View Full Version : LoI Series 17 & 14- Premier & 1St Div Fixtures.

Pages : 1 [2] 3

White Horse
15/06/2013, 4:20 PM
And saw nothing wrong from ten mins before kick off till after the game ??

Of course I did.

A steward let terrace ticket holders into the stand because he felt sorry for them getting wet. That shouldn't have happened, as the stewards were unable to control the subsequent behavior of some of those fans.

LOI stewards are too "hands off", but I will not stand by while unpaid volunteers are castigated for an accident. Which of us would volunteer to be an unpaid steward?

desaintsno.12
15/06/2013, 4:27 PM
Any safety officer/match day mgt worth their salt would have spotted the various fook ups and done something to sort it out. Instead the stewards just said they didn't care

jinxy lilywhite
15/06/2013, 4:31 PM
terrible weather in Dundalk for the match. The stand in OP was more or less full with Dundalk and pats fans. Midway through the game pats fans on the away tce complained that they were getting soaked and for some reason or another someone who hasn't been identified opened the gate for them to let them in. with the pats section already full there was a small area of seats where the half time entertainment match participants sit (schoolkids and their parents) and the pats fans demanded that the partition be moved back to let the pats fans sit there. The stewards and gardai refused to do so. there was some shouting but nothing really of any note. I don't know when the pats fan fell or if he was intoxicated or what but I do hope he gets well. for the pats fans to tell us that he hope we get what we deserve, grow up will you. It is regrettable and unfortunate that it happened and hopefully an investigation will find out the exact truth of what happened and implement any findings.

desaintsno.12
15/06/2013, 4:39 PM
terrible weather in Dundalk for the match. The stand in OP was more or less full with Dundalk and pats fans. Midway through the game pats fans on the away tce complained that they were getting soaked and for some reason or another someone who hasn't been identified opened the gate for them to let them in. with the pats section already full there was a small area of seats where the half time entertainment match participants sit (schoolkids and their parents) and the pats fans demanded that the partition be moved back to let the pats fans sit there. The stewards and gardai refused to do so. there was some shouting but nothing really of any note. I don't know when the pats fan fell or if he was intoxicated or what but I do hope he gets well. for the pats fans to tell us that he hope we get what we deserve, grow up will you. It is regrettable and unfortunate that it happened and hopefully an investigation will find out the exact truth of what happened and implement any findings.

Wrong !!
Issues started before kick off. Dundalk will of course spin the above line too I'm sure

jinxy lilywhite
15/06/2013, 4:42 PM
Wrong !!
Issues started before kick off. Dundalk will of course spin the above line too I'm sure

Well what are your version of events?

White Horse
15/06/2013, 4:45 PM
Wrong !!

The only spinning going on is the attempt to link the unfortunate accident with the stewards.

There is no way the gate should have been opened, I said so to a steward at the time. The real problem started when the Pats fans tried to take the seats of the kids who were providing the half time entertainment.

Someone is trying to spread the myth that just because those kids temporarily vacated their seats to play on the pitch at half time, that this section was free. It wasn't.

oriel
15/06/2013, 4:46 PM
Remember going to the away uncovered terrace is entirely optional for most away fans in oriel pk. There would have been more seats made available for those wanting to spend an extra fiver. €15 ticket. I don't think all would have been accommodated but most probably could have been.

I would have taken that option if I was an away fan. In saying that i would much prefer if the away terrace was covered.

15/06/2013, 4:49 PM
It didn't stop there with first half action tho, but this time it was in the stand between the away support and local stewards and Gardai. Stewards opened the gate into the stand for the away supporters who were stuck on the terrace in the heavy rain and strong winds but had the stand blocked off four rows back which led to fans being squashed in together. All this while there was over seventy free seats behind in the away section of the seating area. It was a disturbing sight to witness ladies and gentlemen of an older age along with young children being subjected to this treatment. .....
.....Getting back to the disturbances in the stand, unfortunately it continued into the second half. Dundalk FC stewards along with local Gardai while viewing the uncomfortable scenes were adamant that barriers were not going to be removed to insure the safety of fans. This alone leaves a lot to be asked of the policing at grade 'A' games in this league.

Is this accurate?

Link: http://www.theloiblog.com/NewsStory.aspx?n=503

dundalkfc10
15/06/2013, 4:50 PM
Wrong !!

You cant come on, call every Dundalk poster wrong, without giving us an info on what occurred before the game, as you said something happened before kick off or your version of events during the game.

jinxy lilywhite
15/06/2013, 5:00 PM
Is this accurate?

