View Full Version : LOI series 20 & 17 - Premier and First division fixtures.
bullit
12/07/2013, 2:19 AM
All ko's 7.45 unless stated.
Friday
Premier
DundalkFC V BohemianFC
Shamrock Rovers V Derry City 8pm *Live on Setanta sports.
Shelbourne V Cork City 8pm
First
Athlone Town V Cobh Ramblers
Finn Harps V Longford Town 8pm
Salthill Devon V Wexford Youths
Waterford United V Mervue United
-----------------------------------------------------
Sunday
Premier
Sligo Rovers V Saint Patricks Ath. 3pm
UCD V Drogheda United 3pm
------------------------------------------------------
OddsChecker best odds betting -
http://www.oddschecker.com/football/other/ireland/premier-league
http://www.oddschecker.com/football/other/ireland/first-division
DannyInvincible
12/07/2013, 6:50 PM
Stream for Rovers-Derry game here: http://www.coolsport.tv/stream9.html
DannyInvincible
12/07/2013, 7:42 PM
Rovers take the lead with what was a really sweet volley from just outside the box. Doherty had little chance of stopping it.
DannyInvincible
12/07/2013, 8:11 PM
1-1 in Tallaght. Derry equalise through a Rafter penalty.
Good start to the second half by Derry.
DannyInvincible
12/07/2013, 8:14 PM
Crikey; O'Connor scores another belter to put Rovers back in the lead after cutting in from the right and shooting into the far corner with his left. 2-1.
12/07/2013, 8:34 PM
Dundalk winning 3-0, Heary sent off. Shels closing in!
12/07/2013, 8:44 PM
Phew! It is gettin very tight top and bottom.
12/07/2013, 9:52 PM
Well that was ropey as ****. Once again Rovers dominate a game at home yet spend the last 20 minutes defending for their lives. I was sure they were going to pay for that one-on-one miss near the end. Derry didn't come to play - created nothing in the first half and only really threatened for those 4 minutes in the second half, and even that flattered them. McNamee looks a beaut of a player though, once he's told not to tackle anyone ever. On the plus side, Zayed was class even if he looks a little off the pace, offers something different to what we've had so far. Finn is just a star, he was taking the **** for the last half hour, including that awful miss.
Ezeikial
12/07/2013, 10:06 PM
The madcap Oriel PA announcer, Mickey Duffy, played a well known Queen number again tonight. Apologies to any Pats fans who may be offended.
12/07/2013, 10:11 PM
Fat bottomed girls? I know Bohs are going through a rough patch, but you stay classy Dundalk...
jinxy lilywhite
12/07/2013, 10:59 PM
The madcap Oriel PA announcer, Mickey Duffy, played a well known Queen number again tonight. Apologies to any Pats fans who may be offended.
personally I would prefer "another bites the dust"
Well that was ropey as ****. Once again Rovers dominate a game at home yet spend the last 20 minutes defending for their lives. I was sure they were going to pay for that one-on-one miss near the end. Derry didn't come to play - created nothing in the first half and only really threatened for those 4 minutes in the second half, and even that flattered them. McNamee looks a beaut of a player though, once he's told not to tackle anyone ever. On the plus side, Zayed was class even if he looks a little off the pace, offers something different to what we've had so far. Finn is just a star, he was taking the **** for the last half hour, including that awful miss.
The booking of Barry Molloy made the difference with respect to Finn. He had spent the last three visits to Tallaght kicking Finn's ankles and was doing it again tonight in the first half and once he was booked and Rovers were in the lead, Finn had the freedom of the pitch instead of being shackled by him.
13/07/2013, 12:35 AM
The booking of Barry Molloy made the difference with respect to Finn. He had spent the last three visits to Tallaght kicking Finn's ankles and was doing it again tonight in the first half and once he was booked and Rovers were in the lead, Finn had the freedom of the pitch instead of being shackled by him.
True actually. Funnily enough he wasn't even booked for the tackle, he was booked for screaming at the ref after.
bullit
13/07/2013, 2:46 AM
Fair and honest Dundalk V Bohs match report on BohemianFc.com
http://bohemianfc.com/?cat=5
The reporter is a big Callaghan fan i reckon !!
Fair and honest Dundalk V Bohs match report on BohemianFc.com
http://bohemianfc.com/?cat=5
The reporter is a big Callaghan fan i reckon !!
