2-1 Drogs, Foley and Ryan Brennan.
Fester
24/03/2013, 3:47 PM
Drogs 2 - 1 up now.
White Horse
24/03/2013, 4:01 PM
Drogs 2 - 1 up now.
Finished 2-1 to Drogheda.
A good win for them, coming from one down and after missing a penalty.
Sets up the Louth Derby nicely on Holy Thursday.
Fester
24/03/2013, 4:18 PM
Cork City 0 v 1 Derry City 91'
Oldred
24/03/2013, 4:19 PM
Statement from Limerick FC:
Super Blues’ super supporters.
Limerick Football Club would like to acknowledge the fantastic support given to the team and management in Sligo last night and would like to thank those same supporters for their patience and restraint after the game. Unfortunately, on the way out of Sligo last night, a supporters’ bus was vandalised and was left in a state where passengers could not continue their journey home in a safe fashion.
The incident was unrelated in any way to Sligo Rovers football club where our team, management and supporters were welcomed and looked after in exemplary fashion. We’d like to thank Sligo Rovers FC and many others in Sligo who went over and above in their attempts to help find us an alternate bus at 11pm on a Saturday night. Unfortunately, despite the best efforts of our staff, and the people of Sligo, our supporters were left waiting on a replacement bus that our travel partners in Kelly Travel www.kellytravel.ie (http://www.kellytravel.ie) sent from Limerick. As a result, their trip home lasted into the early hours of Sunday morning.
We’d like to thank Kelly Travel for their flexibility last night as well as their professionalism, continued support for the club and consistent service for supporters. Staff at the club, including the CEO and Event Controller have spoken at length this morning to put strategies in place for future away trips to determine ways in which repeats of the incident can be avoided.
Thanks once again for your support and we hope to see you all back in Thomond for our next two home games, against St.Pat’s next Saturday 30th March and Tuesday week, April 2nd when we host Shamrock Roveres.
http://www.limerickfc.ie/thanks-to-our-support
Cork City 0 v 1 Derry City 91'
Get in!!!!!!!!!
All over at the Cross, our first league win down there in 13 years
Fantastic!!!
SwanVsDalton
24/03/2013, 4:29 PM
Happy Sunday! Great win with a makeshift team - Molloy at centre back, Crawley at LB, Michael Duffy from the youth ranks making his debut. Outstanding three points considering we haven't won there since 2000.
White Horse
24/03/2013, 4:52 PM
Only one Rovers side is going to challenge for the title.
Shams are worse than last year.
24/03/2013, 4:53 PM
These 0-0 draws are getting tedious.
rovers100%
24/03/2013, 4:54 PM
Ya would get fed up listening to shams crying about the state of pitches. Good footballers can play on any surface !!!! Get on with it. Every time Hawkins was interviewed he was blaming the pitch. They have the biggest budget in the league and their lack of results is blamed on everything else other than their lack of quality
24/03/2013, 5:00 PM
Have to say Charlie that was a riveting 0-0. Delighted.
Much improved performance. Long may it continue.
Here's to more of the same next week in the Brandy.
Mathews in!
24/03/2013, 5:01 PM
Anyone fancy joining us in a title race? Shams don't seem too keen.
bluewhitearmy
24/03/2013, 5:05 PM
Reckon ye will win it by a mile tbh.
24/03/2013, 5:12 PM
Ya would get fed up listening to shams crying about the state of pitches. Good footballers can play on any surface !!!! Get on with it. Every time Hawkins was interviewed he was blaming the pitch. They have the biggest budget in the league and their lack of results is blamed on everything else other than their lack of quality
I don't think you were listening properly. He said the pitch was poor but we knew it would be. The team wasn't playing or passing with the right intensity and that's what they needed to address. That was plainly clear to anybody watching and it's exactly what Hawkins said. No excuses. So I really don't know how you've managed to manufacture that alternative scenario in your head.
