View Full Version : Why all support english clubs??

norn_iron_healy
21/09/2004, 12:48 AM
For years and years irish have fighted everything about being english or british, so why when it comes to club football, english clubs are the main focus of support.

I understand that most of your national players play there,

But what i dont get alot of people will pay £40/£50 to wear a man u, liverpool or chelsea top but wouldnt even think of paying £5/£10 to watch their local team!

Why?

21/09/2004, 6:50 AM
i support cork city

21/09/2004, 11:13 AM
wouldnt even think of paying £5/£10 to watch their local team!

Because the British football is rammed down our throats at every available opportunity, our National League suffers because British football is imposed upon us, punters are not given a choice and many dont know any better.

norn_iron_healy
21/09/2004, 11:54 AM
[QUOTE=A face]Because the British football is rammed down our throats at every available opportunity

Whos fault is that?

How come when roi are playing everyone finds it in themselves to support a team closer to home?

21/09/2004, 12:34 PM
Whos fault is that?

How come when roi are playing everyone finds it in themselves to support a team closer to home?
It's only marginally closer to home. All the players are British-based, and the Best Fans In The World wouldn't have it any other way!

norn_iron_healy
21/09/2004, 12:52 PM
I have already said that I understand that all your players play in england, but that is no reason to ignore your own nations teams if it wasnt for these teams you would have nobody. Im just saying that local teams are crying out for money and most people would rather give it to some shareholder or russian oil baron!!

And after the wales match think we stole best fans in the world!!

21/09/2004, 1:05 PM
I have already said that I understand that all your players play in england, but that is no reason to ignore your own nations teams if it wasnt for these teams you would have nobody. Im just saying that local teams are crying out for money and most people would rather give it to some shareholder or russian oil baron!!
Obviously, the subtle traces of irony in my post were a bit too subtle, even with the exclamation mark.

Just to clarify: I agree with you.

TheJamaicanP.M.
21/09/2004, 1:12 PM

And after the wales match think we stole best fans in the world!!

Don't think ye could claim that one. Forcing your international captain into retirement is nothing to be proud of.

As for Irish people supporting English teams, I maintain that it is the newest form of colonialism. You would surely understand that. :p I was in a pub last night and I witnessed several people with ManUre and scouser jersies on them. Funny thing is neither set of supporters know fcuk all about Manchester or Liverpool. It made me sick to see gobsh!tes chanting the name "Rio, Rio" in the pub. Imagine singing about a junkie from the slums of London. The same idiots abuse the lad when he plays with England. One would have to question the mentality of such people. Thankfully, that is an accusation that I could throw at very few members on this website. Genuine Irish and LOI supporters.

norn_iron_healy
21/09/2004, 1:30 PM
1. Wasnt the real fans who forced him into retirement, not like the 5000 fans who went to cardiff who out sung 60000 welsh for 90mins.

2. He wasnt are captain.

I think you are the only person that understands what im saying, im sorry if its not relavent to anyone hear, but most people are like that

TheJamaicanP.M.
21/09/2004, 1:45 PM
1. Wasnt the real fans who forced him into retirement, not like the 5000 fans who went to cardiff who out sung 60000 welsh for 90mins.

2. He wasnt are captain.

I think you are the only person that understands what im saying, im sorry if its not relavent to anyone hear, but most people are like that

I may be wrong but from what I understand, he was booed by large sections of the Windsor Park crowd.

As for so-called Irish people supporting English teams, it's a complete joke. Even our Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern goes to Manchester, licks Alex Ferguson's ass and raves about United. He refers to them as "we" and "us".The same man considers himself a republican! What type of example do you think that sets for the rest of the population. Those idiots who travel in their thousands to England every weekend should be ashamed of themselves. I believe most members of this forum would agree with me on this one. I mean, how can anyone pledge their allegiances to a commercial industry in the heart of Greater Manchester.

21/09/2004, 2:01 PM
Im just saying that local teams are crying out for money and most people would rather give it to some shareholder or russian oil baron!!

You're preaching to the converted :(

To be honest, I try not to go too hard on people who support Foreign teams. I support Man Utd myself, when I was a kid there was no alternative other than Football on the telly and my local club (which we had to run ourselves). With five LOI clubs in Dublin City alone, it's pretty obvious that there are large tracts of land around the country where there the only live football is the local pub team.

