View Full Version : Matches 13 June
I don't think the pitch is an advantage. There's no doubt most Dundalk players would prefer to play on grass all the time. Their brand of football would certainly be helped by a better surface
Kenny trying to build up a bit of a siege mentality.
Not sure that's a brilliant idea. Towns in Louth don't have a great history with sieges.
White Horse
17/06/2014, 10:14 AM
I don't think the pitch is an advantage. There's no doubt most Dundalk players would prefer to play on grass all the time. Their brand of football would certainly be helped by a better surface
I don't know anyone associated with Dundalk who wouldn't prefer to return to a gass pitch. There is no argument as to which is better, a good grass surface wins ever time.
This issue is economics.
If this Dundalk team can attract big crowds over a number of seasons and eventually win things, we should learn from how Sligo were able to improve their facilites while contuining to invest in their squad.
I would remind people that Dundalk are coming out of a decade in the wilderness that was further complicated by poor business decisions by the previous owner.
Ezeikial
17/06/2014, 11:06 AM
Speaking afterwards, Buckley - who revealed that KeithFahey (http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/buckley-the-latest-to-criticise-the-pitch-1-6123826#)turned down the chance to play because of the pitch -
What sort of a setup is Buckley running?
Do all Pats players get to assess each pitch before deciding if they are available to play?
If the grass is too long in Dalymount or the pitch uneven in the Brandywell do each of the Pats players have an option to back out?
Has Keith Fahey ever even played in Oriel before? Or did he base his decision on what others said to him? How could Buckley tolerate this and then publicise it?
There is no doubt that the Oriel Park pitch is turning into an enormous advantage for Dundalk - because of the psychology impact on teams created by the focus on the pitch by pundits and opposition managers and players. Long may it continue?
PartySaint
17/06/2014, 11:16 AM
Do all Pats players get to assess each pitch before deciding if they are available to play?
If the grass is too long in Dalymount or the pitch uneven in the Brandywell do each of the Pats players have an option to back out?
Has Keith Fahey ever even played in Oriel before? Or did he base his decision on what others said to him? How could Buckley tolerate this and then publicise it?
?
You're full on mental.
White Horse
17/06/2014, 11:24 AM
You're full on mental.
That would be Buckley, if allows players to pick and choose what games to play in.
Ezeikial
17/06/2014, 11:29 AM
You're full on mental.
Without a doubt.
Care to address any of the questions I raised?
PartySaint
17/06/2014, 11:32 AM
That would be Buckley, if allows players to pick and choose what games to play in.
You seriously can't see why a player with a dodgy enough injury list the past few years wouldn't play a on an astro pitch?
Have you ever played football before?
17/06/2014, 12:16 PM
Care to address any of the questions I raised?
I'll answer the first one
One that won the league last season.
17/06/2014, 12:20 PM
Any half-decent manager who has a player who'd missed most of the last two years with various knee injuries, and who says it would be too risky to play on a particular surface, would listen to him.
CityRebel
17/06/2014, 12:27 PM
You seriously can't see why a player with a dodgy enough injury list the past few years wouldn't play a on an astro pitch?
Have you ever played football before?
Any half-decent manager who has a player who'd missed most of the last two years with various knee injuries, and who says it would be too risky to play on a particular surface, would listen to him.
Spot on. And there's been more teams than Pats rest players away to Dundalk because of the pitch.
White Horse
17/06/2014, 1:16 PM
Spot on. And there's been more teams than Pats rest players away to Dundalk because of the pitch.
Dundalk have had good injury record over the last two seasons.
El-Pietro
17/06/2014, 1:16 PM
John Caulfield said he wouldn't play Colin Healy at Oriel Park either due to injury concerns.
He did play there last April and that has been his only appearance in Dundalk since returning in 2012, I don't know if he was available for selection (injury/suspension)for the other games. He also played in the game in 2009 before he left for Ipswich.
desaintsno.12
17/06/2014, 1:31 PM
if you accept that the surface is different to grass, and you accept that it is more difficult to play on, then logic dictates it is 100% an advantage to Dundalk. A greater advantage than just being at home. It adds an additional element that away teams have to deal with.
As a great man often says, it is what it is. Everyone just has to get on with it.
CityRebel
17/06/2014, 1:35 PM
You're full on mental.
Sometimes I think I'm the only sane person on foot.ie
White Horse
17/06/2014, 1:49 PM
if you accept that the surface is different to grass, and you accept that it is more difficult to play on, then logic dictates it is 100% an advantage to Dundalk.
Logic dictates that it should be an advantage. However, the evidence is that it hasn't been an advantage as Dundalk's away record is superb.
However, I think that is changing. Dundalk have done very well at Oriel Park this season.
