Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/07/2014, 12:03 PM

Yeah we've a great record in Richmond.....!

God only knows what team we'll have tomorrow. Just hoping we get to midnight with a squad still there!

Ezeikial
31/07/2014, 12:04 PM
I know you Dundalk guys have to be cautious but it's over :)

C'mon - we know now how this works

Dundalk fans get giddy with title excitement......
Oriel PA announcer plays a well know Queen song.......
Opposition players take offence and use it for super-human motivation.....
Keith Fahey then plays in all weather conditions.........
Pats romp to the title

Once bitten, twice shy

PartySaint
31/07/2014, 12:11 PM
C'mon - we know now how this works

Dundalk fans get giddy with title excitement......
Oriel PA announcer plays a well know Queen song.......
Opposition players take offence and use it for super-human motivation.....
Keith Fahey then plays in all weather conditions.........
Pats romp to the title

Once bitten, twice shy

Stuey Byrne hasn't even wrote us off yet, we need that to happen first.

Pablo Escobar
31/07/2014, 12:22 PM
Can tomorrow not just come so we can be put to the sword!? This can't end quickly enough!

oriel
31/07/2014, 1:14 PM
Ofcourse Dundalk are in a great postion, 3 points clear, same games played, effectively 4 with the GD, but still 3 full months left. Anything could happen, 2 defeats on the spin and we could be 3 behind.

However since losing on day 1, we've only lost once since, and that was over 3 months ago I think, the form and goal scoring to date, and also full points from 3 games during Europe suggests we might be hard to knock off top spot, but its far from over thats for sure.

Tomorrow night should be a cracker, you would feel Cork need to win, but even if its a draw they are still in touch, a Dundalk win might leave them a little too much to make up over 11 games or so left, but I certainly wont be talking about the title until October.

El-Pietro
31/07/2014, 1:21 PM
If we lose we're definitely out of it. 6 points is too much for us to make up, especially with your goal difference.

A draw and a win in our next two games put us in a very strong position for Europe and keep us in touch for the title. I'm actually a little annoyed cos I only started to think the title was even a possibility after the UCD win. I only got to enjoy that feeling for a week.

oriel
31/07/2014, 2:56 PM
Be honest El P, were you expecting Dundalk to drop points during the 4 matches we played in Europe? I suppose we were fortunate with the way the home games fell, Athlone and Bray, but Rovers away was tricky.

Im not saying you wont win it, but if you finish runners up that will surely be considered an excellent season?

Yossarian
31/07/2014, 3:04 PM
I'm not going to be one who is afraid to talk up our chances. If we win tomorrow night then I think we'll win the league. I just can't see us dropping enough points for another team to overhaul us if we go into the last series with a 6 point lead and a far better goal difference. We'll probably still drop points but so will everyone else.

El-Pietro
31/07/2014, 3:43 PM
Be honest El P, were you expecting Dundalk to drop points during the 4 matches we played in Europe? I suppose we were fortunate with the way the home games fell, Athlone and Bray, but Rovers away was tricky.

Im not saying you wont win it, but if you finish runners up that will surely be considered an excellent season?
I hadn't thought about it no, but I thought wed come into this game tied with you and we'd then have every chance. When your team keeps winning games its hard not to get caught up in the excitement.

Fivesilver
31/07/2014, 6:27 PM
Sligo could easily get something in Richmond.

Yep, we might kidnap a few of your players. Don't be surprised if you haven't a clue who half our starting 11 are.

PartySaint
31/07/2014, 6:39 PM
Yep, we might kidnap a few of your players. Don't be surprised if you haven't a clue who half our starting 11 are.

You don't actually need any strikers or attacking players in general to be able to score against us.

El-Pietro
31/07/2014, 7:29 PM
Do Sligo know something the rest of us don't? Are the FAI instituting a draft of sorts next season? That's the only scenario (short of impending bankruptcy) in which Sligos slash and burn policy makes sense to me.

Fivesilver
31/07/2014, 10:05 PM
It certainly looks a bit mental. From what I've been told spending power is down but there's no threat of any major crisis.

01/08/2014, 9:50 AM
Do Sligo know something the rest of us don't? Are the FAI instituting a draft of sorts next season? That's the only scenario (short of impending bankruptcy) in which Sligos slash and burn policy makes sense to me.

Unlikely to get top 4 so no real difference between finishing 5th and, say, 8th and they're clearly good enough to stay 5th anyway. Save a few quid and look at players for next season? It might be the smart thing to do

desaintsno.12
01/08/2014, 9:56 AM
I think Sligo have been very smart in the window. Apart from signing Zayed of course. Getting rid of the high earners was shrewd

PartySaint
01/08/2014, 10:06 AM
I think Sligo have been very smart in the window. Apart from signing Zayed of course. Getting rid of the high earners was shrewd

And none of the players they let go are actually any good. Good business done by Sligo.

