View Full Version : LOI Series 14 & 11 Premier & First Division fixtures.
Comic Book Guy
18/05/2013, 8:46 AM
That Pat's strip is very nice alright, claret and blue?? You can't go wrong there!
adamd164
18/05/2013, 10:29 AM
Just heard Tommy Dunne's post-match interview. What a spoofer! One week it's the attack that's our problem, the next it's the midfield, then the goalkeeper, now the defence! He doesn't know who to shift the blame to at this stage.
oriel
18/05/2013, 10:35 AM
Who would your/fans choice be as a replacement ?
adamd164
18/05/2013, 10:38 AM
Who would your/fans choice be as a replacement ?
Often (usually?) when a manager gets fired the club don't have a replacement already lined up, they call for applications and give the assistant or one of the backroom staff the job in the meantime. I don't see what's wrong with that approach. I'd sooner the whole process was carefully done.
There are a few people I'd like to see get the job, some who'd cost more and some who'd probably be cheaper. Cheap option - our u19s coach has won back to back titles at that level. More expensive would be someone like Pat Dolan, would be a long shot though.
18/05/2013, 10:55 AM
Big win for Derry last night, more dropped points would have seen us fold I reckon.
Value of having a player like Patterson in your side, never afraid to take the responsibility on to drag his team out of the mess they have put themselves in.
Dalymountrower
18/05/2013, 11:31 AM
Last nights display by Doyle shows why a fan of a club shouldn`t referee one of their games. Ultimately a Ref is a judge, so where here is a conflict of interest he should either recuse himself or not be assigned .
Anyway, enjoyable game from a Bohs perspective, bar the penalty gift from Doyle. Was fearing a hammering with our two centre-halves and centre forward missing.
Great to see young lads like Murray and Mulligan destroy the likes of Mc Cormack. Rovers doing a lot of hoofing with Barry Murphy`s kick outs and soft frees being their attacking platform. League mid-table position about right for them. Dont know how Rovers fans can say they are going in the right direction!This crop look as disinterested as Kenny`s team last year.
It`s a pity we can`t raise our game like that for other fixtures
adamd164
18/05/2013, 12:54 PM
Waterford manager Paul O'Brien resigns:
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10302/obrien-resigns-as-waterford-united-manager/ (http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10302/obrien-resigns-as-waterford-united-manager/#.UZd5lYaGC84.facebook)
Gareth
18/05/2013, 1:18 PM
We had a wee fight with the server last night - host technical issues that were out of our control - happily resolved. It is uncanny though that when Extratime went down, the lack of scoring information on other sites as they seemed to simultaneously lose touch with their sources at the game too. Uncanny.
redobit
18/05/2013, 2:13 PM
Good game of ball on a poor pitch in Finn Park tonight. Mervue are certainly no pushovers, really good team, well drilled. Johnny Glynn doing great work there this season.
Watched by Ian Barraclough and Gary Stevens, supposedly watching Ryan Manning. Scouts there from Blackburn and Bolton too.
Harps starting to show a bit of form however, and contender for goal of the season by Sean McCarron, and save of the season by Ciaran Gallagher.
It's nice to be sitting second in the table and chasing down Longford only 1 point behind after being 7 points behind them two weeks ago.
We play Mervue in the League Cup on Monday, could be it either.
Sidefx
18/05/2013, 2:30 PM
Couple of glorious pics. Fck you Neil Doyle!
http://cdn1.independent.ie/incoming/article29275979.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/750518.jpg
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF989/750599.jpg
Brilliant! ;)
18/05/2013, 3:35 PM
Well it is Shams stadium they just dont own it...!!
http://i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/original/000/131/399/fry.PNG?1307468855
18/05/2013, 3:46 PM
Watched by Ian Barraclough and Gary Stevens, supposedly watching Ryan Manning.
Scouts there from Blackburn and Bolton too.
Baraclough and Stevens were the to watch Mervue for their League Cup game.
Bolton and Blackburn scouts were there to watch Manning but left interested in another player.
Derry were represented there last night too watching us.
Not a great game to see but I'll take poor 1-0 wins all season if it means getting out of this division.
Manager merry go round watch.
After tonight-
Managers under pressure.And in no order;
Paul O'Brien Waterford Utd.
Trevor Croly Shamrock Rovers
Tommy Dunne Cork City
And sure we'll stick in Cooke too for the laugh
Mick Cooke Drogheda United.
