View Full Version : Robbie Horgan on the brink

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

White Horse
09/06/2014, 8:06 PM
Is this a blow? (i.e is he any good?)

From what I've seen of him he has some quality and is good at free kicks. Drogheda fans I've spoken to say that he wasn't putting it in. A lot will depend on who Horgan will bring in.

MiniMourinho
09/06/2014, 8:23 PM
Super striker of the ball on his day. Awful attitude! Carrys a fantastic chip.

Ezeikial
09/06/2014, 11:24 PM
. Drogheda fans I've spoken to say that he wasn't putting it in.

He is not alone.

Acer
10/06/2014, 7:55 AM
Foley could strike a decent free kick but lacked the physical presence to impose himself on a game and often went missing. He's also a bad character to have in the dressing room by all accounts so not disappointed to see him go. We'll need to replace him though because the squad is already low on numbers.

dejadem
10/06/2014, 9:25 AM
he has some quality and is good at free kicks. Drogheda fans I've spoken to say that he wasn't putting it in.

That sums it up.

He is not alone.

That sums it up.

11/06/2014, 9:13 AM
Was chatting to an old work colleague from Drogheda this morning and he is a very worried chap! He is a life long Drog supporter whose Dad was on the Board during the 90's and he is of the opinion that it will be a task to get the club to the end of the season with the collapse in attendences and more significantly goodwill toward the club(contributing club members starting to hold on to their regular donations) and with wafer thin margins in the budget as it stands. He thinks at this stage the club could probably fulfill the remainder of the seasons commitments but at a loss that means having to go to an amateur set-up in the near future. Maybe at this stage the cost of change could be cheaper in the long run? If Athlone pick up a few more points and automatic relegation starts to become real for Drogheda things could really unravel. Never thought i'd say this but a Collin's rallying 'lifes a battle' type speech may be what Drogheda need now, rather than Horgan hanging in there for the payday which fans obviously dont want to pay in to!

This chap detests Dundalk so for him to admit the above to a Dundalk fan who he dished out plenty of abuse to '06/'07ish shows his sense of despair at the whole situation

dejadem
11/06/2014, 11:32 AM
But there's not really anything too new there. It's been touch and go for the club since 2009, I don't think too many were not 'admitting' that, it has been obvious. After relegation in 2010, the plan for 2011 was for a 'non-competitive' 1st division budget at best, the question was asked to keep going at all. Sporting Fingal's last minute exit meant a quick change of direction and Mike Cook was drafted in on short notice for a Premier division fire fight.

The league run in 2012 followed by Cup Finals & a Euro game in 2013 kept things moving but there is nothing too sudden about the overall situation, the current position just highlights how critical things are when relying on the bare minimum (and the fact that that is probably not enough).

who he dished out plenty of abuse to '06/'07ish shows his sense of despair at the whole situation

06/'07ish? Part-timer, why wasn't he dishing out abuse from 02 - 08? (and a few times since)?

11/06/2014, 3:38 PM
06/'07ish? Part-timer, why wasn't he dishing out abuse from 02 - 08? (and a few times since)?

Oh he did, he just became very vocal when the League was on the board. Went to the Start match with him which gave me a reprieve for a while (i did feel just a tiny bit sorry for Graham Gartland, just a tiny bit then I laughed, at least he made some amends against Kiev though even he it just teased the Drog faithful). Anyhow, I knew things were tight but just because SF's demise gave a stay of execution and the subsequent r-up and cup finals shouldnt have caused a splash the cash attitude, in relative terms - stating the obvious I know. Even with a small budget I cant imagine Horgan is on so much that an affordable agreement to part ways cant be managed even leaving him with the pro licence course. He cant be on that much can he? Cooke left by some accounts 'cause the club didnt match his ambition and wouldnt let him spend, but then they still gambled with the club by appointing a rookie manager without a performance related 'get out' agreement. Do Athlone have more money than Drogheda considering their start to the league or did Cooke do the honourable thing and walk whereas Horgan is pure mercenery and sqeezing money the club dont have for as long as he can and possibly pushing them out of existance. Where is Mr Drogheda United Hoey to the rescue?

dejadem
11/06/2014, 4:28 PM
I don't have insider info, but as far as I know, breaking even was achieved in 2012. Losing the 3 Cup Finals was probably the difference between breaking even and a loss in 2013.

There hasn't been a splash the cash approach; in 2013 the budget was increased, but nothing major. It was reduced back down again this year I suspect.

There certainly has been a mentality not to go into debt in the last few years. The problem now would seem to be how early this season the gates have crashed, with no sign of any chance of them picking up again. It's hard to see how that's not going to leave a big hole in the accounts by the end of the year. There is an over reliance on away attendances coming into UP already without losing more from the home gate.
That's the point, it’s always been very tight, but the current circumstance is just highlighting that, and pushing it to the edge.

