View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Georgia - Sunday, 2nd June, 2013 - Friendly

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

02/06/2013, 4:58 PM
That will kind of ruin what was already a poor game I think (probably) but we won't learn much playing against 10 men.

The ref should not have sent him off, it was not a goal scoring opportunity as despite being fast Long
was never gonna keep that one in.

Decent free kick.

DannyInvincible
02/06/2013, 4:59 PM
Ha, the extra pounds certainly not stunting his sharpness. Good save from McClean's free-kick.

SwanVsDalton
02/06/2013, 5:00 PM
Did any of you guys see Silver Linings playbook? McShane looks exactly like that actor who plays the cop. He was also in Thin Red Line and the Romeo and Juliet with Leo Dicaprio. No who i mean?

Good shout. Dash Mihok: http://m.imdb.com/name/nm0005231/

Common sense should've reigned there, keep it 11v11. Georgia's keeper off doesn't do anyone any favours. Also bloody awful touch from Long, was going straight out for a goal kick.

02/06/2013, 5:00 PM
Does the last ten mins typify Long? Super payer, but doesn't take enough of his good chances.

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 5:01 PM
Long is looking like a young Thierry Henry.

02/06/2013, 5:02 PM
http://application.denofgeek.com/pics/tv/dara/01.jpg
Georgian Coach Temuri Ketsbaia

http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/h3UGymof_ZA/hqdefault.jpg
Dara O'Briain

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/05/13/article-1181326-04DBAB5D000005DC-77_306x423.jpg
Georgian Coach Temuri Ketsbaia

The two have never been seen together giving rise to suspicions (amongst some, or at least one) that they are indeed the same person.

SwanVsDalton
02/06/2013, 5:03 PM
That two footed lunge was more of a sending off than the GK. Long should have two, could have a hat-trick. Great technique on the volley. But need him more clinical.

Yard of Pace
The Georgia coach has jeans on. Love it.

Looks like he's saved time and is dressed for post-match pints of Heino in Doheny & Nesbitts already.

Crosby87
What is everyone snacking on? Should I make nachos?

02/06/2013, 5:05 PM
Is Simon Cox even playing?

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 5:06 PM
Playing with himself ironically.

02/06/2013, 5:11 PM
Hoolahan actually likes having the ball.

Yard of Pace
02/06/2013, 5:14 PM
McCarthy really needs to cut out that bad habit of under-hitting passes across the front of his own box. He did it for Wigan recently. Reminds me of that horrible goal we gave away back in the early 80s/late 70s in an important qualifier...

Paddy Garcia
02/06/2013, 5:15 PM

Agree - wonder what Whelan makes of that!

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 5:17 PM
What subs is Trap likely to make?

DannyInvincible

He's just so slick and comfortable on the ball as he sprays it around the midfield. Contrasts starkly with lugger Whelan in possession.

Some of our general passing has been exceptionally poor, mind.

Paddy Garcia
Great free kick................

DannyInvincible
02/06/2013, 5:18 PM
Richard Keogh! 1-0!

Well I guess that makes up for his earlier mistake.

Crosby87
and the announcer says "not good goalkeeping, that." :)

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 5:20 PM
McCarthys hair seems to be darkening.

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 5:22 PM
why in the world would he say they should bring off shane long?

Paddy Garcia
02/06/2013, 5:22 PM
Jeez - McShane - he actually does not look like a footballer!

02/06/2013, 5:23 PM
Worst step over in football history?

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 5:25 PM
He also kind of looks like Boggs from Shawshank who tried to invade Andy.

DannyInvincible
02/06/2013, 5:26 PM
It was so laboured, it nearly fooled the defender.

02/06/2013, 5:26 PM
McCarthy really needs to cut out that bad habit of under-hitting passes across the front of his own box. He did it for Wigan recently. Reminds me of that horrible goal we gave away back in the early 80s/late 70s in an important qualifier...

That is pretty criminal stuff, can't stand players who do that, it's a bad habit and eventually leads to the horrible goal you mention.
It's just asking for trouble,"if in doubt hoof it out". (that actually rhymes!!).

rebelmusic
02/06/2013, 5:28 PM
McShane's stepover has been the most entertaining part of this match. The guy is a center-half and that is it, should never play in any other position.

