Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

SeanDrog
27/04/2013, 7:36 PM
Half time Sligo 0-1 Drogs

27/04/2013, 8:29 PM
Some mental scenes in Sligo.

Sligo Rovers 1 - 1 Drogheda United
68' - Red Card - It's look as if Gaynor has been sent off. There was a break in play with the steward down injured and the referee was talking to the Sligo players, and Gaynor is gone.

Sligo Rovers 1 - 1 Drogheda United
68' - A steward is down injured after the Drogheda fans went a bit mental when Sligo scored.

27/04/2013, 8:31 PM
More madness, it seems. Drogs fans going mental.
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/19102/1/

PartySaint
27/04/2013, 8:33 PM
Tweet from Gaynor

To the drogs fan u said he hopes my mum dies of cancer inbox me ur number so we can meet you inbread lukin **** !!

27/04/2013, 8:38 PM
Longford grab a 93rd minute winner against Salthill Devon to go 6 points clear in the First Division.

27/04/2013, 8:45 PM
Absolutely insane finish to the game in Sligo. Aaron Greene grabs a 90th minute goal, looks like victory. Drogheda score in the 95th minute.

And it's all over.

patrickccfc
27/04/2013, 8:47 PM
comments like that from the drogs fan have no place in football.. and he will get away with it, ridiculous.. crazy ending to the game

27/04/2013, 8:57 PM
Terrible result from our point of view. Sending off actually killed the game early. Just a matter of us trying to break down 10 behind the ball with Shels counter attacking. One of our poorest performances so far and lack of options on the bench killed us. Bossekota missed.

bullit
27/04/2013, 9:00 PM
Tweet was taken down by Gaynor.Think Gaynors brother plays for Drogheda u-19's ?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/04/2013, 9:05 PM
Crazy, crazy night.

Drogs fans fighting amongst themselves before the game even started (well it was lads fighting in the away section). And during the game itself till eventually the cops moved their arse in there.

Gaynor crossed for Elding equaliser and turned around and roared at the Drogs fans from about 15 yards away from them an loads of them run onto the pitch after him. Steward knocked to the ground. Ref then decides that Gaynor deserves a red for all of that. (Complete joke I think)

Then there's seems to be agro all over the far stand between Rovers fans and Drogs fans. Then you see some lad being chased behind the goals at the Volkswagen end.

Things didn't really calm down after that. Greene scores in the injury time and the place is going nuts. Then Rusk scores with the last kick and its like a morgue. Except for the third pitch invasion by the Drogs fans and one lad being turfed away by the stewards.

Both managers are up confronting the ref at the end.

Pure and utter mayhem all round.

Loved it.

27/04/2013, 9:12 PM
Town!!

redarmyfaction
27/04/2013, 9:12 PM
Drogheda had a bunch of wee Minks steamed drunk slobbering with the police outside Mooneys, invaded pitch hit a steward, some of them got in among the home crowd where they got quare clouts s, skinny wee student types I never seen such clowns.

bullit
27/04/2013, 9:18 PM
Gotcha ! Name and shame Drogs.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BI4volHCAAA4QIy.jpg:large

NeverFeltBetter
27/04/2013, 9:33 PM
I really doubt anyone would be able to identify that person.

27/04/2013, 9:40 PM
Ye wouldn't get out of Drogheda alive with shoes that fancy, must be undercover Dundalk fans out to cause trouble.

27/04/2013, 10:49 PM
I really doubt anyone would be able to identify that person.How about this one?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BI5INa8CEAALCyM.jpg:large

NeverFeltBetter
27/04/2013, 10:56 PM
God, everything about that guy - the look, the stride, the stupid scarf thing, the shirt - makes me dislike him.

dong
27/04/2013, 11:18 PM
Why is it almost acceptable at LoI grounds for fans to run onto the pitch whenever they want?

27/04/2013, 11:24 PM
That was a proper League of Ireland match. All that was missing was Mick O'Brien swinging outa the crossbar. Astonished by Drogs fans behaviour. In all the years, I've never seen any of them behave like that. Too much blood in the alcohol system?

bullit
27/04/2013, 11:32 PM
How about this one?

