View Full Version : Series 8

Pages : 1 [2] 3

colonelwest
18/04/2014, 8:15 PM
One all in Oriel, Towell with a pen. Kenna sent off for an elbow in the afters of the pen too.

edit, 2-1, Meenan!

SeanDrog
18/04/2014, 8:19 PM
2-1 cork

adamd164
18/04/2014, 8:24 PM
Cork City 3-1 Drogs

Billy Dennehy special - curled left footed free kick.

harry crumb
18/04/2014, 8:40 PM
uggggghhh extratime.ie

Weekly shut down!

18/04/2014, 8:46 PM
Bray 0-0 Derry
Cork 3-1 Drogheda
Dundalk 2-2 Shamrock Rovers
Limerick 2-1 Athlone
Sligo 5-0 UCD
St Pats 3-1 Bohs

Waterford 1-0 Shamrock Rovers B
Shelbourne 2-0 Cobh
Wexford 0-1 Galway

adamd164
18/04/2014, 8:46 PM
Top of the league again. Big crowd came away happy at the Cross tonight.

That's the 4th time we've had over 4000 people at a game there in a month and a half.

NeverFeltBetter
18/04/2014, 9:06 PM
Limerick made hard work of what should have been an easy enough win. Points are points though.

colonelwest
18/04/2014, 9:19 PM
Pitch invasion by the Rovers fans in Oriel after the equaliser, Croly must be lowering expectations worse than Moyes even is.

White Horse
18/04/2014, 9:31 PM
Two points dropped by Dundalk tonight.

Chances to wrap up the game were not taken. Shamrock Rovers worked very hard for their point.

I hope Stephen O'Donnell is OK. He took a very heavy knock in the first half and was stretchered off.

18/04/2014, 9:35 PM
(along with more Queen songs for when Pats visit next)

Yeah, don't play that bloody Radio Gaga whatever you do. We hate that :p

18/04/2014, 9:36 PM
That was a grubby point for Shamrock Rovers.

18/04/2014, 9:43 PM
2 points dropped but we were poor enough. Sloppy in possession, Massey was poor and really most of the trouble came down our left. Rovers fans covered themselves in glory as per usual with their pitch invasion and attempts to get over to the shed. Croly got his tactics right i suppose with spoiling and closing down quickly. When we got our noses in front we should hve closed the game out especially when Towell(sorry it was Meenan) dragged his shot wide for a 3rd in a 2 on 1 on the rovers keeper when a square ball would have been a tap in. Hope O'Donnell is ok but looked bad. Highlights will be interesting - could have been another rovers red for what looked a foul by last man, yellow given although i was a good bit away. Not even a free given for challange on O'Donnell but lots of nothing frees dished out for both sides. I was standing behind the town goal for the peno shout but I have to say I didnt see the hand ball so I dunno if it was a good call or not.

Ezeikial
18/04/2014, 9:48 PM

Without a doubt - but credit to Rovers for getting the late goal.

They were also the better side when it was 11 V 11 largely because of how they pressed Dundalk.

Conor Kenna was incredibly stupid to lash out in an unprovoked manner at Daryl Horgan - if it happened on the street he could expect to be prosecuted (in fact Duncan Ferguson got a month in prison for similar when he was with Rangers)

Rovers yobs / louts again lived up to expectations with their customary pitch invasion - the aggression towards the players on the pitch is particularly distasteful.

colonelwest
18/04/2014, 10:15 PM

Chances to wrap up the game were not taken. Shamrock Rovers worked very hard for their point.

I hope Stephen O'Donnell is OK. He took a very heavy knock in the first half and was stretchered off.

O'Donnell looks to have had his cruciate done so probably season over for him unfortunately. Hopefully Higgins can step up, Wardy back too now and possibly a chance for Conor McDonald/ Georgie to get some game time and push on as well.

Ezeikial
18/04/2014, 10:17 PM
There was no whinging. There was pointing out how hilarious it was.

Unless you think playing "we are the champions" after a game when you hadn't won the league in 18 years isn't funny.

I agree it was hilarious - largely because Pats fans vented and whinged for weeks afterwards - in fact for many Pats fans it even overshadowed the outrage over the accident in the stand, Killian Brennan getting sent-off and (whisper it softly) Pats getting beaten

oriel
18/04/2014, 10:38 PM
We definitely let Rovers off the hook, although they were the better side in the first half, we should have put them to bed in the second half, only ourselves to blame.

