View Full Version : Roddy for Rovers

Rovers Fellow!
04/11/2004, 11:04 AM
According to FM 104 Roddy is set to take over at Rovers and take charge for tommorows game v Bohs.

04/11/2004, 11:06 AM
Nasty move by Rovers. They grab Collins the morning of the Drogs game for City and leave them up the creek.

kevincronin2000
04/11/2004, 11:10 AM
yes its true its on www.shamrockrovers.ie

Drogman.
04/11/2004, 11:10 AM
Its a good move by City though. They will probably be able to play some decent football now without that bo**ox on the sidelines. It means that it'll be harder for us tonight though :(

04/11/2004, 11:11 AM
Its a good move by City though. They will probably be able to play some decent football now without that bo**ox on the sidelines. It means that it'll be harder for us tonight though :(

It'll do one of two things. They'll either collapse without guidance and or really p'd off and try harder.

kevincronin2000
04/11/2004, 11:12 AM
According to FM 104 Roddy is set to take over at Rovers and take charge for tommorows game v Bohs.

Well can he win them promotion in his first full season in charge?
Dose he now have to give his merc back to Carlisle United as he has gained paid employment.( if rovers pay him!)

observer
04/11/2004, 11:27 AM
This moving from club to club is obviously a "car laundering" excercise.
Roddy stated he would keep a threatened club from relegation this season and, being a man of his word, has therefore had to move on as he has failed Dublin City. Is it mathematically possible for Rovers to be relegated yet?
What a laugh that would be. :p

kevincronin2000
04/11/2004, 11:30 AM
This moving from club to club is obviously a "car laundering" excercise.
Roddy stated he would keep a threatened club from relegation this season and, being a man of his word, has therefore had to move on as he has failed Dublin City. Is it mathematically possible for Rovers to be relegated yet? What a laugh that would be. :p

YES, yes and yes

Bald Student
04/11/2004, 11:35 AM
This is happening so often in this league that we'll have to give it a name. We should all say that Roddy has 'done a Doolo'. No doubt there will be a war of words next year between Roddy and the new Dublin City manager with Roddy claiming that his team didn't get relegated so the new manager must be terrible.

04/11/2004, 11:39 AM
This is a very calculated move by Rovers. Their strategy to avoid relegation is to destabilise the Vikings' ship as they aren't confident enough in their own ability to pick up the points.

04/11/2004, 11:40 AM
I'm delighted that Roddy has walked on Dublin City, nice to see that scumbag Ronan Seery left high and dry.
I wonder what their only fan Sheridan thinks about this?

I'm happy for Rovers aswell, I'd hate to see them go down and now that they've got a great manager they might actually do well enough next year, they might even beat Shels to second place! ;)

04/11/2004, 11:42 AM
I'm delighted that Roddy has walked on Dublin City, nice to see that scumbag Ronan Seery left high and dry.

I'm happy for Rovers aswell, I'd hate to see them go down and now that they've got a great manager they might actually do well enough next year, they might even beat Shels to second place! ;)

Ha, you Cork lads talk some s*ite !

Drogman.
04/11/2004, 11:50 AM
This is happening so often in this league that we'll have to give it a name. We should all say that Roddy has 'done a Doolo'.

Still bitter I see :rolleyes:

04/11/2004, 11:53 AM
Colm, very dissapointed in you. Are you going to hoop along for the rest of the season? Traitor. Go join the tallaght revolution and start snorting coke. Rovers are a liability to the league and it wont be long before the people of tallaght will want them out of tallaght when they move in. Mindless Rovers, yere gonna follow Drumcondra out of Business. The hoops will fly no more. Long live the leinster senior league

I know you don't mean that.
It's true that we always have a go at Rovers fans and mock them about their lack of support and the fact that they're homeless etc but the truth is that they are a proper football club with real proper football fans.
Dublin City are neither of the above, they are nothig but a franchise who will be gone out of business in a couple of years and they only have one or two fans!

