View Full Version : Attendances 2014

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

adamd164
07/03/2014, 9:09 PM
Cork City vs St Pats - 5,322
UCD vs Bohs - 885

Can't find any other official figures so far.

I thought ours was closer to 6,000 because three sides were full and there was people standing at the St Anne's End.

07/03/2014, 9:11 PM
1,307 in Thomond Park according to extratime. I thought they announced 1,207 myself. Not great either way.

Trainee
07/03/2014, 9:12 PM
2,418 in Terryland

dong
07/03/2014, 9:17 PM
Wow, that's a fantastic attendance at TC.

Pablo Escobar
07/03/2014, 9:19 PM
Cork City vs St Pats - 5,322
UCD vs Bohs - 885

Can't find any other official figures so far.

I thought ours was closer to 6,000 because three sides were full and there was people standing at the St Anne's End.
The only seats that weren't full were the 2 blocked off blocks in st Anne's end. 500 per block = 1000. 7450 - 1000 = 6450, but the sides were full of people standing. It had to have been more.

CraftyToePoke
07/03/2014, 9:22 PM
1,307 in Thomond Park according to extratime. I thought they announced 1,207 myself. Not great either way.

Wasn't it 4000+ at the first home game last season V Cork, which was televised live too.

NeverFeltBetter
07/03/2014, 10:24 PM
Cork brought a huge crowd to that and there was a certain novelty to be fair, but no, its not a good opening attendance.

07/03/2014, 11:31 PM
we brought a few hundred down to terryland tonight.. we had a 52 seater practically full!

CraftyToePoke
07/03/2014, 11:54 PM
Cork brought a huge crowd to that and there was a certain novelty to be fair, but no, its not a good opening attendance.

Yeah, and there was the ticketing initiative to schools in Limerick too for it this time last year.

bluewhitearmy
08/03/2014, 12:23 AM
What were people expecting for this game? I thought it would be less tbh.

CraftyToePoke
08/03/2014, 12:54 AM
What were people expecting for this game? I thought it would be less tbh.

Don't know if I had an expectation. Its an interesting barometer though, attendances generally declined last year from the opening 4k, didn't they ? To about tonight's number by the end, is that fair to say ?

08/03/2014, 12:56 AM
I assume the unmentionables didn't bring many down with them thou, relative to the size of away support some other teams will have. I've honestly seen feck all advertisement around the city for the match, which is a shame, as I would have expected maybe 2k or so at the least..

bluewhitearmy
08/03/2014, 1:47 AM
Don't know if I had an expectation. Its an interesting barometer though, attendances generally declined last year from the opening 4k, didn't they ? To about tonight's number by the end, is that fair to say ?

Yep thats is spot on id say.

1st game last year was a lot different though considering who we were playing how many they brought and it was our first game back in 19 years.

The lack of advertising as Acornvilla has said is ridiculous not a thing at all said until the week of the game and even then it was only on facebook and twitter.

gufcfan
08/03/2014, 2:13 AM
we brought a few hundred down to terryland tonight.. we had a 52 seater practically full!
100-120 imo.

Gwan, disagree with me, no Salthill to argue about like.

mastermind1
08/03/2014, 7:46 AM
There ll be alot less at thomand park next time after the rubbish that was on show last night......terrible game

Guitd
08/03/2014, 8:45 AM

Fair play a good turnout I'd say u had a good 200 there and we'll behaved hope u enjoyed ur return to deacy park

Ezeikial
08/03/2014, 8:47 AM

This thread always entertains..............

08/03/2014, 9:44 AM
100-120 imo.

Gwan, disagree with me, no Salthill to argue about like.

Somewhere around 150-200 I'd have said. Good turnout anyway and a very enjoyable night. Hadn't been in Terryland in years it was nice to be back.

08/03/2014, 10:22 AM
Somewhere around 150-200 I'd have said. Good turnout anyway and a very enjoyable night. Hadn't been in Terryland in years it was nice to be back.

Close enough to every Longford fan was there so? ;)

Would have said 800-900 in Finn Park last night. Decent crowd for opening game of the season. Would hope to continue that, and if we pick up a few wins, it'd be nice to see that rise above 1,000 continually. Although I'll not hold my breath as I say it almost every season to no avail.

