View Full Version : Cousins OUT!
21/04/2014, 3:01 PM
And you going on about how tight Harps are at the back without realising you were playing against the joint tightest defence in the country.
Hammering. LOL.
You honestly believe I would talk about Harps defence without realising Longford had a better defensive record? Don't be ridiculous. Harps are most certainly due to give someone a hammering, and I only suggested Longford due to the unease in the camp at the minute. Wind yourself in.
Mister X
21/04/2014, 5:50 PM
The players have to take some responsability as well, it's not all down to Cousins.
i would not agree with his team selection and the changes he mad anyway, was pure muck to watch! hopefully beat galway as alot resting on this shels game already
IrishRossi
27/04/2014, 12:28 PM
seen it on another thread on here that Johnny Gylnn was at the match last nite, i think its about time we got rid of cousins and brought him in
Town Legend
27/04/2014, 12:50 PM
If we were to get rid of Cousins, who would we like to see get in? IrishRossi has suggested Johnny Glynn. Anyone else agree with this? Who else is available? Defeat next week and Cousins could be packing his bags.
Darklordsbane
27/04/2014, 1:58 PM
and if we win its 3 points behind with a game in hand considering the crap football we are playing I think we are doing brilliantly and with that position in the table there is no way he will be sacked
Town Legend
27/04/2014, 2:35 PM
The way we're playing we WON'T beat Shels.
27/04/2014, 5:24 PM
Glynn was there with the Mervue United manager so may have been taking notes with him for the EA cup game we have coming up with them. Glynn would be my pick without doubt but my only concern with sacking cousins and bringing in someone like Glynn is it may take weeks if not months for someone like Glynn to get the team playing the way he wants as it would be a big change for the players going from constant hoofball to total passing football and if we aren't getting results in that space of time the season could be gone from us.
L.T.F.C.
27/04/2014, 9:26 PM
Are people forgetting that Mervue were the whipping boys for years bar one year?
Can Longford afford to pay off Cousins, pay mervue united for glynn (who he is under contract with) and then start paying him his wages?
27/04/2014, 10:23 PM
Can Longford afford to pay off Cousins, pay mervue united for glynn (who he is under contract with) and then start paying him his wages?
Cousins only has a contract for this season so yes. I'd imagine glynn's wages wouldn't be much more than TC is on although his current job might not be worth leaving considering travel etc, compo maybe an issue but we have the men in the background who would be willing to pay it I'd imagine.
27/04/2014, 10:24 PM
Are people forgetting that Mervue were the whipping boys for years bar one year?
Making last season an Even more impressive achievement. Built up a squad with little or no budget and got them playing superb football.
27/04/2014, 11:54 PM
Bring in Mick Cooke sure, the football would be still ****e, but we'd win more.
IrishRossi
28/04/2014, 12:16 AM
Bring in Mick Cooke sure,
Im going to presume your joking
Bosco
28/04/2014, 10:20 AM
Never called for Cousins out before but at this stage it's very clear something needs to change. Despite a last minute equaliser the other night the place felt like a morgue at the final whistle. People are just fed up going out there and knowing what to expect. The attendance was **** poor again and I can't really blame people for not wanting to come out. It's very clear week by week that there is a growing feeling that something needs to change. If the club were willing to put as much into strengthening our squad during pre season then they surely must see the sense in recruiting a new manager because if we don't go up this season we could be in serious trouble.
28/04/2014, 11:58 AM
Im going to presume your joking
just a smidgen better a track record than Tony..
Joe Dixon
28/04/2014, 12:00 PM
I have to agree with Bosco above, it's blind faith at this stage. The justification in sticking with Tony seems to have been based on getting the experience into the squad and bringing in leaders around him in the backroom and on the pitch. But this all seems lost in the face of what i've seen to be some pretty abject performances so far this season. I'll admit that i've only taken in three games but the same pattern runs through all i've seen. A surprising lack of pace and intensity to the play and the bypassing of midfield, both centrally and the wings. If this is the manager's plan it's simply wrong. If the players are not doing what the maneger expects of them then he's not the right person to be managing them.
It's what we did in the second half of last season and by all accounts it's what were doing this season. The old quote is that the definition of insanity is doing the same things and expecting different results but these are the foundations we re building this season's hopes upon.