You can't blame Roddy for leaving the club and calling him a traitor is just plain stupid. Who the hell is he a traitor to in all fairness?? Ronan Seery and 1 or 2 fans. I won't be losing any sleep over those soulless cnuts!

04/11/2004, 11:59 AM
I know you don't mean that.
It's true that we always have a go at Rovers fans and mock them about their lack of support and the fact that they're homeless etc but the truth is that they are a proper football club with real proper football fans.
Dublin City are neither of the above, they are nothig but a franchise who will be gone out of business in a couple of years and they only have one or two fans!

You can't blame Roddy for leaving the club and calling him a traitor is just plain stupid. Who the hell is he a traitor to in all fairness?? Ronan Seery and 1 or 2 fans. I won't be losing any sleep over those soulless cnuts!

Will you get a grip of yourself !!!!!!!! you sound like a complete moran.

Roddy has done a very wrong thing and Rovers have done a very wrong thing here. It's not illegal but it is highly immoral.

Hope they go down.

jimhacker
04/11/2004, 12:01 PM
I just posted a topic only on Tuesday on carlisle's website about the car! Must get back there and give them the news!

Ringo
04/11/2004, 12:02 PM
EDIT:
Don't call me an assh0le! If you want to remake your points without resorting to namecalling please feel free.

Cheers,

04/11/2004, 12:04 PM
You do enough licking ass to Rovers anyway.

You know that's about as far form the truth as you could be.

After Shels and Waterford, they'd be my most hated club but as much as I'd be the first to take the **** out of them I do have a lot of respect for their fans (after all the sh!t they've had to go through) and tradition (even if it is sad that they still go on about past glories!).

Sure Guerzy, aren't you the fella who has great respect for Ollie Byrne?? ;) :rolleyes:

jimhacker
04/11/2004, 12:04 PM
[QUOTE=Colm] a proper football club with real proper football fans.
Dublin City are neither of the above, they are nothig but a franchise who will be gone out of business in a couple of years and they only have one or two fans![QUOTE]

in what way are we not "a proper football club with real proper football fan" a$$hole

[QUOTE=Colm]You can't blame Roddy for leaving the club and calling him a traitor is just plain stupid. Who the hell is he a traitor to in all fairness?? Ronan Seery and 1 or 2 fans. I won't be losing any sleep over those soulless cnuts!
[QUOTE]

Roddy is the one who made a big deal about sticking it out till the end, claiming he was a man of his word. lying scumbag. :mad:

That's enough of the compliments about Collins!

04/11/2004, 12:10 PM
Completely untrue. Dublin City fans may be sparse but they are passionate. Rovers are scumbags always have been and always will. Come on Dublin City send them down to where they belong. Roddy is a no good waste of space. Dublin City are better off without them. Watch him try and pinch the likes of Rundle away though. Dirty rotten scum. Still i suppose he's found his true home in the shape of Rovers. And when Rovers are relegated this season hopefully they introduce a relegation thing in the first division and send them packing to the leinster league with their tallaght scum. Syringes will be more appropriate in the leinster senior league.

Colm, very dissapointed in you. Are you going to hoop along for the rest of the season? Traitor. Go join the tallaght revolution and start snorting coke. Rovers are a liability to the league and it wont be long before the people of tallaght will want them out of tallaght when they move in. Mindless Rovers, yere gonna follow Drumcondra out of Business. The hoops will fly no more. Long live the leinster senior league

Congratulations on the most bitter post ever. You've outdone a host of bitter Bohs fans with that slice of invective. They've put in years of hard work and you've managed to out-bitter them in one post.

I'm sure they'd love to buy you a pint. The address is The Long Bar, Dalymount Park, Phibsboro, Dublin 7. Don't forget your red and black scarf to go with the chip on your shoulder.

jimhacker
04/11/2004, 12:14 PM
Hopes for the future.