Link: http://www.theloiblog.com/NewsStory.aspx?n=503
Half truth but there was no way 70 seats free. even some dlk fans in the stand sat on the steps where I was. The seating area in question were being occupied by children and their parents who were providing the HT entertainment. if seats were free then no more than 10 or 20 as other dlk fans would of had preference. Gutter journo's like this are blowing this way out of proportion. don't get me wrong this is serious and a full investigation should take place to establish what exactly happened and also to avoid something like this happening again. and seriously the cry about elderly, women and children ffs

desaintsno.12
15/06/2013, 5:20 PM
The only spinning going on is the attempt to link the unfortunate accident with the stewards.

There is no way the gate should have been opened, I said so to a steward at the time. The real problem started when the Pats fans tried to take the seats of the kids who were providing the half time entertainment.

Someone is trying to spread the myth that just because those kids temporarily vacated their seats to play on the pitch at half time, that this section was free. It wasn't.

I said the issues started before kick off
And their was loads of empty seats in the stand behind our section before kick off when over crowding had started and pats fans were instructed to sit on the steps. Clearly the amount of tickets sold for our section was not tracked and they sold too many.
I'm not getting into a tit for tat. As I said I was in the away section from before kick off when the very poor stewarding/safety/matchday organising (whatever you want to call it) started along with a brutal attitude by stewards and ineptitude of the two Garda that turned up and looked totally stunned and incapable of responding to the obvious situation developing

White Horse
15/06/2013, 5:44 PM
Half truth but there was no way 70 seats free. even some dlk fans in the stand sat on the steps where I was. The seating area in question were being occupied by children and their parents who were providing the HT entertainment. if seats were free then no more than 10 or 20 as other dlk fans would of had preference. Gutter journo's like this are blowing this way out of proportion. don't get me wrong this is serious and a full investigation should take place to establish what exactly happened and also to avoid something like this happening again. and seriously the cry about elderly, women and children ffs

There were some free seats, amongst the many children who were already sitting there.

What did the eejit who wrote that article want, to have ultras sitting amongst some children as young as 4 or 5?

I echo the comments of several Dundalk fans. This should be investigated.

But can those few Pats fans and self styled bloggers please stop insulting and judging unpaid volunteer stewards.

Ezeikial
15/06/2013, 5:49 PM

That could be a liberal description of the author of the loiblog.com piece - I think that the writer, John Doyle, is first and foremost a Pats fan. It could also be pure coincidence that a John Doyle was tweeting in outrage to other Pats fans during the course of the evening.

That said, he has every right to raise these issues - they just should not be assumed to be impartial

15/06/2013, 6:00 PM
So to summarise everything I've read thus far: a group of rowdy, possibly inebriated Pats-supporting children and elderly people were allowed into the home stand by benevolent but grossly-negligent Dundalk stewards, who then refused to allow said fans sit on seats as they were holding them for the kids who play at half time, but also because they're *******s. Right so.

White Horse
15/06/2013, 6:08 PM
So to summarise everything I've read thus far: a group of rowdy, possibly inebriated Pats-supporting children and elderly people were allowed into the home stand by benevolent but grossly-negligent Dundalk stewards, who then refused to allow said fans sit on seats as they were holding them for the kids who play at half time, but also because they're *******s. Right so.

You make it sound so clear.

Are you a journalist ;)

Ezeikial
15/06/2013, 6:10 PM
I said the issues started before kick off
And their was loads of empty seats in the stand behind our section before kick off when over crowding had started and pats fans were instructed to sit on the steps. Clearly the amount of tickets sold for our section was not tracked and they sold too many.
I'm not getting into a tit for tat. As I said I was in the away section from before kick off when the very poor stewarding/safety/matchday organising (whatever you want to call it) started along with a brutal attitude by stewards and ineptitude of the two Garda that turned up and looked totally stunned and incapable of responding to the obvious situation developing

You made 6 posts before this without giving any clear details (except maybe that you were upset with the music on the P.A. at the end of the match!) - then you follow with these false allegations in this post!

There was no overcrowding in the stand prior to kick-off. There is no question that too many stand tickets were sold.

The problem of over-croiowding occurred during the first half of the match when terrace ticket holders were let in to the stand when the rain got heavy.

15/06/2013, 6:13 PM
You make it sound so clear.

Are you a journalist ;)
I think I could make it!

desaintsno.12
15/06/2013, 6:40 PM
You made 6 posts before this without giving any clear details (except maybe that you were upset with the music on the P.A. at the end of the match!) - then you follow with these false allegations in this post!

There was no overcrowding in the stand prior to kick-off. There is no question that too many stand tickets were sold.

