View Full Version : Best Chant of the weekend

barglee
12/10/2004, 4:43 PM
Just back from Paris but have to say my favourite chant was (to the music of Yellow Submarine)

We all dream of a team of Gary Breens , a team of Gary breens , a team of Gary breens
number 1 is Gary Breen
number 2 is Gary Breen
number 3 is Gary Breen
number 4 is Gary Breen

12/10/2004, 5:14 PM
"Duff, Duff will tear you apart, again..."
Sung softly at first and then getting louder and louder.
Sounded great in the Metro station tunnels anyway. :D

Colm55
12/10/2004, 7:47 PM
Just back from Paris but have to say my favourite chant was (to the music of Yellow Submarine)

We all dream of a team of Gary Breens , a team of Gary breens , a team of Gary breens
number 1 is Gary Breen
number 2 is Gary Breen
number 3 is Gary Breen
number 4 is Gary Breen

Ah yes a quality chant dreamed up by the excellent apres match! I liked:

Stand up for the boys in green

got everyone to their feet, a standing ovation one could say, thought it was just perfect.

12/10/2004, 7:49 PM
"Duff, Duff will tear you apart, again..."
Sung softly at first and then getting louder and louder.
Sounded great in the Metro station tunnels anyway. :D

Peadar we have been using a version of that for Davy Byrne since the start of the season

I started it on the plane from Nottingham on Friday and no one had a notion

Second line of

"With his intelligent passing, spatial awareness and touch
He the complete eircom League midfielder
And we need him.....so much"

needs work ;)

12/10/2004, 7:59 PM

number 1 is Gary Breen
number 2 is Gary Breen
number 3 is Gary Breen
number 4 is Gary Breen

After Mrs PP translated it, we had a goodly portion of an RER train in stitches on the way to the match by singing that in French. Legendary stuff. :D

"Nous reveons d'un equipe des Gary Breens
Equipe des Gary Breens

Á numero une, c'est Gary Breen
Á numero deux, c'est Gary Breen
Á numero trois, c'est Gary Breen
Á numero quatre, c'est Gary Breen..."

:D PP

petef
12/10/2004, 8:59 PM
Ou est le centre de Georges Pompedu!

loscherland
12/10/2004, 9:18 PM
"Fallin asleep, yer havin a laugh, fallin asleep, yer havin a laugh"

-- In some bar a bit down from O'Sullivans on the other side - Some bloke conked out on the couch & the WHOLE pub was beltin the song out... he woke up to everyone singin it pointin at him. Halarious!

IsMiseSean
12/10/2004, 10:26 PM
I really enjoyed singing the french national anthem at the match, we sort of fcuked it up though.

highlight100
12/10/2004, 11:51 PM
best song to get the croud going was stand up fo the boys in green

sylvo
13/10/2004, 6:23 AM
My fave was ''your supposed to be at home'' :D

Karlos
13/10/2004, 7:55 AM
Funniest song of the weekend for me came from the lads outside a little cafe down by the Eiffel Tower - to the tune of c'mon you boys in green

WE NEED MORE SOLPADINE! :D

Most effective song i thought was Que Sera - the stadium seemed to go quiet as we sung it so loud and clear - the steward down the front beside us kept clapping every time he understood a song we sung, and shaking his head and smiling when he were booing Bobby and havin a laff at Va Va Voom - great stuff!!

zinedineontour
13/10/2004, 8:44 AM
que sera sera was the best song for getting the whole crowd singing . Stand up was sung too much cause youd be barely just have sat down and everyone would sing it again. The French Anthem was prob best moment

roboyle
13/10/2004, 8:57 AM
Stand up was sung too much cause youd be barely just have sat down and everyone would sing it again.

Think the idea was that you shouldn't be just sitting down!!! :cool:

Breener
13/10/2004, 10:24 AM
I liked "Wheres your zizu gone, wheres your zizu gone.....far far away!!"

Also "You can stick your Va Va Voom up your arse"

Quality

13/10/2004, 10:31 AM
Peadar we have been using a version of that for Davy Byrne since the start of the season
We've been using it for Kirbs for the last couple of seasons. I believe some Manc b@stard lifted it from United (which happens with absolutely no other Town songs! ;) ).

Rover 2 U
13/10/2004, 10:55 AM
Fav of the week:

"Zidane,
We call him Kevin Kilbane
It's just like watching Zidane"

I thought the Gary Breen song, although initially very funny, was over sung. I still have the feckin' thing ringing in my ears. I think we should have wrapped up up in a little ball and left it in Paris.