1. Roddy Rovers to go down.

2.Relegation to be delayed by at least one tortous season so that we can 2 full to bursting home games next year!

Gawd-we could sell the tickets for that one already! Yippee

04/11/2004, 12:14 PM
Hopefuly this might give the franchise the boost they need to stay up....I'm not one to use foul and abusive language on these forums, but that Roddy Collins is a despicable c**t. A foul-mouthed knacker who was probably reared and conceived for that matter in a skip. He has no morals, principles or manners and is the most arrogant, dirty, back-stabbing, hypocritical, useless, inept, hair-brained, intolerable, merciless piece of sh1t that I have ever had the misfortune of meeting.
But he comes from a long line of total scum it seems...the brother is a woman beating tosspot as well. The man could not get any lower....what a reptile. :mad:

Ringo
04/11/2004, 12:16 PM
EDIT:
Don't call me an assh0le! If you want to remake your points without resorting to namecalling please feel free.

Cheers,

So you won't show posts that slag you off, but its alright to call Ronan seery a scumbag? Why delete all my post, why not just the ******* bit? Is foot.ie now your own personel forum?

04/11/2004, 12:17 PM
So you won't show posts that slag you off, but its alright to call Ronan seery a scumbag? Why delete all my post, why not just the ******* bit? Is foot.ie now your own personel forum?

I said to remake your points if you so wish just without the namecalling.
If you called Adam an assh0le you'd be banned by now.

corkharps
04/11/2004, 12:19 PM
Hopefuly this might give the franchise the boost they need to stay up....I'm not one to use foul and abusive language on these forums, but that Roddy Collins is a despicable c**t. A foul-mouthed knacker who was probably reared and conceived for that matter in a skip. He has no morals, principles or manners and is the most arrogant, dirty, back-stabbing, hypocritical, useless, inept, hair-brained, intolerable, merciless piece of sh1t that I have ever had the misfortune of meeting.
But he comes from a long line of total scum it seems...the brother is a woman beating tosspot as well. The man could not get any lower....what a reptile. :mad:
You don't like him then?
Good luck to Rovers,not sure about this one,it'll either make ya or break ya! ;)

Flea
04/11/2004, 12:20 PM

Well if you are delighted for Dublin City, I am delighted for Cork cos they messed up the fooking title. Come on the Shels! :D :D :D

Ringo
04/11/2004, 12:22 PM
I said to remake your points if you so wish just without the namecalling.
If you called Adam an assh0le you'd be banned by now.

you are not Adam & he has never come out with the crap that you come out with , that has no sence nor meaning, but is based upon you own hatred (for whatever reason)of Ronan Seery. You slagging of DCFC fans is not the way a mod should behave.

Flea
04/11/2004, 12:30 PM
Dublin City are a small club and it is easy to criticse the small fanbase, board etc. while it is so easy to be a "fan" of a "bigger" club like Cork. Hope that Dublin City can begin to pick up the pieces after this as it was hard for the town when Kenny walked.

Aberdonian Stu
04/11/2004, 12:31 PM
Their strategy to avoid relegation is to destabilise the Vikings' ship

Shame on you for such an appalling pun. :)

Shame on the rest of you for not giving out about it earlier :D

Maynard
04/11/2004, 12:35 PM
Just to say I think that most people can see how dispicable this act is. Saying you're going to do a job until the end of a season, bringing in expensive players having the club put them up etc, saying your word is your bond etc and then leaving to go to the team that you have been castigating for months and saying that they're finished!! If Roddy had waited until the end of the season and gone to Rovers no one at DCFC or anywhere else would bat an eyelid. That he has done it now is a disgrace.

It's no slur on Rovers fans at all, but I sincerely hope that (regardless if we go down or stay up) that Bohs HOCKEY Rovers in Roddys 1st game in charge and that we can beat them on the last day of the season, even if we're down already.