I also think that our ire is now lost on Tony at this point. His inability to complete this job has been obvious to many for some time now yet he has been kept on. That is not his fault.
The burden of where this season goes is now the responsibility of the decision makers at the club, the chairman and the secretary. Continue hoping that it will change and ignore the evidence in front of you each week, or do something to provoke the change before it's to late. It will very soon be.
28/04/2014, 12:11 PM
I have to agree with Bosco above, it's blind faith at this stage. The justification in sticking with Tony seems to have been based on getting the experience into the squad and bringing in leaders around him in the backroom and on the pitch. But this all seems lost in the face of what i've seen to be some pretty abject performances so far this season. I'll admit that i've only taken in three games but the same pattern runs through all i've seen. A surprising lack of pace and intensity to the play and the bypassing of midfield, both centrally and the wings. If this is the manager's plan it's simply wrong. If the players are not doing what the maneger expects of them then he's not the right person to be managing them.
It's what we did in the second half of last season and by all accounts it's what were doing this season. The old quote is that the definition of insanity is doing the same things and expecting different results but these are the foundations we re building this season's hopes upon.
I also think that our ire is now lost on Tony at this point. His inability to complete this job has been obvious to many for some time now yet he has been kept on. That is not his fault.
The burden of where this season goes is now the responsibility of the decision makers at the club, the chairman and the secretary. Continue hoping that it will change and ignore the evidence in front of you each week, or do something to provoke the change before it's to late. It will very soon be.
Best post I've seen here in a long time, well said all round.
Darklordsbane
28/04/2014, 2:48 PM
Just read Athlone sacked Mick Cooke anyone who is any good as a manager and is free would surely prefer to manage a premier team rather than a first division one, so De Town might not have as ready a replacement anymore as some seem to think,
that said they would still have a job if they got Longford up and maybe not if Athlone dropped back down,
28/04/2014, 4:17 PM
Just read Athlone sacked Mick Cooke anyone who is any good as a manager and is free would surely prefer to manage a premier team rather than a first division one, so De Town might not have as ready a replacement anymore as some seem to think,
that said they would still have a job if they got Longford up and maybe not if Athlone dropped back down,
Cooke was linked with us last season but there's no way we'd go for him as his football is worse than cousins and his recent league record is very poor with only 8 wins in his last 43 LOI games. Id imagine he's reaching the end of his career now to be honest.
Darklordsbane
28/04/2014, 4:22 PM
I wasn't suggesting Cooke would be coming to City Calling I was trying to suggest it will be more difficult to get a good replacement for Cousins as there is a job on offer in the premier league
IrishRossi
28/04/2014, 4:52 PM
I wasn't suggesting Cooke would be coming to City Calling I was trying to suggest it will be more difficult to get a good replacement for Cousins as there is a job on offer in the premier league
that job is already gone Keith long has already got it
Darklordsbane
28/04/2014, 4:55 PM
Didn't know that thanks for the info,
Bring in Mick Cooke sure, the football would be still ****e, but we'd win more.
Shoddy will be available soon I'd imagine...
Cousins only has a contract for this season so yes. I'd imagine glynn's wages wouldn't be much more than TC is on although his current job might not be worth leaving considering travel etc, compo maybe an issue but we have the men in the background who would be willing to pay it I'd imagine.
The team would have to start training in Galway as well so, as he has a full time job in the Galway Technical Institute, running a sports graduates course.
01/05/2014, 8:08 PM
I can't see us paying compo for a manager at all even if there are people involved that could. We've never done it before. Anyway I don't see TC going anywhere just yet. Could be wrong but I think he'll get the chance to improve things. A win tomorrow would be a good start.
Town Legend
02/05/2014, 2:54 AM
I'm starting to think to myself that maybe I jumped the gun a bit on starting this thread!! It's just with last seasons collapse and this seasons poor start I'm just frustrated over it all. A win tomorrow would get us back in the hunt, but it's just the style of play is getting to me. We have a team on paper that should be dominating teams but we just aren't. I hope Cousins proves me wrong and gets them playing good football and good results. Anyone know where Don was last week?
02/05/2014, 6:58 AM
I think he was or is injured.
02/05/2014, 10:44 AM
Yeah he's injured and listed as doubtful for tonight but something tells me hel play a role as the injury was only going to keep him out for a week apparently
Town Legend
02/05/2014, 10:15 PM
Ok after that I take back what I said earlier. 9 points a drift of top spot. It's getting beyond a joke.