For a large percentage of the population, BBC, ITV and Sky are the only places people can watch football of a decent standard.

I only get angry when people knock the domestic league without ever giving it a chance.

Colm55
21/09/2004, 2:19 PM
A: I like to watch football, good quality football, the english premiership has plenty of it, spanish and italian too, League of Ireland does not have the same quality. I'm one of the thousands who goes cross channel to follow the games. Because I'm from Ireland and prefer to watch top quality football, the closest and easiest to access is cross channel, mean i should be ashamed of myself??

B: If you were a footballer and had the choice to play with Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea or Shamrock rovers, Who would you go for?

C: All the top teams in England, hmmm let me see, Manchester United for example, Based in England, first team: Managed by a scot, goal kept by either a northern irish man or an american, defense an argentinian and an irish man and a frenchman, midfield dominated by an irishman, a portugese man, a welshman an up and coming scot. front line kept by a dutchman and another french man, england have some first team players like scholes, smith now rio but the first team is dominated by non english
Arsenal, again english based but managed by a frenchman and the team is also dominated by frenchmen, a spaniard and a dutch master.
Chelsea, how many english lads have they got - terry, bridge.... i'm out

They maybe english based but the teams that make them up are sadly not.

I'm also off to Paris in three weeks for the game, I was at the cyprus game too and all the friendlies before that.

Because I prefer to watch the english premiership over the LOI, should I be ashamed of myself to follow my national team??

TheJamaicanP.M.
21/09/2004, 2:31 PM
A: I like to watch football, good quality football, the english premiership has plenty of it, spanish and italian too, League of Ireland does not have the same quality. I'm one of the thousands who goes cross channel to follow the games. Because I'm from Ireland and prefer to watch top quality football, the closest and easiest to access is cross channel, mean i should be ashamed of myself??

B: If you were a footballer and had the choice to play with Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea or Shamrock rovers, Who would you go for?

C: All the top teams in England, hmmm let me see, Manchester United for example, Based in England, first team: Managed by a scot, goal kept by either a northern irish man or an american, defense an argentinian and an irish man and a frenchman, midfield dominated by an irishman, a portugese man, a welshman an up and coming scot. front line kept by a dutchman and another french man, england have some first team players like scholes, smith now rio but the first team is dominated by non english
Arsenal, again english based but managed by a frenchman and the team is also dominated by frenchmen, a spaniard and a dutch master.
Chelsea, how many english lads have they got - terry, bridge.... i'm out

They maybe english based but the teams that make them up are sadly not.

I'm also off to Paris in three weeks for the game, I was at the cyprus game too and all the friendlies before that.

Because I prefer to watch the english premiership over the LOI, should I be ashamed of myself to follow my national team??

Yes you should. Your allegiance is non-existent. I think you'll find that Union Jack flags are everywhere to be seen when ENGLISH teams play in Europe. The fact that we have to export our players to England is nothing to be proud of. It doesn't mean we have to export our fans also. It's the likes of you who supports Scholes on a Saturday when he plays with ManUre and shouts abuse on a Wednesday when he used to play with England. Stop trying to vindicate your stupidity. I sense that like most Irish supporters you know nothing about Manchester.

Colm55
21/09/2004, 2:40 PM
Damn right I know f-all about manchester, Oasis are from there and I think coronation street is based there, but what I do know is that Manchester united play good quality football. Arsenal too.

Are you shooting me down, calling me stupid because I follow football?

TheJamaicanP.M.
21/09/2004, 2:45 PM
Damn right I know f-all about manchester, Oasis are from there and I think coronation street is based there, but what I do know is that Manchester united play good quality football. Arsenal too.

Are you shooting me down, calling me stupid because I follow football?

A little simlistic Colm. No point trying to talk sense into you and the other Premiership followers. If you are such a "football fan" why not support an Irish team. It would be a lot easier than travelling to England. The LOI may not be as good as the Premiership but it's ours. Your team belongs to the Scandanavians, the Asians and every Tom, Dick and Harry.

norn_iron_healy
21/09/2004, 2:48 PM
For once I agree with the man.

