View Full Version : Cousins OUT!

Town Legend
13/04/2014, 3:56 PM
Surely its not too early to start this. Wrong team selection and then to cap it off Rovers Under 19 team beat us. They had no first teamers from what I heard and the player Cousins deemed not good enough for us scores the winner. Get him out before he ruins the club.

13/04/2014, 4:23 PM
We can't be accused of not being patient with him that's for bloody sure..

13/04/2014, 6:03 PM
And the thing is Longford hasnt had really that bad a team the last few years IMHO. Wasnt this rubbish obvious 4/3/2/1 years ago.......:mad:

13/04/2014, 7:12 PM
First off let me start by saying I was not at the game today due to work and I defended cousins and the team to the last on here last week but I am disgusted with the result today. As said above we lost to a kids team and talking to the lads who were there we were fcking awful. I'm not calling for cousins out yet but if he doesn't get at least 7 points from the next 3 games il help ye make a fecking banner because as said above we've been nothing but patient and the club don't seem to have the slightest bit of bottle to sack him so if things go south it's up to the fans to force their hand but hopefully this is just a blip and we will recover and WIN THE LEAGUE - as I said in pre season that's the only acceptable achievement considering the squad we have. If we don't go up I fear we will end up like Waterford, back to square one and having to take 3 or 4 years to rebuild a squad capable of going up and trust me we don't want that.

13/04/2014, 7:18 PM
I agree with the lads 100%. I had a bad feeling coming up that we werent goin to do the business based on seein Shams two weeks ago.. We were a shambles and I stand what I said last week after the Waterford game. COUSINS IS A LOAD OF RUBBISH WHO WEEK BY WEEK IS MAKING THE TEAM WORSE AND IT IS TIME FOR HIM TO GO! We could have let him go in preseason and didnt take our chances..

I am sick of it at this stage. The defending was shocking bad, also why do we pass the ball slow and backwards as if we were hammerin the opposition already. Nkolo made a huge difference when he came on. I dont know why Gorman an Mulhall didnt play.

I cant see any way back for us if Cousins stays in charge and can see us outside the playoff zone at season end if he stays.. I thought when Graham Lawlor came in that it would make a difference but it just shows up Cousins altogether. Even when we equalised there was still no urgency in getting a winner.. I am getting demoralised, depressed, dispondent, angry and let down by this chancer. Maybe its time that we start to put up a banner askin for Cousins to go!

Mister X
13/04/2014, 7:30 PM
i could rant on till the cows come home but the bottom line is cousins has to go!

L.T.F.C.
13/04/2014, 8:00 PM
Flynn is a ****ing idiot. And it was his stupidity that cost us the second goal.

There are some serious issues that need addressing right now.

Darklordsbane
13/04/2014, 8:03 PM
I thought Rovers were in almost complete control for the first half and De Town were for the second half, the music was excellent at half time, Rovers should have been well ahead at half time and De Town should have had at least 3 goals in the 2nd half overall I would have thought a draw was fair.
the problem for me is the team selection and the positions that people are asked to play in,
Fair play to Cousins he changed it at half time and it worked a lot better, but when Flynn was sent off in extra time he moved Rhys to centre half, our most creative player is now at the back, absolute madness, the game was there for the taking, long ball out of Rovers box, Rhys soft header backwards to bennion ( who should have kept coming) ball doesn't reach Bennion Daniel Purdy gets the ball and scores
absolute sickener

13/04/2014, 8:30 PM
iirc he put Rhys in At centre half during the first leg of the bray play off last year. Is the man soft in the head or something?

Mister X
14/04/2014, 12:27 AM
Flynn is a ****ing idiot. And it was his stupidity that cost us the second goal.

There are some serious issues that need addressing right now.

i agree with that about flynn! team look clueless to be honest!! its about time the club did something right #CousinsOUT

14/04/2014, 10:35 AM
Must be a new record? Stop the bets! Who had 5 games in??

Darklordsbane
14/04/2014, 11:43 AM
Until you know the team selection and positioning of De Towns player you would be mad to back them at the moment when I heard and saw the starting 11 on Sunday I had a small bet on Rovers 6/1 with Boyles and 7/1 with HIlls even the few € winnings don't make up for De Town losing

Ezeikial
14/04/2014, 12:04 PM
Sean Conor is available

Olander
14/04/2014, 1:41 PM
Must be a new record? Stop the bets! Who had 5 games in??
We sacked him after 4 games.