02/05/2014, 11:03 PM
Shoddy will be available soon I'd imagine...
Well, he won't get ye relegated anyway.
Is Cousins the longest-serving manager in the league? Fifth season at Longford now (says wiki)
02/05/2014, 11:46 PM
Well, he won't get ye relegated anyway.
Is Cousins the longest-serving manager in the league? Fifth season at Longford now (says wiki)
He is, for our sins..
L.T.F.C.
03/05/2014, 12:21 AM
I will reserve the rest of my comments on the game for the cold light of day tomorrow, but I will say one thing. The after match reaction from the players bar Gorman, Bennion, and Salmon and maybe one or two others was a disgust. Rice - our club captain straight down the tunnel along with most of the team showing zero appreciation for the large traveling support that was fantastic throughout. This really bothered me.
03/05/2014, 1:55 AM
Apparently he asked for one more season and said if we don't go up he'd leave himself. It's easy enough and understandable a lot of the time for the likes of us to be saying get rid but those in the club know and have worked with TC for four and a half years or so now and have a personal relationship with him. He is a genuinely nice fella from any contact I've ever had with him. That may not be enough but we blew a bigger lead last year than Shels have now. This division is cut throat. With it being so small they're nearly all our rivals and everyone can beat everyone.
Mister X
03/05/2014, 2:45 AM
I think its fair to say that the majority of fans want him out at this stage. We haven't performed anywhere near our potential this season (bar 2nd half ucd away) and this hoof ball to Hynes will not win this league! The real sickener is in the fashion we lost tonight, cousins will obviously use the red card as an excuse but imo he did not pick our best starting 11 and made the wrong changes.. Were 9 points off top with a game in hand , the point at which its too late is fast approaching and i think if the board do cop on and make the call it will be at the stage too little too late! I hope i am wrong though
03/05/2014, 6:13 PM
lads for all our talkin isnt it about time we had the banners out for cousins to go and sing songs for him to go as I am getting rather depressed with every passing week. That is a disgrace with the majority of our players showin zero appreciation for our fans. I am glad that I couldnt make the game last night. the way the season is going I wouldnt be surprised if a lot of that squad is gone by mid season.
03/05/2014, 6:46 PM
I defended TC and the lads after the game last night because of everything that went on with decisions etc but the more I take a step back and think about it today there can be no doubt he made a number of huge errors again last night.
Jamie Mulhall has been one of our few shining lights so far this season but every week TC seems to feck him around into different positions, surely that can't be good for his confidence and it's no coincidence that he had an off night last night. Why on earth would you play a defender on the wing when you have 2 wingers on the bench?
After the sending off I was impressed with TC for making a quick call in taking off Hynes and bringing on an extra midfielder to try and stop shels totally dominating us but it didn't work because we had absolutely no counter attacking outlet with our wingers tucked in and 3 defensive midfielders playing, only option was to lump aimless long balls up to Sully and it's no surprise shels scored as every ball forward came back on us.
As the game progressed it became clear sitting back was going to result in a defeat and with Nkololo and Shannon among other attacking options on the bench (Rhys Gorman too) he refused to throw the kitchen sink at it and just hoped we could get something. As Mr X said above he was probably already dreaming up his red card excuses.
This is in no way a slant on the players as I thought they played their hearts out and actually gave a good performance but that's down to them and not cousins!
On Tuesday we play what many people will see as a meaningless EA Sports Cup tie but if Mervue come down here and pass us off the pitch and out perform us I think that will just prove that TC is not the man for us in the long term and anything but a win on Saturday MUST result in his removal as first team manager.
If ye cant beat mervue ye are fecked. They are a fairly poor side now, even with 5 or 6 ex-LOI players in the starting team. We beat them 5-2 in pre-season but in fairness we should have scored double figures with a different 11 either side of the break disrupting the flow of the game.
Town Legend
03/05/2014, 7:11 PM
Deans deserved his red card. Throwing two elbows when we were one up!! He's a lunatic. Doesn't deserve a jersey when his suspension is up. Get Gorman back in the team with him and Sammo. Let Rice stew on the bench for a few games. Cousins needs to grow a pair and make one or two big decisions cos our season depends on it.