I am brazilian, from the land where impatience with managers is the rule (is quite common to see a team use 4 or more managers in a season there) but I have to say this. I lived in Phibsborough so Bohemians were the team I most watched in the last two seasons, and Aaron Callaghan is an useless manager, worse than any boy who plays Football Manager (me included). His substitutions are random, he seems to decide his starting line ups by flipping a coin, he has no control over the squad or even himself (hence his last sent-offs), is bad at motivating, bad at tactics, he let every single man who could kick a ball leave Bohemians last season and hired the current intake of losers. I've watched about half of the home games from Bohs in the last two seasons and I believe there's no chance of avoiding relegation with this guy under command. The only thing preventing this lad from being dismissed must be the release fee, because no one with more than two brain cells has any faith in his managing ability anymore.
13/07/2013, 6:12 AM
I am brazilian, from the land where impatience with managers is the rule (is quite common to see a team use 4 or more managers in a season there) but I have to say this. I lived in Phibsborough so Bohemians were the team I most watched in the last two seasons, and Aaron Callaghan is an useless manager, worse than any boy who plays Football Manager (me included). His substitutions are random, he seems to decide his starting line ups by flipping a coin, he has no control over the squad or even himself (hence his last sent-offs), is bad at motivating, bad at tactics, he let every single man who could kick a ball leave Bohemians last season and hired the current intake of losers. I've watched about half of the home games from Bohs in the last two seasons and I believe there's no chance of avoiding relegation with this guy under command. The only thing preventing this lad from being dismissed must be the release fee, because no one with more than two brain cells has any faith in his managing ability anymore.
Exactly, I am surprised they have stayed with him for so long - ie more than one season - If UCD, Sjhelbourne and Bray are doing better that should be a worry for Bohs fans surely.
Have to say that Shams v Derry game was super viewing.
Excellent football and a few goals.
Shams are really starting to get it together now.
Dalymountrower
13/07/2013, 10:48 AM
Good analysis Luiz, I am pleased to advise that your application for the post of Bohemian FC Manager has been successful.
Quayman
13/07/2013, 11:19 AM
Bohs were shocking last night, we weren't great ourselves but we took our chances when they came our way. All 3 goals were errors at the back by Bohs. Delaney is a real liability for them. We were so comfortable from start to finish and passed the ball about well without ever really creating clear cut chances. Based on last night I would fear for Bohs this season, esp with Johnny McDonnell revitalising Shels atm. Only thing I can see saving them atm is UCD's loss of David McMillan.
14/07/2013, 5:29 PM
You can count us out of a title race, we don't have the fight for it. We're going for a European place.
My money is on Shams for the league.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/07/2013, 5:31 PM
We'll be there or thereabouts. If we can stop giving away stupid goals.
roversforever
14/07/2013, 5:35 PM
You can count us out of a title race, we don't have the fight for it. We're going for a European place.
Don't think its that we don't have the fight,i think at the moment we're just not good enough.When we have all the injured lads back we should have as strong a side as any but in my opinion the manager is restricting us with his system,would love to see us getting back to playing ball but i don't think that'll happen while he's in charge,he has his own ideas and obviously believes in them.
HomerJay
14/07/2013, 6:00 PM
Dundalk fans at home to Bohs...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3TcRxvFEYi4
14/07/2013, 6:07 PM
How many were disgracing the club not long after at the train station? eh HomerJay - you would know a few i'm sure!!
dundalkfc10
14/07/2013, 6:10 PM
How many were disgracing the club not long after at the train station? eh HomerJay - you would know a few i'm sure!!
Id say 20/30 at the most
Theres a video floating about of outside the train station, Our club should get a look at it and ban anyone acting the maggot
14/07/2013, 6:14 PM
So the team are following your defeatest lead then? You have drawn 1-1 with the league leaders, sit second 4 points off top, have scored the same as the leaders and conceded only 3 more with over a third of the season left....yeah! sure catastrophic!
Cunning plan there sligoman playing down your chances and taking the weight of expectation off - Alex Ferguson would be very impressed im sure!;P
It really is a funny old game as we are a long way behind you on GD and Pats fans havent stopped talking about us already being champions.
14/07/2013, 6:17 PM
Id say 20/30 at the most
20 to 30 at the most, that all! well sure thats ok then ....
dundalkfc10
14/07/2013, 6:21 PM
20 to 30 at the most, that all! well sure thats ok then ....
Did I say it was ok?
You asked "How many were disgracing the club not long after at the train station?"