He is a spoofer.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish-soccer-league/2008/0331/229993-cousinst/

ltfc_2004
14/04/2014, 2:03 PM
To be honest he has the next two games and then the board have to review progress over the first series of games and its not acceptable then changes must be made. A big call is needed from the Board and soon.

I don't know who is available to manage but the Club have invested in the team this season, Rice looks a cut above the rest of them on the pitch. They let in 2 soft goals and Bennion was livid for the second goal but he should of come towards the ball once they broke through instead of going backwards and making it easier for Purdy.

L.T.F.C.
14/04/2014, 4:05 PM
I didn't think Rice had a fantastic game. Russell didn't do a whole pile either. O'Connor looked afraid to hit the ball with any force. One thing that really ****ed me off was the passing. It was shocking. Couldn't pads ten yards without the ball bouncing. Just ****e. I thought Sully at the back was good, and he killed Lyons. Bennion had to do nothing bar pick it out of his net, and Sully was right to give out to him. Shannon was good in the first half. The shooting yesterday was appalling as were the corners. Everyone down the keepers neck. Balls need to go in at the front post with players attacking it. We don't have a huge team, so pinging balls into the tall keeper ain't helping. But, all this stuff are management and coaching issues.

14/04/2014, 7:04 PM
I for one have no regrets about calling for his head after Waterford game. Sod the clean sheets we had at start of season. We want goals. Is that realistic??

Cabs88
15/04/2014, 7:05 PM
For a start, I don't think Cousins deserved another contract at the start of the year, based on results. People have said he was instrumental in players like Sully staying, but in terms of his ability to set his team up and get results I think he is out of his depth. Against rovers on Sunday we were frustrating to watch, seemed clueless at times and didn't trouble their keeper enough. Rice had a rare off day, Cowan must learn to pass the ball, Rhys should start most games, and I don't think Shannon / o Connor are the best options we have in that position. The management has to take flak for the way he set the team up, and his inability to change things for the better when they clearly aren't working. As said above 7 points (at least) had to be the target for the next 3 games. For all our possession we are not creating enough chances. Ordinarily you would say sacking a manager so early in the season especially after making new signings would be foolish, but I do believe the players we have are good enough to win this division if we had the right manager. Time will tell.

Mister X
16/04/2014, 3:01 PM
Dont get me wrong id love for TC to turn it around but in my eyes if he makes the same mistakes this saturday and we dont perform its time for him to go regardless of the result!

16/04/2014, 4:41 PM
It's time this was asked, what on earth is going on with Willie Tyrell? Deniese O'Flaherty raised the question today on Shannonside and supporters have been asking this for weeks now.

Last season he was one of if not our best defender and when he got injured he continued to travel the country week in week out supporting the team while people like Gillespie sat at home and couldn't give 2 fcks. He was in the gym night in night out trying to get back fit and when we had no one else he went on in the final game against bray and played through the pain barrier and was superb. He loves the club and the supporters and all that aside he is streets ahead of Glenn O'Connor so why is he not playing?

L.T.F.C.
17/04/2014, 10:02 AM
Outspoken, you have a bigger hard-on for Willie Tyrell than I had for Derek Glynn. Glynn was class though!

17/04/2014, 11:31 AM
Outspoken, you have a bigger hard-on for Willie Tyrell than I had for Derek Glynn. Glynn was class though!

I miss Derek Glynn :broken-heart:

Darklordsbane
17/04/2014, 12:52 PM
Nearly had a heart attact I thought it read Derek O Brien

Ezeikial
18/04/2014, 11:34 AM
We sacked him after 4 games.

He is a spoofer.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish-soccer-league/2008/0331/229993-cousinst/

From that RTE article that you linked -

Cousins took charge of 66 games as manager of the Tribesmen, winning 23, losing 21 and drawing 22.

gufc2000
18/04/2014, 2:29 PM
From that RTE article that you linked -
He meant four games into a season, which is what the Longford fans were questioning (if it were too early in the season to be calling for his removal)

18/04/2014, 6:08 PM
I don't see him going anywhere at the moment unless things really collapse, despite any misgivings the fans may have. His job is to get us up and there's still every chance of that. Fans can, rightly or wrongly, give out about tactics and performances but that won't make up the committee's minds. Personally I still think it's too early to be calling for him to be sacked. He was given the job for the season and it'd take a lot to change that as far as I'm aware.