Have to say Charlie that was a riveting 0-0. Delighted.
Much improved performance. Long may it continue.
Here's to more of the same next week in the Brandy.
Mathews in!
Yeah, just our luck that Shels would go out and put in their first proper performance of the season. Still, Rovers created enough chances to win and really should have - it wasn't a bad performance, even if they looked a bit toothless in the final minutes. There's not an awful lot wrong there that a bit of work on the training ground won't fix.
I have to say I can see why Shels' disciplinary record is so poor. They timed their tackles reasonably well today but they go in with some amount of force.
rovers100%
24/03/2013, 5:18 PM
Don't worry there is always the Leinster senior cup for shams
Reckon ye will win it by a mile tbh.
No more of that please!
bluewhitearmy
24/03/2013, 5:28 PM
No more of that please!
Suppose it depends on what our next shipment of Galcticos in summer is like.:cool:
patrickccfc
24/03/2013, 5:53 PM
All over at the Cross, our first league win down there in 13 years
Fantastic!!!
Dont know what rundle was doing, no pressure on him and he handballs it.
Must say it was a poor game. Disappointed with the result with two tough away games coming up
I think it will take well into April for the big changes Rovers made to fully blend in, Sligo on the other hand kept most of their squad and it wasnt going to take them long to get going. For me Twigg is a huge loss for Rovers , hard to understand why he was let go to a club like Portadown. Quigley is decent, but he is a different player, does different things, but was there anyone better than Twigg for 20+ goals a season?
After 4 games you simply cannot say Rovers are out of it, nor can you say Sligo will win it at a canter, but having seen both, I personally think Sligo are a stronger and better balanced side. Early days mind.
24/03/2013, 6:02 PM
In all fairness to Shamrock Rovers, the pitch was indeed absolutely horrid. I had a friend who doesn't really watch LOI football ask me are all the pitches that bad in the league. He couldn't believe it.
24/03/2013, 6:26 PM
Was the window broken at Caltragh?
by pure concidence the longford town fc supporters bus passed past the scene where the incident took place. It was on the last roundabout out the Longford road there was plenty of glass on the lefthand side of the dual carraigeway on the hard shoulder. The little scuts must have come out of the housin estate to the left of it. Is that Caltragh? We went past at 11pm and heard from one of the lads on the bus what had happened when we were between ballybofey and sligo. Not a nice feelin for the limerick fans hope noone got injured..
SeanDrog
24/03/2013, 6:52 PM
What will happen to Drogheda when they stop getting penalties?
Lol not much given we miss most of them lol
Is the game in oriel on Thursday or Friday ?
White Horse
24/03/2013, 6:59 PM
Lol not much given we miss most of them lol
Is the game in oriel on Thursday or Friday ?
Thursday. Should be a good one.
Hope you bring a good crowd and we get a derby atmosphere.
bluewhitearmy
24/03/2013, 7:06 PM
by pure concidence the longford town fc supporters bus passed past the scene where the incident took place. It was on the last roundabout out the Longford road there was plenty of glass on the lefthand side of the dual carraigeway on the hard shoulder. The little scuts must have come out of the housin estate to the left of it. Is that Caltragh? We went past at 11pm and heard from one of the lads on the bus what had happened when we were between ballybofey and sligo. Not a nice feelin for the limerick fans hope noone got injured..
Actually happened a bit further back the road then that we just didnt stop til we got up the road a bit. All the glass was from when the windows just fell out and the bus driver then had to bust the rest of the glass out.
The pictures up around make are a bit deceiving that was after the windows had fallen out when it first happened there was one hole where the rock went in and the windows the other side of the bus were cracked but not broken. In fact the pictures i seen on Twitter and Facebook are not even of the window that the rock came through it came in the opposite side of that picture broke the window there and then smashed the window that is pictured with out going through it. That window then fell out and that is what is pictured.
