View Full Version : Late Surge from the Vikings
Breifne
31/10/2004, 1:08 AM
Three goals in the last ten minutes, looks like our luck maybe turning, hopefully not too late.
While likely, slightly premature, the Vikings have shown excellent form for our last six / seven games, and while only securing one victory, deserved at least ten / twelve points instead of the four or five we did get. And i don't think you will get a Shels, Cork, Pats or even Drogheda supporter who will go against that verdict in the last two / three months.
Its a tall order, but no one is writing the epitaph just yet. We have four games left.
Drogheda (H): who we know we can beat, have robbed us of three points this season, two in tolka, and one up in Drogheda last time out.
Longford (A): drew the last time out in flancare in the league. have taken four points of the FAI and League Cup holders, but for a bit of slight good fortune it might have been seven or even a full nine.
Bohemians (A): seven points out of nine says exactly what we wanted to hear about this clash, the hardest game, but we seem to be their hoodoo side this season, lets hope for one last push.
ROVERS (H): It could come down to this. Rovers continuing poor form, allied with our recent good form (but unfortunately not exactly the best run of results) could result in a second final day shoot out in two seasons.
Breifne
31/10/2004, 1:23 AM
Heres the kinda maths bit:
Rovers have a seven point lead, and a vastly superior goal difference, with four games left each.
as we have to play each other, for this exercise, I'm presuming a Dublin City victory in that game. (without it we are relegated, regardless of other results.)
That means a four point lead (+1 for GD) to catch in three games.
Rovers require six points to relegate us, also a victory in the final game of the season would be enough, should it go that far.
Rovers face Waterford, Bohemians & Pats.
City face Bohemians, Longford & Drogheda
Given rovers form of only three points from their last eleven games since their last league victory 2-0 over Longford on the 2nd of August almost three months ago.
With Dublin City taking a total of nine points from the same period, and also being unlucky in a number of games in which they deserved something but didn't get it, its not impossible. Impropable definitely, but not impossible.
With the focus on the last four games, and especially if Rovers fail to secure a point this afternoon in Waterford, it will only get the wind up the Vikings sails, and you might just find that we accomplish our mission for the second time in as many years. Here is hoping.
Dazzy
31/10/2004, 10:16 AM
After the second half proformance in Derry, Id say theres a good chance you will stay up if you repeat it in other games.
No offence or anything, but I hope this doesn't happen. Home Farm don't belong in the Premier Division.
Breifne
31/10/2004, 1:55 PM
No offence or anything, but I hope this doesn't happen. Home Farm don't belong in the Premier Division.
Eanna, I know you're more intelligent than this statement makes you seem!!!
We go back a good bit, eight or nine years if i'm not mistaken.
Think about it, every club has to start somewhere, its not possible to be Arsenal, Man Utd, or even Shels, Bohs or Cork from the get go. Dublin City are trying to start something, which may blossom, it also may die. Don't be so quick to put the boot in.
We earned the right by finishing on top of the first division last season. Don't forget that the sides that get promoted this season will do so as first, second and third place. We didn't have that luxury, and had to finish first to secure our spot in the premier league.
Also in our four games against Cork City we have only collected 1 single point, but anyone who has seen any of the four games (i've been to three) will testify that we were definitely not your easiest games this year. the record states
Cork City 3 Dublin City 1
Dublin City 0 Cork City 1
Cork City 1 Dublin City 1
Dublin City 0 Cork City 1
Not exactly a poor record between a club hoping to survive, and another club with title ambitions at the start of the season. We are in exactly the same situation at the moment, and I for one would be delighted to see Cork City win the title, because of the effort that was put in by Brian Lennox and Pat Dolan. They are a progressive club, and deserve all the respect they deserve. All that we ask is that you afford our club the same respect.
While we accept that it is looking likely that we will be relegated this season, although we will keep hoping until there is no chance of it happening.
Dr.Nightdub
31/10/2004, 2:05 PM
HT: Waterford 2 Rovers 0. If it stays like that there'll be seven points in it and CHF will have a game in hand. Could get VERY interesting...
