View Full Version : Cork AUL 2013/14 Premier & Premier A
Friar Tuck
05/07/2013, 11:35 AM
Pity I really liked evergreens approach to the game and I'd say they taught they found a little gem when they pulled that fella nags out of the gutter and gave him a chance to get his managerial career back on track. He didn't hang around too long to pay them back did he what was it 6 months?
schoolboygodno9
05/07/2013, 11:48 AM
can you really call it a 'club' when you have one team with no backup structure and as soon as that team reaches a certain age or a few players leave (god knows there is plenty of resons why fellas leave these days) they have no alternative but to fold. should it not form some part of the aul's guidelines that for a team to compete in the premier division they at least have either a youths team or a second string in the lower leagues. this not a criticism of knockavilla but this is not the first time this has happened and it does paint a good image for the league to be fair. the problem is you can see this happening more and more over the next couple of years....killumney/blarney st/kilreen/ all have one team if im not mistaken?
Kilreen have a hugely sucessful underage structure and alot of their team played schoolboys with them as far as i know
killer"B"
05/07/2013, 11:55 AM
Kilreen have a hugely sucessful underage structure and alot of their team played schoolboys with them as far as i know
ya your right there godno9 but that what i am saying the like of your evergreen and greenmount even your pearse would find it hard to compete with kilreen cause all the kids would want to go out there then
JRyno
05/07/2013, 12:46 PM
Spot on JRyno, loyalty has been replaced by the SAT NAV. A true affiliation with a club is priceless, winning something along the way will provide a life time of memories.
Anyone who has ever put in serious time with his club will tell you there is no better feeling in football than to do well with the people you have played with through good times an bad,,,,,,,,,the worst thing for me is with all this club hopping going on, the real club players get pushed out for short term gain, clubs loose those people who kept them going when they had nothing,,,,,,,,, games changed like everything else in life i suppose nowadays, dosent mean I have to like it though.
im old school so no offence meant, its just my 2 cents.
Dead right! We re-formed in 2007 and spent 2 seasons bottom of Div 3 until 2 players took over the management. Basically the same squad were promoted to div 2 the season after and have finished 5th & 4th in our 2 seasons up. Alot is down to whos running the club also! Some fellas might flake off if they aren't getting their game or if they dont like the manager. We are a lucky in the way that the majority of lads stick around even if they're not getting much game time because training is very competitive but good craic before and after. One lad joined in 2009 and finally started getting in the starting 11 the tail end of the season just gone. Thats loyalty for ya! Another lad has been offered Munster Senior by 2 different clubs and I have no doubt he would be more than able for it, but he's saying he's really enjoying it with ourselves. We lost one lad to Kinsale seniors last season, thats about it.
backpass
05/07/2013, 12:52 PM
Pity I really liked evergreens approach to the game and I'd say they taught they found a little gem when they pulled that fella nags out of the gutter and gave him a chance to get his managerial career back on track. He didn't hang around too long to pay them back did he what was it 6 months?
oooooohhhh
backpass
05/07/2013, 1:03 PM
ya your right there godno9 but that what i am saying the like of your evergreen and greenmount even your pearse would find it hard to compete with kilreen cause all the kids would want to go out there then
Greenmount had a great junior team years ago and won the lot in cork. When a lot of teams around them were stepping up MSL they never went up and won everything in the AUL. They failed to bring in younger players and when the older lads were retiring they found themselves slipping down the leagues. They had no underage or even youth team to start bleeding them in. Temple utd had a fantastic youth team under John Daly. Players were with him since 8 years of age right up to youths and won the lot. Ross O Callaghan, Philip Cunningham, Paddy O Shea, Eoin O Neill all playing senior at 17 years. Temple had a chance to enter a second junior team and put all these youngfellas in as a team. They never did and look at the club now. Shame
From what i hear Greenwood have signed a few players alright, whether there coming from Evergreen or wherever im not sure, but a few of their national cup winning team from a few years back are coming back, so hopefully they will have a decent squad, they have lost a few to Australia also. Dont lnow much about the new manager but i hope they do well, they are a good CLUB and the AUL need clubs like greenwood
killer"B"
05/07/2013, 2:47 PM
Crescent AthleticFc (https://www.facebook.com/crescent.athleticfc?directed_target_id=0) back in the aul for the forthcoming season the div3 sections will have some very strong teams :cool:
Radiostar
05/07/2013, 6:58 PM
Red and White I agree with you that there should be less clubs with more 2nd and third teams in the big clubs, and they should all have an underage set up, you'd see better standards all round then, but that's an ideal scenario, until that happens you can't really knock 1 team clubs at adult level. There's simply not enough teams to let all the lads who want to play football at junior and senior level there at the moment and that's why these 1 team clubs should be commended for what they are doing and not knocked.
