View Full Version : 2013 Predictions

Aaron
14/02/2013, 2:26 PM
So, how do we think this season will pan out? I predict no clubs will go bust for a start

Anyways

Premier Division

1. Shamrock Rovers
2. St Patrick's Ath
3. Derry City
4. Sligo Rovers
5. Cork City
6. Drogheda Utd
7. Limerick
8. Dundalk
9. Shelbourne
10. Bohemians
11. Bray Wanderers
12. UCD

First Division

1. Finn Harps
2. Longford Town
3. Athlone Town
4. Waterford Utd
5. Cobh Ramblers
6. Wexford Youths
7. Mervue Utd
8. Salthill Devon

FAI Cup: Cork City
League Cup: Derry City
Setanta Cup: Derry City

St Pats to progress the furthest of any other LOI club in Europe

corkey121
14/02/2013, 2:51 PM
i take a gamble on

prem div.

1. shamrock rovers
2. cork city
3.silgo rvrs
4. st pats
5. derry city
6. dundalk
7. drogheda
8.bohs
9.shels
10 limerick
11. ucd
12. bray

first div.

1. Waterford
2. finn harps
3. athlone town
4. Cobh rambelers
5. longford
6. wexford youths
7. mervue
8. salthill devon

E A sports cup derry city
fai cup cork city
top scorer daryl kavanagh 33/1

14/02/2013, 4:48 PM
Prem:

1. Rovers
2. Sligo
3. Cork
4. Drogheda
5. Pats
6. Derry
7. Bohs
8. Shels
9. Limerick
10. Dundalk
11. Bray
12. UCD

First:

1. Harps
2. Longford
3. Athlone
4. Waterford
5. Cobh
6. Wexford
7. Mervue
8. Salthill

League Cup - Sligo
FAI Cup - Derry
Setanta Cup - Cork

14/02/2013, 6:16 PM
Subject to change depending on new signings, but as it stands.

Premier:

1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo
3. Drogheda
4. St. Pat's
5. Cork
6. Derry
7. Dundalk
8. Limerick
9. Bohemian FC
10. Shelbourne
11. Bray
12. UCD

First:

1. Finn Harps
2. Athlone
3. Longford
4. Wexford
5. Waterford
6. Cobh
7. Mervue
8. Salthill

League Cup - Derry
FAI Cup - St Pat's to break the hoodoo
Setanta Cup - Cork

14/02/2013, 6:46 PM
I'll start with the First as I'm not too sure about the Premier.

1. Harps
2. Waterford
3. Longford
4. Athlone
5. Cobh
6. Wexford
7. Mervue
8. Salthill

Realistically 1-4 could be in any order but Harps are my tip at the moment and I don't really fancy our chances. I think this is a year too early for Athlone but you never know.

Premier
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. St Pats
4. Cork
5. Drogs
6. Derry
7. Dundalk
8. Limerick
9. Shels
10.Bohs
11.UCD
12.Bray

FAI Cup: Pats (bound to happen some time)
League Cup: Derry obviously
Setanta Cup: Shamrock Rovers
Leinster Senior Cup: Pats
Munster Senior Cup: Cork
Fair Play Award: UCD as ever

No offence intended to any Premier Division fans who think I'm doing them a disservice.

14/02/2013, 6:56 PM
Haven't been paying huge attention to the squads tbh, but Shels in particular struck me as a team to finish ahead of; they seem a bit weaker than last year. I can see Bray and Dundalk being down the bottom four (with us) too. But then Drogheda showed last year how ridiculously unpredictable this league is.

Limerick should be grand. Don't see that Rovers have done enough to edge Sligo off top spot. Pat's maybe best placed to challenge there?

When's Bohs' big loan repayment again?

Gorm agus Bán
14/02/2013, 7:00 PM
Premier Division

1. Cork City (sure why not?!)2. Shamrock Rovers
3. Sligo Rovers
4. Drogheda United
5. St. Patrick's Athletic
6. Derry City
7. Bohemians
8. Limerick
9. UCD
10. Dundalk
11. Shelbourne
12. Bray Wanderers

First Division

1. Longford Town
2. Finn Harps
3. Waterford United
4. Athlone Town
5. Wexford Youths
6. Mervue United
7. Cobh Ramblers
8. Salthill Devon

FAI Cup: Dundalk
League Cup: Derry City
Setanta Cup: Sligo Rovers

14/02/2013, 7:06 PM
So, how do we think this season will pan out? I predict no clubs will go bust for a start
Are you drunk? You must be drunk.

