View Full Version : Series 25 & 22
Ezeikial
16/08/2013, 10:11 PM
Wrong. Mid-table is where it's at these days. Croly has shown us the light, it's up to everybody else to see it.
Exciting times. Hoops are the clear leaders of the mid-table league and the bookies favourites for a top half league finish.
If only Croly had kept Kilduff!
patrickccfc
16/08/2013, 10:15 PM
Exciting times. Hoops are the clear leaders of the mid-table league and the bookies favourites for a top half league finish.
If only Croly had kept Kilduff!
We have certainly benefited from that decision;) we could catch rovers yet ha
jinxy lilywhite
16/08/2013, 10:18 PM
September 20th Pats vs Dundalk- Massive game
Surely it will be on tv?
Pity the game at oriel tonight wasnt covered as im sure there was a great atmosphere with over 3000 there, would of been a great advertisement
Fantastic atmosphere in Oriel park tonight and I believe that every one of the 3,000 or so there were delighted with the Dundalk performance and its the perfect advertisement for our next match next Friday against limerick in the cup.
in relation to the pats match there is a lot of football to be played before then and we need to concentrate on them before we face pats.
Kenny made a masterstroke in the second half by bringing on chris shields for john Dillon. Dillon can be frustrating and slow at times. Shields got stuck in the middle, allowed towel and O'Donnell to push forward and balanced us on the wings with Meehan and Byrne supporting Hoban. shields fully deserved his goal too for the effort he put in.
but lads make sure you catch MNS on Monday for Hobans goal. Fantastic overhead kick.
sometimes I need to pinch myself were we are but when you have a man like Kenny at the helm and you let him do his job then you reap the rewards I believe
Ezeikial
16/08/2013, 10:23 PM
Another powerhouse performance from Dundalk tonight.
Ritchie Towell got the MOTM from local media tonight, but it could easily have gone to any of the usual suspects - Dane Massey, Stephen O'Donnell or Pat Hoban.
Sligo had their moments tonight and were unlucky not to get a goal back at 2-0 when hitting the post. But apart from the last 15 minutes of the first half, Sligo were outplayed and overwhelmed.
In the first three match of Series One, Dundalk collected 4 points, in Series Two in rose to 6 points, and in this final series 9 points have been bagged. This team shows no sign of letting up and is a credit to Stephen Kenny
patrickccfc
16/08/2013, 10:28 PM
in relation to the pats match there is a lot of football to be played before then and we need to concentrate on them before we face pats.
Ya true, fully expect ye to beat ucd and drogheda to be fair, pats should beat bohs but then have a tough game against derry away
White Horse
16/08/2013, 10:34 PM
Ya true, fully expect ye to beat ucd and drogheda to be fair, pats should beat bohs but then have a tough game against derry away
The Louth derby will be a tough one, Drogheda are beginning to get a bit of momentum going.
We're not counting any chickens, just delighted to be battling at the top, after the awful 2012 season.
16/08/2013, 10:35 PM
Depressing from us tonight. Absolutely brutal.
adamd164
16/08/2013, 10:41 PM
We're gonna catch the Rovers.;)
Sligo Hoops.
16/08/2013, 10:57 PM
[QUOTE=jinxy lilywhite;1703855]
sometimes I need to pinch myself were we are but when you have a man like Kenny at the helm and you let him do his job then you reap the rewards I believe[/QUOTE
Note to Rovers board
wonder88
16/08/2013, 11:15 PM
Do Limerick regret not even considering Roddy Collins for their managers job ?
Also the decision by the Shamrock R club to sack Kenny is looking more stupid as the season goes on. As an outsider it seem to me that a certain number of the players he had last season did not want to play for him. But due to the nature of transfer system we have now (and small pool of players available for a LoI manager) his hands were tied until the end of the year.
atfconline
16/08/2013, 11:25 PM
4-2 away from home with 9 men.
Crumbling.
White Horse
16/08/2013, 11:26 PM
Nine points from the bottom with the next four games against Sligo, Pats, Shams, and Dundalk.
Ezeikial
17/08/2013, 12:02 AM
Also the decision by the Shamrock R club to sack Kenny is looking more stupid as the season goes on.