Darklordsbane
03/05/2014, 7:40 PM
well there's some very interesting points you guys are making, I for one don't mind if some of the new signing leave during the window, he needs to grow a pair alright,very interesting to see the selection on Tuesday,
the worst for me is playing Mark Salmon in 3 games in 6 days is he mental, the guy was out for a year way too much too quickly for me, having said that I thought he was brilliant in the last 20 minutes last night I think he would die for the jersey, he lead by example, gave out to people and praised them as well a REAL captains performance what a shame others appear to just want the pay cheque (and I'm not just talking about rice who is getting better I think)
03/05/2014, 8:09 PM
lads for all our talkin isnt it about time we had the banners out for cousins to go and sing songs for him to go as I am getting rather depressed with every passing week. That is a disgrace with the majority of our players showin zero appreciation for our fans. I am glad that I couldnt make the game last night. the way the season is going I wouldnt be surprised if a lot of that squad is gone by mid season.
To be honest that'd probably make the powers that be more determined not to sack him. Not a wise move IMO.
03/05/2014, 10:03 PM
Worst thing about Deans was the way he played innocent after he was sent off he told everyone that he never touched him, he didn't back on a FD game actually having highlights for once 😂 I totally agree with town legend that he doesn't deserve to wear the red and black again, he deserves at the very very least a fine from the club. That's him and Flynn getting themselves idiotically sent off, team are losing discipline and unless TC stamps that out it will continue to cost us games.
06/05/2014, 9:07 PM
No point making a thread for EA game tonight so will put my thoughts here-
Comfortable win tonight just a shame we couldn't rattle in a few more for confidence. Shocked to see such a strong team line out.
Positives - Gary Shaw top performer again so surely must play at the weekend as Hynes was lucky not to be sent off when he came on for a two footed challenge.
Plenty of possession and good passing football with willie Tyrell giving us great width going forward from full back he was superb tonight.
Sully looked lively up top dropping deep and linking the play.
Had about 30 corners.
Negatives -
Sat off second half and let Mervue have plenty of possession and should have scored at least 1 if not 2 goals but this was probably down to the lack of tempo in the game but TC should have kept the lads going as one goal could have led to another and ruined a good nights work.
Kevin O'connor played out of position on right wing again.
Lack of quality out wide is worrying, must be addressed in the next window.
Not a negative really but like I said surprised to see such a strong team out and Salmo playing 4 games in a row we need to be careful not to rush him back too fast. Leaving the likes of Sully and Rice on in meaningless games is dangerous too.
Big big game Saturday now hoping to see Shaw play and the ball kept on the ground as it was tonight because Shawsy showed he can play great footie on the deck.
Bosco
07/05/2014, 11:48 AM
Wouldn't really read too much into last night. We tried to play some decent ball at times despite the wet surface but in fairness Mervue were awful and that was pretty much our best 11 bar hunt, we should have hammered them. Fair enough we did miss some absolute sitters.
Interesting to see Cousins playing such a strong team...sign of a man under pressure...
09/05/2014, 2:52 PM
Nice to see this thread getting so many mentions in his interviews lately 😂
09/05/2014, 4:31 PM
Deans got banned for 5 games according to TC on Shannonside. I sincerely hope he was fined the maximum allowed which I think is two weeks' wages. Disgraceful behaviour.
09/05/2014, 6:20 PM
Deans got banned for 5 games according to TC on Shannonside. I sincerely hope he was fined the maximum allowed which I think is two weeks' wages. Disgraceful behaviour.
Doesn't sound like any extra punishment has been dished out and nor would I expect it to be. Totally agree he should be fined, I'd ship him out mid-season and get a new centre-half in but TC seems to see something in him that none of us do.
09/05/2014, 7:10 PM
I meant fined by the club. I'd be shocked if he wasn't. Cousins in fairness was pretty up front in his interview about Deans letting the club and his team-mates down. About as much as he could say in public but I hope he had a lot more to say to him in private. Deans had a few good games when we needed him at the end of last year which probably earned him a contract for this year.
09/05/2014, 9:16 PM
I meant fined by the club. I'd be shocked if he wasn't. Cousins in fairness was pretty up front in his interview about Deans letting the club and his team-mates down. About as much as he could say in public but I hope he had a lot more to say to him in private. Deans had a few good games when we needed him at the end of last year which probably earned him a contract for this year.
Yeah sorry that's what I meant too should have made it clearer