Missed a mans head by a couple of inches and hit another in the chest after it bounced off the inside of the other window one lad has a tiny cut on his finger from flying glass. Was a fairly big rock that could have done considerable harm had it actually hit someone properly but there were no injuries worth talking about thankfully. Whoever drives that Taxi with the Sligo crest on the front too came up to see if everyone was ok and if he could help which was good of him.
SeanDrog
24/03/2013, 7:10 PM
What will happen to Drogheda when they stop getting penalties?
Finished 2-1 to Drogheda.
A good win for them, coming from one down and after missing a penalty.
Sets up the Louth Derby nicely on Holy Thursday.
Thursday. Should be a good one.
Hope you bring a good crowd and we get a derby atmosphere.
Yeah hopefully we bring a crowd - ill be there with father and brothers - looking toward to it
PartySaint
24/03/2013, 8:04 PM
I think it will take well into April for the big changes Rovers made to fully blend in
That's it for me, when a new manager comes in I think it is important to make sure you aren't conceding too many goals while you sort the team out. Rovers haven't let in any yet in the league and with a penalty miss in Oriel park and sending off in Dalymount and a MOTM performance from the Shels keeper in Tolka that has left them with 6 points rather than 12.
Sligo looking very good so far and front what I have heard about Elding he is a class player, if Shams don't get their act together by mid April tho they could be almost out of the title race by the time the break comes around
Our season hasn't really started yet with the 2 postponed games this week :(
Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/03/2013, 8:13 PM
Ah there's a long way to go yet. See how everyone is doing after the first series of games. Looking at the fixtures at the start of the season i would have said our 4 hardest games of the first series were the last 4.
But a great start from us sure. With Peers, Ndo, Ventre and North still to come back in there'll be good competition for places.
24/03/2013, 8:20 PM
Lads, last season Rovers went the whole month of March without losing. If that's not proof that there's an awful long way to go, I don't know what will.
24/03/2013, 8:36 PM
Congratulations to Sligo rovers on winning the premier division...
Sligo will walk this league.
Keep an eye on the finances tho!!
Can we get back to you on that offer ? :p
Fivesilver
24/03/2013, 9:29 PM
Sligo will walk this league.
Keep an eye on the finances tho!!
Finances will be grand - if you follow posts by our fans here you'd be aware that our players are motivated solely by love for Sligo and play for tea and compliments.
White Horse
24/03/2013, 9:37 PM
Finances will be grand - if you follow posts by our fans here you'd be aware that our players are motivated solely by love for Sligo and play for tea and compliments.
Sports show on Dundalk FM was quoting a Sligo journalist claiming that your weekly budget was €23.5k.
Must be mistaken?
Ezeikial
24/03/2013, 9:58 PM
That's it for me, when a new manager comes in I think it is important to make sure you aren't conceding too many goals while you sort the team out. Rovers haven't let in any yet in the league and with a penalty miss in Oriel park and sending off in Dalymount and a MOTM performance from the Shels keeper in Tolka that has left them with 6 points rather than 12.
Sligo looking very good so far and front what I have heard about Elding he is a class player, if Shams don't get their act together by mid April tho they could be almost out of the title race by the time the break comes around
Our season hasn't really started yet with the 2 postponed games this week :(
The fact that Rovers have not concede any goals is significant, but you are being way too generous as to why they have 6 points out of 12.
V. Shels - Burdon was impressive today for Shels but Rovers could easily have conceded two goals to a poor Shels team. A draw was fair.
V Bohs - Foran got himself sent off Bohs and he deserved to go. Reports indicate a fair result
V Dundalk - The penalty was saved by Cherrie, but it should not have been awarded in the first place. A draw was fair and Rovers had more reason to be happy with the point
Rovers are likely to improve and have the better squad. Sligo appear to have the better team. 6 points is big gap after only 4 games, but the gap between them after 10 games will be tell much more
poster
24/03/2013, 10:34 PM
Sports show on Dundalk FM was quoting a Sligo journalist claiming that your weekly budget was €23.5k.