He should be charged with wearing a **** shirt in a public place for starters,and don't start me on the trainers ffs! :)

red bellied
28/04/2013, 12:08 AM
In fairness it shouldnt be too hard for the Guards to deal with 10-15 spottie teenagers. They are paid to do a job in the Showgrounds and they dont do it. There was an old hand at the end of the match, a Rovers steward who had one of them by the scruff of the neck who seemed to know what he was doing and led him acoss the pitch and out the gate, Guards were a joke.

28/04/2013, 12:18 AM
How about this one?

I'm pretty sure his name is Marcus Mumford. Should be easy to track down - cave man.

White Horse
28/04/2013, 4:40 AM
Crazy, crazy night.

Drogs fans fighting amongst themselves before the game even started (well it was lads fighting in the away section). And during the game itself till eventually the cops moved their arse in there.

Gaynor crossed for Elding equaliser and turned around and roared at the Drogs fans from about 15 yards away from them an loads of them run onto the pitch after him. Steward knocked to the ground. Ref then decides that Gaynor deserves a red for all of that. (Complete joke I think)

Then there's seems to be agro all over the far stand between Rovers fans and Drogs fans. Then you see some lad being chased behind the goals at the Volkswagen end.

Things didn't really calm down after that. Greene scores in the injury time and the place is going nuts. Then Rusk scores with the last kick and its like a morgue. Except for the third pitch invasion by the Drogs fans and one lad being turfed away by the stewards.

Both managers are up confronting the ref at the end.

Pure and utter mayhem all round.

Loved it.

First all, thanks to Drogheda for taking a point off Sligo. Now seven points behind the leaders. That is five points we've gained on Rovers in two weeks.

Its a great boost when a team below us help keep the league competitive.

As for the hooliganism, all clubs have their proportion of idiots. It's a bit more serious when stewards are attacked though. The league must be stronger about these incidents. This one is now the first this season and I've yet to hear of any repercussions for the one at the Cross, for example.

Clubs must be held accountable.

Ross Gaynor has taken undeserved and pathetic abuse from a small section of a Dundalk fans but even they would wince at the disgusting comment that was directed at him by a Drogheda fan. I know many Drogheda fans and they would all be disgusted too.

It reminded me of abuse Barry Keogh received at a game in Dublin in the 80's following a return to Dundalk following treatment for cancer. I won't mention the comment or the club but I have never been able to look favorably on that club since.

White Horse
28/04/2013, 5:26 AM
I'm pretty sure his name is Marcus Mumford. Should be easy to track down - cave man.

You mean Maahcus Mumfaahd?

harpin
28/04/2013, 7:47 AM
Gotcha ! Name and shame Drogs.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BI4volHCAAA4QIy.jpg:large

Fella on the left is a really good tapdancer

MiniMourinho
28/04/2013, 9:56 AM
In fairness it shouldnt be too hard for the Guards to deal with 10-15 spottie teenagers. They are paid to do a job in the Showgrounds and they dont do it. There was an old hand at the end of the match, a Rovers steward who had one of them by the scruff of the neck who seemed to know what he was doing and led him acoss the pitch and out the gate, Guards were a joke.

Have to say the stewards and guards were a joke. Most of these hooligans should have been lifted out after 5 minutes. And why did the stewards even let the 10-15 drunken 16 year olds in? It was so obvious that they were drunk!

But thats not the point! Sincere apologies to all Sligo fans and their club for the brainless behaviour of about 20 idiots who travelled from Drogheda. These are not our real supporters. In fact all of the drogs fans left the away terrace and abandoned these idiots after about 20 minutes. All i can say is there were loads of people as witnesses and the faces are known. I hope they get life bans.

Absolutely ruined what was probably one of the best end to end games of ball in the LOI this year. I missed so much of the game because of these knobs.

28/04/2013, 10:02 AM
Hilarious.

bullit
28/04/2013, 10:11 AM
Careful now,someone on boards.ie took your post as truth and thought you named the culprit :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=84363808&postcount=119

PartySaint
28/04/2013, 11:55 AM
First all, thanks to Drogheda for taking a point off Sligo.