31/10/2004, 2:10 PM
Fair play Breifne, you lay out you stall well enough alright. I think Eanna was trying to say that Dublin City doesn't offer much to the premier as opposed to some other sides in the first and thats why he'd like to see you drop. It is not so much something against you or your club.
31/10/2004, 2:12 PM
Good luck to Dublin City.
Hope to see ye next year in the Premier Division.
Eanna, I know you're more intelligent than this statement makes you seem!!!
We go back a good bit, eight or nine years if i'm not mistaken.
we do, thats why i said no offence! DC may, at some time in the future bring something to the premier division of this league. as it stands they don't. If the club was to build up a fanbase, and have a decent ground and a playing squad that could compete then they would deserve their place. as things stand, they have none of those qualities and will most likely be relegated. That and the simple fact that Dublin had enough teams already, I just can't see DC becoming a force, I really can't.
31/10/2004, 4:24 PM
Breifne, yer a wile man for this "we should have had this, we should have had that, and we deserved the other". The bottom line is, thats bull****. And I dont recall UCD fans spoutin the same crap last season when they went down by a margin of two points. FFS if ye actually got what you say youse deserved Dub City would be almost challenging for the title!!!. Youse are bottom and youse are there on merit!!!
By the way theres not a chance in hell that I'd prefer Dublin City in the premier over Shamrock Rovers!!!
31/10/2004, 7:44 PM
Had the Vikings turned some of that decent form into even a few draws like the unlucky Shels game I would have given them a chance but it just seems to tall an order. Rovers basically have to lose all three, and you win three of the four, it just seems impossible. But good luck to you. I'd love to see a final day showdown. :D
01/11/2004, 1:23 PM
I know if DC stay up they'll stay up on merit but it will be a disaster for the league if, when Rovers get to Tallaght as apparently they will be in the next year, they get their in the first division with DC in the premier. I'd hate to see that happening.
dortie
01/11/2004, 3:51 PM
I hope for the sake of the league that Rovers stay up. Dublin City have no support base or even potential for it. Going by this season anyway.
I also classify UCD in that category.
go Vikings - I really want to see this go to a final day winner takes all decider!
in the interests of the league it will be great entertainment for all of us not involved - only a bore wouldnt want the drama and madness of a last day play off! let it be so!
01/11/2004, 4:50 PM
WHAT?! Where did this come from?
We wont pick up a single point for the rest of the season so we have to hope drogheda win on thursday.
No offense again but CHF bring nothing to the league. Anybody in their right mind know that we are a better option for the premier. Just look at the gates when we come to town.
And we wont be in Tallaght next year. They said 6-12 months which means 15! Also NOTHING has been signed by CC. This came from one of the directors yesterday in the RSC.
01/11/2004, 6:52 PM
We wont pick up a single point for the rest of the season so we have to hope drogheda win on thursday.
No offense again but CHF bring nothing to the league. Anybody in their right mind know that we are a better option for the premier. Just look at the gates when we come to town.
And we wont be in Tallaght next year. They said 6-12 months which means 15! Also NOTHING has been signed by CC. This came from one of the directors yesterday in the RSC.
Is CC waiting to see whether you stay up or not? Any idea whether the funding is dependent on your status?
02/11/2004, 10:29 AM
Is CC waiting to see whether you stay up or not? Any idea whether the funding is dependent on your status?
The deal has NOTHING to do with our status. It's a property deal has and has fook all to do with football.
See Martin Fitzpatrick's piece in the Sunday Indo business section. It's all explained there.
If we were in the Leinster Senior League Clarkson would still be doing very nicely out of it. In fact, the worse state the football club is in the better for Mr. Clarkson.