Its stupid supporting Man U just because a few of nations players play there and they are a better team.

Wer did ur nations players come from local irish teams who are need of money

If they dont get the money ther may be alot of good players slip through football because they never get spotted by local teams because they have know money to pay a scout

see what i mean

Colm55
21/09/2004, 3:28 PM
look, I'm not neglecting the LOI, your right, it may not be the greatest in the world, like you also said, its ours. I may not go to tolka park or dalymount weekly, but I do take an interest, a fair weather supporter one could say. I don't follow a specific team but i would watch Trevor Welsh on eircom weekly to stay in touch with whats going on. i was also proud of Shelbournes progression in europe, your so quick to go critising, i was trying to make sense of the original point made to see why Irish fans will go to Britain to follow football. I never said the league of ireland was ****e and i would never knock a team plying their trade there. We all know the LOI is there, we're all well aware of it but I'm not ashamed to say I follow the premiership over LOI.

You also mentioned that the team i support belongs to the scandinavians, asians and every tom, dick and harry, I ask you this - Why not the Irish too??

If I said I followed a team from Japan, would you level the same abuse?

DolansWaistcoat
21/09/2004, 3:34 PM
I support liverpool ever since I started school and thats because all the young lads would say who do ya support Man U or liverpool(thank christ I picked l'pool).As a 6 or 7 year old who knows fcuk all about anything especially soocer you just go along with the crowd.In the yard playing ball it was always I want to be Barnes,Rush,Whelan etc.. Not one of the boys asked me do you support Cork city or who's your favourite City player.So I started following Liverpool and it was easy because they're on the tele every second week.

It wasn't until I week to secondary school and some of the lads were on about how they go to City games that I started going to these games and I was hooked.

I don't think there's anything wrong with supporting an English team as well as your local EL team and the Irish team.The standard of football in England is much better(althoug last night it was sh!te) but you can't beat a live game,it's all football at the end of the day and I love it all.

liam88
21/09/2004, 3:43 PM
Fair play to ya Mr. Waistcoat ;) totally agree!
With regards to football I support;
1. Republic of Ireland
2. Cobh Ramblers
3. Celtic

IN THAT ORDER!

Not big fan of Ingurlish club shirts round Erien but it's up to the people..........

Going for a bit of a low blow here-wern't all the INGURLAND shirts sold out on the skankhill? :D ;) dannae answer that :rolleyes:

jofyisgod
21/09/2004, 3:51 PM
but you can't beat a live game,it's all football at the end of the day and I love it all.

Kind of agree, but i don't think i'd be arsed going to another country to see a team with which i have no real affinity play. :rolleyes:

As someone already mentioned, if your trying to wind us up, this is a site for fans of REAL IRISH FOOTBALL, not the Premier****.

As for the guy who travels over to the UK-are ya fúcking mad? :confused:
Would you be well?

DolansWaistcoat
21/09/2004, 4:07 PM
Kind of agree, but i don't think i'd be arsed going to another country to see a team with which i have no real affinity play. :rolleyes:

As someone already mentioned, if your trying to wind us up, this is a site for fans of REAL IRISH FOOTBALL, not the Premier****.

As for the guy who travels over to the UK-are ya fúcking mad? :confused:
Would you be well?

Your own choice to travel anywhere ya want and watch whoever ya want play football.I go to Anfield every now and again but I also go to turners cross every City game.Is that all right with you?

I know this is an Irish football site but if you read the top of this page you'll see that this forum is called general football and the premiership or premiers*** as you call it,IS general football the last time I checked. :rolleyes:

TheJamaicanP.M.
21/09/2004, 4:33 PM
Your own choice to travel anywhere ya want and watch whoever ya want play football.I go to Anfield every now and again but I also go to turners cross every City game.Is that all right with you?

I know this is an Irish football site but if you read the top of this page you'll see that this forum is called general football and the premiership or premiers*** as you call it,IS general football the last time I checked. :rolleyes:

How can you pledge your allegiance to an English team? Would you not be better served putting your hard-earned cash into the LOI? Don't tell me you go to Anfield for the aesthetic quality of their football. Liverpool are muck, but then again I wouldn't know as I don't go to watch them live.

