View Full Version : Monaghan...still going?
15/06/2013, 1:21 PM
Couldn't find a previous thread. Mods feel free to move as necessary, but thought it might be slightly relevant.
Someone could clear this up too where necessary.
Just happened to see from an FAI press release that Monaghan United are playing Leixlip United in the womens Intermediate cup.
Is this the same Monaghan United and was the womens team always still going?
Is it paving the way for a return of a mens team?
White Horse
15/06/2013, 1:34 PM
I saw Stephen Maher tweeting about them this week.
"You've got to love @MonaghanUtdFC continued lies & excuses a year on from pulling out of LOI
****ing Cowboys"
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BMjy2-RCUAAClmk.jpg:large
Ezeikial
15/06/2013, 1:38 PM
Short version - "fcuk off Stephen....we've no money, but when we have we'll let ya know"
15/06/2013, 1:50 PM
Couldn't find a previous thread. Mods feel free to move as necessary, but thought it might be slightly relevant.
Someone could clear this up too where necessary.
Just happened to see from an FAI press release that Monaghan United are playing Leixlip United in the womens Intermediate cup.
Is this the same Monaghan United and was the womens team always still going?
Is it paving the way for a return of a mens team?
Can't remember which thread but magicme said recently that the women's team is still going. They have underage boy's sides out as far as I know as well.
15/06/2013, 1:54 PM
Can't remember which thread but magicme said recently that the women's team is still going. They have underage boy's sides out as far as I know as well.
Ye I think up to under-14 level but could be higher not sure.
15/06/2013, 2:49 PM
They had a few in their district leagues Kennedy Cup squad during the week.
15/06/2013, 3:07 PM
We're playing "Sporting Youth Monaghan" in the Foyle Cup this July.
Any connection??
15/06/2013, 4:44 PM
I don't see where we are lying to Stephen. We have no money. We are trying to get money. When we get it they will get it. We are not like some clubs who just said screw it to the players. We will be paying them. Sorry if we can't magic it out of thin air there Mr Maher.
Yes we have juvenile squads from our mini leagues aged from 6 to 10 years old, u11, u12, u13, u14, u15 up to u16. We also have our women's team. These were all aspects of the club that were run separate to the LOI team anyway and are continuing to run.
15/06/2013, 4:46 PM
We're playing "Sporting Youth Monaghan" in the Foyle Cup this July.
Any connection??
No Sporting Youth are a different juvenile club in Monaghan.
15/06/2013, 5:53 PM
So really, there's not much hope of a Monaghan United side back in the League of Ireland any time soon?
Comic Book Guy
16/06/2013, 1:12 PM
Really hope they come back, sound bunch of people with a genuine love for their club. I was surprised to see that their bar is closed, I hope that's a priority to open again as it would generate income to address their debts.
If we can make a comeback then surely there's hope for the mons.
16/06/2013, 4:20 PM
So really, there's not much hope of a Monaghan United side back in the League of Ireland any time soon?
Not for the foreseeable anyway. Maybe an U19s down the road but not yet.
Really hope they come back, sound bunch of people with a genuine love for their club. I was surprised to see that their bar is closed, I hope that's a priority to open again as it would generate income to address their debts.
If we can make a comeback then surely there's hope for the mons.
Thank you CBG. The bar brought feck all income in except on match days so its really a better idea to close it and save on costs of running it.
DRDoc
17/06/2013, 12:23 AM
Fair play to Monaghan for committing to pay the monies owed to players - many a club has not even had good intentions in this regard. They could have easily ignored Maher's letter and not bothered to reply etc - but at least they took the time to put a letter together and while its not what he or other players want to hear right now, Im sure they would even be more frustrated had they not received a reply and a repeated commitment to see them right when they can
Would hope to see them back in years to come :brb:
Comic Book Guy
17/06/2013, 12:04 PM
That's a surprise to see that the bar was making no money, I know that without ours we would have been up the creek;it helped us trade our way back to something vaguely resembling normality, perhaps you could set up some sort of social sub committee with a view to opening it Fri-Sun with social events etc. Catering for parties, Christenings, 21st's etc brings in a steady revenue. Perhaps you could try it on a trial basis?
Either way best of luck for the future.
17/06/2013, 12:17 PM
Thanks again but we had a few events and it was used for parties but its a little too far out of town to be very viable unfortunately.
White Horse
17/06/2013, 12:40 PM
Thanks again but we had a few events and it was used for parties but its a little too far out of town to be very viable unfortunately.
How much of a factor was location of the ground in the lack of support?
Clubs seem to do much better when the ground is close to the centre of town.
SMorgan
17/06/2013, 6:48 PM
I never forget or forgive Monaghan United for kicking Dundalk Football Club when it's was at its very lowest ebb during the foot-n-mouth crisis. If they never come back it will be too soon.
White Horse
17/06/2013, 7:21 PM
I never forget or forgive Monaghan United for kicking Dundalk Football Club when it's was at its very lowest ebb during the foot-n-mouth crisis. If they never come back it will be too soon.
Was that the time they would only play us behind closed doors. No fans, no revenue.
And all because their officials were asked to move from season ticket holders seats previously?
Yes, that was spiteful.
17/06/2013, 7:26 PM
What did they do to ye?
gufc2000
17/06/2013, 11:11 PM
Was that the time they would only play us behind closed doors. No fans, no revenue.
And all because their officials were asked to move from season ticket holders seats previously?
Yes, that was spiteful.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but did ye not re-locate to Monaghan for part of 2005 when Oriel was being re-surfaced? If relations were that bad I find it strange such a move would have taken place
Very spiteful, at a time when league club's are disappearing at a frightful rate
Morginho
19/06/2013, 8:11 PM
www.monaghanunited.tv (http://www.monaghanunited.tv)
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Monaghan-United-FC/154389094675181
Above are the two sites which I update you can find all the info you need on what's happening in our schoolboys section.
We currently have 13 players on the FAI's Emerging Talent Programme between the ages of 12 and 15, all of whom can be seen on our sites, two of which are on the Regional squad, Shane McMahon and Michael Bannigan. Your right Lim till i die, we had 3 players in the Kennedy Cup, one of which will play in it again next year as he was underage.