Passive
04/11/2004, 12:39 PM
Completely untrue. Dublin City fans may be sparse but they are passionate. Rovers are scumbags always have been and always will. Come on Dublin City send them down to where they belong. Roddy is a no good waste of space. Dublin City are better off without them. Watch him try and pinch the likes of Rundle away though. Dirty rotten scum. Still i suppose he's found his true home in the shape of Rovers. And when Rovers are relegated this season hopefully they introduce a relegation thing in the first division and send them packing to the leinster league with their tallaght scum. Syringes will be more appropriate in the leinster senior league.

Jesus, you sound clever enough to win an American election.

04/11/2004, 12:39 PM
Just to say I think that most people can see how dispicable this act is. Saying you're going to do a job until the end of a season, bringing in expensive players having the club put them up etc, saying your word is your bond etc and then leaving to go to the team that you have been castigating for months and saying that they're finished!! If Roddy had waited until the end of the season and gone to Rovers no one at DCFC or anywhere else would bat an eyelid. That he has done it now is a disgrace.

It's no slur on Rovers fans at all, but I sincerely hope that (regardless if we go down or stay up) that Bohs HOCKEY Rovers in Roddys 1st game in charge and that we can beat them on the last day of the season, even if we're down already.

Maybe Roddy should have waited until the end of the season to join Rovers but what if this was his one and only chance?
Rovers are a much bigger club than DC and it's one of the biggest jobs in the league so he'd have been mad to turn it down.
I think people are being too hard on Roddy and the people wishing DC to stay up and Rovers to go down would want to get their heads checked (apart from the DC fans obviously).

04/11/2004, 12:40 PM
And when Rovers are relegated this season hopefully they introduce a relegation thing in the first division and send them packing to the leinster league with their tallaght scum. Syringes will be more appropriate in the leinster senior league.

Guerzy I hope were speaking “tongue in cheek” as I think you have done a disservice to both the Leinster Senior League and the people of Tallaght. There are many eL clubs who could learn a thing or two about facilities and the running of clubs. Arklow Town, James Gate, Edenderry Town, Aer Rianta and many, many more LSL clubs have great playing and training facilities. Some often rented out by so called bigger clubs in the EL.

I'm sure Rocky knew that Roddy would jump ship at the first half decent offer that came along, the hurtful part for Rocky will be Rovers and the fact that they are locked in a relegation battle with DC.

PS Drumcondra are still alive and kicking playing in Morton Stadium under floodlights every second friday.

04/11/2004, 12:41 PM
Seery actually says something that I agree with

"It's the lowest thing I have ever seen in football, I'm in shock," Seery said. "To come and take a manager from your rivals with three games to go is a terrible thing to do, it's unethical from Rovers."

Must say that roddy is lucky that DCFC havent a big fanbase, or indeed a 'fan'base like Bohs or Shams. He would probably think twice before making such a move if there were consequences from few lunatics.

04/11/2004, 12:43 PM
I think people are being too hard on Roddy and the people wishing DC to stay up and Rovers to go down would want to get their heads checked (apart from the DC fans obviously).

Why would we need our heads checked ? apart from this being one of the worst things i seen in the eL if DC stayed up instead of Rovers it would give the likes of Bray, Harps and UCD a better chance of staying up next season as we would be all very evenley matched.

04/11/2004, 12:44 PM
"It's the lowest thing I have ever seen in football, I'm in shock,"

I wonder does he think it's even lower than the "lowlife scum" Cork City fans. :rolleyes:

He does have a tendency to over exaggerate anything that upsets him in the slightest.

04/11/2004, 12:50 PM
^^^^^^^^^^

Was thinking the same myself, but this time he may actually have a point.

Maybe Roddy should have waited until the end of the season to join Rovers

I reckon thats the crux of the matter here. He SHOULD have waited

but what if this was his one and only chance?