When Stephen Kenny was sacked by Rovers the club had 40 points from 24 league games (average 1.67 per match) after losing to Bohs. Now after another Bohs defeat, Trevor Croly's team have 36 points from 25 league games (average 1.44 per match). Is Hoops supporter still relating to the "potential" of Croly?
17/08/2013, 12:42 AM
4-2 away from home with 9 men.
Crumbling.
I've never liked him, I still don't, but he's a good man manager and gets the maximum out of his players if they work with him. It's very admirable what he's done with Athlone this year. Just don't let him influence budgetary decisions.
NeverFeltBetter
17/08/2013, 12:47 AM
I would, if I had the power, never let that man anywhere near the club. I'd have Scully back first.
17/08/2013, 1:00 AM
Nine points from the bottom with the next four games against Sligo, Pats, Shams, and Dundalk.
All very winnable especially the Dundalk game.
I predict 8 points and 21 goals.
ATFC-1887
17/08/2013, 1:40 AM
That was the one game i was worried about. Mervue are a good side but for us to win away from home with 9 men (majority of the game with 10) is brilliant. Ref was absolutely shocking and as for yer man who went down for 5 mins after being stroked if anything by skinner. Main thing is 3 points in the bag. Ours to lose
bluewhitearmy
17/08/2013, 2:28 AM
Also the decision by the Shamrock R club to sack Kenny is looking more stupid as the season goes on. As an outsider it seem to me that a certain number of the players he had last season did not want to play for him. But due to the nature of transfer system we have now (and small pool of players available for a LoI manager) his hands were tied until the end of the year.
Regret far more the fact we had a chance of getting Kenny.
SwanVsDalton
17/08/2013, 2:34 AM
Just when fans thought we couldn't get much worse, tonight happens...
We were AWFUL. Resounding boos at FT, not something I condone but understandable given how completely muck we were - and we've been muck at home for sometime.
Devine's coming under a bit of pressure now. Perception is shifting from perceiving the current form as a dip to seeing the initial run of results as punching above our weight.
17/08/2013, 2:37 AM
We were AWFUL. Resounding boos at FT, not something I condone but understandable given how completely muck we were - and we've been muck at home for sometime.
Devine's coming under a bit of pressure now. Perception is shifting from perceiving the current form as a dip to seeing the initial run of results as punching above our weight.
Yous were very impressive against a good Tranzonspor side. I'd put it down to too many games rather than lack of quality.
Dillonman
17/08/2013, 9:10 AM
was it worth owing us compo for griffin then...looks like we got a better deal in signing hoban as his replacement!
17/08/2013, 11:28 AM
Harps league campaign over in August. Disappointing to say the least. Waterford are the best side I've seen this season in Finn Park however. Harps certainly deserved something from the game but it wasn't to be. Waterford will easily dispatch of Longford in the play-off.
I guess we'll just have to settle for a cup win up here....
wonder88
17/08/2013, 11:29 AM
Athlone had a good crowd supporting them in Mervue last night. How realistic is an average home gate of say 1500 in the Prem Div if they go up ? and would this allow them to say match the likes of Cork, Limerick, Drogheda in terms of the wages the can pay players? Maybe the new fans Athlone have are just following a winning side and would stay away if results were less impressive than they are now (which is likely)
NeverFeltBetter
17/08/2013, 11:43 AM
Athlone had a good crowd supporting them in Mervue last night. How realistic is an average home gate of say 1500 in the Prem Div if they go up ? and would this allow them to say match the likes of Cork, Limerick, Drogheda in terms of the wages the can pay players? Maybe the new fans Athlone have are just following a winning side and would stay away if results were less impressive than they are now (which is likely)
Their attendance will depend entirely on their results. If promoted but then start pulling a Monaghan like Roddy's last foray into the top tier, they'll plummet. If they are more like Limerick they'll find a stable high three figure of regulars.