I replied to your question with about 20/30 at the most. I was in Kennedys looking out the window at them at the time, just got in before they shut the doors
14/07/2013, 6:36 PM
It was a rhetorical question really, but no you didnt say it was ok. The 'at the most' is a bit misleading in a tone of seeming acceptance, whereas something like 'there were at least' would sound a little more condemning. It is HomerJay id like hear an answer from tbh as he would be seen as somone who stands among those who would be accused and no doubt knows the type and people i'm on about. I do acknowledge though that HomerJay himself would not be a culprit
It is HomerJay id like hear an answer from tbh as he would be seen as somone who stands among those who would be accused and no doubt knows the type and people i'm on about. I do acknowledge though that HomerJay himself would not be a culprit
Bad types?
dundalkfc10
14/07/2013, 7:44 PM
It was a rhetorical question really, but no you didnt say it was ok. The 'at the most' is a bit misleading in a tone of seeming acceptance, whereas something like 'there were at least' would sound a little more condemning. It is HomerJay id like hear an answer from tbh as he would be seen as somone who stands among those who would be accused and no doubt knows the type and people i'm on about. I do acknowledge though that HomerJay himself would not be a culprit
I stand right beside many of the lads involved and could easily name at least 10 of them. There was a few lads arrested (I know of 2 personally) Will the club be getting their names and banning them?
Dalymountrower
14/07/2013, 7:55 PM
I stand right beside many of the lads involved and could easily name at least 10 of them. There was a few lads arrested (I know of 2 personally) Will the club be getting their names and banning them?
I came up to Oriel by way of the old Ecco factory to see about 30 shirtless shi* faced yobs literally emerging from the undergrowth. One Ban Garda there on a bike . Made my way to Oriel itself and there was a police horse for every six Bohs fans who were foolish enough to queue into the away end. The usual crap afterwards for them., kept behind, ambushed etc. I would strongly recommend that all away fans visiting Oriel to get a home stand ticket and avoid the crap that their stewards dole out up there.
More a travel advisory for other fans given that it is unlikely that Bohs will play there next season or possibly ever again.
dundalkfc10
14/07/2013, 8:21 PM
I came up to Oriel by way of the old Ecco factory to see about 30 shirtless shi* faced yobs literally emerging from the undergrowth. One Ban Garda there on a bike . Made my way to Oriel itself and there was a police horse for every six Bohs fans who were foolish enough to queue into the away end. The usual crap afterwards for them., kept behind, ambushed etc. I would strongly recommend that all away fans visiting Oriel to get a home stand ticket and avoid the crap that their stewards dole out up there.
More a travel advisory for other fans given that it is unlikely that Bohs will play there next season or possibly ever again.
They were in The Park behind the Ecco Road drinking all day, Theres videos of them on facebook during the day aswell.
We have to stay behind at a few away games, I dont see the issue with it at all.
Its only Bohs, Rovers, Drogheda, Prob Pats now aswell this happens too in Oriel
14/07/2013, 8:30 PM
The usual crap afterwards for them., kept behind, ambushed etc. I would strongly recommend that all away fans visiting Oriel to get a home stand ticket and avoid the crap that their stewards dole out up there.
Give over will ye! Away fans are kept behind at almost all grounds, whats the big deal with waiting 5 or tens minutes after ft. Ambushed...funny how for all the years attending LoI matches home or away i have not been 'ambushed'; i have seen sets of dirtbag fans going at it on occaisons but somehow both sets of idiots seemed well enough aware of what was to happen which is hardly being ambushed. We all know where hotspots are and the do's and don'ts in general and trouble or getting caught up in it is avoided. As for stewards doling out crap, iv heard this type of crap being siad about stewards all over the league at some point, but never heard what this crap is or found that it wasnt warrented in some way. "Sorry sir you are not allowed to smoke in the stand!" fan spends the next forever giving out about being given crap by a steward in Oriel*...boohooo!
*enter any ground
14/07/2013, 8:37 PM
Prob Pats now aswell this happens too in Oriel
Dont see why Pats would become an issue. Ive never experienced any major problem in Richmond. Pats only seem to have issues with their own fans in Richmond re seat allocation and overcrowding. What may or may not have happened in Oriel, as nothing more has been said, is unlikely to ever happen again so a once off!
jinxy lilywhite
14/07/2013, 9:04 PM
I think Fridays nights antics were contributed by our scumbags drink all day and bohs scumbags drinking all the way on the bus down from Dublin and probably coking and yoking. after the match I was outside the club bar having a smoke and a group of bohs fans came pouring out from a hole they made in the partition to the away end. told me they wanted no trouble and walk on. seemed to be effed off about something.
bluewhitearmy
14/07/2013, 10:02 PM
Are we the only ones that the stewards in Oriel were completely sound to then? They were actually good craic in fairness to them.
Dalymountrower
14/07/2013, 10:19 PM
Give over will ye! Away fans are kept behind at almost all grounds, whats the big deal with waiting 5 or tens minutes after ft. Ambushed...funny how for all the years attending LoI matches home or away i have not been 'ambushed'; i have seen sets of dirtbag fans going at it on occaisons but somehow both sets of idiots seemed well enough aware of what was to happen which is hardly being ambushed. We all know where hotspots are and the do's and don'ts in general and trouble or getting caught up in it is avoided. As for stewards doling out crap, iv heard this type of crap being siad about stewards all over the league at some point, but never heard what this crap is or found that it wasnt warrented in some way. "Sorry sir you are not allowed to smoke in the stand!" fan spends the next forever giving out about being given crap by a steward in Oriel*...boohooo!