On appointing a rookie manager, I presume they thought there was something about Robbie been assistant manager the last few years that he could make the step up, maybe it was just to prevent the squad following Cooke to Athlone?

With the 2010-11 'six' managers in a calendar year & the Mick Cooke row, it’s fair to say that overall the manager's position is not something that has gone particularly well since examinership.

11/06/2014, 6:29 PM
Again though, and the age old problem throughout the league, the budget was set on ifs and buts. A gamble on crowds staying at level x even though an untried manager was at the helm? Doesnt fit with the prudence of prior seasons. That aside so many of the basics on the team side of things are off, like fitness levels, motivation in a derby match, game 1 excluded. O'Brien would get much more from the squad.

KeepersBall
11/06/2014, 6:58 PM
Just a note on Vincent Hoey. Sadly he's not in the best of health right now.

The fans are voting with their feet,losing in Athlone would be accepted by many if it hastened Horgans exit

jinxy lilywhite
11/06/2014, 6:58 PM
Why is Horgan considered a mercenary for getting what is in accordance with his contact.
Football management and the civil service must be the only occupation were people aren't judged on their overall performance.
Drogheda offered him the contract and the wage and the terms and conditions. If they realise that they made a bad appointment half way through the season with no terms and conditions to get out of the contract then fault lies entirely with the board.
If drogs go under its not horgans fault either it's purely the board

Ezeikial
11/06/2014, 6:59 PM
Again though, and the age old problem throughout the league, the budget was set on ifs and buts. A gamble on crowds staying at level x even though an untried manager was at the helm? Doesnt fit with the prudence of prior seasons. That aside so many of the basics on the team side of things are off, like fitness levels, motivation in a derby match, game 1 excluded. O'Brien would get much more from the squad.

Are you suggesting Fabio would make a good gaffer?

11/06/2014, 8:03 PM
Are you suggesting Fabio would make a good gaffer?

Well I dont know if he would or not, I am suggesting that he would do better than Horgan currently and is already on the payroll. I wouldnt be surprised if he is undermining management either, let him pick up the baton!

dejadem
12/06/2014, 9:17 AM
Why is Horgan considered a mercenary for getting what is in accordance with his contact.

Who said he was a mercenary? He a had a run of something like 9 defeats in 10 league games, with numerous one-sided score lines & performances; the expectation among fans was he would resign on the back of that, he didn't. For the moment he is seeing out his contract until he or the board otherwise decide to take an action.

dejadem
12/06/2014, 9:29 AM
Again though, and the age old problem throughout the league, the budget was set on ifs and buts. A gamble on crowds staying at level x even though an untried manager was at the helm?

True, but you have a pick base figure x to work from for a budget, all seasons have ifs & buts. Taking numbers from this site, in very simplistic terms a figure of 750 might seem reasonable, looking at the last 4 seasons:

Drogheda - 1,189 (817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)

This year's average figure will drop quickly, it was boosted by the good opening few games. The Bohs & Limerick home attendances were well below 750, with half the season still to run and results getting worse.

White Horse
12/06/2014, 10:10 AM
Is it true that the fitness coach has been sacked? I heard there were a couple of backroom staff let go.

The lad who told me didn't know why. Could be a budgetary measure, although Drogheda do appear less fitter team than in recent seasons.

Wasn't the previous firness coach the son of the journo who had a go at the the Chairman?

Acer
12/06/2014, 10:36 AM
Is it true that the fitness coach has been sacked? I heard there were a couple of backroom staff let go.

The lad who told me didn't know why. Could be a budgetary measure, although Drogheda do appear less fitter team than in recent seasons.

Wasn't the previous firness coach the son of the journo who had a go at the the Chairman?

2 members of staff let go as part of a backroom shakeup. I've heard there will be more changes too, with the aim of surrounding Horgan with more experience.

On the finances/crowds, there really is nothing new here. We're operating on a shoestring, have been for years and will continue to do so for years unless an approach is made for the club by a group with a solid financial & sporting plan. We can't afford to surrender ourselves to another consortium offering a fastfix only to go bust down the line. At the moment, we're a product of our past experiences and complete stringency will always be priority number one.

chigg89
12/06/2014, 1:48 PM
consortium offering a fastfix . fastfix? just like dundalk?2113

MiniMourinho
12/06/2014, 8:45 PM
None of this is new information. Budgets aren't going tits up either. We have been operating on and surviving by tight financial control for years now. The drop off in crowds happened every single year and every year this false debate is drummed up again and again. Any changes currently are because of poor on the field performances.