Handful of Derry fans down in Finn Park too.

culloty82
08/03/2014, 12:23 PM
2,418 in Terryland

The thought occurs that this may well prove higher than Salthill's total 2013 attendance (unless the average was >170). Edit: thanks to Nigel's encyclopaedic 2013 thread, I see it was 113, which by 14 would only reach 1,582.

adamd164
08/03/2014, 1:00 PM
That's a very good crowd for Galway's first game, shows the promise that the county has if it gets a decent team together and they get up to the Premier.

08/03/2014, 5:48 PM
The thought occurs that this may well prove higher than Salthill's total 2013 attendance (unless the average was >170). Edit: thanks to Nigel's encyclopaedic 2013 thread, I see it was 113, which by 14 would only reach 1,582.

Salthills entire season attendance, from my records, are 1,575 for 2013. Mervue was 3,625.

For the record, official attendance in Finn Park was 823.
Attendance Drogs v Dundalk 2,007.

dieseldlk
08/03/2014, 7:50 PM
Drogs one won't be confirmed, they where writing up tickets when I was going in, mine was a written one just saying 15 euro on it and paid.

08/03/2014, 9:02 PM
Could be a good sign if just slightly old fashioned, a bigger crowd turned up than the Drogheda board expected. Soon it'll be no expense spared!

wonder88
08/03/2014, 9:22 PM
It was a good crowd at Galway last night, and fair play to the 50+ Longford fans who did not stop singing all game. However last night was a special case and it will be say 4 home matches before the support base for the club can be established. There was a lot of positives about last night, but one sign that might give cause for concern was the large numbers that started leaving 15min from end (just like over at Old Trafford).

08/03/2014, 9:43 PM
Jesus, that's 20% down on last season's average.

NeverFeltBetter
08/03/2014, 10:15 PM
I'd say this will be our average from now on. A lot of the casual crowd from last season will be less bothered - supporting a mid-table level team doesn't hold too much attraction - and the quality of football, whether its squad or pitch problems, will turn more away. It was God-awful stuff last night, between the bobbleball and the officials.

08/03/2014, 11:15 PM
I'd say this will be our average from now on. A lot of the casual crowd from last season will be less bothered - supporting a mid-table level team doesn't hold too much attraction - and the quality of football, whether its squad or pitch problems, will turn more away. It was God-awful stuff last night, between the bobbleball and the officials.
I think it's being very optmistic if you think the first-day attendance is going to be your average.

09/03/2014, 8:14 AM
It was a good crowd at Galway last night, and fair play to the 50+ Longford fans who did not stop singing all game. However last night was a special case and it will be say 4 home matches before the support base for the club can be established. There was a lot of positives about last night, but one sign that might give cause for concern was the large numbers that started leaving 15min from end (just like over at Old Trafford).

I seen that alright, a lot of the lads around me the last night were old work mates that always go early no matter what the score is (if there is a large attendance), as they have long distances to travel to get home e.g. Glenamaddy, Eyrecourt as well as Ballyhaunis. Getting caught in traffic could add up to an hour to their journey home, which is nightmarish when the car is full of tired kids.

Agree with the fact that the match was probably a once off attendance wise. I wont expect a crowd that big again till towards the end of season, and thats only if Galway are still in the title race, but in saying that I don't see the crowd falling below 12-1300 as everyone was very happy leaving the last night, even though we lost.

09/03/2014, 8:27 AM
The only seats that weren't full were the 2 blocked off blocks in st Anne's end. 500 per block = 1000. 7450 - 1000 = 6450, but the sides were full of people standing. It had to have been more.

Cork's scanned tickets mean they have the official attendance. There were a good few seats in the small stand near the away section and St Anne's End. 5,300 is still a brilliant crowd

Pablo Escobar
09/03/2014, 10:51 AM
Cork's scanned tickets mean they have the official attendance. There were a good few seats in the small stand near the away section and St Anne's End. 5,300 is still a brilliant crowd

That still doesn't really add up IMO. But, yes, it was a fantastic crowd and great to hear the announcement about the game being delayed due to "crowd congestion".

blueblood
09/03/2014, 11:26 AM
Jesus, that's 20% down on last season's average.