Got to see a copy of the Match last night on video and deffo "Que Sera Sera" was the song that came out the best. While we were singing it at one stage, the camera zoomed in on the crowd and who was there only yours truely singing at the top of his voice. Now that's a keeper! :D

Babysis
13/10/2004, 12:06 PM
For me it was outdside the ground before the game, in the queue for Block Z, a load of fellas had us singing:

There's only one Robbie Keane
He's Proud to wear the Green
He wont F*ck off, like that knacker from Cork
Walking in a Keano Wonderland.

boc123
13/10/2004, 12:20 PM
For me it was outdside the ground before the game, in the queue for Block Z, a load of fellas had us singing:

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

soylent green
13/10/2004, 12:31 PM
To the tune of The Beatles "All you need in Love"

All you need is Duff, da, da, da, da, da
All you need is Duff, Duff, Duff is all you need

Babysis
13/10/2004, 12:34 PM
It wasn't me that started it, but it was a cracking chant!! :p

soylent green
13/10/2004, 12:34 PM

One anti-Keane lad making the trip gave a rendition of the Roy Keane traitor song in the Metro Tunnel after the game.

Roy Keane is a traitor,
He wears a traitor's hat,
And when he went to Saipan,
He didn't fancy that.
He would'nt play for Ireland in Korea or Japan,
He's just a Cork knacker,
He's not an Irishman.

Safe to say it wasn't well recieved. With all the booing I thought the Irish fans had spotted Pires in the Station. ;)

Babysis
13/10/2004, 12:38 PM
We had a good sing song on the metro going to the ground too. Sylvo had the best story from the game, about the grief Roy Keane was getting from one Ireland fan. Fantastic! :D

13/10/2004, 12:46 PM
We had a good sing song on the metro going to the ground too. Sylvo had the best story from the game, about the grief Roy Keane was getting from one Ireland fan. Fantastic! :D

He does a wicked Cork accent in which to tell it too. Meself and Mrs PP met up with him and la belle Hélène on Sunday night for a few raspberry beers. The perfect antidote to the previous few days.

Welcome on board btw, Babysis. One more from la deuxième génération... :)

13/10/2004, 12:48 PM
My favourite

Zi dane, It's just like watching Zidane
We call him Kevin Kilbane
It's just like watching Zidane.

Apologies to the great man as Zidane never reached the heights our Kevin did on Saturday night.

"You're supposed to be at home"

Que sera was absolute class - never really liked it on the road to FGermany/Italy but sure do now.

The Henry one was tempting fate I thought.

Pat O' Banton
13/10/2004, 12:48 PM
I was strolling through the Eurostar and when I got to the bar an old classic regarding Michael Fagan and a Mrs Elizabeth Battenburg of Buck House, 1 The Mall, London. was getting an airring. ;) :D Ah the good old days!

13/10/2004, 12:51 PM
I was strolling through the Eurostar and when I got to the bar an old classic regarding Michael Fagan and a Mrs Elizabeth Battenburg of Buck House, 1 The Mall, London. was getting an airring. ;) :D Ah the good old days!

We sang that in Stuttgart - didn't go down too well. ;)

Strolling through Troyes there were some drunk Irishmen also singing Finn Harps Finn Harps we're really on our way!!!!!! No idea who they were though. ;)

13/10/2004, 1:05 PM
The Henry one was tempting fate I thought.

Indeed it was. I was telling those around me singing it that they'd jinx us. But then I was p***ed at the time. :D

13/10/2004, 1:07 PM
Meself and Mrs PP met up with him and la belle Hélène on Sunday night f

I'm so pee'd off that I couldn't contact you lot.
Was looking forward to the craic with, Pat O', Davro', Sylvo and Lady Sylvo.
"Vodafone roam, you're havin' a larf..."

Babysis
13/10/2004, 1:21 PM

Lady sylvo!! Fantastic. She was out with me and our other sister on sat after the game, didnt meet up with the rest of them lot again till sun morning!Great fun all weekend

Pat O' Banton
13/10/2004, 1:25 PM

Strolling through Troyes there were some drunk Irishmen also singing Finn Harps Finn Harps we're really on our way!!!!!! No idea who they were though. ;)

Type of people I would cross the road to avoid :D .

Dillo
13/10/2004, 1:31 PM
747, you're having a laugh!

Btw, I love that chant Babysis.

13/10/2004, 2:24 PM
Lady sylvo!! Fantastic. She was out with me and our other sister on sat after the game

Was she asking for me? ;)
I'm sure I'll get down to the Railway in Finsbury Park again some night and catch up on all the craic.

Pat O' Banton
13/10/2004, 3:40 PM

You missed a night of high brow culture and entertainment :eek: ;) .

13/10/2004, 3:44 PM
You missed a night of high brow culture and entertainment :eek: ;) .

There'll be plenty more of them Pat O'.
I'm thinking of camping in the Faroe's and if I can't get a ticket, having a picnic outside the ground on the rocks.

Pat O' Banton
13/10/2004, 4:00 PM
There'll be plenty more of them Pat O'.
I'm thinking of camping in the Faroe's and if I can't get a ticket, having a picnic outside the ground on the rocks.