$Leon$
02/11/2004, 10:36 AM
if brut force and ignorance won games all the time then the vikings woud be top of the league. watchin their gutsy preformance last night on el weekly. did well to come back and win but da whole team mentality seems to be to horse it as far as u can with as much power as u can in the direction of the goal. but fair play it seemed to work well up in derry
02/11/2004, 11:05 AM
Snap. A chance for some revenge :D plus it mite make it more interesting in the relegation battle next season with a few clubs in or around the same level (DC or Rovers, Bray, Harps, UCD, Pats etc...) there wont be much in it me thinks
02/11/2004, 11:08 AM
Agreed, but in saying that, clubs deserve to be in the premier on preformaces and points so if they finish the season with more points than rovers they deserve their place in the premier more than you.
Bald Student
02/11/2004, 11:46 AM
plus it mite make it more interesting in the relegation battle next season with a few clubs in or around the same level (DC or Rovers, Bray, Harps, UCD, Pats etc...)
I agree. I think that the timing of this new investment in Rovers is very bad for the three teams coming up. Rovers pre-investment would have lost players over the summer and been involved in the relegation places. Now they will probably sign players and be closer to, if not in, the top half of the league.
This means one fewer team in the relegation fight, which is good for Rovers but bad for the rest of us.
02/11/2004, 12:06 PM
Don't get too carried away with CHF's performance in Derry.
You were like a Carry-on film in the first half, and if it wasn't for the fact that every single Derry player literally was too busy thinking about what to dress-up as for Halloween in the second, then you'd be searching the web for B&B's in Sligo, Galway and Cobh right now......
Dublin City offer nothing to the Eircom League. That may or may not change in the future, but the only certainty in it is that you currently offer nothing.
Good luck to Rovers - a team that is a fundamental part of Irish football...
02/11/2004, 12:17 PM
Don't get too carried away with CHF's performance in Derry.
You were like a Carry-on film in the first half, and if it wasn't for the fact that every single Derry player literally was too busy thinking about what to dress-up as for Halloween in the second, then you'd be searching the web for B&B's in Sligo, Galway and Cobh right now......
Dublin City offer nothing to the Eircom League. That may or may not change in the future, but the only certainty in it is that you currently offer nothing.
Good luck to Rovers - a team that is a fundamental part of Irish football...
A strong Rovers team and set uip is always welcomed in the premier league but their not that and on current form dont deserve to be in the premier, simple as that really. DC have put up much more of a fight over the last few months and have been very unlucky in a few matches not to win or at least take points. As stated before, who ever has more points at the end of the season deserves to stay in the premier.
Maynard
02/11/2004, 5:43 PM
Well said Roo69. If we get relegated then it'll be on merit and I for one won't be moaning about our lack of any good luck. If we don't then it can only be because we fought harder for it. Either way the club is still young and in the future could grow into a respected member of the EL, I think it's unfair how much scorn is poured upon the hardwork that goes into the club, and although we need to build and improve in certain areas, we did win the 1st Division on merit only 3 years after being founded.
Partizan
02/11/2004, 6:11 PM
eACH AND EVERY TEAM IS IN THE PREMIER ON MERIT AND MERIT ALONE.
Nobody has a divine right to be in the top flight. If Rovers go down, the fans can only blame Fat Tony.
03/11/2004, 12:18 PM
If Rovers go down, the fans can only blame Fat Tony.
I think we worked that one out for ourselves. ;)
BTW Thanks for your words of support on our MB.
Ringo
04/11/2004, 10:35 AM
We're being screwed today & LOI has reached new lows. But we don't care. Everyone is against us & we've gotten used to that. We read the warnings and didn't heed them. I hope it doesn’t work out for them & we survive, if nothing else, I want to stick two fingers up to the traitor on the last day of the season. His word means nothing to him.
04/11/2004, 10:37 AM
We're being screwed today & LOI has reached new lows. But we don't care. Everyone is against us & we've gotten used to that. We read the warnings and didn't heed them. I hope it doesn’t work out for them & we survive, if nothing else, I want to stick two fingers up to the traitor on the last day of the season. His word means nothing to him.:confused: :confused:
Ringo, my commiserations.
Collins was, is and always will be a piece of sh*te.