This could be a fun game to watch if Keogh, McShane and Cox come off and he brings on Coleman, McGeady and replaces Cox with a MF to allow Hoolahan to play in the hole. We'll see sure, but i think he'll sub the players we don't want him to. Keogh and McShane just shouldnt be let near this team in those positions...and i really don't rate Cox at all. Way better options in Walters, Keane and Long

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 5:28 PM
Matt Hollands analysis.

02/06/2013, 5:29 PM
Cox and Keogh passengers. Hoolahan better than Whelan even in a role that under utilises him. McClean lacking quality. Not fussed about back 4 or McShane not being Cafu. All doing Ok despite a pass by R. Keogh I'd have been embarrassed to make. Trap could make changes that could kill this game off but he won't see what needs to be done. Our right side is redundant and Georgia knows it.

Yard of Pace
02/06/2013, 5:34 PM
That is pretty criminal stuff, can't stand players who do that, it's a bad habit and eventually leads to the horrible goal you mention.
It's just asking for trouble,"if in doubt hoof it out". (that actually rhymes!!).

What game was it, tricky? It's annoying me now. I think Giles was in charge...?

rebelmusic
02/06/2013, 5:36 PM
You know i really think Trap should think about his job and see that's there's nothing left to learn from this game really with them down to 10 men. He should bring on the best attacking setup and just hammer them for the rest of it. It would be a good mindset to the get the team into before the Faroes game because our group could very very likely come down to Goal difference, and next Fridays the last chance for us to get a decent number on the scoreboard....arhrgrhg

DannyInvincible
02/06/2013, 5:41 PM
Good run and dangerous ball in by McClean. Not sure what the keeper was trying to do...

02/06/2013, 5:41 PM
2-0 made in Hoolaland, good finish from Cox, thought he put it in the side netting at first.

02/06/2013, 5:44 PM
What game was it, tricky? It's annoying me now. I think Giles was in charge...?

I don't know, I assumed you did, but I know exactly what you mean, I am not sure if Roy Keane did one once, I am sure he
did? In a major championship??

Paddy Garcia
02/06/2013, 5:46 PM

Away game - we were either 3 nil up or 3-1 up with 10 mins to go and it ended 3-3. I think it was Norway or similar!

02/06/2013, 5:48 PM
I'm at forbidden fruit lads.

Can ye summarise?

DannyInvincible
02/06/2013, 5:54 PM
Hoolahan's mobility is a real breath of fresh air. Some great passing and movement from him. He's even won a few balls. As Stutts highlighted, he's doing a better job than Whelan in Whelan's position.

02/06/2013, 5:56 PM
McClean puts some real poor balls in sometimes, does not get enough height on them, a bad habit.

02/06/2013, 6:00 PM
Long should have 5 by now. That last miss was a bit like a miss against Austria. Costly it was too.

Paddy Garcia
02/06/2013, 6:07 PM
Hoolahan's mobility is a real breath of fresh air. Some great passing and movement from him. He's even won a few balls. As Stutts highlighted, he's doing a better job than Whelan in Whelan's position.

I feel bad for all the years we (& he!) have missed out.

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 6:07 PM
I'm at forbidden fruit lads.

Can ye summarise?

Long got stopped on a breakaway early, their keeper got kicked out early. Keough scored on a header.

02/06/2013, 6:09 PM
Is there a babel fish app to translate American soccer talk?

Paddy Garcia
02/06/2013, 6:09 PM
keane 3-0

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 6:10 PM
Keano. McG needs to do more of that.

DannyInvincible
02/06/2013, 6:10 PM
3-0. Robbie adds another to his tally.

02/06/2013, 6:14 PM
Sammon reminds me of me. So uncoordinated he's actually dangerous to the opposition's health.

Crosby87
02/06/2013, 6:17 PM
I'll second that. And he's moody like you too.

And the burning question that will surely be on the front page of all the world's newspapers monday morning:
Where does Georgia go from here?

02/06/2013, 6:21 PM
Nice play by Hendrick

02/06/2013, 6:23 PM
Call me an old curmudgeon, but have we ever won 4-0 so unimpressively?