Would you not have preferred if Sligo took 3 points off Drogs in your race for Europe?

White Horse
28/04/2013, 12:44 PM
Would you not have preferred if Sligo took 3 points off Drogs in your race for Europe?

That would have been my second choice. We have nothing to fear from Drogheda. They are beatable.

I don't want Sligo to pull away.

White Horse
28/04/2013, 12:45 PM
Have to say the stewards and guards were a joke. Most of these hooligans should have been lifted out after 5 minutes. And why did the stewards even let the 10-15 drunken 16 year olds in? It was so obvious that they were drunk!

But thats not the point! Sincere apologies to all Sligo fans and their club for the brainless behaviour of about 20 idiots who travelled from Drogheda. These are not our real supporters. In fact all of the drogs fans left the away terrace and abandoned these idiots after about 20 minutes. All i can say is there were loads of people as witnesses and the faces are known. I hope they get life bans.

Absolutely ruined what was probably one of the best end to end games of ball in the LOI this year. I missed so much of the game because of these knobs.

Classy post, MM.

I was speaking to a few Drogs this morning and they echoed your comments.

28/04/2013, 4:32 PM
Goals from our game on Friday -

fuuvKz-XHjM

28/04/2013, 4:33 PM
I don't want Sligo to pull away.Why? Dundalk aren't going to challenge for the league.

28/04/2013, 4:45 PM
Careful now,someone on boards.ie took your post as truth and thought you named the culprit :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=84363808&postcount=119

Ha! Deadly! :D

White Horse
28/04/2013, 4:51 PM
Why? Dundalk aren't going to challenge for the league.

That is the sort of arrogance I'd expect from the other Rovers.

Fivesilver
28/04/2013, 6:10 PM
Fair play to Drogheda chairman Jim Agnew. Not making any allowances or excuses, not looking to lay the blame anywhere other than on those scumbags. Credit where it's due. I wonder if his response will be taken into account on Gaynor - or is that going to depend entirely on the report from that attention-craving flute Buttimer?

http://utv.vo.llnwd.net/o16/LMFM/2013/04/28/2604DroghedaUnitedpod.mp3

monkey9
28/04/2013, 6:12 PM
Was Gaynor shown a straight red? Surely celebrating in front of the fans and provoking them is worth just a yellow?

28/04/2013, 6:40 PM
I know Gaynor will be charged for his tweet but f*ckin hell what was apparently said to him was OTT and who wouldnt react?? At the end of the day footballers are people like you and me.

It was a disgraceful comment.

legendz
28/04/2013, 8:49 PM
Poor result for Limerick. Missed a good chance to open a gap on Cork.

adamd164
28/04/2013, 8:55 PM
LOL, is that what Limerick fans spend their days worrying about?

ConorRSOeuskadi
28/04/2013, 9:25 PM

They shouldn't worry, that gap will get bigger as the season goes on. We are god awful :p

28/04/2013, 9:31 PM
Ya when not spending their time worrying about pyramid structures and being from tralee

monkey9
28/04/2013, 9:43 PM
That is the sort of arrogance I'd expect from the other Rovers.

It's the truth though. Dundalk shouldn't be worrying about Sligo at all.

oriel
28/04/2013, 10:13 PM
I listened to that interview from the Drogs chairman. Sounded like a truely bizzare night to be honest, and appears to have been pub bus on tour hellbent on causing trouble. Its very disappointing to have morons like these planning booze tours and disgracing their clubs. Awful situtation he mentioned with a Drogs family based in the West who went to the game in Sligo and had to see the sight of these guys fighting amongst themselves pre game, semi clothed etc.

I was at a DLK game in UCD 2 years ago and one of our well known holligans was escorted out of the ground, I was thinking, how on earth can someone go to such a friendly club like UCD and manage to get ejected.

Like a few other Dlk fans on here, I too have a few mates who are Drogs, ofcourse there is a competitive edge, but you dont take any joy out of events like this, and hope this kind of thing can be removed straightaway, as their chairman said its the thing
that will drive fans away, and all clubs need that like a hole in the head.