Breifne
04/11/2004, 10:41 AM
We're being screwed today & LOI has reached new lows. But we don't care. Everyone is against us & we've gotten used to that. We read the warnings and didn't heed them. I hope it doesn’t work out for them & we survive, if nothing else, I want to stick two fingers up to the traitor on the last day of the season. His word means nothing to him.
couldn't have put it any better, I hope Rovers go down, the deal for the stadium falls through, and the club go out of existence, not because i don't like the club, just don't like the traitor, and anyone (rovers board) who poaches their arch rivals manager deserves to be put out of business.
So Roddy just how much of this €9 million are you getting to make the sure the club survive, and what happens if the players you just abandoned actually manage to pull your impossible dream.
Be slightly embarrassing then won't it. You'll be run out of Tallaght even before the cowboy builders get back near the site.
Looking forward to seeing your slimey arse back in Tolka for the last game of the season.
Remember your first two games. Absolute ****, and two hammerings, could be set up nicely if you follow that pattern.
04/11/2004, 10:46 AM
we did win the 1st Division on merit only 3 years after being founded.
and dont forget the little helping hand from the ref on the last day of the season ;)
04/11/2004, 10:54 AM
couldn't have put it any better, I hope Rovers go down, the deal for the stadium falls through, and the club go out of existence, not because i don't like the club, just don't like the traitor, and anyone (rovers board) who poaches their arch rivals manager deserves to be put out of business.
So Roddy just how much of this €9 million are you getting to make the sure the club survive, and what happens if the players you just abandoned actually manage to pull your impossible dream.
Be slightly embarrassing then won't it. You'll be run out of Tallaght even before the cowboy builders get back near the site.
Looking forward to seeing your slimey arse back in Tolka for the last game of the season.
Remember your first two games. Absolute ****, and two hammerings, could be set up nicely if you follow that pattern.
When the hell did Collins take the Rovers job!?
Breifne
04/11/2004, 10:57 AM
When the hell did Collins take the Rovers job!?
The Scumbag told Dublin City this morning that he was leaving, and is being unveiled as the Manager of Rovers in a couple of minutes.
04/11/2004, 10:59 AM
The Scumbag told Dublin City this morning that he was leaving, and is being unveiled as the Manager of Rovers in a couple of minutes.
Was it on the radio? That's sick. I read his crap column in the Star every Sunday at work and he kept insisting how he would stick it out with Dub City and he wouldn't take the Bohs job etc. Are you 100% sure he quit? The morning of a game?
kevincronin2000
04/11/2004, 11:20 AM
yes its true visit www.shamrockrovers.ie
Im going to change my tune here and say COME ON DCFC, Please stay up, and relegate Roddys Rovers.
04/11/2004, 11:38 AM
Im going to change my tune here and say COME ON DCFC, Please stay up, and relegate Roddys Rovers.
Fully agreed ! ALL eL fans who can make the DC match should go and support them on, Roddy is a no good w@nk stain on the shirt of irish football.
I seriously hope he totally fcuks it up and gets them relagated !
Come on Rovers. Fcuk Dublin City.
Rovers are a real football club with proper fans, DC are nothing but a joke.
Fair play to Roddy for grasping the oppurtunity.
I think the opposite (apart from the fact that rovers have more fans than dub city - not hard)
Rovers are the joke and this stunt is the lowest of the low - hope they get relegated and a few of their fans wouldnt be too unhappy if it meant the end of their current cowboy board
shower of bastids
Drogman.
04/11/2004, 11:58 AM
Hold on a minute, I'd like to see Rovers get what they deserve but cheering on DC tonight is not where to start ;)
But seriously, when Rovers got into all this money and stadiums problems why wasn't anything done about it? I mean if they'd owed their players €40,000 then I'm sure there were a few more bills to be payed as well.
When this happened to us, we got a bol*ocking, threathened to be throwin out of the league and had to stump up €100,000 in 3 days for some god for saken reason.
Will the same apply to Rovers? I dont think so.
