View Full Version : 2013 Predictions
18/02/2013, 9:11 PM
I'm surprised people are pitching Dundalk so low, actually. Size might be a bit small but looks better than last year, and they have a good manager (when he's not in Tallaght).
Iorfa2MaccaJim
18/02/2013, 9:28 PM
1. The Blues2. Longford Town3. Finn Harps4. Wexford Youths5. Athlone Town6. Cobh Ramblers7. Mervue United8. Salthill Devon
18/02/2013, 9:47 PM
1. The Blues2. Longford Town3. Finn Harps4. Wexford Youths5. Athlone Town6. Cobh Ramblers7. Mervue United8. Salthill Devon
Limerick already won the first division last year.
oriel
19/02/2013, 12:30 AM
I'm surprised people are pitching Dundalk so low, actually. Size might be a bit small but looks better than last year, and they have a good manager (when he's not in Tallaght).
Potentially we have the best manager since the 90's, but a lot of Dundalk fans are just being realistic. We came 11th last year and we were damn lucky to stay up really, considering how awful the side was for most of the year. Also there have been many false dawns, espcially under Foster who assembled possibly the best quality in 15 years in 2011 and still came 7th.
Consolidation in mid table, a good enough home record and getting respect back as a solid PD side would do for most DLK fans for 2013.
19/02/2013, 1:02 AM
Potentially we have the best manager since the 90's, but a lot of Dundalk fans are just being realistic. We came 11th last year and we were damn lucky to stay up really, considering how awful the side was for most of the year. Also there have been many false dawns, espcially under Foster who assembled possibly the best quality in 15 years in 2011 and still came 7th.
Consolidation in mid table, a good enough home record and getting respect back as a solid PD side would do for most DLK fans for 2013.
Yeah, I think 6-8 is a reasonable expectation, but there is the possibility of something higher, like Drogheda did. Like I said, good squad, good manager, but probably a little shallow to really challenge.
peadar1987
19/02/2013, 8:15 AM
Premier Division
1. Shams
2. Sligo
3. Derry
4. Pats
5. Cork
6. Drogheda
7. Limerick
8. Shels
9. Bohs
10. UCD
11. Dundalk
12. Bray (But still not relegated)
First Division:
If not covering them is good enough for RTÉ, it's good enough for me!
24/02/2013, 1:48 PM
just did a 10 quid each way double on Finn Harps 9/2 n Sligo 13/8:D
danthesaint
24/02/2013, 4:43 PM
1. Pigs
2. Pats
3. Sligo
4. Drogs
5. Dundalk
6. Cork
7. Derry
8. Limerick
9. Bohs
10. UCD
11. Shels
12. Bray
4. Drogs
5. Dundalk
Can't see the two of them finishing so highly and especially so as it rarely happens when both are in the same division, then again stranger things........
Besides I don't think we will finish anywhere higher than 6th. That would be a brilliant turnaround really.
Real ale Madrid
25/02/2013, 9:35 AM
Stab in the dark at this stage:
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. Cork City
4. St Patricks Ath
5. Limerick
6. Derry City
7. Shelbourne
8. Drogheda United
9. Dundalk
10. Bohemians
11. UCD
12. Bray Wanderers
First.
1. Athlone Town
2. Waterford United
3. Longford Town
4. Finn Harps
5. Wexford Youths
6. Salthill Galway Devon FC
7. Mervue Gaillimh
8. The Queenstown Ramblers
Briuk
25/02/2013, 11:21 AM
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. Drogheda United Great team
4. St Patricks Ath They need a new striker.
5. Derry city
6. Cork City
7. Dundalk I have many doubts between this three, one of them even could be fourth.
8. Shelbourne
9. Bohemians
10. Limerick
11. UCD
12. Bray Wanderers
The last five will fight for relegation.
danthesaint
25/02/2013, 2:24 PM
Can't see the two of them finishing so highly and especially so as it rarely happens when both are in the same division, then again stranger things........