The problem of over-croiowding occurred during the first half of the match when terrace ticket holders were let in to the stand when the rain got heavy.

I didn't make false accusations you just have though. Over crowding happened before kick off. Do you think people were sitting on the steps instead of chairs for a laugh ? Cop yourself on, you clearly didn't see the pats section at kick off

White Horse
15/06/2013, 6:58 PM
UCD 1 up against Sligo already.

15/06/2013, 7:02 PM
What a crazy season this is turning into in the Premier. And Roddy hasn't even arrived yet!

jinxy lilywhite
15/06/2013, 7:21 PM
1-1 now

15/06/2013, 7:24 PM
I didn't make false accusations you just have though. Over crowding happened before kick off. Do you think people were sitting on the steps instead of chairs for a laugh ? Cop yourself on, you clearly didn't see the pats section at kick off

I did as i was standing in the tunnel in to that area at k.o. There was no overcrowding, some choose to move in to the aisles and stairway to improve their view of the Carrick end goal. They should have been moved to their seats but can you imagine the outrage if asked to do so.
I moved later on so didnt see the accident but I hope the gentleman who was injured makes a full and speedy recovery but there is nothing to suggest a connection between the various incidents. He is not the first and wont be the last person who has fallen in a football ground where there are multiple unavoidable trip hazzards eg steps!

As for overcrowding, in events like these there are usually numerous contributing factors, the weather, poor decision making by authorities, inadaquate stewerding, not insisting that people take their allocated seats, apparent vacant areas that were already designated to schoolboys, match incidents that create irrate supporters like a sending off and a scoreline, excessive drinking prematch. Lessons will be learned and it is highly unlikely that a repeat of events will occur as simply no matter what the conditions are like people will no longer be allowed enter the stand without a stand ticket. It is unfortunate that sombody recognising the horrible conditions that aways supporters were standing that they compassionately let them in to a covered area and it seriously backfired on them.

As an aside i have regularily seen fans crowd in practically on top of eachother when seats are available. The shed in Oriel for example if everyone in that area stood in individual spaces behind the seats it would fill the terrace but they choose to crowd in on top of each other - each to their own i suppose but i like a bit of space around me!

15/06/2013, 8:46 PM
Finished 5-2 Sligo. The only thing UCD love more than scoring goals is conceding goals. Martin Russell is the Irish Kevin Keegan.

15/06/2013, 9:06 PM
Great read lads.

16/06/2013, 12:05 AM
Finished 5-2 Sligo. The only thing UCD love more than scoring goals is conceding goals. Martin Russell is the Irish Kevin Keegan.
Or Ossie Ardiles. Best value team in the league by a distance. Even scored one for Sligo tonight just to help them along.

Well on course for a ton down this season. :(

red bellied
16/06/2013, 12:59 AM
Not the first time there was an accident in the main stand in Oriel on the steps, was talking to a man tonight who spent a week in Drogheda hospital because of it.

Señor Willy
16/06/2013, 1:16 AM
Lads, an unbelievable read. What the **** are ye doing like? If you are so adamant something wrong happened say it and prove It. The carry on out of some of ye is crazy. Like desaints or whatever you are called, you have one function in this argument. Stirring. No story. No events or account but every bad word to say. You should **** off out of here and Im not even involved in Pats or dundalk. Ye are disgracing LOI on here. Discuss it properly or dont bother discussing it.

Sean South
16/06/2013, 7:14 AM
Lads, an unbelievable read. What the **** are ye doing like? If you are so adamant something wrong happened say it and prove It. The carry on out of some of ye is crazy. Like desaints or whatever you are called, you have one function in this argument. Stirring. No story. No events or account but every bad word to say. You should **** off out of here and Im not even involved in Pats or dundalk. Ye are disgracing LOI on here. Discuss it properly or dont bother discussing it.

This. From reading here and other sites I'm not sure what Dundalk security did except not let Pats fans out of the ground straight after the game but this is standard practise. Lots of comments that security were c***s etc but not one saying what they did? Talk of a boycott from some Saints fans too. Hope the young lad makes a speedy recovery

Ezeikial
16/06/2013, 8:59 AM
Talk of a boycott from some Saints fans too.

Its amazing how quickly Pats fans have started to mimic Shamrock Rovers finest since they went top of the table

Attacking fences, abusing stewards, being victims, spitting out the dummy when beaten.......and now a boycott.

What next?

White Horse
16/06/2013, 9:03 AM
Its amazing how quickly Pats fans have started to mimic Shamrock Rovers finest since they went top of the table

But not the brollies though.