There were hardly queues for the job. It would still have been there in 3 weeks time

04/11/2004, 12:56 PM
There were hardly queues for the job. It would still have been there in 3 weeks time

Yeah but none of us really know that. For all we know Rovers could have said to Roddy that they are appointing a manager this week and if he's not interested they will appoint one of the other candidates (and there must have been a few).

If any of us were in Roddy's position and earned our living as a full time football manager we'd have jumped at the oppurtunity to leave DC and join Rovers. DC are probably fcuked with or without him, Rovers could have a bright future.

I wonder had Roddy planned this all along and was just waiting for something to happen on the Tallaght front? Last weeks announcement could have made his mind up.

jimhacker
04/11/2004, 12:58 PM
I expect the next time Rovers' players have the effrontery to be asked to be paid, Collins will challenge them to a fight instead!

corkharps
04/11/2004, 1:32 PM
A new line in Green pinstriped suits from Louis Copeland,anyone? :eek:

observer
04/11/2004, 1:48 PM
WARNING - To all new prospective players who may enter into discussions with Roddy and are being made attractive promises - HIS WORD IS HIS BOND

WARNING - To all would be investors in Shamrock Rovers Football Club with Roddy as manager- HIS WORD IS HIS BOND.

HE HAS NO WORD so YOU HAVE NO BOND. ;)

_

04/11/2004, 1:54 PM

So we are all scumbags and not passionate?! You are an idiot. You should know all about traitors where you're from. Remember there is no coke in cark. Where did your hatred for Rovers come from?

Every club bar CHF in the premier wants us to stay up. If we go down enjoy watching CHF in the shed with a hundred others. Go away keyboard warrior without us you'd have nothing to fill your pathetic day with. In 1983 there wasnt even a club down there so learn your history you ****.......

blutil
04/11/2004, 2:06 PM
What happens if Rovers do go down, will Roddy jump ship again ? back to the vikings ?

04/11/2004, 2:18 PM
Every club bar CHF in the premier wants us to stay up.
Get real....ye are probably the most despised club in Eircom League history....and don't take that as an insult cos its not. But saying that every club wants ye to stay up is sheer BS.....Run a poll on it...you'll get a nasty shock.

boc123
04/11/2004, 2:21 PM
I'd rather Rovers stayed up and Dublin City went down for the sake of the league.

04/11/2004, 2:22 PM
Get real....ye are probably the most despised club in Eircom League history....and don't take that as an insult cos its not. But saying that every club wants ye to stay up is sheer BS.....Run a poll on it...you'll get a nasty shock.

Eh, check out my signature.....

boc123
04/11/2004, 2:24 PM
I just posted a topic only on Tuesday on carlisle's website about the car! Must get back there and give them the news!

:D :D :D

Any update????

jimhacker
04/11/2004, 3:16 PM
:D :D :D

Any update????

No! their website hasn't been updated in a week and the message board is just a distorted bit of white screen!!!!!!

The use one of those standard websites that all the lower clubs in England use - not a patch on corkcityfc.ie

04/11/2004, 3:44 PM
"It's the lowest thing I have ever seen in football"
ah, poor baby. Didn't he use exactly the same phrase in reference to the city fans. maybe this will teach him not to cry wolf, and that when he uses this kind of language he should save it for occasions such as this, when its really deserved. Shove straight down your fat little face Seery you infantile twerp

04/11/2004, 4:23 PM
So we are all scumbags and not passionate?! You are an idiot. You should know all about traitors where you're from. Remember there is no coke in cark. Where did your hatred for Rovers come from?

Every club bar CHF in the premier wants us to stay up. If we go down enjoy watching CHF in the shed with a hundred others. Go away keyboard warrior without us you'd have nothing to fill your pathetic day with. In 1983 there wasnt even a club down there so learn your history you ****.......

Chill out a small bit NY Hoop.
There's some City fans defending ye aswell.

In truth all City fans would rather ye stayed over DC even if some only want ye for the rivalry and hatred between the fans. Rovers are a proper football club with a good band of loyal fans, the same can't be said for DC.