Rovers are the joke and this stunt is the lowest of the low - hope they get relegated and a few of their fans wouldnt be too unhappy if it meant the end of their current cowboy board
As soon as Rovers get rid of their current board and move to Tallaght they will undoubtedly be the second biggest club in the country after Cork City.
The will at the very least be a on a par with Shels and that imo will be a good thing for the eircom league.
Dublin City will never have the chance to make this kind of progress at least with Rovers it's very possible.
for starters to be on a par with shels would put them a level above Cork City - and no its not going to happen
even a positive outlook on a timescale would mean best case scenario in tallaght is in one or two seasons (prob two)
thats in a stadium that holds 3,000 (or so we're told) - there is no evidence that attending a field with one stand and exposed to the elements is going to entice anyone more than already go to rovers games - i'd argue that rovers would have a hell of a job on their hands to attract long term new support at tallaght as its stands
Dublin City have made more progress in the last 2 years than rovers have in the last 17 FACT
04/11/2004, 2:02 PM
Dublin City have made more progress in the last 2 years than rovers have in the last 17 FACT[/QUOTE]
:D In the last 2 years we have been in europe twice. They have been in the first division.
Off the field we have an opportunity to finally get into a new ground. What will they do even if they stay up? Where they gonna play?
As for Roddy moving well it's not a shock. He is moving to the biggest club of them all. Other managers have walked out on clubs before. Get over yourselves. The sense of outrage is hilarious. He hasnt broken any rules.
CuanaD
04/11/2004, 2:26 PM
:ball:
As for Roddy moving well it's not a shock. He is moving to the biggest club of them all. Other managers have walked out on clubs before. Get over yourselves. The sense of outrage is hilarious. He hasnt broken any rules.
Roddy hasn't broken any rules, but what he is doing is morally wrong imo.
"He is moving to the biggest club of them all" - nearly spat my food at the screen laughing at that one :o
Hope Rovers go down & THE ROD can jump ship again. Then Rovers can come back up the following season WITH their new stadium and a better attitude!
Dublin City have made more progress in the last 2 years than rovers have in the last 17 FACT
:D In the last 2 years we have been in europe twice. They have been in the first division.
Off the field we have an opportunity to finally get into a new ground. What will they do even if they stay up? Where they gonna play?
KOH[/QUOTE]
you cant argue with FACTS. FACT.
The intertoto isnt "europe" ffs! they even let cork city in the damn thing, its of no relevance
04/11/2004, 2:51 PM
I wouldn't be happy if I was a Rovers fan about this news. Not only have you appointed a spoofer and one season wonder as your manager, you've also handed more motivation to Dublin City to play above themselves for the next few games to try and get their former boss relegated.
Personally I'm delighted to see Ronan Seery get fúcked over like this. Maybe now he'll understand what someone "lacking in moral fibre" is really like. Note to"Rocky"- maybe next time you'll use those abusive words with a little more justification.
Roddy Collins is, and always has been, ruhtlessly intent on putting himself first, anyone who believed he'd stay at Home Farm if a better offer came had their head in the clouds. Rovers bring more to irish football than Home Farm do, and I can't understand any sane individual wanting them to stay up.
:The intertoto isnt "europe" ffs! they even let cork city in the damn thing, its of no relevance
they let you in too didn't they. Oh, I forgot that was when you had a real manager and weren't just plucking overgrown ballboys off the street and letting them **** your club up :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
04/11/2004, 2:59 PM
The intertoto isnt "europe" ffs! they even let cork city in the damn thing, its of no relevance
Wait till you see the gypos bigging up the intertwobob next season.
BTW NY Hoop was referring to our participation in the UEFA Cup as well as the Interwhatist.
Eanna
1 more year....the clock is ticking on the magical three year plan - close but no cigar this time out - plus ca change
boc123
04/11/2004, 3:02 PM
Eanna
1 more year....the clock is ticking on the magical three year plan - close but no cigar this time out - plus ca change
Exactly 1 more year, come back to us in 12 months time.