17/08/2013, 12:05 PM
That about sums it up. We are now paying for the intensity of pre season training which allowed us to physically dominate teams in the forst round. Reaping the harvest now with injuries all over the place. Having said that, if we had equalised in the first half, I wonder what would have happened. Dundalk are what any Stephen Kenny team will be, confident and well organised. We have lost four league games this season and three of them have been to the two teams above us so we are where we should be in the league. Don't think Dundalk will catch Pats though unless any of Browne/Kenna/Russell get injured.
placid casual
17/08/2013, 12:22 PM
Rovers should really have hammered bohs last night , but croly has the team set up to defend. needs to learn fast or he'll be out of a job.
not great from bohs fans giving zayed racist abuse after the game was over.no need for that kind of mornic behaviour.
Ezeikial
17/08/2013, 12:29 PM
Having said that, if we had equalised in the first half, I wonder what would have happened.
Goals change games and Sligo certainly dominated in the later part of the first half .
Stephen Kenny's introduction of Chris Shields for John Dillon was the main 2nd half game changer (Shields has been outstanding over the last 4 games). Dundalk dominated the second half and thoroughly deserved the victory
Don't think Dundalk will catch Pats though unless any of Browne/Kenna/Russell get injured.
Pundits, supporters, and the bookies have consistently been dismissing Dundalks chances, with Paddy Power even quoting Dundalk as 3rd favourites behind Pats and Sligo this morning.
Pats are in the driving seat, but Dundalk are relentlessly in pursuit taking 19 from 21 points since the start of July
17/08/2013, 12:39 PM
http://www.thejournal.ie/arrests-football-fans-1041578-Aug2013/
Two teens arrested in Dublin brawl between football fans
White Horse
17/08/2013, 12:51 PM
That about sums it up. We are now paying for the intensity of pre season training which allowed us to physically dominate teams in the forst round.
Dundalk were noticeably the fitter team as the game wore on. I was surprised to see Sligo fading.
Pats are in the driving seat, but Dundalk are relentlessly in pursuit taking 19 from 21 points since the start of July
Two horse race now do you think ? Or is it too early to write off Sligo and/or Derry ? Fantastic run of results from Dundalk btw. I must confess I've been one of those who kinda expected them to falter eventually, but it looks like they're in it for the duration now. September 20 at Richmond is shaping up to be quite a game.
White Horse
17/08/2013, 1:03 PM
Two horse race now do you think ? Or is it too early to write off Sligo and/or Derry ? Fantastic run of results from Dundalk btw. I must confess I've been one of those who kinda expected them to falter eventually, but it looks like they're in it for the duration now. September 20 at Richmond is shaping up to be quite a game.
It's too early for it to be a two horse race. I expect a few more twists and turns.
Fivesilver
17/08/2013, 1:07 PM
Dundalk were noticeably the fitter team as the game wore on. I was surprised to see Sligo fading.
I wasn't. And this is something that worried me all season. The lads were tweeting a lot in pre-season about the amazing fitness programmes they were on. I said to someone at the time that I was worried they might be overdoing it. The start we got, overpowering teams for a couple of months, didn't do a lot to allay that fear. If you've watched us closely this season, what has hurt us the most - in my opinion at least - has been the inability, due to injuries, to field anything resembling a settled first 11. Simply training harder isn't enough - it's like going off on a sprint at the start of a marathon. I've seen it happen to teams before - one in particular that did preseason as if they were planning to invade Afghanistan and losing three key players to knee injuries in the first month of the season.
I might be completely off the mark, and the injuries might be sheer bad luck, but it's worth the club looking into when planning the preparations for next season.
jinxy lilywhite
17/08/2013, 1:19 PM
I think it is far to early to call it a two horse race. I think Derry though have lost too many games to win the league. so a 3 horse race for me
Sligo are still in it but they need to win every match. if they did that I think they could do. neither Dundalk or pats are going to win all their remaining matches
I was thinking last night how disappointed I was at Sligo and their lack of fight. I also thought the same of shamrock rovers when they were here 2 weeks ago but it wasn't their lack of fight, its the way we dominate teams from back to front that was apparent to me. O'Donnell & Towell and then when Shields came on completely stopped any movement and eliminated an threat that Ndo & Peers might of caused us.