White Horse
29/04/2013, 6:13 AM
I was at a DLK game in UCD 2 years ago and one of our well known holligans was escorted out of the ground, I was thinking, how on earth can someone go to such a friendly club like UCD and manage to get ejected.

I was at that game and you could see the whole thing was planned. The lad barely got into the stand and the guards were there to eject him. There was intelligence behind that one.

We need more of that, the clubs and the guards planning together.

As for Drogheda, lots of indignation from them but now the club is talking about life bans for "some" of them.

The Drogs don't enforce bans. The club are part of the problem.

MiniMourinho
29/04/2013, 6:52 AM
I was at that game and you could see the whole thing was planned. The lad barely got into the stand and the guards were there to eject him. There was intelligence behind that one.

As for Drogheda, lots of indignation from them but now the club is talking about life bans for "some" of them.

The Drogs don't enforce bans. The club are part of the problem.

Thats just not true. Some of those heads were given less sever bans previously, which were enforced. Strike two, they are gone this time. I can tell you these guys will never set foot in united park again, probably not in away games either, definitely not at the Setanta Cup final and definitely not in Europe in a few months.

the bridges have been burned.

White Horse
29/04/2013, 7:03 AM
Thats just not true. Some of those heads were given less sever bans previously, which were enforced. Strike two, they are gone this time. I can tell you these guys will never set foot in united park again, probably not in away games either, definitely not at the Setanta Cup final and definitely not in Europe in a few months.

the bridges have been burned.

I have to say the response of Drogheda fans has been a credit to the club.

I hope the club keeps its nerve and do what needs to be done.

SeanDrog
29/04/2013, 7:16 AM
I am disgusted, absolately disgusted by these scumbags dragging our name through the gutter in Sligo. firstly I hope whoever the Gardai picked up on the night get jailed as appropriate. Secondly the club needs to not only ban these scum bags but make public their names so all in Drogheda can see those who shamed our name.

Their employers should also be informed of the actions of their employees (assuming some of them work). This crap needs to be put down with all available force and those responsible be made "repsonisble" for their actions.

Next Drogheda should pay compensation to Sligo (or fund a kids day in Sligo for the sligo kids) and then Drogheda should sue the scumbags for that cash as these scumbags effectively damaged the brand of Drogheda Utd and potential earnings from the value of the said brand.

These scumbags need to face the REAL world and not some moronic drink fueled coo koo land.

Dalymountrower
29/04/2013, 8:38 AM
I am disgusted, absolately disgusted by these scumbags dragging our name through the gutter in Sligo. firstly I hope whoever the Gardai picked up on the night get jailed as appropriate. Secondly the club needs to not only ban these scum bags but make public their names so all in Drogheda can see those who shamed our name.

Their employers should also be informed of the actions of their employees (assuming some of them work). This crap needs to be put down with all available force and those responsible be made "repsonisble" for their actions.

Next Drogheda should pay compensation to Sligo (or fund a kids day in Sligo for the sligo kids) and then Drogheda should sue the scumbags for that cash as these scumbags effectively damaged the brand of Drogheda Utd and potential earnings from the value of the said brand.

These scumbags need to face the REAL world and not some moronic drink fueled coo koo land.

Well said.
Unfortunately this is not a problem confined to one or two clubs.There are groups of followers ( I wouldn`t class them as supporters) who see away fixtures as a vehicle to go on the tear with the football match itself a low priority in the festivities I was pretty shocked at the state of some of the Bohs "fans" in Thomond recently who were out of their heads and still allowed to buy drink at the bar there. Bizarrely, they spent the match singing about renowned Limerick fan Maggie Thatcher!!

The drunken scuts attaching themselves to a decent club like Drogs are no different to those who have unfortunately attached themselves to Bohs , Dundalk, and Shams. Obviously drunken or drug fuelled fans should not be allowed entry into LOI grounds.

patrickccfc
29/04/2013, 2:47 PM
i remember a few years back we were playing limerick in jackman and the security had pictures of our hooligans on them at the gate