DolansWaistcoat
21/09/2004, 4:47 PM
How can you pledge your allegiance to an English team? Would you not be better served putting your hard-earned cash into the LOI? Don't tell me you go to Anfield for the aesthetic quality of their football. Liverpool are muck, but then again I wouldn't know as I don't go to watch them live.

Is it that hard to read ppls posts and understand them?Christ :rolleyes:

I am a Cork City fan and I also go to every game they play at turners cross,I wear City jerseys with pride and I even buy chips from lennox's,which cost a small fortune(Lennox is Citys Chairman,if ya didn't know).My point is I think it's ok to support a cross channel team as well as supporting the LOI.

eoinh
21/09/2004, 5:38 PM
If I said I followed a team from Japan, would you level the same abuse?

I think if everybody else did as well then yes!

eoinh
21/09/2004, 5:54 PM

A good few points here! The English premiership Im afraid doesnt have plenty of good quality football. Despite what Sky may be telling you the english league in my opinion is at its weakest strength overall for a long time. How many teams have won it in the last 15 years. 3 i think! And Blackburn will never repeat that again. Arsenal despite going a record number of unbeaten games unbeaten in the premiership still cant get by the QFs of the European Cup. Europes greatest league is in Spain - why dont you go there to watch your matchs then if its quality youre interested in. With Ryanair it couldnt be easier.

I regard the LOI as just as important as the national team, if not more so. By the same logic you use to decide what league you support I suppose it means if the Irish national team drops to a lower standard you would move your support over to the English national team?

jofyisgod
21/09/2004, 7:19 PM

Jeez Waistcoat, that wasn't a personal attack on you or anything, i just think that it is a teeny bit mad to be spending a legacy going over to watch 90 mins of over-hyped "football". I thinks it's mad from a financial aspect only.

I can understand you're taking an interest in other leagues, i do myself, but i would never claim to support one of these teams purely for the reason i don't. I can't vocally cheer Málaga CF on, i can't really financially support them, i just watch their highlights on TV, etc and look at their site.

I SUPPORT Cork City, and i love Cork City FC. They mean a lot to me, and i feel a great passion for the club, as i am sure you do. I just don't see how people can say they 'support' a foreign, be it English or Spanish, team and feel the same way as we both do for our hometown clubs.

Beavis
21/09/2004, 9:46 PM
Give this lad a chance.He'll be no more than a few months around here and he'll be converted.I was the same a year ago;followed the premiership closely(without actually supporting anyone or going to games) with only a passing interest in the eL.
Now I've gotten into it,go to games most weekends,check out scores and reports each night.And I think I can put the majority of that down to reading the eL fans here on a regular basis.

clownboy
22/09/2004, 8:25 AM

2. He wasnt are captain.

Were Those the same real fans as you call them that had the English Flags in there hands...There were more English Flags in the Northern Irish section than anything else and your going on about the Irish supporting English Clubs ...Who will your own fans be supporting when they play England...The colours suggest England if Cardiff is anything to go by

norn_iron_healy
22/09/2004, 10:18 AM
Were Those the same real fans as you call them that had the English Flags in there hands...There were more English Flags in the Northern Irish section than anything else and your going on about the Irish supporting English Clubs ...Who will your own fans be supporting when they play England...The colours suggest England if Cardiff is anything to go by

Well I was in cardiff and i didnt see any England flags, so i really dont know what your talking about. Maybe you have mistaken our flag for the english flag

http://www.ourweecountry.btinternet.co.uk/cardiffphoto6.html

follow the link and tell me if you see any english flags

clownboy
22/09/2004, 10:21 AM
Maybe sorry if i did looking at the tv ...looked like georges cross

norn_iron_healy
22/09/2004, 10:26 AM
Did u take a look at the photos?

Would advise anyone to have a look!

Cardiff is such a place!!

clownboy
22/09/2004, 10:32 AM
I did ya..It looks like ye are having a good time ..Millenium Stadium is an excellent stadium ...been to a couple of rugby matches there and i always had a good craic

DolansWaistcoat
22/09/2004, 10:37 AM
Great snaps,mad looking stadium. :cool:

I can see why your flag could be mistaken for the english 1 from a distance.