Paul O'Brien is gone now. He resigned today after a dreadful start to the season which sees us 3rd from bottom of the division. He had to go.
Who is next on your list to go?
placid casual
18/05/2013, 4:49 PM
latest news from the Rovers AGM today so far is....
At least 2 board members have walked away after allegations of european money being trousered.
Croly to be gone after dundalk lc game, to be replaced by .....alan mathews.
Club made a loss of €247k last year, and some players are to be offloaded in july as a cost cuting measure.
aston villa friendly in jeopardy as villa want payment to play upfront, and Rovers not in a position to comply
18/05/2013, 5:11 PM
At least 2 board members have walked away after allegations of european money being trousered.
Club made a loss of €247k last year, and some players are to be offloaded in july as a cost cuting measure.
aston villa friendly in jeopardy as villa want payment to play upfront, and Rovers not in a position to comply
This staying for the amusement value, but normal rules apply as regard citing sources(or lack there of)
bullit
18/05/2013, 5:19 PM
sligo v dundalk called off
White Horse
18/05/2013, 5:24 PM
sligo v dundalk called off
Long drive home. #wouldnthappeninoriel.
Nice try.
18/05/2013, 5:43 PM
Pity with such a good travelling crowd en-route
Fivesilver
18/05/2013, 5:55 PM
I genuinely feel for the travelling fans. But please lay off the idea that this means it'd be preferable for everyone to play on artificial surfaces. I'd natural to want to defend Oriel if it's your home ground, but football, whenever possible, should be played on grass.
18/05/2013, 6:05 PM
I've played on Astro that its rained so heavily on that there was loads of surface water and it had to be abandoned.
White Horse
18/05/2013, 6:22 PM
I've played on Astro that its rained so heavily on that there was loads of surface water and it had to be abandoned.
I've seen badly drained astro pitches like that too.
Football turf 2 star pitches like ours are better designed with superior draining though.
However, even they can flood. Hasn't happened to ours yet.
I genuinely feel for the travelling fans. But please lay off the idea that this means it'd be preferable for everyone to play on artificial surfaces. I'd natural to want to defend Oriel if it's your home ground, but football, whenever possible, should be played on grass.
This is not the issue, the point is a decision should have been made at lot earlier than less than 2 hours before the game.
I think 2 or 3 buses were already en route, probably there at that stage, no one has control over the elements but its naturally very disappointing for those who travelled over.
Plus will only be a very limited support going over the re-arranged match, almost certainly to be played mid week.
Also I'm no fan of our pitch, clue in my signature, but the other point remains, the game would have gone ahead in Oriel Pk, I believe only very high levels of snow and severe ice at -5 or more can call a game off on that surface, but its still not my cup of tea #justsaying
White Horse
18/05/2013, 6:40 PM
This is not the issue, the point is a decision should have been made at lot earlier than less than 2 hours before the game.
I think 2 or 3 buses were already en route, probably there at that stage, no one has control over the elements but its naturally very disappointing for those who travelled over.
Plus will only be a very limited support going over the re-arranged match, almost certainly to be played mid week.
A lot of the fans on the way home would like to know how a pitch can't handle a bit of rain in May.
How many football matches in England are called off in May?
Fivesilver
18/05/2013, 6:40 PM
I don't disagree with a single word of that. It was the 'wouldn't happen in Oriel' comment I was responding to.
I'm also a very long way from Sligo. I'm curious as to what the weather was like there today, as it's extremely unusual for a game to be called off in the Showgrounds.
The Hibs - Dundee game was in major doubt until close to kickoff today as well and you can bet there's more money spent on that than on any LOI ground. It sucks, but postponements happen.
18/05/2013, 7:14 PM
Long drive home. #wouldnthappeninoriel.
Well, obviously, you'd have a short drive home. Doh.
18/05/2013, 7:21 PM
4-0 Town half time. Could have been six or seven. Cobh are wide open at the back.
18/05/2013, 7:37 PM
Postponements do suck. I took a trip home from England to coincide with this match. There was a lot of optimism going in to this game with an estimated 300 or so fans travelling. As said a re-arranged match just wont be the same. With this in mind cut us lilywhites a bit of slack and allow us a few grumbles. Had the option of a visit to the Aviva myself today instead...
redarmyfaction
18/05/2013, 7:42 PM
Torrential rain here all day, water sat on the pitch., nobody there control the weather.