Now that is a bit cultured! Believe its like Arranmore with a slightly nicer football ground.

Don't think the tickets will be that much of a prob, the twelve and thirteen hour seprerate ferry rides with Sylvo, Davo, myselfo threatening to be on board, now that may be a problem and a diplomatic incident :eek: :D - as well as being high brow culture.

13/10/2004, 4:02 PM
Don't think the tickets will be that much of a prob, the twelve and thirteen hour seprerate ferry rides with Sylvo, Davo, myselfo threatening to be on board, now that may be a problem and a diplomatic incident :eek: :D

I'd take that ferry no problem.
Are there details on the Faroe trip thread?

Babysis
13/10/2004, 4:14 PM
Was she asking for me? ;)
I'm sure I'll get down to the Railway in Finsbury Park again some night and catch up on all the craic.

Ah she couldn't stop talking about you!!

Pat O' Banton
13/10/2004, 5:11 PM
I'd take that ferry no problem.
Are there details on the Faroe trip thread?

Yeah, on the first or second page. Can't make head nor tail of crossing times but will get in contact with a travel agent to get some more spefic info. PM you any details.

lopez
13/10/2004, 5:35 PM

Strolling through Troyes there were some drunk Irishmen also singing Finn Harps Finn Harps we're really on our way!!!!!! No idea who they were though. ;)And don't forget the other song they were singing about dreaming 'of a team of Gary Spains.' Babysis's chant get's my vote: Shame we couldn't use it in the ground. :D

Princess Leia
13/10/2004, 9:51 PM
Yeah, on the first or second page. Can't make head nor tail of crossing times but will get in contact with a travel agent to get some more spefic info. PM you any details.

Not sure travel agents do the Faroe Islands - who goes there apart from Faroe Islanders and us mad, crazy Ireland supporters?!!

14/10/2004, 9:42 AM
who goes there apart from Faroe Islanders and us mad, crazy Ireland supporters?!!

People who like Puffin (http://www.audubon.org/bird/puffin/virtual/pics/bicolor_small.jpg) Pie (http://www.ukstudentlife.com/Britain/Food/Products/SteakPie.jpg) !?
I'm dying to try the stuff.
Wonder can you get Puffin (http://www.audubon.org/bird/puffin/virtual/pics/bicolor_small.jpg) Goujons (http://www.seafish.org/upload/seafoodweek/image/main/SoleGoujonsWithRouille-ligh.jpg) ?

Princess Leia
14/10/2004, 10:46 AM
I heard that the Faroe Islands branch of Kentucky Fried Puffin (KFP) do really great Spicy Puffin Wings - and there's a McDonald's too (naturally) and they do a speciality McPuffin burger with cheese - great with a side order of deep-fried McBeaks!

14/10/2004, 10:49 AM
I heard that the Faroe Islands branch of Kentucky Fried Puffin (KFP)...

I think you're making fun of me now!?
I'm serious about the Puffin Pie.

sylvo
14/10/2004, 11:17 AM

I'm not surprised yer can't make head nor tail of the crossing time's seeing yer the same eejit that got so locked on friday that yer spent all night going outside the pub for a smoke thinking you were in Ireland. :confused:

14/10/2004, 11:51 AM
yer the same eejit that got so locked on friday that yer spent all night going outside the pub for a smoke thinking you were in Ireland. :confused:

Ha, ha, ha it must have been the funny money that confused him.
Or maybe it was the expensive beer. :D

Must say though, I've looked at the ferry times and they make no sense at all. :confused:

Pat O' Banton
14/10/2004, 2:07 PM
Not sure travel agents do the Faroe Islands - who goes there apart from Faroe Islanders and us mad, crazy Ireland supporters?!!

Bit of an advertising campaign going on in sunny Landaaan at the moment (well I seen a poster for Faroes at Hammersmith tube station) for the place so was thinking of getting on to those lads.

14/10/2004, 2:18 PM
was thinking of getting on to those lads.

Are you going to go camping (http://www.visit-faroeislands.com/get.asp?gid=d7212C71A-D26F-494E-B1EA-046489940306) with me then?

14/10/2004, 2:22 PM
Heard last night that they may be switching our game to Copenhagen, but that could be just a rumour....

sylvo
14/10/2004, 2:26 PM

MMMMM :D , Anyway forget about best chant of the weekend now Gary, how about best chat up line of the weekend, like the chat up line that nice young lady tried out on yer good self. :eek:
She made you an offer you COULD refuse.

14/10/2004, 2:33 PM
Heard last night that they may be switching our game to Copenhagen

Now that would really make my summer.
Back to my old stomping ground.
We'd fill Parken Stadium (http://www.fck.dk/webcam/parken.asp).
Think its capacity is 40,000

She made you an offer you COULD refuse.

She gave him a good price then? :D