Prem:

1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. St Pat's
4. Dundalk
5. Cork City
6. Drogheda United
7. Derry City
8. Limerick
9. Shelbourne
10. Bohemians
11. Bray Wanderers
12. UCD

First:

1. Longford Town
2. Finn Harps
3. Athlone Town
4. Waterford United
5. Cobh Ramblers
6. Wexford Youths
7. Mervue United
8. Salthill Devon

Cuyahoga
14/02/2013, 10:26 PM
Prem : 1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. Derry City
4. St.Pats
5. Dundalk
6. Drogheda Utd
7. Bohemians
8. Limerick
9. Shelbourne
10. Cork City
11. UCD
12. Bray Wanderers

First Division :

1. Finn Harps
2. Waterford Utd
3. Athlone Town
4. Longford Town
5. Cobh Ramblers
6. Wexford Youths
7. Mervue Utd
8. Salthill Devon

14/02/2013, 10:35 PM
Premier Divison

1. Rovers
2. Shams
3. St.Pats
4. Dundalk
5. Limerick
6. Drogheda Utd
7. Derry City
8. Cork
9. Bohemians
10. Shelbourne
11. Bray Wanderers
12. UCD

First Division

1. Waterford Utd
2. Longford Town
3. Athlone Town
4. Cobh Ramblers
5. Finn Harps
6. Wexford Youths
7. Mervue Utd
8. Salthill Devon

14/02/2013, 10:42 PM
Prem : 1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. Derry City
4. St.Pats
5. Dundalk
6. Drogheda Utd
7. Bohemians
8. Limerick
9. Shelbourne
10. Cork City
11. UCD
12. Bray Wanderers

First Division :

1. Finn Harps
2. Waterford Utd
3. Athlone Town
4. Longford Town
5. Cobh Ramblers
6. Wexford Youths
7. Mervue Utd
8. Salthill Devon
Why Derry so high?

harry crumb
14/02/2013, 10:46 PM
Premier Divison

1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo
3. Cork City
4. St. Pats
5. Derry City
6. Drogheda Utd
7. Dundalk
8. Limerick
9. Bohemians
10. UCD
11. Bray Wanderers
12. Shelbourne

First Division

1. Waterford Utd
2. Longford Town
3. Athlone Town
4. Finn Harps
5. Wexford
6. Cobh
7. Mervue Utd
8. Salthill Devon

14/02/2013, 10:49 PM
Haven't been paying huge attention to the squads tbh, but Shels in particular struck me as a team to finish ahead of; they seem a bit weaker than last year. I can see Bray and Dundalk being down the bottom four (with us) too. But then Drogheda showed last year how ridiculously unpredictable this league is.

Limerick should be grand. Don't see that Rovers have done enough to edge Sligo off top spot. Pat's maybe best placed to challenge there?

When's Bohs' big loan repayment again?

I would have had Sligo a nailed on winner again this season but Im not convinced that they have adequately replaced McGuinness, Quigley or Danny North (missing start of season).

NeverFeltBetter
14/02/2013, 10:56 PM
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. St Pats
3. Drogheda
4. Sligo
5. Cork
6. Derry
7. Bohs
8. Limerick
9. Shelbourne
10. Dundalk
11. UCD
12. Bray

1. Finn Harps
2. Waterford
3. Longford
4. Athlone
5. Wexford
6. Mervue
7. Salthill
8. Cobh

14/02/2013, 11:08 PM
FD
1. Harps
2. Waterford
3. Longford
4. Cobh Ramblers
5. Athlone
6. Wexford
7. Mervue
8. SD

4,5 and 6 could finish in any order there really. Wexford had a great run at the end of last season but have lost Furlong. Athlone have signed a lot so might take time to gel. Cobh have added well and seem to have gelled quick in pre-season and they were always fairly good at home so I'm tipping them as dark horses.

PD
1. Shams
2. Drogs
3. Pats
4. Sligo
5. Cork
6. Derry
7. Bohs
8. Dundalk
9. Shels
10. Limerick
10. Bray
12. UCD

Was nearly tempted to put Drogs on top simply for the fact they have done so well in the transfer market again. Cork look really good this year too.

bullit
14/02/2013, 11:19 PM
Missing 2 sides in the Prem OS.