22/09/2004, 10:43 AM
Some great photos there, looks like you al had a ball :D

22/09/2004, 11:16 AM
[QUOTE=Colm55]A: I like to watch football, good quality football, the english premiership has plenty of it, spanish and italian too, League of Ireland does not have the same quality. I'm one of the thousands who goes cross channel to follow the games. Because I'm from Ireland and prefer to watch top quality football, the closest and easiest to access is cross channel, mean i should be ashamed of myself??

A. Yes

B. Shamrock Rovers of course!

Could'nt agree more with Jamaican P.M. (and good win in the League Cup Final!).

Colm55 your point about Japan is the same as ingerland. You're not japanese or english so dont support their clubs. In fairness you dont seem to be the worst of the premier**** fans but the ones who slag off our league I HATE. (If we see any tricolours in the stade de france with english clubs written on them they're getting torn down especially that chelsea one).

They think nothing of funding the english clubs and their tourism industry every week and then have the nerve to complain about our league. Total hypocrisy. If they put their money week in week out into their local club, like we do, then the league would be in much better shape.

No premier club here should be getting less than 5,000 fans per game. Look at other cities with comparable populations.

Now I love all football and want to go see manure play cos Rovers played there in Europe and to see stadiums which is another love of mine. There's a bunch of us going to the Valencia derby in January but we couldnt give a monkeys about the result. It's just a weekend away.

Norniron the 6 counties seems to be worse, if that's possible, for people "supporting" english clubs. Also, despite your hatred when you play us, you wear green jersies!!

norn_iron_healy
22/09/2004, 11:29 AM
not once did i ever say people from here dont support english clubs. Alot of people do, but i dont!

And as for us wearing green,what exactly do u think is wrong with that.

There is a reason behind if you really want I can go into it.

22/09/2004, 11:31 AM
Love to say it but the league in spain is far superior to the scottish one so why dont thousands go over there every week?

I'll tell you why. Because people here are brainwashed night and day by the media about how good everything in the premier**** is. The only ones who can think for themselves, who are'nt sheep, are REAL fans i.e. fans who support their local clubs.

Answer me this. Why are we the only country in the world that refuses to support our OWN league in order to "support" the english one?

And I dont want to hear about standards because the Swiss support their own and Italy is next door.

22/09/2004, 12:06 PM
Hate to say it,but @ the highest level,club soccer in E*gland & Scotland is vastly superior to that in Ireland........can't speak for Wales mind......though guess Cardiff/Wrexham would walk any domestic Irish league?
England definitely, no question, though I'd argue that Sky's hype makes the premiership look better than it actually is.
Scotland, the argument has been around the houses on here, but IMO our best sides would compete in the top flight there (old firm aside) and their worst would be mid-table here.
Wales, Cardiff would do well here, but they'd be by far the biggest LOI bankroll if they played here, Wrexham and Swansea would be non old-firm Scots level or less IMO .

Being in the 'capitalist' world we inhabit,punters,TV stations,media etc. are likely to vote with their feet.......
The LOI is chicken and egg.
We need press interest to get more fans in, we need more fans in for the press to justify their interest. Hopefully setanta will help the situation

green goblin
22/09/2004, 2:12 PM
Fair play to ya Mr. Waistcoat ;) totally agree!
With regards to football I support;
1. Republic of Ireland
2. Cobh Ramblers
3. Celtic

IN THAT ORDER!

Ahem.
And if you think that'scomplicated:-

1). Republic of Ireland :D
2). Celtic :D
3). Chesham United :eek:
4). Waterford/Watford/Wycombe/West Ham. :confused:

Being born in Ingerland sure makes a mess of your head.

sylvo
22/09/2004, 2:18 PM
As long as people take some form of interest in domestic football i'm not at all bothered who in ingerlund they follow. It's when people totally rubbish domestic football when they have'nt taken any form of interest in it and go on about big team's from city's in ingurlund they've got no connection with is when i've got a problem.
Personally I have alway's taken an interest in domestic football, in the same way I take an interst in football from other country's mostly following the fortune's of junior league team's in Kildare and was delighted when Kildare County got admited to the EL, and I try and get to as many match's when i'm back in Ireland.
But I have to say I do follow a team based in ingerlund, that team being the London gealic football team.
Londain Abu.