*enter any ground
Well done on avoiding trouble all your life, unfortunately away fans who just wanted to support the team got caught up in the train station fighting between the yobs.
Anyway, it makes a lot more sense to let away fans out first, get them on their transport and out of the area. The Dundalk experience of being coralled for a ridiculous amount of time in Oriel while your yobs gather themselves for the inevitable Green Street re-enactment, tends to wear on ones spirit a tad.
By the bye, kudos for your voluntary work as a steward.
Dalymountrower
14/07/2013, 10:21 PM
I thought that the stewarding of the Bohs match in Thomond was excellent What comes around goes around.
15/07/2013, 12:12 AM
Are we the only ones that the stewards in Oriel were completely sound to then? They were actually good craic in fairness to them.
The stewards are the same week in and week out. Limerick fans may have simply behaved in a manner without preconception thats caused by the type of spurious comments similar to Daleymountrower's above. Im not a steward, i wouldnt touch the job, but as a sports fan ive found that politeness is more often than not met with politeness, and likewise ignorance with ignorance! In my experience the most pleasant stewards have been at Richmond Park, the least pleasant at Tallaght, though that is based on one guy who admitted himself that he had nothing to do with Rovers or FAI and wasnt very helpful in general.
@Dalymountrower, i agree that it makes more sense to let away fans out first and clear the area but doesnt seem to happen anywhere? 'our yobs' are an oppertunistic scourge, 'your yobs' and everyone elses the same. Being coralled as you put it post match, is a nuisance be it United Park or Dalymount or where ever, its hardly a shocker when it happens. Bohs fans would never hang on around Phibsborough in hope of intercepting visiting support so kudos to you there!
15/07/2013, 6:37 AM
UCD v Drogheda highlights worth watching, in particular for the bizarre free we score our second from - Sava catching the ball under no pressure at all three or four yards outside the box. Never seen anything like it; mad stuff.
dejadem
15/07/2013, 8:52 AM
UCD v Drogheda highlights worth watching, in particular for the bizarre free we score our second from - Sava catching the ball under no pressure at all three or four yards outside the box. Never seen anything like it; mad stuff.
Bizarre is right. He seemed to look around to try to get his position, didn't see the box line and picked up the ball. I guess he forgot the big clue was the line wasn't in front of him. Great keeper but prone to some mad decisions.
dejadem
15/07/2013, 9:18 AM
Also, the incident was way outside the box, it looked like 3 or 4 yards as you said above, but the ref allowed the free to be taken right up on the edge of the box.
15/07/2013, 9:31 AM
Yep, ridiculous too. He was up on the edge of the D like (which means he was actually four yards outside the box). Would we have scored from 4 yards further out? Though at least then Drogheda wouldn't have equalised straight away.
Heard both sets of players giving out about the ref after. UCD players were saying Drogheda must have been annoyed with the ref for giving them nothing all game. A Drogheda player said that he didn't send Sava off, so it balanced out.
dejadem
15/07/2013, 9:55 AM
Yep, ridiculous too. He was up on the edge of the D like (which means he was actually four yards outside the box). Would we have scored from 4 yards further out? Though at least then Drogheda wouldn't have equalised straight away.
Heard both sets of players giving out about the ref after. UCD players were saying Drogheda must have been annoyed with the ref for giving them nothing all game. A Drogheda player said that he didn't send Sava off, so it balanced out.
Buttimer's performance was shocking, he got so many decisions wrong for both sides. Still can't understand how he thought the professional foul on Rusk wasn't a red.
15/07/2013, 11:04 AM
I would strongly recommend that all away fans visiting Oriel to get a home stand ticket and avoid the crap that their stewards dole out up there.
You won't get away from that in the stand though.
gormacha
15/07/2013, 11:13 AM
I loved the reaction of the official Drogheda twitter feed to that incident:
https://twitter.com/DroghedaUnited/status/356432418422530051
White Horse
15/07/2013, 11:52 AM
You won't get away from that in the stand though.
Just behave yourself and you'll be grand.
15/07/2013, 12:16 PM
Just behave yourself and you'll be grand.
Ah yeah, that's definitely the issue. No steward or club official is ever at fault.
15/07/2013, 12:23 PM
Buttimer's performance was shocking, he got so many decisions wrong for both sides. Still can't understand how he thought the professional foul on Rusk wasn't a red.
I think the call on that was that there was another defender tracking back who could have covered. I was unconvinced, tbh, but it's the only explanation I can come up with.
Agree he was awful for both sides.