If teams stop playing some of their better players, that will also contribute.
mcgonigle
17/06/2014, 2:04 PM
Managers are resting players against Dundalk because of the pitch? This is fantastic news, another reason to keep it. I've never heard of a Dundalk manager doing the same for our players
CityRebel
17/06/2014, 2:21 PM
Managers are resting players against Dundalk because of the pitch? This is fantastic news, another reason to keep it. I've never heard of a Dundalk manager doing the same for our players
Ye should be told to feck off and join the Mickey Mouse 5-a-side astro league until ye get a real football pitch.
desaintsno.12
17/06/2014, 2:22 PM
Logic dictates that it should be an advantage. However, the evidence is that it hasn't been an advantage as Dundalk's away record is superb.
Two seperate points i think. This just shows Dundalk are a good team (apart from chiris shields obviously) and perhaps they have a good mentality on the road.
Obviously if we had a similar scenario i would be laughing my ass off. They are doing nothing wrong, but it clearly offers a further advantage to home games.
17/06/2014, 2:30 PM
Dundalk's home record is slightly better than their away record but I'd say it falls within the range of home advantage. It is quite noticeable how many more goals they score at Oriel than on the road though.
So Fahey is now TELLING the manager when HE wants to play.
This is just unbelievable. I had my reservations that he was disrupting the Pats MF system a little when he joined, this is just priceless if its true.
On the match itself, I didnt realise just how close Massey was from scoring in the 2nd minute, still think a draw was probably a fair result.
Also the pitch was a nice shade of green too I thought.
City Rebel, dont you be worrying about it for now, but do remember where your last league game of the season is on.
17/06/2014, 2:39 PM
Might as well dust off the Queen CD now lads, the wheels are coming off at Richer.
CityRebel
17/06/2014, 2:43 PM
This is just unbelievable. I had my reservations that he was disrupting the Pats MF system a little when he joined, this is just priceless if its true.
On the match itself, I didnt realise just how close Massey was from scoring in the 2nd minute, still think a draw was probably a fair result.
City Rebel, dont you be worrying about it for now, but do remember where your last league game of the season is.
Where we play the last league game of the season is of no concern to us, we have to deal with each fixture as it comes.
PartySaint
17/06/2014, 2:47 PM
City Rebel, dont you be worrying about it for now, but do remember where your last league game of the season is on.
Other way around, Fahey wanted to play Bucko's final say to leave him out.
On the match itself, I didnt realise just how close Massey was from scoring in the 2nd minute,
TV didn't show it but the lino was flagging for offside at the time
desaintsno.12
17/06/2014, 3:12 PM
ssssshhh you. let them run riot with this one and believe it is total anarchy in Inchicore
Louth4sam
17/06/2014, 3:28 PM
This just shows Dundalk are a good team (apart from chiris shields obviously)
Has won our player of the month for two out of the three months and has won around six or seven man of the match awards. Has been outstanding for us this season and I wouldn't be surprised if he is the first player we lose to the UK.
17/06/2014, 3:46 PM
Lads, Fahey doesn't fancy it anymore. I've been telling yiz that since he signed. Get that man a medic, because he's shot.
Ezeikial
17/06/2014, 3:47 PM
John Caulfield said he wouldn't play Colin Healy at Oriel Park either due to injury concerns.
Apart from Brian Lenihan and Rob Lehane NONE of the Cork team played in Oriel on the last visit
Ezeikial
17/06/2014, 3:54 PM
It's just terrible the way poor Liam Buckley got confused about that in his post-match interviews
A dogged 90 minutes saw both sides struggle to break each other down and, speaking afterwards, Buckley - who revealed that Keith Fahey (http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/buckley-the-latest-to-criticise-the-pitch-1-6123826#) turned down the chance to play because of the pitch - said the artificial surface was a big factor in the game ending scoreless.
Clearly Fahey was in the saddle for this one!
Would imagine it went something like this:
Buckley: You appear to be nearing fitness- would you be comfortable playing at Oriel?
Fahy: Raring to go boss, but not 100% yet and I'd be nervous about a relapse on that particular pitch.
Buckley: Not worth the risk then, we'll leave it.
A manager trusting a senior player. It could be argued it's a healthy thing, not some mad anarchist tendency that will surely see Richmond Park burned to the ground.
17/06/2014, 4:19 PM
Buckley: You appear to be nearing fitness- would you be comfortable playing at Oriel?
Fahy: Raring to go boss, but not 100% yet and I'd be nervous about a relapse on that particular pitch.
A manager trusting a senior player. It could be argued it's a healthy thing, not some mad anarchist tendency that will surely see Richmond Park burned to the ground.
Get out of here with your logic and common sense.
Ezeikial
17/06/2014, 5:32 PM
Here is how the interview with Buckley went:
Speaking afterwards, Buckley - who revealed that Keith Fahey turned down the chance to play because of the pitch - said the artificial surface was a big factor in the game ending scoreless.
Here is what he could have said
Speaking afterwards, Buckley - who revealed that he left Keith Fahey out as he was not yet fully fit - said the artificial surface was a big factor in the game ending scoreless
There is a hundred ways he could have said it that indicated it was Buckley who was the decision maker
Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/06/2014, 7:12 PM
There's no actual direct quote of him saying that Fahey turned down the chance to play though is there? They have plenty of other quotes from him.