19/04/2014, 7:21 AM
I don't see him going anywhere at the moment unless things really collapse, despite any misgivings the fans may have. His job is to get us up and there's still every chance of that. Fans can, rightly or wrongly, give out about tactics and performances but that won't make up the committee's minds. Personally I still think it's too early to be calling for him to be sacked. He was given the job for the season and it'd take a lot to change that as far as I'm aware.

If we lose tonight we are 10 points behind shelbourne after the first series of games, even with our game in hand and beaten shels in tolka in 2 weeks we would still be 4 behind. That's quite a comfort for Shels to have so in my opinion lose tonight and he HAS to go.

19/04/2014, 10:35 AM
I know what I'm about to say won't happen. But if we knew in advance of the game that us losing would mean cousins' head. I'd take the loss. No question..

Darklordsbane
19/04/2014, 11:26 AM
Nothing to worry about we will win tonight

19/04/2014, 12:29 PM
Nothing to worry about we will win tonight

You seem very sure about that.

Darklordsbane
19/04/2014, 1:59 PM
No Disrespect Nigel, Harps are playing well, we know it will be very tough, Harps have been really hard to beat over the years so De Town will not take this game lightly, we can't keep being complacent and playing brutal, has to change sometime and I reckon it's tonight, a hard fought, good football match, 2 or 3 -1 to De Town, that's my thoughts on it anyway

19/04/2014, 4:40 PM
No Disrespect Nigel, Harps are playing well, we know it will be very tough, Harps have been really hard to beat over the years so De Town will not take this game lightly, we can't keep being complacent and playing brutal, has to change sometime and I reckon it's tonight, a hard fought, good football match, 2 or 3 -1 to De Town, that's my thoughts on it anyway

You're aware that Harps have only conceded four goals this season in the league, one of which was a penalty? Yet you believe Town, who have scored 3 goals in 5 games, will get two or three against one of the toughest defences in the league to break down?

Being complacent is exactly what you're doing there. A smart man would go for a 0-0 or 1-1 draw if you ask me. Harps will most likely score, yet if Town actually kick into gear, they may score too, down to how utterly awful our goalkeeper is, and how slow our defence is.

We've been very well set up this year, yet a period of a couple of games without a striker hampered us. We've now got two strikers back in Keating and McCarron, and a very attacking setup.

I honestly wouldn't be in the least bit surprised to see Harps go down and dish out a hammering to Longford. We're due another big win, and due a few goals. It could go either way, but as I said, smart money is most likely a 1-1 draw.

19/04/2014, 9:43 PM
LOL @ Nidge.

Darklordsbane
19/04/2014, 10:47 PM
I thought we played really well for about 20 mins great 3 points but no comment on the rest, if Longford keep winning playing this way watch out all the rest of this division if they ever get it together for 90 mins, Harps number 10 was man of the match for me

19/04/2014, 11:48 PM
I actually thought it was our worst performance of the games I've seen, (three home games plus Galway). We again showed we should be very hard to beat in most games, Pat Sullivan strolled through the game again. But..we created very little at the other end, a lot less even than the other games, just lumping it up to Hynes and hoping for a break. Gary Shaw won more balls in fifteen minutes than Hynes did in seventy but that's not the way we need to play. Don't know why Don wasn't put on. Still, a win is welcome.

20/04/2014, 12:03 PM
LOL @ Nidge.

Why's that exactly? I almost had it correct. What part of "A smart man would go for a 0-0 or 1-1 draw if you ask me." was too far off the mark? Also pointing out that of the four goals we conceded previous to the game, one was a penalty. We went down to another penalty.

Also, "they may score too, down to how utterly awful our goalkeeper is", seems to have happened. Wasn't there myself, yet 99% of folks there have said penalty should have been saved.

Hampered yet again by a lack of strikers and creative spark.

20/04/2014, 1:05 PM
That was the worst game I've ever seen at the CCS but a wins a win but no way in hell will we beat any other team this season playing that way. I think when your own fans are saying they'd rather draw the game or lose it so that they can change the manager that the message is fairly clear. Cousins out.