DaveyPats
14/02/2013, 11:27 PM
Have to laugh at people putting Cork so high.

Pats
Sligo
Rovers
Derry
Drogheda
Dundalk
Cork
Limerick
UCD
Bohs
Shels
Bray

Cuyahoga
14/02/2013, 11:31 PM
Why Derry so high?
Very impressive at the end of last season in the FAI cup especially against Shelbourne at Tolka and in the Final. Also I think Pats and Drogheda will struggle to do aswell as they did last year.

14/02/2013, 11:32 PM
Very impressive at the end of last season in the FAI cup especially against Shelbourne at Tolka and in the Final. Also I think Pats and Drogheda will struggle to do aswell as they did last year.
How will they replace McLaughlin's goals though?

Cuyahoga
14/02/2013, 11:35 PM
Missing 2 sides in the Prem OS.
Maybe he thinks Bohs and Dundalk wont see out the season.

oriel
15/02/2013, 12:44 AM
Some putting Dundalk 4th and 5th............not a chance, most of us would be very happy with 6th.The non distraction of Setanta and Europe is probably an advantage in consolidating our position, not to mention a decent manager in Kenny, but even thinking about it now, I'm wondering who the teams will be that will finish below us if we did manage 6th.

Here goes for fun.

1. Rovers
2. Sligo
3. Pats
4. Derry
5. Cork
6 .Dundalk
7. Drogs
8. Limerick
9. Bohs
10.Shels
11.UCD
12.Bray

But...............if I was betting, I'd only be confident of the top 5

FD

I dont know enough about it at the moment to post a prediction, but appears to be more wide open than recent years. Waterford would seem to be best suited, but I hope Athlone have a good year also. Happy to see Cobh back too, so good luck to all involved with them.

NeverFeltBetter
15/02/2013, 12:49 AM
I think just about everyone is putting Limerick at 8th. Above relegation contenders, not really ready for anything else.

Cuyahoga
15/02/2013, 6:17 AM
How will they replace McLaughlin's goals though?
They have now signed Forward Mark griffin from Dundalk on a two year deal.

Cuyahoga
15/02/2013, 6:25 AM
League of Ireland 2013These are the odds from Paddy Power , Derry City are a good price at 14/1

Outright Betting
Shamrock Rovers 6/4 Limerick 18/1 Shelbourne 50/1
Sligo Rovers 2/1 Drogheda United 20/1 Bohemians 80/1
St Patrick's Athletic 4/1 Cork City 20/1 Bray Wanderers 150/1
Derry City 14/1 Dundalk 33/1 UCD 200/1
Each Way Terms 1/5 places 1,2,3

bullit
15/02/2013, 7:02 AM

If Derry fans are pinning their hopes on Griff scoring goals for them then good luck to them.I would be sceptical tbh and i think that the high pressure on him from Derry board/fans will lead to him scoring FA .He wont score goals..(Rafter will score about 5 more than him but thats it)
Wish the lad all the best all the same,he is from Dundalk.

donnrua
15/02/2013, 7:37 AM
Paddy Powers have Limerick @ 18/1 ...they must be sniffing glue if they think we have a better chance than Cork, Dundalk, or Drogheda. I think we'll finish no better than 7th.

Spudulika
15/02/2013, 7:50 AM
Premier:
1. Sligo
2. Rovers
3. Pats
4. Drogs
5. Derry
6. Cork
7. Shels
8. Limerick
9. Bray
10. UCD
11. Bohs
12. Dundalk

First:
1. Athlone
2. Harps
3. Longford
4. Waterford
5. Wexford
6. SD Galway
7. Mervue
8. Cobh

Cups are a mystery

Premier I'm not sure 3-5 is a lottery. I hope I'm totally wrong about Dundalk, by putting them bottom it means they'll shock me. Bohs are in a bit of trouble, Rovers have their EL money coming through, but I think Sligo have just about enough if they don't eat themselves.

15/02/2013, 7:54 AM
Really don't know enough about the other squads to give this a bash. For us, I think anywhere from 4th-7th depending on how the team gels and if someone can score regularly.

15/02/2013, 9:46 AM
This positivity about Harps baffles me, and also worries me deeply.

15/02/2013, 11:42 AM
How many goals did he score last season?

oriel
15/02/2013, 1:26 PM
How many goals did he score last season?