Must be mistaken?
He misheard. It's €38,655. €1 more than Shams'.
bluewhitearmy
24/03/2013, 10:37 PM
And €2 less then Joe Gamble.
24/03/2013, 10:39 PM
Seriously, do you have any idea what the budget is? From what I can gather, Sligo's turnover is roughly €1.2 million a year, presumably a little more next year with added prize money and higher gates. Rovers' is more but rent would eat up a lot of the difference.
poster
24/03/2013, 10:49 PM
I haven't a bulls Charles.
24/03/2013, 10:55 PM
I wonder if it would be a good idea for the FAI to require clubs to publish accounts. Now that there is supposedly a revenue surplus across the league, there shouldn't be any skeletons they want to hide. I think it would be good for the league if non-members of clubs were able to criticise the financial management of their clubs, Shamrock Rovers as much as anyone.
redobit
25/03/2013, 9:17 AM
Seriously, do you have any idea what the budget is? From what I can gather, Sligo's turnover is roughly €1.2 million a year, presumably a little more next year with added prize money and higher gates. Rovers' is more but rent would eat up a lot of the difference.
Turnover for 2012 was €1.65 with a profit of about €68k.
Nailor
25/03/2013, 10:09 AM
I think it will take well into April for the big changes Rovers made to fully blend in, Sligo on the other hand kept most of their squad and it wasnt going to take them long to get going. For me Twigg is a huge loss for Rovers , hard to understand why he was let go to a club like Portadown. Quigley is decent, but he is a different player, does different things, but was there anyone better than Twigg for 20+ goals a season?
After 4 games you simply cannot say Rovers are out of it, nor can you say Sligo will win it at a canter, but having seen both, I personally think Sligo are a stronger and better balanced side. Early days mind.
Twig wasn't "Let Go" to Portadon , he turned down a new contract and moved north to be closer to his wife and kids, who live in Lisburn.
It's a near impossability to replace what he did for Rovers, best striker there's been at the Hoops since Bucko's heyday.
redarmyfaction
25/03/2013, 10:48 AM
Any club that is a limited company and you would assume most are, are required to publish accounts and make an annual return to the CRO. You can pay a small fee to view any companies returns.
http://www.sligorovers.com/news/13/mar/club-statement
The above was issued in relation to the window
smashing,
Rover'n'out
25/03/2013, 10:55 AM
I know you are only taking the p**s but that type of talk has a habit of coming back to bite you in the ass. No harm in being positive but there is a long long long road ahead.
Fivesilver
25/03/2013, 11:12 AM
Yep - if the wheels come off you risk looking as stupid as Gary McCabe did last year after telling a paper "We're not worried about Sligo."
marinobohs
25/03/2013, 11:33 AM
I know you are only taking the p**s but that type of talk has a habit of coming back to bite you in the ass. No harm in being positive but there is a long long long road ahead.
Still far too early to be breaking out the bubbly but poor starts did cost Sligo in recent years. Last years good start was a novelty based on previous years and well, we know how that worked out.......:o
L.T.F.C.
25/03/2013, 4:52 PM
The money for players is a million times better than what they get down here. I'm sure Twigg was paid accordingly.
bullit
25/03/2013, 6:17 PM
RTE team of the week;GK = Barry Murphy :eek: Burdon surely or even Sava?
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish-soccer-league/2013/0325/378271-airtricity-league-team-of-the-week/
25/03/2013, 6:27 PM
I hope all Limerick fans shouting for a penalty Saturday night saw MNS tonight. Ref was right.
25/03/2013, 6:36 PM
I hope all Limerick fans shouting for a penalty Saturday night saw MNS tonight. Ref was right.
Can't agree with you. He put his hand on Galbraith running at a good pace and made a forward motion (although slight) which threw Danny off balance not allowing him get the cross in. Penalty in my eyes. Stupidity out of the Sligo player but it paid off this time for him.