Pity, that would have averted all of this.

danthesaint
16/06/2013, 10:06 AM

Attacking fences, abusing stewards, being victims, spitting out the dummy when beaten.......and now a boycott.

What next?

Sorry, what are you talking about? This has nothing to do with football, its not like we have not had run in's with Dundalk stewards before....:rolleyes:

El-Pietro
16/06/2013, 10:39 AM
Well on course for a ton down this season. :(
No you're not.

You've played 18 of your 33 games, and conceded 46 goals. You are on course to concede 84.3 goals.

poster
16/06/2013, 11:35 AM
So that's that cleared up anyway...:dazed:

ATFC-1887
16/06/2013, 11:51 AM
Off twitter, from the Athlone fans:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BMvn5DRCcAAqppT.jpg:large

Have been told LOngford made an official complaint with the FAI over our banner and are going to refuse all our singing crew into City Calling Stadium when we play there next. Shower of bitter *******

atfconline
16/06/2013, 11:55 AM
Two of their officials were having a heated discussion with some of our officials after it was walked down the stand during the game. Made the banner even better. :D

16/06/2013, 12:00 PM
No you're not.

You've played 18 of your 33 games, and conceded 46 goals. You are on course to concede 84.3 goals.
Add in another 11 Cup goals too.

And it's worse we're getting, not better. 19 in the last 4 games!

(But ok; I thought we'd played one or two fewer games than that)

ATFC-1887
16/06/2013, 12:00 PM
Yeh it was amazing the reaction we got :P

gormacha
16/06/2013, 12:16 PM
Whilst there has been some measured comments from a few people on this thread re the events at Oriel Park, I am left stunned at the tribalism on display from the majority of Dundalk supporters, who appear to be more concerned with making sure nothing bad is said about their club, its ground or any people associated with it. This is not true of all posters, but certainly many, most of whom now will interpret this post as another unwarranted attack on them, rather than actually stepping back a little and thinking about what happened.

Whilst the exact details are somewhat cloudy, what is clear is that there was a significant problem, which directly or indirectly lead to the serious injury of a fellow football supporter. Finding out why this happened should be everyone's concern, as but for the grace of God go any one of us.

I despise this aspect of football culture - that club allegiances stop many of us from asking the right questions about the conditions we are often forced to endure.

White Horse
16/06/2013, 12:22 PM
Whilst there has been some measured comments from a few people on this thread re the events at Oriel Park, I am left stunned at the tribalism on display from the majority of Dundalk supporters, who appear to be more concerned with making sure nothing bad is said about their club, its ground or any people associated with it. This is not true of all posters, but certainly many, most of whom now will interpret this post as another unwarranted attack on them, rather than actually stepping back a little and thinking about what happened.

Whilst the exact details are somewhat cloudy, what is clear is that there was a significant problem, which directly or indirectly lead to the serious injury of a fellow football supporter. Finding out why this happened should be everyone's concern, as but for the grace of God go any one of us.

I despise this aspect of football culture - that club allegiances stop many of us from asking the right questions about the conditions we are often forced to endure.

There was a concerted attempted to condemn unpaid volunteer stewards.

No facts or evidence were offered.

Dundalk fans will not stand idly by while these people are vilified without any evidence being offered.

Every Dundalk fan has called for the circumstances surrounding the unfortunate injury sustained by the Pat's fan to be investigated.

Ezeikial
16/06/2013, 1:16 PM

In general this is very true and this blind club allegiance can be very limiting.

However in this case, the allegations being made have been woefully short on specifics and have unfairly linked the accident with wild accusations about stewarding.

There are lessons to be learned from what happened in Oriel on Friday but hardly from the bile and nonsense that has been tweeted and raised here by some Pats fans so far.

When unreasonable accusations are made, it is natural and normal to rebut them

El-Pietro
16/06/2013, 1:38 PM
Add in another 11 Cup goals too.

And it's worse we're getting, not better. 19 in the last 4 games!

(But ok; I thought we'd played one or two fewer games than that)
4-0 defeat to St. Pats and a 3-2 defeat to Bohs.
so 53 goals in 20 games. That would be 92.75 goals in your 35 games this season. Unless you want me to include the LSC? Thats three more goals in two extra games, 55 in 22... brings you down to 92.5 goals.

As for getting worse, tough to say, Derry put 6 past you in your second league game. The last 5 weeks have been horrible though, conceding 21 goals in 5 games including 5 against Bray.... can't imagine you'll keep that sort of record up. Prior to that, in the middle part of the season so far ye did ok, couple of wins and clean sheets even.