No, that's an increase on our Bray average! ! !
Seriously tho first game of the season very bray with very little promotion of the game locally it's more than I expected

09/03/2014, 11:30 AM
Any attendance given at The Showgrounds?

Battery Rover
09/03/2014, 11:36 AM
I see just over 2600 mentioned on their twitter

400 plus from Athlone there

SeanDrog
09/03/2014, 11:54 AM
Drogs on Facebook page saying gate was 2007

disgruntled
09/03/2014, 11:56 AM
2,418 in Terryland

That's a great crowd in Galway.
Hope they keep coming back as Galway deserves a stable club & that will only happen with good support.

red bellied
09/03/2014, 12:56 PM
I see just over 2600 mentioned on their twitter

400 plus from Athlone there

More like 300, that sections holds 330 and there was empty seats in it.

09/03/2014, 2:39 PM
Weekend attendances so far:

Premier:

Cork v St Pats - 5,322
Sligo v Athlone - 2,600
Drogs v Dundalk - 2,007
Limerick v Bray - 1,307
UCD v Bohs - 885

First:

Galway v Longford - 2,418
Harps v Waterford - 823
Shels v Wexford - 767
Cobh v Shamrock B - 400

09/03/2014, 2:54 PM
EDIT: Added in Shamrock Rovers v Derry.

Here we go again. I've cut down previous years attendances to the past 5 seasons, as it's getting a bit cluttered and difficult to read otherwise.

Week 1:

PREMIER DIVISION

Athlone - 0 (754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Bohs - 0 (1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 0 (891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 5,322 (1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 0 (1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 2,007 (817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 0 (1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Limerick - 1,307 (1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Pat's - 0 (1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 3,510 (2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 2,600 (2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
UCD - 885 (487; 506; 558; 610; 272 FD)

FIRST DIVISION

Cobh - 400 (439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Harps - 823 (479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
Galway - 2,418 (No previous)
Longford - 0 (379; 365; 315; 230; 260)
Rovers B - 0 (No previous)
Shels - 767 (1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
Waterford - 0 (478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 0 (227; 302; 216; 343; 494)

PREMIER AVERAGE: 2,605 (1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 1,102 (391; 372; 578; 682; 417)

OVERALL AVERAGE: 2,004 (1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)

OVERALL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 20,039

OVERALL ATTENDANCE: 20,039

09/03/2014, 9:44 PM
Any attendance from Tallaght today?

09/03/2014, 10:09 PM
Wasn't announced from what I remember.

adamd164
09/03/2014, 10:58 PM
3,510 at Tallaght according to this: http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/11832/

09/03/2014, 11:00 PM
I'd have guessed around 4,000 but that doesn't seem too far off. Don't think the Sunday kick-off really helped.

10/03/2014, 1:03 AM
I think it's being very optmistic if you think the first-day attendance is going to be your average.

A fair point id normally agree with except its Bray.

Unless these two ghanaians are the ressurection and the light id expect us to be fairly close to being relegation fodder this year, in which case i think the average will settle in around 1100 - 1200

We'll get 700 or 800 for the droghedas ucds athlones and brays and 1500 or 1600 for the shamrocks, pats and corks.

10/03/2014, 7:44 AM
Off to a flying start already. If the usual predictable pettiness of this thread starts to wear you down, why not pass the time playing Attendance Excuse Bingo:

adamd164
10/03/2014, 7:59 AM
I'd have guessed around 4,000 but that doesn't seem too far off. Don't think the Sunday kick-off really helped.

I think it's a pretty good attendance considering it was shown live on TV.

Straightstory
10/03/2014, 9:30 AM
Off to a flying start already. If the usual predictable pettiness of this thread starts to wear you down, why not pass the time playing Attendance Excuse Bingo:

Nice.

10/03/2014, 10:23 AM
You missed "My team isn't in the league any more".

Cuyahoga
10/03/2014, 8:58 PM
648 at Richmond tonight according to Extratime.ie

The Donie Forde
10/03/2014, 11:33 PM
1,009 at CCFC v Limerick.