Besides I don't think we will finish anywhere higher than 6th. That would be a brilliant turnaround really.
I think Drogs look good in Setanta (too early to judge though) and i think Agent Kenny will turn Dundalk into a hard team to beat.
PartySaint
25/02/2013, 3:41 PM
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. Drogheda United Great team
4. St Patricks Ath They need a new striker.
5. Derry city
6. Cork City
7. Dundalk I have many doubts between this three, one of them even could be fourth.
8. Shelbourne
9. Bohemians
10. Limerick
11. UCD
12. Bray Wanderers
The last five will fight for relegation.
Urgh. We don't need a new striker, we just need other our midfield and wide men to get more goals. Fagan is the perfect striker for our system and scored 16 (I think) goals last season which s a good return.
Pablo Escobar
25/02/2013, 3:59 PM
I'd be surprised to see Ramblers outside the top 5 in the First Division. The premier is more open than last year. Any one of 6/7 are in with a shout.
Partizan
27/02/2013, 9:18 AM
My predictions:
Premier Division -
1. Shamrock Rovers (C)
2. Sligo Rovers
3. St Patricks Ath
4. Drogheda United
5. Cáwk
6. Dundalk
7. Derry C
8. Limerick
9. UCD
10. Bohemians
-------------------
11. Shelbourne (Playoffs)
-------------------
12. Bray Wanderers (R)
First Division -
1. Waterford (P)
-------------------
2. Finn Harps (Playoffs)
3. Longford T (Playoffs)
-------------------
4. Athlone T
5. Wexford Youths
6. Mervue
7. Cobh R
8. Salthill D
Dillonman
27/02/2013, 12:11 PM
My predictions:
Premier Division -
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. St Patricks Ath
4. Derry
5. Hunky Dory Utd
6. Dundalk
7. Cork
8. Limerick
9. UCD
10. Shelbourne
11. Bohemians
12. Bray Wanderers
First Division -
1. Finn harps
2. Waterford
3. Longford
4. Athlone T
5. Cobh
6. Wexford
7. Mervue
8. Salthill
League Cup: Dundalk
FAI Cup: Sligo
oriel
27/02/2013, 12:14 PM
I think above is probably the one I most agree with and probably reflects the realistic finishing for most teams, especially taking into account most of the squads are almost complete.
Not saying all will finish here, obviously, but wont be far off this I`d say, possibly swap Shels with UCD?
I'm going to be optimistic with Bray for once... If we can keep injuries down that is. We have the basis of a decent staring X1 - Quigley, Mitchell, D. O'Connor, K. O'Connor, Dempsey, Mulroy, Byrne and Waters. We also have a lot of players who need to step up there game this year - Webster, Doyle, Zambra, S. O'Connor and Knight were all just a little bit short of quality last season, but that could be down to youth and inexperience with some of them, let's hope last year will help them improve.
We've another really good bunch of young lads coming through the ranks, hopefully a few of them get a look in this year. Sean Hurley, Ger Pender, Ismahil Akinade, Conor Begley and Conor Early should all be looking to get into the squad this season and push for places.
9th place finish for Wanderers
Shamrock Rovers to win it, Dark horses are Drogs and Cork.
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Pats
3. Sligo Rovers
4. Derry
5. Cork
6. Dundalk
7. Drogheda
8. Limerick
9. Bohemians
10. Shels
11. UCD
12. Bray Wanderers
Think we will do well to make top three this year to be honest and Shams look good from what I've seen so far.
legendz
06/03/2013, 5:30 PM
I'll have to give this some thought. Impressive votes of confidence in Limerick so far. I would've thought maybe 9th at best for their first season back in the premier.
06/03/2013, 5:43 PM
Think we will do well to make top three this year to be honest.
.why?