Plus ye have Dave McMillan. Hes quality. Would love if he played for us.

edit: where are you getting 19 in 4 games? Extratime says your last four results are (in reverse order)
Sligo 5-2
Bray 5-4
Shels 2-1
Pats 4-0
Thats 16 goals in 4.
did you forget Shels and include the other Pats game (5-0)

16/06/2013, 1:45 PM
Whoops; yeah, forgot the Shels game (cos I wasn't at it). I was including the LSC alright, though might have the results wrong (2-1 win and a 2-1 defeat?) partly cos it's the LSC.

Up front, we're grand (only the top three have scored more), and McMillan and Benson are a great partnership. We've a new keeper who seems decent, but we give the ball away something horrific at times. When we attack, we're actually great to watch. If we had a defence, we could be a seriously decent team. Our four wins (Rovers, Dundalk, Derry and Bohs) were in part on the back of really resilient defensive performances; that's vanished the last few weeks, which is why I say we're getting worse. We're much more confident than earlier in the season, when we had one point from 9 games or something stupid like that.

I suppose we have to hope that we stay up (duh) and that either Bohs/Bray/Shels go down (looks likely if we stay up), cos then at least that'll be us slightly less likely to lose players.

The Lilywhites
16/06/2013, 1:54 PM

Have to say some of their post match antics were Rovers style alright, trying to thump stewards and wrecking a fence. Not exactly sure what they were trying to achieve by taking on the fence!

ATFC-1887
16/06/2013, 2:12 PM
Have to say some of their post match antics were Rovers style alright, trying to thump stewards and wrecking a fence. Not exactly sure what they were trying to achieve by taking on the fence!
Those fences in Oriel are awful intimidating. Was looking at me wrong last time i was there. I can definitely see why Pats fans attacked it.

Cuyahoga
16/06/2013, 2:15 PM
Ah Sligo fans are not that bad !

jinxy lilywhite
16/06/2013, 2:22 PM

actually I think you are entirely wrong here. This incident is being blown out of all proportion from the st. pats fans whoever they are and also they do not tell us their version of events. I gave mine in a previous post to which from what I saw from my seat. I was in the stand and saw what I saw no need to lie or tell untruths just to protect the club. I do call for a full investigation to take place so this does not occur again as this could of been a hell of a lot worse and instead of someone being injured it could of been fatal but I also am critical of an loi blog gutter article that is also blowing the incident out of all proportion and also claiming that there was 70 seats free which is likely to be not true. I believe that DFC board and matchday committee will review all aspects of Fridays game and get to the bottom of the incident and put action plans in order to ensure that this doesn't happen again. I am quite certain also that other supporters have fallen in other grounds too but since it is so called "old oriel park" everyone else has a gripe about it. accidents happen. it is unfortunate but they do happen

Town Legend
16/06/2013, 3:45 PM
Two of their officials were having a heated discussion with some of our officials after it was walked down the stand during the game. Made the banner even better. :D

If you cared to listen what's read out before every LOI game you'll know why a complaint was put in. Also they didn't walk through the stand, they stood in front of the Town fans while the game was on blocking views of spectators before deciding to move on....and they did this two or three times!!

16/06/2013, 5:26 PM
If you cared to listen what's read out before every LOI game you'll know why a complaint was put in. Also they didn't walk through the stand, they stood in front of the Town fans while the game was on blocking views of spectators before deciding to move on....and they did this two or three times!!

Personally I couldnt give a sh1te about what was on the banner but the stewards should not have allowed it to be paraded around in front of the away fans and as Town legend said block our view of the game. Had it been a different set of supporters it could have started some serious trouble and that's all I'd have to say about it.

16/06/2013, 5:41 PM
Before people jump on Jinxy the 'incident' he refers to as being blown out of proportion i doubt is the injury to the fan which is up there with the worst i have heard about happening to a supporter after taking a tumble (not inflicted by someone else) in any ground LoI, EPL, or Internationals.

What is being blown out of proportion is the 'overcrowding' whens and wheres and the empty space claimed to be available, and behaviour of stewards and police. I may change my mind when facts are presented upon investigation and may become just as outraged as Pats fans seem to be now. I shall wait and see.

I was lucky myself in Croke Park as i fell trying not to drop my overpriced hot-dog and tea, i slipped and went down half dozen steps, hurt like hell but just a few bruizes and a seriously damaged hotdog. The steps in the stand were modified just a few years back due to licencing criteria too.

Sean South
16/06/2013, 8:12 PM

Oh my god. Please stay away from all football grounds. I found it funny and it's no where as offensive as some of the stuff over the years around grounds here. As for blocking your view. Why not just take if off them?