Without winning anything yet and irregardless of where we finish this is the best Dundalk team I have ever seen play and imo so much superior to the '88, '91 & '95 teams.
Bohs11
17/08/2013, 1:19 PM
Edit.
Ezeikial
17/08/2013, 1:43 PM
It's hardly a 2 horse race at this point.
Derry can potentially finish with 72 points, Sligo potential is 73 points. It would take a fantastic run for either to bridge the current gap of 7/8 points to St Pats with 9 games remaining while also overtaking Dundalk.
There are some crucial games to come - Derry meet Pats home and away, while Sligo and Dundalk both go to Richmond
Pats are understandably the bookies favourities but there is a lot of football to be played yet.
Have Pats the bottle under pressure?
Dalymountrower
17/08/2013, 2:48 PM
Rovers should really have hammered bohs last night , but croly has the team set up to defend. needs to learn fast or he'll be out of a job.
not great from bohs fans giving zayed racist abuse after the game was over.no need for that kind of mornic behaviour.
Please report any evidence or claims to the club.
placid casual
17/08/2013, 5:20 PM
Eamon Zayed @EamonZayed 1h
@fingertwitchin wasn't rovers fans..Was fans staying behind celebrating their victory which is fair enough but again resort to wrong abuse!
It's hardly a 2 horse race at this point.
Derry can potentially finish with 72 points, Sligo potential is 73 points. It would take a fantastic run for either to bridge the current gap of 7/8 points to St Pats with 9 games remaining while also overtaking Dundalk.
There are some crucial games to come - Derry meet Pats home and away, while Sligo and Dundalk both go to Richmond
Pats are understandably the bookies favourities but there is a lot of football to be played yet.
Have Pats the bottle under pressure?
Have you seen anything to suggest we haven't ? (Of course, Stewie Byrne thinks the cold weather will get us :)) I could throw back the same question about Dundalk. They've been under the radar up till now, but no longer.
It's definitely in our own hands anyway. Derry to play twice, Dundalk and Sligo at home as well. Don't think we'l win all those, but don't think we'll have to. As you say, we've a lead of 7 and 8 points over Sligo and Derry respectively, and they won't win all their remaining games any more than we will. Dundalk are the big danger for me now. But if we beat them at Richmond then i think that could be the crucial result. That's why I asked about a two horse race. Derry/Sligo have a lot to do now I think.
Dalymountrower
17/08/2013, 6:34 PM
@fingertwitchin wasn't rovers fans..Was fans staying behind celebrating their victory which is fair enough but again resort to wrong abuse!
Again resort? Iheard all of the besuited Rovers players get slagged when they walked across the pitch to their cars with their gear trollies trundling behind them cabin crew style.Thankfully there were loads of people around so there were plenty of witnesses as to whether any abusive comments ofa racist nature were made. Everyone immediately assumed that he was referring to repeated claims of racial abuse from Rovers fans.Hopefully he details his claim so that it can be fully investigated.
Ezeikial
17/08/2013, 6:35 PM
Have you seen anything to suggest we haven't ? (Of course, Stewie Byrne thinks the cold weather will get us :)) I could throw back the same question about Dundalk. They've been under the radar up till now, but no longer.
I think there is a world of a difference in the pressure and weight of expectation on St Pats as opposed to Dundalk.
Being top of the table for such a considerable length of time, along with being the bookie and media / pundits favourites brings with it an expectation from supporters and all others attached to the club. The fact that Pats would have to "mess up" to lose the title can create an enormous pressure if things start to go wrong in any given match.
On the other hand at Oriel, it's like something surreal is happening and we all can't quite believe it after last seasons debacle. There is great hope and optimism but no real expectation or pressure. Maybe that will change if we beat Pats for the 3rd time in the league.
As regards Derry and Sligo the pressure is off both of them as supporters and media probably think the league title is now a long shot.
All the pressure and expectation is firmly on the shoulder of the St Pats players and management
It's definitely in our own hands anyway. Derry to play twice, Dundalk and Sligo at home as well. Don't think we'l win all those, but don't think we'll have to. As you say, we've a lead of 7 and 8 points over Sligo and Derry respectively, and they won't win all their remaining games any more than we will. Dundalk are the big danger for me now. But if we beat them at Richmond then i think that could be the crucial result. That's why I asked about a two horse race. Derry/Sligo have a lot to do now I think.