Still it was a very good game, and we played some great stuff in the second half, should have made it 3-1 late on, but Meenan made the wrong decision not to square the ball.

Rovers worked hard, prob did deserve the point, but it was a sickener to concede in the 94th min.

Lovely behaviour by a lot of Rovers fans at the end, usually it is a minority but not tonight.

dong
18/04/2014, 11:00 PM
Rovers yobs / louts again lived up to expectations with their customary pitch invasion - the aggression towards the players on the pitch is particularly distasteful.

The aggression towards players on the pitch? Hardly much different to any other fans I'd say. It's all the other good stuff that makes them stand out.

Ezeikial
18/04/2014, 11:08 PM
The aggression towards players on the pitch? Hardly much different to any other fans I'd say. It's all the other good stuff that makes them stand out.

Eh - the difference is the yobs were on the pitch at the time.

Its one thing barracking players from the terraces, another thing entirely chasing them down on the pitch

White Horse
18/04/2014, 11:17 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF234/855877.jpg

Looks very bad for O'Donnell. He has tweeted that the tackle by Robinson was fair.

18/04/2014, 11:23 PM
Ouch! Did Robinson not go over to see how he was at one point?

dong
18/04/2014, 11:28 PM
Eh - the difference is the yobs were on the pitch at the time.

Its one thing barracking players from the terraces, another thing entirely chasing them down on the pitch

Fair enough.
To be honest nothing is ever done about it and it's been happening for years now.

kdjaC
18/04/2014, 11:37 PM
I agree it was hilarious - largely because Pats fans vented and whinged for weeks afterwards - in fact for many Pats fans it even overshadowed the outrage over the accident in the stand, Killian Brennan getting sent-off and (whisper it softly) Pats getting beaten

I think you may notice the pats crowd at our next match considerably smaller than usual as the "outrage" to the accident.

But hey keep playing we are the champions totally working out for you, hope you played it tonight.

PartySaint
18/04/2014, 11:46 PM

Whinged, Ha. Why would we complain about it? everyone was just saying how stupid it was on Dundalks behalf, as I said it helped used so worked out well in the end.

If you want to talk about whinging tho you should check out Dundalk fans reaction on twitter to Sean Gannon's goal from April not being included in the Soccer Republic March goal of the month. They weren't too happy.

On our game tonight, a bit better from Pats. The highlights are worth watching on Monday for Jason Byrnes goal alone, it was superb.

I still worry about us, we don't look great at the back, the only 2 other decent sides in the league (Dundalk and Sligo) will punish us again if we don't get our act together.

In saying that, we've been poor this season and are still 3rd, I can't wait until we click.

19/04/2014, 12:37 AM
Extratime report suggests that Athlone put an outfield player into goals even though they had a substitute keeper on the bench after the red card. This would be pretty weird if correct.

19/04/2014, 12:42 AM
What was the story with Athlone putting a random Brennan brother in goals instead of their sub keeper after the sending off??

Having said that he saved the penalty!!

Worryingish times in Limerick 1146 is a pretty shabby crowd for Good Friday.

The game Monday with Derry has all the makings of an affront to the footballing gods.

EDIT: Osarusan beat me to the keeper question.

19/04/2014, 12:49 AM
All subs used?

19/04/2014, 12:51 AM
They took off another outfield player and brought Brennan on to go in goals!!

atfconline
19/04/2014, 1:02 AM
Looked like the best 'keeper we've had all season!

Sexton was, eh, elsewhere...managing a kids game in Dublin apparently.

19/04/2014, 1:07 AM
Ok!?!!? very League of Ireland!

NeverFeltBetter
19/04/2014, 1:29 AM
Is naming someone on the bench who isn't present at the game within the rules?

DannyInvincible
19/04/2014, 2:57 AM
I can't imagine there'd be a rule against naming an absent player on the bench, but why would you even name an absent player on the bench in the first place? :confused:

Edit: I've not been able to find this season's Participation Agreement online but have been able to find 2011's, which I would imagine is pretty similar, if not largely identical: https://www.fai.ie/agents_info/2011ParticipationAgreement.pdf

There didn't appear to be any express obligation upon named substitutes to be in attendance in 2011's agreement at least. The regulations covering team sheets, substitutions and technical officials can be found in the document linked to above from article 20.10 on page 41 onward.

sulywaterfordfc
19/04/2014, 3:07 AM
Seen on twitter that sexton came ill and had to be pulled out of the squad leaving athlone with one keeper.

DannyInvincible
19/04/2014, 3:17 AM
Seen on twitter that sexton came ill and had to be pulled out of the squad leaving athlone with one keeper.