He scored 5 league goals, 2 were in a rare win away to Pats, another 2 away to Drogs, incl'g the goal of the season (but lost the game) and one v UCD.

Also got one cup goal, v Bohs, QF.

15/02/2013, 1:33 PM
League of Ireland 2013

These are the odds from Paddy Power , Derry City are a good price at 14/1

Outright Betting

Shamrock Rovers 6/4 Limerick 18/1 Shelbourne 50/1
Sligo Rovers 2/1 Drogheda United 20/1 Bohemians 80/1
St Patrick's Athletic 4/1 Cork City 20/1 Bray Wanderers 150/1
Derry City 14/1 Dundalk 33/1 UCD 200/1
Each Way Terms 1/5 places 1,2,3

Crazy prices

Flexy
15/02/2013, 3:23 PM
He scored 5 league goals, 2 were in a rare win away to Pats, another 2 away to Drogs, incl'g the goal of the season (but lost the game) and one v UCD.

Also got one cup goal, v Bohs, QF.
If Derry can keep Rory Patterson fit and mentally stable then he will score the majority of the goals, with Paddy Kavanagh, Crawley and McEleney supporting from the flanks. If they can keep most of their players fit especially the more experiences ones they will be up there at the end. One player to watch out for this year to break through is Ryan Curran ( son of Paul Curran ). very quick and good in the air. Already a N.Ireland u19 international.

15/02/2013, 3:54 PM
Patterson will certainly add a bit of bite to Derry's attack.

A N Mouse
15/02/2013, 4:56 PM
Patterson will certainly add a bit of bite to Derry's attack.

Especially if the goal celebrations get a little... exuberant!

PartySaint
15/02/2013, 5:36 PM
I'm finding it really hard to predict this season, I think this will be the toughest league in years to win.

Rovers seem to be everyone's favourites but we don't know how Croly will do in his first managerial job, will Quigley be arsed? If not then they will be in trouble

Sligo look like they haven't replaced Quigley or McGuinness and with North out for the first at least round of games they could struggle but they are Champions and will not give up their title easily

Pats on paper we have have a much better squad than last season but we don't know how those new signings will work out. Will Mcfaul be a suitable replacement for Chambers? If not we could struggle in midfield and find it hard to take control of games in midfield and it looks like we will have Brendan Clarke in goal :(

Drogs were the surprise package last season and looked to have done really well with new signings but if they can't get a good start I reckon they will struggle to repeat last season great form.

Derry were woeful at times last season but ended it well and if they can stay relatively injury free they will do well.

Cork, I have no idea.

Dundalk look a lot stronger than last season.

Limerick an unknown quantity with a new manager and what looks like a few players coming from across the channel.

Bohs look weaker than last season but you never get an easy game in Dalymount

UCD are feckin UCD

Shels are going to be tough to break down

Bray will be usual Bray, beat some top sides in the Carlisle then lose the easier games

So all in all I don't have a clue how the league will look come the end of the season, the only thing I do know is that The Rod Squad will win the first division and Pats wont win the cup.

placid casual
15/02/2013, 7:50 PM
Partysaint i would suggest your side is considerably weaker than last season, mainly due to the prescense of the dressing room cancer that is brennan.
you have also lost windy & chambers and you still dont have a really reliable goalscorer.
i can see youse finishing 3rd. again.

Cork will win the league, and sligo will finish 2nd.

PartySaint
15/02/2013, 8:17 PM
Partysaint i would suggest your side is considerably weaker than last season, mainly due to the prescense of the dressing room cancer that is brennan.
you have also lost windy & chambers and you still dont have a really reliable goalscorer.

Our squad is much stronger tho which will help us around Europe time which in the last few years has cost us putting in a real challenge for the title. For instance our choices of wingers last year was really between Jake Kelly, Soccy, Forrester and Meenan. This year we have Forrester, Kelly, Brennan, Conan Byrne and Jordon Keegan with Conor Murphy, Anto Flood, Jake Carroll and Sean Gannon who could also fill in there. It's the same in the middle of the park where we have 6 options for 3 positions

Fagan is a good goalscorer, he wasn't the problem last season, the problem was our lack of goals from midfield. I'd expect Brennan, Byrne and Forrester to chip in with a lot more goals this season than our midfield did last (we didn't score from a direct free kick last year in the league).

But as I said in my original post, those signings could go either way, they could be great or could end up being ****e

Brennan got MOTM the other day btw ;)

Cuyahoga
15/02/2013, 8:56 PM

I'm guessing Cork is a misprint.