Louth4sam
01/08/2014, 10:14 AM
Not sure why everybody keeps writing off Cork. Up until last weekend they had an identical record to Dundalk. They've had a fantastic season and haven't dropped off the pace like everybody thought they would.

Fivesilver
01/08/2014, 10:57 AM
I see the Saints faithful are setting up for a mighty triumph over a Sligo side that has craftily got rid of all its bad players. (:

PartySaint
01/08/2014, 11:13 AM
I see the Saints faithful are setting up for a mighty triumph over a Sligo side that has craftily got rid of all its bad players. (:

It'll be a 1-1 draw.

vinnie
01/08/2014, 12:25 PM
but Rovers away was tricky.

Will you go way out of that, you savaged us

Ezeikial
01/08/2014, 12:55 PM
Will you go way out of that, you savaged us

I'd say that he meant "tricky" in the sense that it had the potential to be a really difficult tie.

It was no "savaging" though. Although Dundalk were below normal standard on the day, Rovers were pretty dismal

01/08/2014, 6:59 PM
Link for the game...

http://www.wiziwig.tv/broadcast.php?matchid=271649&part=sports

NeverFeltBetter
01/08/2014, 7:02 PM
Limerick one up through Gaffney. Weird to think he might have been playing against us tonight. ET man says around 400 at it, imagine a lot of them are Shams fans.

Edit: 2-0 now. Turner. Things are looking up.

Edit 2: Make that three. Shams OG. Croly's last game?

SeanDrog
01/08/2014, 7:16 PM
Limerick one up through Gaffney. Weird to think he might have been playing against us tonight. ET man says around 400 at it, imagine a lot of them are Shams fans.

Edit: 2-0 now. Turner. Things are looking up.

Edit 2: Make that three. Shams OG. Croly's last game?

3 up now ...... Crolly must be a goner now

01/08/2014, 7:18 PM
Great goal from Towell. It was coming as soon as he got the ball.

Dundalk lead 1-0

Candystripe
01/08/2014, 8:06 PM
Derry City on fire tonight again! ! Duffy with 2 and Patterson the other. Molloy just had a good goal disallowed.

01/08/2014, 8:17 PM
Gareth Coughlan sends us 1 up against Galway.

Candystripe
01/08/2014, 8:18 PM
4-0 now to Derry Patterson. All four goals will be great to watch on Monday.

NeverFeltBetter
01/08/2014, 8:29 PM
4-0 now. Folan. What a night.

01/08/2014, 8:44 PM
Darren Dennehy makes it 1-1 at the Cross.

EDIT: Brian Gartland makes it 2-1 in a minute. 6 min to go! HON DUNDALK!

NeverFeltBetter
01/08/2014, 8:46 PM
Not so fast.

Rocketman
01/08/2014, 8:59 PM
Not on here a lot but its a great feeling to hammer the gypsies :)

01/08/2014, 9:00 PM
All over at the Cross. 2-1 to Dundalk.

Sligo Hoops.
01/08/2014, 9:15 PM
Rather appropriate that on the night Stephen Kenny guides Dundalk to the title, that his permanent successor on Whitestown Way presides over another embarrassment. It is time Jonathan Roche acted. You didn't have the balls to stick with Kenny less than 24 months ago. Our club is in free fall since we all got bloated on the excess of Europa league in 2011. Get off the fence.

01/08/2014, 9:18 PM
Handy win for Town against baby Rovers. They were incredibly defensive but once we got the first it was all over. Great finishing from the boy Davy O'Sullivan again

patrickccfc
01/08/2014, 9:26 PM
That hurt so much.. thought we were gona push on after the goal but we let one thing in the other end.. good game of football and brilliant crowd.. never thought we were gona win the league but to be up there so long has been great we just need to keep it up for the rest of the season and get Europe which would be a great reward for the effort the lads have put in.. fair play dundalk worthy champions should it happen

Acer
01/08/2014, 9:35 PM
We were phenomenal. Only complaint is that we were a wee bit wasteful with the chances; it's not an exaggeration to say that we should have had at least 10. Best football of the season and the past few weeks have shown that maybe our players can play some ball...

Next week will be an absolute cracker.

CityRebel
01/08/2014, 9:40 PM
Fair play to Dundalk, deserved champions.

I don't want to take away from Dundalk, but Sutton has consistently ****ed us over in every one of our games that he has ref'd. To be clear, I have no complaints about the result.

oriel
01/08/2014, 9:58 PM
I thought we were excellent and even if it wasn't one one our most attractive performances it was definitely one of the hardest working ones.

Maybe it was a bit tough on Cork and to be fair that looked a peno near the end from Boyle, but to score 60 seconds after losing a lead and away from home is a sign of a very good side. I also don't think Cork created enough chances to win the game, so we were probably worthy winners.

6 points is a big lead there is no point saying otherwise but, I still think anything could happen and two bad results and we could be under pressure, but it is looking very positive, however we need to be in this position in October not August.

What I will say is, it was an excellent hard working display tonight, so the team deserve credit for that.