22/09/2004, 2:36 PM
not once did i ever say people from here dont support english clubs. Alot of people do, but i dont!

And as for us wearing green,what exactly do u think is wrong with that.

There is a reason behind if you really want I can go into it.

I'm bored please do!!

22/09/2004, 4:21 PM
Ahem.
And if you think that's complicated:-

Being born in Ingerland sure makes a mess of your head.

:D :D :D PP

eoinh
22/09/2004, 5:22 PM
Hate to say it,but @ the highest level,club soccer in E*gland & Scotland is vastly superior to that in Ireland......

Oh yes that reminds me. I was away on holiday for two weeks so didnt get all the european results. How much did dunfermline win by against that Icelandic crowd They must have won by a fair old whack as shels only got through on away goals. Shame on shels - what a terrible embarrasement for the whole league. Reading your postings and learning about the scottish league from you they must have won by about 24-Nil. I do hope those Icelandics werent too embarressed going back to their village!

Pat O' Banton
22/09/2004, 6:54 PM
(If we see any tricolours in the stade de france with english clubs written on them they're getting torn down especially that chelsea one).

Highly unfair, I used to have one with the Arsenal badge in the centre brought everywhere, I am proud to be London Irish thats my upbringing and having that flag was something representitive of me. The Chelsea (much as I dislike the club) is one brought to many Ireland games by people of the same heritage. (another POB rant about second geners :rolleyes: :D )

Bring Back Mick
22/09/2004, 8:16 PM
[QUOTE=NY Hoop][QUOTE=Colm55](If we see any tricolours in the stade de france with english clubs written on them they're getting torn down especially that chelsea one).

BLOCK H1 row 26 ..................if you can find it.......... :cool: :cool: :cool:

23/09/2004, 10:16 AM
Highly unfair, I used to have one with the Arsenal badge in the centre brought everywhere, I am proud to be London Irish thats my upbringing and having that flag was something representitive of me. The Chelsea (much as I dislike the club) is one brought to many Ireland games by people of the same heritage. (another POB rant about second geners :rolleyes: :D )

Granted I take your point. But still there is something wrong with english clubs written on tricolours. And bring back mick Block H1 yeah we'll find it. See you then.

23/09/2004, 10:22 AM
But still there is something wrong with english clubs written on tricolours.

IMHO, there's something wrong with anything written on the tricolour, but that's probably another argument.
Seriously as a nation we've f*ck all respect for our property, counrtyside and symbols, butI'll pull back before I launch into an all encompassing rant ranging from the rubbish on Patrick street to people dragging the flag on the ground.

Bring Back Mick
23/09/2004, 10:44 AM
Granted I take your point. But still there is something wrong with english clubs written on tricolours. And bring back mick Block H1 yeah we'll find it. See you then.

If you can't accept 2nd/3rd/4th etc generation fans following Ireland and showing their club identities you are missing something. So what gives you the right to tear down tricolours with British clubs written on them, just shows the Ar5ehole you are............................................... ......
have enocountered a few idiots following Ireland over the years but none like you yet ;)

23/09/2004, 11:36 AM
Sorry there headhunter faux pas on my part forgot to put in the exclamation points at the end there and the KOH.

I still think tricolours defaced with english clubs is wrong. And I'm not the only one. So anybody who disagrees with you is an ar5ehole?! Get over yourself.

Go off and have some Bishops Finger before you keel over. And for the record some of the 2nd/3rd/4th generation fans that I've met are more real fans than the ones born here. But then what do I know? I'm an ar5ehole!!! ;)

Bring Back Mick
23/09/2004, 1:26 PM
I still think tricolours defaced with english clubs is wrong. And I'm not the only one. So anybody who disagrees with you is an ar5ehole?! Get over yourself.

And for the record some of the 2nd/3rd/4th generation fans that I've met are more real fans than the ones born here. But then what do I know? I'm an ar5ehole!!! ;)

KOH[/QUOTE]

never personally met these so called Ireland fans on my travels to Dublin and worldwide following Ireland who disagree with club teams on the tricolour
You have actually met 2ND/3RD/4TH etc GEN Ireland supporters do you ask them 1st if they support an English club before engaging them in conversation