ATFC-1887
16/02/2013, 1:35 AM
Premier:
1. Rovers
2. Sligo
3. Pats
4. Derry
5. Drogs
6. Cork
7. Dundalk
8. Limerick
9. Shels
10. UCD
11. Bohs
12. Bray

First:
1. Athlone
2. Waterford
3. Longford
4. Harps
5. Cobh
6. Wexford
7. Mervue
8. Salthill

Having Athlone 1st is kind of wishful thinking. We need to be back in the Premier. Been way way to long.

mastershake
16/02/2013, 6:22 AM
1. Shamrock
2. Sligo
3. Cork
4. Derry
5. Drogheda
6. Dundalk
7. Shelbourne
8. St Pats
9. Bohemians
10. Limerick
11. UCD
12. Bray

adamd164
16/02/2013, 7:54 AM
It's fun to take a shot at the final table, but we won't really know who's up to what until a solid month into the season IMO. I'm not even sure how we'll fare, naturally hopeful as every fan, but I certainly haven't the foggiest idea about how most other clubs will do.

A wild prediction though - Rovers won't win the league as widely anticipated.

oriel
16/02/2013, 9:57 AM
It's fun to take a shot at the final table, but we won't really know who's up to what until a solid month into the season.

I think this is a very good point Adam. The first month is a very good guide to see the strenghts and weaknesses of most clubs, and league positions generally tend to take a shape that is not too far away from the finish line. Last season after only 2 games, I knew we were way way out of our dept with the awful quality of players and manager we had. We were beaten 2-0 at home to St Pats, and it was like men against boys.

gormacha
16/02/2013, 12:17 PM
I think this is a very good point Adam. The first month is a very good guide to see the strenghts and weaknesses of most clubs, and league positions generally tend to take a shape that is not too far away from the finish line. Last season after only 2 games, I knew we were way way out of our dept with the awful quality of players and manager we had. We were beaten 2-0 at home to St Pats, and it was like men against boys.

As a general rule, I agree. However, its not always accurate. Waterford were a mile off the pace a month into last season, and then went on a 16 game unbeaten run.

total hoofball
16/02/2013, 12:18 PM
Sligo and Shamrock Rovers to battle for the title. Sligo are marginally weaker than last season but Shams have the strongest panel of players. Croly's inexperience and some of the big heads in that dressing room wouldn't leave me convinced they'll win it.

Pats third again this season, overall their squad looks about the same in strength as last season.

Derry, Cork and Drogheda to battle for 4th to 6th. Cork look the most improved of the 3 so may be the best bet for 4th, Drogheda wildly overachieved last season and I can't see Cooke pulling it off again and Derry look weaker in the attacking end of the pitch this season.

Dundalk, Bohs, Limerick and UCD battling for 7th to 10th. Limerick to start the season poor before mid-season reinforcements take them to safety. Dundalk will be improve, stronger midfield and forward line but defensively still look weak and will continue to concede goals. Bohs and UCD will like season try to play the ball the right way but will be erratic in terms of performances & results, enough flair & creativity to take both to safety.

Bray and Shels to battle for the drop. One league win in the 2nd half of 2012 and failing to strengthen will see Bray stuck down there. At Shels I expect Mathews will be the first manager to get the bullet following on from a underwhelming 2012 season and botched off-season that see's just 5 players retained and weaker replacements drafted into a thin sqaud.

I'll go with Waterford to walk the First Division with the play-off spots wide open between Harps, Longford, Athlone and maybe even Mervue or Wexford on the tails in the mix.

Aaron
16/02/2013, 12:23 PM
If Derry fans are pinning their hopes on Griff scoring goals for them then good luck to them.I would be sceptical tbh and i think that the high pressure on him from Derry board/fans will lead to him scoring FA .He wont score goals..(Rafter will score about 5 more than him but thats it)
Wish the lad all the best all the same,he is from Dundalk.

There wont be major pressure on Griffin, he will be given a chance as are all new signings. Add in griffin will have better service with us than what he in a poor Dundalk side last season. Rory Patterson will be our main striker, Griffin and Rafter will be back-up. Griffin was used on the wing in our first friendly so that could be a sign of things to come

born2bwild
16/02/2013, 12:32 PM
Pats on paper we have have a much better squad than last season but we don't know how those new signings will work out. Will Mcfaul be a suitable replacement for Chambers? If not we could struggle in midfield and find it hard to take control of games in midfield and it looks like we will have Brendan Clarke in goal :(

I'd rather have McFaul than Chambers. Chambers doesn't have McFaul's composure and he doesn't really have a decent left foot.