Town Legend
06/03/2013, 11:34 PM
Premier Division
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. Drogheda United
4. St. Patricks Athletic
5. Derry City
6. Cork City
7. Limerick FC
8. Bohemians
9. Dundalk
10. Shelbourne
11. UCD
12. Bray Wanderers
First Division
1. Finn Harps
2. Waterford United
3. Longford Town
4. Athlone Town
5. Cobh Ramblers
6. Mervue United
7. Wexford Youths
8. Salthill Devon
.why?
A few reasons:
1. North being out for at least a third of the season. If Eldinho fires on all cylinders who knows?
2. I feel the loss of Mcguinness will be felt hugely, despite the addition of Mcmillan.
3. We got our share of any luck that was going last year. That doesn't happen two years running.
4. Overall it looks like most teams are stronger this year.
adamd164
07/03/2013, 2:01 PM
1. North being out for at least a third of the season.
If this is the case, then Boylesports can be caught on the hop, since they have North down as favourite for top scorer.
http://www.oddschecker.com/football/other/ireland/premier-league/ireland-fai-premier-division/top-goalscorer
Quigley at 7/1.
07/03/2013, 2:30 PM
Sligo seem to have had a very impressive pre-season and opened the Setanta with a huge win so they have to be favourites to retain their title in my eyes. Croly does seem to have a bit about him as Rovers manager and he signed players he knows well so I'll expect Rovers to be much improved and push all the way. Pat's could be the big let down this season. I don't think they've really improved their squad and they still look like they'll struggle for goals, losing Croly from the coaching staff is also a big blow. Drogheda will also be doing well to match last seasons exploits.
In the first division Harps are looking impressive, Waterford might struggle with Dempsey and Maguire gone, Longford should compete but seem destined to struggle again under Cousins, Athlone could be a revelation or a masive flop under Collins so hard to know what to expect there.
Premier Division
1. Sligo Rovers
2. Shamrock Rovers
3. Cork City
4. Derry City
5. St. Patricks Athletic
6. Drogheda United
7. Dundalk
8. Bohemians
9. Bray Wanderers
10. Limerick FC
11. UCD
12. Shelbourne
First Division
1. Finn Harps
2. Athlone Town
3. Waterford United
4. Longford Town
5. Wexford Youths
6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Mervue United
8. Salthill Devon
I think the gap between first and premier is bigger this year.
First Division
1. Waterford United
2. Athlone Town
3. Finn Harps
4. Longford Town
5. Wexford Youths
6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Mervue United
8. Salthill Devon
In my opinion the last four are clear. For the top four, I'll go with Waterford, they will invent something to be more competitive, Athlone, most improved squad, Finn, improved, but not so much in my opion and Longford, but they have lost a too much important players.
redobit
07/03/2013, 5:28 PM
A few reasons:
1. North being out for at least a third of the season.
He was out for nearly half of last season!
noddy102
07/03/2013, 6:56 PM
A few reasons:
1. North being out for at least a third of the season. If Eldinho fires on all cylinders who knows?
2. I feel the loss of Mcguinness will be felt hugely, despite the addition of Mcmillan.
3. We got our share of any luck that was going last year. That doesn't happen two years running.
4. Overall it looks like most teams are stronger this year.
1. You had North out for half a season last year
2. McMillan is as good
3. What luck? Stephen Kenny?
4. This one always confuses me, I mean you have Pats ahead of Sligo yet if anyone is slightly weaker at the top IMO its Pats.
Sligo have lost two players from last years squad, big players I agree, but I cant help but feel your being pessimistic to dampen expectations?
I agree Sligo were lucky perhaps that Shams were so poor last year and certainly I'd expect them to be stronger under Croly but I can only see it as a two horse race this year. Perhaps a tight table overall but realistically only see one of the Rovers winning the league.