When did Sexton fall ill? Even if there was no other Athlone keeper in the vicinity, they could still have named another player on the bench in his place right up until kick-off.

KeepersBall
19/04/2014, 7:13 AM
Word is Craig Sexton was coaching a DDSL squad back in Dublin. Not so sure how accurate that is, but that's the word. They were playing in a toiurnament in the Oscar Traynor.

19/04/2014, 10:24 AM
Red card killed the game in Sligo last night. We were just after having a spell on top, creating a couple of chances and getting the home crowd a bit on edge, and then Boyle knees some Sligo fella up the arse in the box for no reason at all. He didn't even have the ball under control. Just stupid.

Three super goals from Sligo (plus two penalties) - kinda the same as last week's hammering where at least the performance was better than last season.

Rovers, Dundalk, Sligo and Cork is a hoor of a run of games.

Good crowd last night too; all credit to Sligo.

19/04/2014, 12:25 PM
Some great craic on Facebook this morning. Apparently a task force of drunk underage pensioner Shamrock Rovers supporters stormed the Oriel Park pitch, impaled the referee on the corner flag and set fire to his body. Unconfirmed reports they were shaking the fence and frightening the stewards as well. Shocking behaviour, they should be banned from football.

Ezeikial
19/04/2014, 12:32 PM
Charlie - How does that Facebuk thing work?

Do you have to be friends with gob$hites to see their posts?

19/04/2014, 12:53 PM
Charlie - How does that Facebuk thing work?

Do you have to be friends with gob$hites to see their posts?
Thankfully not!

White Horse
19/04/2014, 1:32 PM
Some great craic on Facebook this morning. Apparently a task force of drunk underage pensioner Shamrock Rovers supporters stormed the Oriel Park pitch, impaled the referee on the corner flag and set fire to his body. Unconfirmed reports they were shaking the fence and frightening the stewards as well. Shocking behaviour, they should be banned from football.

Who could blame Rovers fans for celebrating getting a point at Oriel Park by staging a pitch invasion? Heady stuff for the Hoops.

19/04/2014, 1:38 PM
A point against the Champions is always worth celebrating.

Yossarian
19/04/2014, 2:08 PM
O'Donnell out for the season. That's a huge blow for us.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/odonnell-scans-reveal-cruciate-damage/

jinxy lilywhite
19/04/2014, 2:09 PM
lol I was shocked by the celebration from Rovers fans for getting a point. you'd swear they won the FAI cup with the reaction... Players even did a lap of honour to mark the occasion.

Bad news: confirmed that captain fantastic did his cruciate and will miss the rest of the season

19/04/2014, 2:40 PM
Combned ACL and PCL tears are really rare unless the knee is dislocated which didnt seem to be the case with S'ODonnell. Damn nightmare of rehab too compared to single cruciate injury which is bad enough. A top surgeon and rehab team is really needed to get him back to his current level.

19/04/2014, 2:43 PM
I was at home for a few days before Easter so with Rovers away I went out to see Pats v Bohs. Good fun and a couple of quality goals.

If any of you was there I was the guy behind Brendan Clarke's goal in the second half who caught the ball after it was deflected off a Bohs defender and went into the seats behind the goal. There was a lot of spin on it so I was quite impressed, if I may say so myself. I think Michael D was too.

19/04/2014, 2:47 PM
O'Donnell out for the season. That's a huge blow for us.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/odonnell-scans-reveal-cruciate-damage/
Awful news for a quality player.

19/04/2014, 2:48 PM
A point against the Champions is always worth celebrating.

Well its one thing that Dundalk and St Pats have in common then - claiming to be champions regardless of the league tables final standings!

PartySaint
19/04/2014, 3:40 PM
Well its one thing that Dundalk and St Pats have in common then - claiming to be champions regardless of the league tables final standings!

We're not claiming to be Champions, we are Champions.

Big loss for Dundalk

White Horse
19/04/2014, 3:47 PM
We're not claiming to be Champions......

You are obsessed. Let it go.

PartySaint
19/04/2014, 4:10 PM
You are obsessed. Let it go.

Let what go? Being Champions? I don't think I will

19/04/2014, 4:42 PM
Short memory or selective memory? There was a hell of a lot of celebrating in Oriel Park one night by a St Pats team and supporters for a runners up spot! Indeed I recall a rendition of 'We are the champions' among other popular tunes crooned by champions - of course the trophy wasnt anywhere to be seen!