18/05/2013, 7:47 PM
very unusual sligo game called off and our game went ahead and theres 57 miles of a difference?
Fester
18/05/2013, 7:48 PM
Currently Longford 4 - 1 Cobh
Fester
18/05/2013, 8:38 PM
Longford 5 v 1 Cobh FT
18/05/2013, 8:45 PM
very unusual sligo game called off and our game went ahead and theres 57 miles of a difference?
Hardly any rain in Longford all day
18/05/2013, 11:29 PM
Hardly any rain in Longford all day
It rained goals on Cobh's parade :)
adamd164
19/05/2013, 12:21 AM
Longford edging ahead slightly again. Either Harps or them would be a welcome addition to the PD if they were to go up. Mervue still in 3rd.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/05/2013, 1:09 AM
Also I'm no fan of our pitch, clue in my signature, but the other point remains, the game would have gone ahead in Oriel Pk, I believe only very high levels of snow and severe ice at -5 or more can call a game off on that surface, but its still not my cup of tea #justsaying
So if the pitch was playable 4 hours beforehand, the game should have gone ahead no matter what state it was 2 hours beforehand?
19/05/2013, 1:20 AM
Back when games in Dublin were called off due to torrential rain, the game in Sligo went ahead without a problem. It's a good surface there but sometimes in a country like Ireland games just get rained out. It's nobody's fault - we just don't have retractable roofs, undersoil heating and advanced drainage systems in this league.
dundalkfc10
19/05/2013, 3:26 AM
What a waste of a journey, game redixed will hurt Sligo more than us, 300 approx travelling crowd will be reduced to less than 50..
Bus journey on way home was best craic ever, every Dundalk song down the years was sung
Tell all the Bohs you know, that Gary Haylock is better than Crowee
Trainee
19/05/2013, 10:40 AM
It depends when the rain comes if the rain is the night before the game then the should be called off early, but away fans can get unlucky I remember going to Drogheda and it was lovely till we got to Drogheda but the rain was unreal and game was called off when bus pulled up at the ground or when we played Dundalk at home teams warmed up on pitch and when teams went into dressing rooms it starting lashing rain and when teams went come out for game pitch was unplayable.
Thank god for Summer soccer as how much worse would it be in Winter
poster
19/05/2013, 11:14 AM
Up to the ref. Pitches are given the best chance to recover they can be given, so decisions are usually made just over an hour before ko.
If it's any consolation, Rovers fans have been victims of a few cancellations over the years. Longford in our first game back in the PD in '06 was called off 45 mins before ko - Bray a few years later was similar. We even went to Cork for a SSC game around '09 and had to be told by Gerry Carr as soon as we got there (took 5 1/2 hours) to turn straight back.
oriel
19/05/2013, 11:43 AM
So if the pitch was playable 4 hours beforehand, the game should have gone ahead no matter what state it was 2 hours beforehand?
Well seeing as it was raining non stop in most of the country and it was well forecast, I think a decision could have been made a lot earlier to call the game off, as it was obvious the weather wasn't going to improve. 4pm would have been good notice, not just for the away fans.
19/05/2013, 11:52 AM
Well seeing as it was raining non stop in most of the country and it was well forecast, I think a decision could have been made a lot earlier to call the game off, as it was obvious the weather wasn't going to improve. 4pm would have been good notice, not just for the away fans.
So you are now advocating that we call off every single match where it rains for the whole day on the day of the game, and it is forecast to keep raining? Ludicrous.
Poster has made a reasonable assessment of what happened. It has happened to us all, it is frustrating, we get that.
monkey9
19/05/2013, 12:08 PM
What are Dundalk fans complaining about? Look on the bright side, they were able to get out of Louth for a couple of hours.
red bellied
19/05/2013, 12:17 PM
First game called off in Showgrounds in over 10 years.
Spudulika
19/05/2013, 12:18 PM
What are Dundalk fans complaining about? Look on the bright side, they were able to get out of Louth for a couple of hours.
Hold on, it was in Sligo, they'd have been better off having forced castration!
Says the Dub!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/05/2013, 4:01 PM
We just want as few away fans from Louth in the ground after the last crowd that turned up......
White Horse
19/05/2013, 4:53 PM
We just want as few away fans from Louth in the ground after the last crowd that turned up......
The "last" crowd are from Meath. ;)
Disappointed to have to head home after such a long trip to the west coast.
However, Sligo are not responsible for the weather.