Thread: Monaghan...still going?

2,446 Posts

Monaghan...still going?

Couldn't find a previous thread. Mods feel free to move as necessary, but thought it might be slightly relevant.

Someone could clear this up too where necessary.

Just happened to see from an FAI press release that Monaghan United are playing Leixlip United in the womens Intermediate cup.

Is this the same Monaghan United and was the womens team always still going?
    Is it paving the way for a return of a mens team?

555 Posts
    I saw Stephen Maher tweeting about them this week.

"You've got to love @MonaghanUtdFC continued lies & excuses a year on from pulling out of LOI
    ****ing Cowboys"

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Short version - "fcuk off Stephen....we've no money, but when we have we'll let ya know"

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Couldn't find a previous thread. Mods feel free to move as necessary, but thought it might be slightly relevant.

Someone could clear this up too where necessary.

Just happened to see from an FAI press release that Monaghan United are playing Leixlip United in the womens Intermediate cup.

Is this the same Monaghan United and was the womens team always still going?
    Is it paving the way for a return of a mens team?
    Can't remember which thread but magicme said recently that the women's team is still going. They have underage boy's sides out as far as I know as well.

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Can't remember which thread but magicme said recently that the women's team is still going. They have underage boy's sides out as far as I know as well.
    Ye I think up to under-14 level but could be higher not sure.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

They had a few in their district leagues Kennedy Cup squad during the week.

238 Posts
    We're playing "Sporting Youth Monaghan" in the Foyle Cup this July.

Any connection??

I don't see where we are lying to Stephen. We have no money. We are trying to get money. When we get it they will get it. We are not like some clubs who just said screw it to the players. We will be paying them. Sorry if we can't magic it out of thin air there Mr Maher.

Yes we have juvenile squads from our mini leagues aged from 6 to 10 years old, u11, u12, u13, u14, u15 up to u16. We also have our women's team. These were all aspects of the club that were run separate to the LOI team anyway and are continuing to run.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    We're playing "Sporting Youth Monaghan" in the Foyle Cup this July.

Any connection??
    No Sporting Youth are a different juvenile club in Monaghan.

2,446 Posts
    So really, there's not much hope of a Monaghan United side back in the League of Ireland any time soon?

56 Posts
    Really hope they come back, sound bunch of people with a genuine love for their club. I was surprised to see that their bar is closed, I hope that's a priority to open again as it would generate income to address their debts.
    If we can make a comeback then surely there's hope for the mons.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    So really, there's not much hope of a Monaghan United side back in the League of Ireland any time soon?
    Not for the foreseeable anyway. Maybe an U19s down the road but not yet.

Quote Originally Posted by Comic Book Guy View Post
    Really hope they come back, sound bunch of people with a genuine love for their club. I was surprised to see that their bar is closed, I hope that's a priority to open again as it would generate income to address their debts.
    If we can make a comeback then surely there's hope for the mons.
    Thank you CBG. The bar brought feck all income in except on match days so its really a better idea to close it and save on costs of running it.

Fair play to Monaghan for committing to pay the monies owed to players - many a club has not even had good intentions in this regard. They could have easily ignored Maher's letter and not bothered to reply etc - but at least they took the time to put a letter together and while its not what he or other players want to hear right now, Im sure they would even be more frustrated had they not received a reply and a repeated commitment to see them right when they can

Would hope to see them back in years to come

56 Posts
    That's a surprise to see that the bar was making no money, I know that without ours we would have been up the creek;it helped us trade our way back to something vaguely resembling normality, perhaps you could set up some sort of social sub committee with a view to opening it Fri-Sun with social events etc. Catering for parties, Christenings, 21st's etc brings in a steady revenue. Perhaps you could try it on a trial basis?
    Either way best of luck for the future.
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

Thanks again but we had a few events and it was used for parties but its a little too far out of town to be very viable unfortunately.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Thanks again but we had a few events and it was used for parties but its a little too far out of town to be very viable unfortunately.
    How much of a factor was location of the ground in the lack of support?

Clubs seem to do much better when the ground is close to the centre of town.

I never forget or forgive Monaghan United for kicking Dundalk Football Club when it's was at its very lowest ebb during the foot-n-mouth crisis. If they never come back it will be too soon.
    Neale Fenn on retiring: 'I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks.'

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    I never forget or forgive Monaghan United for kicking Dundalk Football Club when it's was at its very lowest ebb during the foot-n-mouth crisis. If they never come back it will be too soon.
    Was that the time they would only play us behind closed doors. No fans, no revenue.

And all because their officials were asked to move from season ticket holders seats previously?

Yes, that was spiteful.

What did they do to ye?

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Was that the time they would only play us behind closed doors. No fans, no revenue.

And all because their officials were asked to move from season ticket holders seats previously?

Yes, that was spiteful.
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but did ye not re-locate to Monaghan for part of 2005 when Oriel was being re-surfaced? If relations were that bad I find it strange such a move would have taken place

Very spiteful, at a time when league club's are disappearing at a frightful rate
    Last edited by gufc2000; 17/06/2013 at 11:40 PM.