Have to worry about the presence of Brennan in the dressing room, too.

born2bwild
16/02/2013, 2:56 PM
Sligo have a question mark for me in the middle of the park - N'do can't be relied on but I suppose bringing McMillan in will free up Ventre to play midfield and they have Lee Lynch there as well. North is crucial - if he's fit and scoring Sligo will win the league. 1st.

Shamrock Rovers should win the league - but since a lot depends on how effective Quigley is I wouldn't be that confident. 2nd

Pat's look pretty good - but when half your matches are tippy-tappy score draws someone else is always going to finish higher. 3rd

Cork - Daryl Kavanagh could do some serious damage. As could Danny Furlong. Denis Behan might get all nostalgic and start knocking a few in too... 4th

Limerick have a pretty decent chance: They have real quality in the likes of Purcell and Rory Gaffney but some of the others - Gamble, Bradley - have great futures behind them so; 5th

I'd love to see Drogheda do well. I reckon Fabio has had his indian summer so it'll be down to the Brennans, Casso and Gary O'Neill (I reckon with more game time he'll have one last good season – not basing this on anything other than the fact that he was Sporting Fingal’s best player in the first half of their last season) 6th.

I’m putting Derry, Bohs and Dundalk at 7th, 8th and 9th respectively because I can’t be bothered thinking very much about them right now and also because even at that amoebic level of analysis I know they’re probably better than Shels.

10th Shels – you’re going to need titanium shinpads in Tolka this year with Pat Flynn, Glenn Cronin and Graham Gartland in the team. Can’t see how it all gels, though – the best players in the squad are gone elsewhere and Philly Hughes isn’t getting any ….younger…the biggest problem is the manager’s lack of tactical nous. Still and all, now that he’s got rid of Paddy Kavanagh, Kevin Dawson, Conan Byrne and David Cassidy (i.e. lads who can actually play, as opposed to hoof and hack) Mathews’ neanderthal hoofball might turn out to be the ‘best’ approach.

11th Bray

12th UCD – bottom only because Bray have Gollum Marty Walters.

First Div – don’t know – a throw up between Waterford/Athlone/Longford?

placid casual
16/02/2013, 3:12 PM
Brennan got MOTM the other day btw ;)

in what was to-all-intents-and-purpopses a pre seaon game.

just you wait until the seaosn really starts.:D:D

and cuyoga- that wasnt a missprint. i think cork will be very strong challengers this year.

Guinney
18/02/2013, 9:02 PM
Alot of guessing here and maybe some teams may make some more important signings. But I think the league is stronger this year. Sligo, Shamrock Rovers and St Pats should be the main challengers for the league. All teams final position will be influenced by keeping key players fit, especially teams like ourselves in Dundalk who have smaller squads.

1. Shamrock Rovers - losing Twigg is a loss but new signings like Quigley, Sheppard and McGuinness will improve the team.
2. St Pats - I think Buckley has put together a good squad.
3. Sligo - McGuinness & Quigley going to rivals is a major blow. I think Sligo look light upfront. When is North back?
4. Drogheda - Could surprise us again. I actually think they have a better team this year & a team that is settled.
5. Cork - Will be looking to push for a European place.
6. Dundalk - Probably being optimistic. We have a small squad so keeping key players fit is key, especially defenders as we don't have many.
7. Derry - Could be wrong on this one & could finish higher, but surprised they went for 2 strikers who came from a team that came bottom last season.
8. Limerick - Don't know much about Limerick TBH. They have been slow in the transfer market.
9. Shels - Don't think Shels are as bad as some are making out.
10. Bohs - Weaker than last year with Feely, McMillan & Ward gone.
11. Bray - They have about 4 good players - Byrne, O'Connor, Dempsey & Waters, after that they look weak.
12. UCD - Will continue to produce decent players and play decent football but they will be near the bottom

First division -

1. Finn Harps - they impressed me in a friendly in Oriel last week. Looked like a well drilled side.
2. Athlone - The Roddy effect.
3. Waterford
4. Longford
5. Cobh
6. Wexford
7. Mervue
8. Satlhill