That Foran / McMillan incident was quite funny I thought. Pepe and Muller must have been watching it before their game yesterday.
White Horse
17/06/2014, 7:31 PM
That Foran / McMillan incident was quite funny I thought. Pepe and Muller must have been watching it before their game yesterday.
Foran feigned injury to his face twice in a matter of seconds. McMillan was foolish to raise his hand.
Kenny said he remonstrated with him because he knew Foran. He didn't know him well enough.
mcgonigle
17/06/2014, 7:36 PM
Ye should be told to feck off and join the Mickey Mouse 5-a-side astro league until ye get a real football pitch.
Maybe we'll ask the MDL to supply us with one, and a few stands to go with it! We quite like the Mickey mouse 11-a-side league we play in now
oriel
17/06/2014, 10:58 PM
Kenny Browne said it was a disgrace too and he was pretty much foot perfect throughout the game.
As per my signature I would much prefer if we played on grass, but we have an artificial surface that has been approved to play two rounds in the Europa League, so that's pretty much the highest approval you can get in these parts.
I'm not a huge fan of it but it has improved this season, and it's certainly not anywhere as bad as some people on here make out.
These comments by Browne are just another example of lazy excuses, the same by the Cork lads saying Colin Healy won't play there, and then the Fahey thing, a player telling his manager when he wants to play.
You can be quite sure if it was a league decider these guys would make themselves available.
As for Kenny Browne, eh you are playing LOI kid, not at the World Cup.
This is hilarious. I never realised Dundalk were playing against a series of second string teams in recent years.
Yossarian
18/06/2014, 8:18 AM
I hope we keep this pitch as long as possible. Whatever about actual benefits on the pitch, there is clearly a psychological barrier built up to it through the incessant negative coverage from managers and pundits and this is an advantage I'll gladly hold on to!
18/06/2014, 9:09 AM
Might as well dust off the Queen CD now lads, the wheels are coming off at Richer.
How does a Queen CD wind up gathering dust? That's the real conundrum here.
desaintsno.12
18/06/2014, 10:12 AM
These comments by Browne are just another example of lazy excuses,
As for Kenny Browne, eh you are playing LOI kid, not at the World Cup.
good point. he clearly used it as an excuse for all the goals we conceeded.... oh wait
desaintsno.12
18/06/2014, 10:14 AM
There is a hundred ways he could have said it that indicated it was Buckley who was the decision maker
the fact he may have said (no quote) a one liner without analysing it before hand and not appreciating the ramifications it would have for him on foot.ie further go to show the anarchy that is taking place at the moment. What was Bucko thinking , was he thinking ? clearly not.
Bucko OUT !!!!!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/06/2014, 12:15 PM
@Keith_Fahey: Reason for not playing Dundalks astro last wk down to very serious hip surgery i invested in last yr.. I cant play on that surface anymore
@Keith_Fahey: Reason i had the surgery was to get another few yrs playing football.. #simples
Eminence Grise
18/06/2014, 1:31 PM
How does a Queen CD wind up gathering dust? That's the real conundrum here.
Surely biting dust is what old Queen CDs do?
eelmonster
18/06/2014, 2:05 PM
Surely biting dust is what old Queen CDs do?
Can't we just break free from these silly puns.
18/06/2014, 2:13 PM
Agree. We need to dive headlong into the matter at hand. I'm going slightly mad at these puns; somebody save me from them.
Now I'm here though, I can't see anything wrong with Fahey's decision. He just wants to play the game as long as he can. Don't stop him now.
Ezeikial
18/06/2014, 4:48 PM
Now I'm here though, I can't see anything wrong with Fahey's decision. He just wants to play the game as long as he can. Don't stop him now.
I agree too! I hope more players follow Fahey's example.
@Keith_Fahey: Reason for not playing Dundalks astro last wk down to very serious hip surgery i invested in last yr.. I cant play on that surface anymore
Anyone know when he last played on Oriel?
Who told him that it was astro anyway?
18/06/2014, 4:57 PM
I agree too! I hope more players follow Fahey's example.
Can you express that sentiment in the form of a Queen pun?
Poor Keith, he's just a poor boy from a poor family, save him his life from this monstrosity
jinxy lilywhite
18/06/2014, 6:12 PM
Galactico's lol
We have what we have, inherited from the previous regimes who thought it was a good idea at the time. To be honest with the pitch I would love to see it torn up. These conversations are becoming a bore now and while there is no real hardcore evidence to say that the pitch causes any serious injury or the best still is the "unnatural bounce" which is absurd because a balls bounce is dictated by the speed and spin on the ball in which it bounces. I have said it before that no other pitch in the country is put through a more rigorous testing than oriel park but time and time again it is still criticised.
Although we are made to play in dalymount with knee height grass. Last month we had to pay in tallaght were the pitch was waterlogged and was pretty dangerous as a result. United park was quite bald in place and the slope in the Brandwell no one seems to mention.
The pitch isn't probably going to be changed anytime soon. For a number of factors is that there are probably more pursuing concerns in oriel and we can't afford anything what it would cost to revert back to grass.