Unfortunately there will always be those who revel in drama of it all. A number of people get more pleasure from the soap opera than the sport. Thats another thing that will never change.

13/06/2014, 12:53 PM
Im still not going to accept this shoestring line at face value. Either a club can afford payed management and staff, I presume Drogheda have a couple of off field employees - or they cant; shoestring budgets wouldnt be so shoestring if these are luxuries that are not affordable were not indulged. Everybodies basline should be on a rubbish season too. Sligo have feck all to play for for the remainder of the season if European qualification is considered poor return, if their budget projections are too high as a result its likely they have some wriggle room based on the number of years sustained success, as Drogheda are unlikely to have that buffer zone as it stands, shouldnt be planning on such tight margins. As for the fastfix poke - i was beaten to the I see what you did there, but absolutely there is probably a little but of every Dundalk fans thoughts on what if that input goes sour? I dont know the people from fastfix or what their financial contribution is to the club currently with significantly improved gates and other income streams. Match programmes are selling out its seems which now means its not subsidised by the club for example. So there is that room for financial movement if budgets need to be adjusted down for whatever reason. So far though fastfix are bring a level of sustainability about, right down to one of the fastfix guys challanging supporters letting off flares due to the few hundred Euro fine each time it happens, there was no whimsical 'sure whats a few hundred quid' attitude. Money is saved where it can to be spent where its needed, including the away section which is a higher priority to the board than it is to the average Dundalk fan tbh.

13/06/2014, 1:27 PM
Match programmes were subsidised? WTF?

13/06/2014, 1:31 PM
Match programmes were subsidised? WTF?
Guessing he means they're selling out, meaning the club aren't losing money on them.

13/06/2014, 1:35 PM
If the Harps programme can turn a profit I'd be staggered if the Dundalk one was costing them money in recent years. Maybe there's an accounting thing there- none of the ads count towards programme revenue or something.

13/06/2014, 1:40 PM
If the Harps programme can turn a profit I'd be staggered if the Dundalk one was costing them money in recent years. Maybe there's an accounting thing there- none of the ads count towards programme revenue or something.
Probably worked out pretty expensive in Dundalk after they paid the royalties to Queen for printing the lyrics.

13/06/2014, 1:47 PM
Every club here is allowed one eccentric right?? Well Dell is ours for today k ;)

13/06/2014, 4:44 PM
Subsidised, losses covered or whatever - the print quality, amount of content at €3 wouldt cover costs and not filled with advertisments, unless they were nearly all sold then printing costs wouldnt be covered by programme sales hence the shortfall had to be covered. Increased sales less or no loss...

13/06/2014, 8:04 PM
Players doing their best for him again tonight I see. 3-0 down to Athlone.

13/06/2014, 9:37 PM
Players doing their best for him again tonight I see. 3-0 down to Athlone.
You forgot the tip and VAT.
Do's well known Drog agitator Windymill Warrior not come on this site anymore ?

White Horse
13/06/2014, 9:38 PM
Robbie Horgan is up there with Sean McCaffrey as the worst ever manager in the LOI.

It's amazing how he is still in a job.

13/06/2014, 9:43 PM
A thick skin and Drogs' inability to come up with enough money to pay him off would presumably be the only reasons he's still in the job. They might have to start weighing up if getting relegated would cost them more than paying him off. Though I guess if they genuinely can't come up with the cash they're stuck with him like Galway were with Sean Connor a few years back.

14/06/2014, 1:10 AM
With Dundalk Town Clerk being a Drog maybe the council unsackable ethos is being applied on the Windmill Rd

14/06/2014, 1:28 AM
TownCouncil abolished now of course but not before town clerk requested flags to be flown for Giro D'Italia but not for DundalkFC for the Setanta cup.That is true,The Dundalk town council manager was Frank Pentony,Chairman of Drogheda United.

MiniMourinho
14/06/2014, 5:47 AM
He is not and never was the drogs chairman.

Acer
14/06/2014, 7:48 AM
A thick skin and Drogs' inability to come up with enough money to pay him off would presumably be the only reasons he's still in the job.Bingo. He has to go but won't. He seems a bit deluded about the whole thing really and seems to be under the impression that it will turn around. It won't turn around. One of the lowest points in our history at the moment.

jinxy lilywhite
14/06/2014, 8:23 AM
Bingo. He has to go but won't. He seems a bit deluded about the whole thing really and seems to be under the impression that it will turn around. It won't turn around. One of the lowest points in our history at the moment.

Wow that takes some beating

Me and the lads were going to have a whip around to cover the cost of keeping Horgan on the job.

White Horse
14/06/2014, 11:35 AM
The goal difference between the two Louth times is 56. In 17 games!