Sligo
Shams
Drogs
Cork
Pats
Derry
Limerick
Dundalk
UCD
Shels
Bohs
Bray
wonder88
07/03/2013, 7:09 PM
I am going for Pats to win, a more competitive league than the betting would indicate. I expect Cork and Derry to be in the race for good while as well. Dundalk to finish ahead of Drogheda, Bohs to be 7/8 position and I think UCD are the most likely to be relegated.
1st divison: I expect Roddy to work his magic and win this with Atlone ahead of Finn Harps. The big question down here in the west is will Mervue have any chance of promotion? The under-achieved in a big way last year with the players they had.
Fivesilver
07/03/2013, 8:20 PM
I share a bit of dong's caution, but I can't see us having anything other than a stronger squad than last season. We're going to get way more out of Connolly and Conneely for starters. McMillan training as a fulltime pro is an exciting prospect. Elding's got off to a good start and gives us a dimension we didn't have last year.
Any good fortune we had last season was countered by dire luck with injuries, Quigley's long suspension and at least as many crap decisions against us as in our favour.
There's at least four, maybe five sides that can realistically have designs on the title. I think we and Shams have marginally the strongest squads. Their biggest advantage comes ironically from doing so badly last season - no European distraction. We had a bit of a dip last year and it was probably a blessing that it only lasted two games.
07/03/2013, 8:36 PM
I don't share any Rovers fans caution, we have the league won already. Elding and Djilali will teach other teams a football lesson. Expect us to beat Derry by at least 2 tomorrow.
CHAMPIONS!
blue til i die
07/03/2013, 9:07 PM
Premier Division -
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. St Patricks Ath
4. Derry City
5. Drogheda United
6. Cork
7. Dundalk
8. Limerick
9. UCD
10. Bray Wanderers
11. Bohemians
12.Shelbourne
First Division -
1. Waterford United
2. Longford Town
3. Athlone Town
4. Finn Harps
5. Cobh Ramblers
6. Wexford Youths
7. Mervue United
8. Salthill Devon
ForzaForth
07/03/2013, 9:15 PM
First Division
1. Longford
2. Waterford
3. Harps
4. Youths
5. Athlone
6. Cobh
7. Mervue
8. Salthill
(Youths look stronger than last year except for up front - all the young players are a year older. Shouldn't concede too much. Goals may be the problem.)
Premier
1. Sligo
2. Sham Rovers
3. St. Pats
4. Cork
5. Derry
6. Drogheda
7. Bohs
8. Limerick
9. Bray
10. UCD
11. Shels
12. Dundalk
08/03/2013, 9:03 AM
Premier
1. Shams
2. Pats
3. Sligo
4. Derry
5. Cork
6. Dundalk
7. Drogheda
8. Limerick
9. Bohs
10. Shelbourne
11. UCD
12. Bray
First Division
1. Athlone
2. Longford
3. Waterford
4. Harps
5. Cobh
6. Wexford
7. Mervue
8. Salthill
Derry to win League Cup
Pats to win FAI Cup (Yes, I have gone mildly insane.)
Briuk
08/03/2013, 10:38 AM
First Division
1. Waterford
2. Athlone Town
3. Finn Harps
4. Longford Town
5. Wexford Youths
6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Mervue United
8. Salthill Devon
oriel
08/03/2013, 11:40 AM
First Division
1. Longford
2. Waterford
3. Harps
4. Youths
5. Athlone
6. Cobh
7. Mervue
8. Salthill
(Youths look stronger than last year except for up front - all the young players are a year older. Shouldn't concede too much. Goals may be the problem.)
Premier
1. Sligo
2. Sham Rovers
3. St. Pats
4. Cork
5. Derry
6. Drogheda
7. Bohs
8. Limerick
9. Bray
10. UCD
11. Shels
12. Dundalk
You do know this is 2013 not 2012 ;)
Guinney
08/03/2013, 1:28 PM
Feck it, I am feeling optimistic today, Dundalk for the league :)
14/10/2013, 9:01 AM
Sligo seem to have had a very impressive pre-season and opened the Setanta with a huge win so they have to be favourites to retain their title in my eyes. Croly does seem to have a bit about him as Rovers manager and he signed players he knows well so I'll expect Rovers to be much improved and push all the way. Pat's could be the big let down this season. I don't think they've really improved their squad and they still look like they'll struggle for goals, losing Croly from the coaching staff is also a big blow. Drogheda will also be doing well to match last seasons exploits.