Darklordsbane
20/04/2014, 2:06 PM
The players have to take some responsability as well, it's not all down to Cousins. I thought it was pretty good for the first 15 mins or so,
Cousins can't make them pass and move he can shout all he wants but from where i'm sitting or standing none seems to listen to him. the quality of passing by 95% of Longford players is barely adequate unless it's backwards, players going forward and not coming back, players for some reason start on a wing and a few mins later are either in midfield or the other wing and I don't mean they have swopped wings,
Cousin can go as mad as he wants but if the players don't do the job what can he do except sub or drop them,
and yes it's his fault for watching them, choosing them, signing them and playing them. I still believe if he can make them play football they are more than a match for anyone in this league not sure about Premier though
It will be very interesting what happens the midfield when Mark Salmon is fully fit we will see how strong a manager he is then will he have the balls to leave him out or drop Rice I doubt it, so it will be either Gorman or O' Connor who get shafted

20/04/2014, 2:13 PM
O'Connor hasn't made himself undroppable but then again he's more or less playing right wing which doesn't seem to suit him. A midfield three of Salmo, Rhys and Rice could work well if they were each given defined roles. Rhys bombing forward, Rice sitting and Salmo doing a bit of both depending on how the game was going could work out well I reckon. Better bet than just lumping it forward to Hynes or Shaw anyway.

Darklordsbane
20/04/2014, 5:18 PM
Can't argue with that Longfodian

20/04/2014, 7:18 PM
Why's that exactly? I almost had it correct. What part of "A smart man would go for a 0-0 or 1-1 draw if you ask me." was too far off the mark? Also pointing out that of the four goals we conceded previous to the game, one was a penalty. We went down to another penalty.

Also, "they may score too, down to how utterly awful our goalkeeper is", seems to have happened. Wasn't there myself, yet 99% of folks there have said penalty should have been saved.

Hampered yet again by a lack of strikers and creative spark.

This is the bit that gave me a LOL.

I honestly wouldn't be in the least bit surprised to see Harps go down and dish out a hammering to Longford.

And you going on about how tight Harps are at the back without realising you were playing against the joint tightest defence in the country.

Hammering. LOL.

L.T.F.C.
20/04/2014, 10:36 PM
Darklord there made a very good point.

The quality of passing in the team is nothing short of a disgrace. This needs to be looked at seriously. O'Gorman needs to get back in the team as he was a good passer last season, but the passing performance last weekend againt Rovers was horrific.

Its getting hard to tolerate.

20/04/2014, 11:13 PM
"O'Gorman" played 90 mins last night :confused: though in general I agree he should play every week.

Darklordsbane
21/04/2014, 12:14 AM
Do you both mean O' Connor or Gorman I'm a bit ****ed so not sure I assume you both mean Gorman if so I agree

Town Legend
21/04/2014, 1:23 AM
I think L.T.F.C. meant Gorman and I'm sure Longfordian was just pointing out L.T.F.C.'s mistake in his spelling of his name with the inverted commas. We won't fall out over it though. But yes have to agree on all points there about the passing. Schoolboy stuff!!

21/04/2014, 10:54 AM
But why is the passing of quality players so poor? Only one explanation makes sense and that's that they play the same long ball ****e in training (I'm not saying they do I don't know what they do in training but it's the only explanation that makes sense). If the players aren't working on playing possession football on the training pitch and on a regular basis in match situations then you can't expect them to just be able to flick a switch and start playing.

Darklordsbane
21/04/2014, 11:06 AM
There is another explanation maybe they aren't as quality as you seem to think they are

21/04/2014, 12:26 PM
I think L.T.F.C. meant Gorman and I'm sure Longfordian was just pointing out L.T.F.C.'s mistake in his spelling of his name with the inverted commas. We won't fall out over it though. But yes have to agree on all points there about the passing. Schoolboy stuff!!

Yes apologies I was being a pedantic ****. Not like me really!

21/04/2014, 1:39 PM
There is another explanation maybe they aren't as quality as you seem to think they are

Best squad by far, just look at what Glynn did in terms of style of play with lesser known players at Mervue last year, if cousins goes Glynn is the man for the job.

Town Legend
21/04/2014, 2:50 PM
Rumours going around that Moyes will be sacked as United boss today and the Glazers are looking at Cousins as his replacement......we can all dream I suppose!!