If Pats manage to avoid defeat against Dundalk in Richmond it could be a major step to winning the league. But the 3 matches against Derry and Sligo are also big hurdles, in addition to other potential banana skins.
What's Sligoman's take on this title challenge of Dundalk's now?
17/08/2013, 9:00 PM
A win for Longford? Jaysus. It was only Salthill but it doesn't do any harm to knock in a few anyway.
18/08/2013, 1:42 AM
What's Sligoman's take on this title challenge of Dundalk's now?What title challenge? Pat's wrapped it up weeks ago.
Fivesilver
18/08/2013, 9:43 AM
He's obviously a closet Dundalk fan - struggling manfully to keep the pressure off them. (:
18/08/2013, 11:30 AM
What title challenge? Pat's wrapped it up weeks ago.
Nope that was Dundalk -We are the Champions!!
Dalymountrower
18/08/2013, 12:00 PM
Reliable acccount that someone shouted" shoe bomber" at Zayed when he was leaving the ground.Club will.try and id the culprit.Apologies to Zayed should also be made.
I think it is far to early to call it a two horse race. I think Derry though have lost too many games to win the league. so a 3 horse race for me.
Without winning anything yet and irregardless of where we finish this is the best Dundalk team I have ever seen play and imo so much superior to the '88, '91 & '95 teams.
I would agree its a 3 horse race, but Sligo really do need to win something 2 or 3 in a row to get back into it. Pats game in hand is away to Derry, and Sligo is also away, to Drogs, very tough games.
Pats def favourites though, if they win 6 more that might even be enough, I think first to 70 points will take it, but we have a great chance still. Momentum is building with every game.
Jinxy, I think our championship winning side of 1995, the last time we won it was probably one of the worst standards I have ever seen for any team to win it, we lost something like 7 or 8 games and were hammered 3-0 by Rovers that year. Even though we won it in the end, i really cant remember that many good games, and its not a season i look back on much. If that season had gone on a week or so more, we might have even finished 3rd.
I think the current side is more comparable to the 1982 or 1988 team who won previous leagues. I was working abroad for the 1991 title, missed that season.
SwanVsDalton
18/08/2013, 9:24 PM
Yous were very impressive against a good Tranzonspor side. I'd put it down to too many games rather than lack of quality.
Don't agree. Lost 7 our of last 9 since the start of July. Excepting the Trabzonspor games, it's five defeats in all competitions. We lost four in all comps between March and June. We're playing absolute chronic muck and attempting seemingly nothing to change that.
Opposition fans who've watched this season - ever been too impressed with us? Even when on a good run, we didn't attract much notice in terms of quality and for two months (Trabzon excepted) our play has been largely woeful. Unfortunately our good early season results appear to be the exception rather than the rule.
was it worth owing us compo for griffin then...looks like we got a better deal in signing hoban as his replacement!
Increasingly likely Griffin will go down as shorthand for the worst aspects of this season. Horrendous deal at the moment.
18/08/2013, 9:36 PM
Opposition fans who've watched this season - ever been too impressed with us? Even when on a good run, we didn't attract much notice in terms of quality and for two months (Trabzon excepted) our play has been largely woeful. Unfortunately our good early season results appear to be the exception rather than the rule.
You were muck against us in Tallaght alright but you played some fantastic stuff in the televised games. Some really quick transitions against Bohs, looking very fluid. I also thought you matched Trabzonspor in many facets in both games and only fell down to elementary errors.
SwanVsDalton
18/08/2013, 10:44 PM
You were muck against us in Tallaght alright but you played some fantastic stuff in the televised games. Some really quick transitions against Bohs, looking very fluid. I also thought you matched Trabzonspor in many facets in both games and only fell down to elementary errors.
There's some truth in that - but it makes it even worse. The Trabzonspor games were light years ahead of the football we played before or after. In general (Trabzonspor discounted) we've been consistently awful since the start of July. And even before then, we flattered to deceive on plenty of occasions.