Just my opinion
05/07/2013, 7:51 PM
I agree Radio. I think there should be great credit given to managers and committees of 1 team clubs for keeping them going. And to the players who show the loyalty. Especially those clubs who don't poach a bagful of players from elsewhere!
Leftside
05/07/2013, 8:35 PM
I agree Radio. I think there should be great credit given to managers and committees of 1 team clubs for keeping them going. And to the players who show the loyalty. Especially those clubs who don't poach a bagful of players from elsewhere!
I know a lot of people who are 1 club men and its great credit to them. But to say teams are poaching is wrong, there are clubs out there that are signing players to make themselves competitive. You seem to have issues with one club in particular and when they sign players it's poaching but when coachford or killumney sign players it's great work from the management team. Come June 1st we are all free agents, sure there are mercenaries out there that go about collecting medals. If you ask me the team everyone is talking about have a long term plan. These guys could still be involved with that club 5-7 years down the line. It's been awhile since we've seen a competitive Northside team and I for 1 am happy to see that. From the looks of it they've been signing players that live within reasonable travelling distance of the club.
Just my opinion
05/07/2013, 9:15 PM
Sorry now left side but to sign at least 12 players in pre season is not poaching?? No?? Yes teams need to strengthen but that's not right! And long term plan you say?? :-) If that certain gaffer gets the hump AGAIN and walks, then will those players stay there for the "club"?? I KNOW not!! That is not building for the long term! I agree with JRyno and I'm delighted that his lads have resisted temptation and stayed put. Like I say there is very little loyalty left but in fairness there is a small bit left, mainly, and I say mainly, with the teams outside of the city. Definately not northside, and that is not a cut at the lads living up there. A lot of serious players up there. Just a general comment and my opinion. Ye've changed a lot yer selves since yer relegation the year before last
Friar Tuck
05/07/2013, 10:18 PM
It's open season lads
Friar Tuck
06/07/2013, 1:24 AM
They as in the club had no choice but to take a chance! I hope it works out
schoolboygodno9
06/07/2013, 10:30 AM
Oldlegs where will some of the lads end up some good players ye had
Just my opinion
06/07/2013, 11:34 AM
Oldlegs where will some of the lads end up some good players ye had
I'm told most will head to Innishvilla. Obvious choice. 1 heading to Blarney St as well if I'm informed correctly
oldlegs
06/07/2013, 12:52 PM
Bit early for lads to have anything done but plenty of option's ie Bandon Ballinhassig Innishvilla also some lads play with Clougduv in masters football some good players looking for club's
killer"B"
06/07/2013, 3:59 PM
what about your self oldlegs have you a club lined up for the new season for your self in (premier i hope) :cool:
Chiefscout
06/07/2013, 6:25 PM
Jimmy sheen from marys juniors to fairview
schoolboygodno9
07/07/2013, 6:37 PM
Rumours howey going to coachford from rockmount over in the msl forum as big as the street signing cambridge if true
backpass
07/07/2013, 6:49 PM
Rumours howey going to coachford from rockmount over in the msl forum as big as the street signing cambridge if true
Heard yestherday that coachford signing howey..scoops and eoin o neill.....some signings if true
schoolboygodno9
07/07/2013, 7:04 PM
Heard yestherday that coachford signing howey..scoops and eoin o neill.....some signings if true
Huge squads being put together must get to see alot more games this season but coachford need a striker to replace jc anyone lined up there
backpass
07/07/2013, 7:23 PM
Huge squads being put together must get to see alot more games this season but coachford need a striker to replace jc anyone lined up there
I wouldnt pay to much attention about clubs signing players....long way to go befote season starts so.a lot of silly talk around at the moment
Chiefscout
07/07/2013, 7:31 PM
Heard they moving you back up top
schoolboygodno9
07/07/2013, 7:52 PM
Me ha ha ha good one there chief
Leftside
07/07/2013, 10:17 PM
Blarney street got another gem apparently. Mark from Innishvilla (Red head guy) is apparently up there now. Great player, very lively and great skill. Anyone else reckon with all the attacking signings that they will be suspect at the back or is that just me?