Straightstory
17/06/2014, 9:34 AM
He's gone. Not a huge surprise. Sorry for him - but what a collapse after a promising start.

WoodquayBoy
17/06/2014, 9:41 AM
Drogheda and Horgan part company

White Horse
17/06/2014, 10:06 AM
The Drogheda board have now destroyed the careers of two football men who did excellent jobs in 2011 and 2012.

It is they who have questions to answer.

As a Dundalk fan, I wish Robbie well. He always carried himself with dignity and it was clear from his interview on Soccer Republic how hurt he is.

Acer
17/06/2014, 10:12 AM
The Drogheda board have now destroyed the careers of two football men who did excellent jobs in 2011 and 2012.

As a Dundalk fan, I wish Robbie well. He always carried himself with dignity and it was clear from his interview on Soccer Republic how hurt he is.

Your obsession with the drogs really is worrying.

Robbie had to go. Players let him down but there's no doubt he was just not up to the job. Hopefully get someone new in asap but I have no idea what options are out there.

17/06/2014, 10:13 AM
How much the pay off is would be interesting considering results during the stand off

17/06/2014, 10:17 AM
Mad how these guys have no responsibility for their own decisions.

White Horse
17/06/2014, 10:25 AM
Your obsession with the drogs really is worrying.

I started watching Drogheda home games in the Lourdes stadium in the early 70's, long before they were Drogheda United. I've seem them play in three cup finals, the first one in 1976.

I only stopped going to see Drogheda regularly when their newer fans developed this childish inferiority complex with Dundalk.

I like live football.

MiniMourinho
17/06/2014, 11:06 AM

They got rid of a bad apple. And have parted ways with an unsuccessful manager after a 12/13 game losing streak. Does 2013 and 2014 not count? On football alone, between them both they won only 12 league games from 50 for a win rate of 24% in 2013-2014!!

Feel sorry for Robbie, a genuinely nice man, but he was out of options in the end.

ciaraa
17/06/2014, 11:44 AM
They got rid of a bad apple. And have parted ways with an unsuccessful manager after a 12/13 game losing streak. Does 2013 and 2014 not count? On football alone, between them both they won only 12 league games from 50 for a win rate of 24% in 2013-2014!!

Feel sorry for Robbie, a genuinely nice man, but he was out of options in the end.

Everything that has happened up to this point stems from the clumsy and unprofessional manner in which the Mick Cooke 'situation' was dealt with. The management structures of the organisation are the problem and until the failings which they exhibit can be brought under control then history will be destined to repeat itself.

The sooner the powers that those people hold are dissolved into a much broader hierarchial structure the better for all concernced (Assuming they are towing the ridiculous defensive lines like MiniMourinho above)

ciaraa
17/06/2014, 11:47 AM
Well said. Some of the 'fans' have a lot to answer for in all this.

Acer
17/06/2014, 12:06 PM
I started watching Drogheda home games in the Lourdes stadium in the early 70's, long before they were Drogheda United. I've seem them play in three cup finals, the first one in 1976.

I only stopped going to see Drogheda regularly when their newer fans developed this childish inferiority complex with Dundalk.

I like live football.

I shouldn't bother but Dundalk means nothing to Drogheda's newer fans. They can't even remember the last time Dundalk won a trophy and games between the two have been few and far between considering Dundalk spent most of that time in the first division.

I knew the record was bad but that's really abysmal. You can't help but place blame on the playing squad too though. Both men relied on the same core of players and they have let them down in a big way. I think it's obvious that they're just not up to it.

MiniMourinho
17/06/2014, 12:10 PM
Everything that has happened up to this point stems from the clumsy and unprofessional manner in which the Mick Cooke 'situation' was dealt with. The management structures of the organisation are the problem and until the failings which they exhibit can be brought under control then history will be destined to repeat itself.

The sooner the powers that those people hold are dissolved into a much broader hierarchial structure the better for all concernced (Assuming they are towing the ridiculous defensive lines like MiniMourinho above)

Have to say i laugh out loud when people describe those on the Drogheda United board of management as having 'power'. There's more power in a lawnmower! Ive seen it first hand. What being on that board of management means is getting to man the turnstiles, make sure the portaloos are emptied, organising matchday food for the team, proposing and running every fundraiser, along with the unenviable task of making decisions about everything. All in your spare time. Its not power, its a poisoned chalice! :-)

Also go back to my point above. The people with the power are the members who vote in the directors. Of note, you dont even have to be a member to nominate yourself onto the board of management. And the current board members have openly asked for more volunteers a million times. Nobody seems motivated enough. So anyone with your opinion Ciaraa should simply step forward and get involved in the pot-washing!

17/06/2014, 12:12 PM

Some man for the dramatic statements...