In the first division Harps are looking impressive, Waterford might struggle with Dempsey and Maguire gone, Longford should compete but seem destined to struggle again under Cousins, Athlone could be a revelation or a masive flop under Collins so hard to know what to expect there.
Premier Division
1. Sligo Rovers
2. Shamrock Rovers
3. Cork City
4. Derry City
5. St. Patricks Athletic
6. Drogheda United
7. Dundalk
8. Bohemians
9. Bray Wanderers
10. Limerick FC
11. UCD
12. Shelbourne
First Division
1. Finn Harps
2. Athlone Town
3. Waterford United
4. Longford Town
5. Wexford Youths
6. Cobh Ramblers
7. Mervue United
8. Salthill Devon
Outrageously bad predicting from me. I've highlighted the best parts.
This positivity about Harps baffles me, and also worries me deeply.
Nailed it :(
wonder88
14/10/2013, 11:56 AM
Got a few things right in this prediction, if Mervue can achieve promotion now?
I am going for Pats to win, a more competitive league than the betting would indicate. I expect Cork and Derry to be in the race for good while as well. Dundalk to finish ahead of Drogheda, Bohs to be 7/8 position and I think UCD are the most likely to be relegated.
1st divison: I expect Roddy to work his magic and win this with Atlone ahead of Finn Harps. The big question down here in the west is will Mervue have any chance of promotion? The under-achieved in a big way last year with the players they had.
14/10/2013, 12:53 PM
Subject to change depending on new signings, but as it stands.
Premier:
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo
3. Drogheda
4. St. Pat's
5. Cork
6. Derry
7. Dundalk
8. Limerick
9. Bohemian FC
10. Shelbourne
11. Bray
12. UCD
First:
1. Finn Harps
2. Athlone
3. Longford
4. Wexford
5. Waterford
6. Cobh
7. Mervue
8. Salthill
League Cup - Derry
FAI Cup - St Pat's to break the hoodoo
Setanta Cup - Cork
Well...I didn't do TOO badly..
patsdad
14/10/2013, 8:09 PM
Have to laugh at people putting Cork so high.
Pats
Sligo
Rovers
Derry
Drogheda
Dundalk
Cork
Limerick
UCD
Bohs
Shels
Bray
Give that man a cigar - no-one could have foreseen Dundalk's over-achievement, otherwise this is remarkably close.
adamd164
14/10/2013, 8:14 PM
We're sixth actually!
DaveyPats
15/10/2013, 4:39 PM
Give that man a cigar - no-one could have foreseen Dundalk's over-achievement, otherwise this is remarkably close.
Haha I told everyone we'd win it except the bookies.
Brilliant weekend.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/10/2013, 7:39 PM
Some putting Dundalk 4th and 5th............not a chance, most of us would be very happy with 6th.The non distraction of Setanta and Europe is probably an advantage in consolidating our position, not to mention a decent manager in Kenny, but even thinking about it now, I'm wondering who the teams will be that will finish below us if we did manage 6th.
Here goes for fun.
1. Rovers
2. Sligo
3. Pats
4. Derry
5. Cork
6 .Dundalk
7. Drogs
8. Limerick
9. Bohs
10.Shels
11.UCD
12.Bray
But...............if I was betting, I'd only be confident of the top 5
FD
I dont know enough about it at the moment to post a prediction, but appears to be more wide open than recent years. Waterford would seem to be best suited, but I hope Athlone have a good year also. Happy to see Cobh back too, so good luck to all involved with them.
Quite a few teams will finish behind ye!