Just my opinion
07/07/2013, 10:56 PM
Is that Mark Murphy? Class act if its him.
robot
07/07/2013, 11:04 PM
Oldlegs sorry to hear the news.enjoyed playin ye last year.hope you keep involved yourself .is it true innishvilla go up .for last few years teams that got relegated stayed up.macroom and castleview wont be to happy with that unless they turned it down?
killer"B"
08/07/2013, 9:38 AM
in fairness innish had a great season them selfs and were very unlucky not to go up,it make the premier very strong and rightly so this season . castleview and macroom had there chance last season and look where it got them so why not give a fresh team a chance to shine in premier this season and i mean no disrespect to the castleview or macroom by my comments it just my opinion :cool:
buzzkill
08/07/2013, 10:09 AM
in fairness innish had a great season them selfs and were very unlucky not to go up,it make the premier very strong and rightly so this season . castleview and macroom had there chance last season and look where it got them so why not give a fresh team a chance to shine in premier this season and i mean no disrespect to the castleview or macroom by my comments it just my opinion :cool:
Killer thats a ridiculous comment to make, they had there chance you say, what about prem a where blackstone have stayed up 2 years in a row because of this(no disrespect to blackstone), I hope the reason inishvilla are going up is that Macroom or Castleview rejected it. If not its another ridiculus decision from the AUL
killer"B"
08/07/2013, 10:25 AM
buzzkill ask horse24 aswell said the same thing too him about blackstone fair is fair give other teams a go at the big time im sure innish will be very strong in prem next season which will be good for the aul it self and again buzz if you read my post that only my opinion :cool:
Friar Tuck
08/07/2013, 11:10 AM
Being touted around the place about crow asking to go back to blarney st !
Also Colin hart going to pearse would make sense for him.
killer"B"
08/07/2013, 11:15 AM
that a good un now touted why not just crow himself friar??? crow if you out there and reading this any legs to what friar tuck is say ha :cool:
Friar Tuck
08/07/2013, 12:47 PM
I only asking because I heard it from a few blarney street player ... I don't know if there bluffing or not ?
killer"B"
08/07/2013, 1:01 PM
I only asking because I heard it from a few blarney street player ... I don't know if there bluffing or not ?
id say bluffing to be honest but you never know either but 2 top class keepers in the one team it says it all there dont it !:cool:
killer"B"
08/07/2013, 2:15 PM
i know 1for rates crow highly and i even know he has ask to join the street a few time but i cant see crow leaving kilumney now that the street have eddie kenny back between then sticks
Chiefscout
09/07/2013, 8:55 PM
Kirsten dennehy signed for the glen
IWasOnside
10/07/2013, 4:03 PM
Central manager (whose name escapes me) has taken over Glenvale
robot
10/07/2013, 10:21 PM
Any news from Delegates meeting lads .start of season etc
killer"B"
10/07/2013, 10:33 PM
mossie draw has been made but not sure of the groups expect blarney st group from there FB page "Draw has been made for our first Competition,The Mossie Linnane Cup & We have Been Drawn to Play Glen Celtic,Glenvale,Springfield & Carrigtwohill,Season starts on 17/18 of August!"
littleman
10/07/2013, 11:21 PM
Grattan,Park,Blackstone.Glenthorn and Village in another group
killer"B"
10/07/2013, 11:29 PM
here is it lads section a coacford ,killumney,macroom,innishvilla A,, SECTION B park utd,grattan utd,blackstone,village,glenthorn,,, SECTION C pearse celtic greenwood castleview kilreen douglas and SECTION D springfield blarney st glen carrigwohill glenvale :cool: thanks to man who gave them too me !!
schoolboygodno9
11/07/2013, 7:49 AM
here is it lads section a coacford ,killumney,macroom,innishvilla A,, SECTION B park utd,grattan utd,blackstone,village,glenthorn,,, SECTION C pearse celtic greenwood castleview kilreen douglas and SECTION D springfield blarney st glen carrigwohill glenvale :cool: thanks to man who gave them too me !!
Have you left leeview killer and how come only 19teams
killer"B"
11/07/2013, 8:23 AM
Have you left leeview killer and how come only 19teams
jsut the 19 godno9 well im still on my break from football from the aul :cool:
killer"B"
11/07/2013, 9:26 AM
what you mean "weve been drawn against " ???
Just my opinion
11/07/2013, 9:48 AM
They've only 19 teams for Mossie? That's 10 Prem and 9 Prem A. Obviously AUL haven't replaced Innishvilla after they stepped up to cover Knockavilla in Prem. Surely either Lakewood be promoted or Bohs won't be relegated?
killer"B"
11/07/2013, 10:41 AM
well the aul need to be consistent here because if they sent innish up to premier they need to do the same with lakewood and bump them up to prem a
Just my opinion
11/07/2013, 11:27 AM
True they need to be but I wouldn't hold my breath!
killer"B"
11/07/2013, 11:28 AM
True they need to be but I wouldn't hold my breath!
i think they will send up lakewood reward them for the good season they had
our_ball_ref
11/07/2013, 1:06 PM
If they were to be consistent then the obvious choice is not relegating Bohs, numerous teams got away with it last year so they should stay where they are, it's only right..
Unless they were asked and they refused it themselves. Then promote someone.