View Full Version : Gaa 2013

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

08/09/2013, 2:40 PM
I would have thought it was north-west, yeah. Then again, it's all bogland to me :)

08/09/2013, 4:00 PM
Wild celebrations at GAA HQ as every GAA official in the land toasts news of a money-spinning All-Ireland final replay.

08/09/2013, 6:26 PM
Revenue is manna, Charlie. Just feel the love.

I played in croke pk a couple of times in schools finals, way back in the day, one of them ended in a draw, the ref had no qualms about going into extra time.
And if it was still a draw, he probably would have had a penalty shoot out, there was no place on the calendar for a replay. They just wanted to get rid of us and shout 'next'.

I had a wry smile at the fate of the Cork manager, caught on camera on the sidelines, as he smirked the smile of an AI winning manager, in the zone, game over, All Ireland won, a point ahead, a sideline puck, 2 mins gone already played of 2mins extra time.
Actually i had thought the game was over myself and had turned to leave the room.

09/09/2013, 8:51 AM
Ah the bellyaching over the phantom 30 secs.

O’Donovan had no right to get that point at the end. But what a way to draw the game.

I for one am delighted or it to have gone to a replay. As JBM said, a “draw was a fair result”. Cracking game.

Here’s hoping the football will live up to that.

Speaking of football, I re-watched Dublin-Kerry on Friday evening before the soccer and I’m even more gung-ho about Dublin thoroughly deserving of the result.

Kerry’s last score came in the 62nd from Darran O’Sullivan. That’s a whole 10 minutes before the end of the game.

7 points was the deserved margin and to be honest it could have been more given that Brogan should have scored a goal around the same time and spooned it to Kealy.

Anyway it’s all over. We get the Chokers in Croker! COME ON YOU BOYS IN BLUE!

NeverFeltBetter
09/09/2013, 10:27 AM
I couldn't believe Cork weren't told to retake that first half free. If a Clare player had rushed a free-taker like that further out the field it'd be a yellow card.

09/09/2013, 3:51 PM
What are the rules for a penalty puck?
It should be taken from the 20m line, but taken does not mean hit.
I saw that player take a few for Cork, he's taking it on the 20m line, by the the time the ball comes down to be hit, he's on the 13m line, then he whacks it towards the net.

Real ale Madrid
10/09/2013, 12:29 PM
What are the rules for a penalty puck?
It should be taken from the 20m line, but taken does not mean hit.

The rule states that it must be struck from the 20m line - but that rule is never adhered to ( one of many in the GAA ) so I can't blame the Clare goalie for rushing out even though the ref told him to reign back on it later.

Incidentally Cork got a goal from the next 20m free and missed a penalty - Cork must have the worst inter-co record when it comes to hurling penalties - I think they have only scored 1 out of the last 10 or something. If they had tapped over the 2 20m frees and goaled the penalty it might have been a different story, but you couldn't complain about the result - in reality no-one from Cork was giving out about the extra 30 seconds - I think it was more the deflation thinking 1 minute you are going to win and then...well....fair played to them - they certainly deserved it.

Two days later and I still have no idea to they managed to score 3-16 while being completely outplayed. It was an epic finish and an unbelievable atmosphere. Roll on Sept 28th.

11/09/2013, 12:09 PM
The rule states that it must be struck from the 20m line - but that rule is never adhered to ( one of many in the GAA ) so I can't blame the Clare goalie for rushing out even though the ref told him to reign back on it later.
The rules states it should be taken (not struck) from the 20m line, but is the definition of 'taken', to mean that he can throw it up in the air and gain 5m before he whacks it?
'Taken' in hurling must mean that you just start with the process of hitting the ball at the 20m line?

The Cork manager complained afterwards about the Clare goalie encroaching for that penalty.
The Cork player gained 5m before he hit the ball, the Clare goalie was about 3m off his line:rolleyes:

I think Cork should be slight favourites for the replay, they will surely be confident that they can improve on that display which nearly pulled it off for them.

Real ale Madrid
11/09/2013, 12:49 PM
The rules states it should be taken (not struck) from the 20m line, but is the definition of 'taken', to mean that he can throw it up in the air and gain 5m before he whacks it?
'Taken' in hurling must mean that you just start with the process of hitting the ball at the 20m line?

The Cork manager complained afterwards about the Clare goalie encroaching for that penalty.
The Cork player gained 5m before he hit the ball, the Clare goalie was about 3m off his line:rolleyes:

I think Cork should be slight favourites for the replay, they will surely be confident that they can improve on that display which nearly pulled it off for them.

I'm assuming the process of moving 5 yards forward is illegal - in theory you must strike the sliothar in the same place as you lift it, before players would lift it and take a step forward as they strike it, illegal, but not much of an advantage - its evolving now into a big lift into the air and forward 5 yards before you hit it. I'd say it will be looked at over the winter.

NeverFeltBetter
11/09/2013, 12:54 PM
I can't ever remember a time when players didn't take a few yards from a penalty or a goal-bound free.

16/09/2013, 9:54 PM
Next Sunday for the football final. The 2 best teams are there which is good, I think that's beyond dispute.
Right now i don't really care who wins, for me it's a, on the day, who deserves it most, type of a final.
Of course I have a soft spot for the cinderella team, Dublin,
however I expect them to buckle under the pressure again, to the Mayo Men.

17/09/2013, 7:20 AM
Next Sunday for the football final. The 2 best teams are there which is good, I think that's beyond dispute.
Right now i don't really care who wins, for me it's a, on the day, who deserves it most, type of a final.
Of course I have a soft spot for the cinderella team, Dublin,
however I expect them to buckle under the pressure again, to the Mayo Men.

That sounds fiercely like Mayo doesn't it?

Mayo don't do finals and we don't do Mayo in the Championship.

Will be a whopper game. Delightfully I have Monday off.

17/09/2013, 12:49 PM
That sounds fiercely like Mayo doesn't it?

Mayo don't do finals and we don't do Mayo in the Championship.

Will be a whopper game. Delightfully I have Monday off.
Or it could be a delightful game and you have the whopper on monday.

IsMiseSean
17/09/2013, 3:32 PM
I was in a pub behind enemy lines at the weekend.
Came out with the statement that I'd rather see England win the WC than a Mayo victory on Sunday, it didn't go down to well as you can imagine... :D

ArdeeBhoy
17/09/2013, 8:48 PM
Why?
Thought all you Westies'stuck together'​ ?

IsMiseSean
18/09/2013, 2:20 PM
Sligo, Roscommon & Leitrim no problem. I just really dislike Mayo, they're a different breed!

19/09/2013, 9:56 AM
Roscommnon is hell. HELL! Except for Termonbarry.

Uh oh... Enda has made a boo-boo...

Taoiseach invites 1951 heroes to final
An Taoiseach Enda Kenny will have three special guests with him when he turns out to support his native Mayo in Sunday's All-Ireland SFC final against Dublin at Croke Park.

The three surviving members of the last Mayo team to win the All-Ireland back in 1951 - Paddy Prendergast, Fr Peter Quinn and Pádraig Carney - have been invited to join the Taoiseach for the county's latest tilt at lifting the Sam Maguire Cup.

On September 23, 1951, Mayo emerged as 2-8 to 0-9 victors over Meath with Prendergast playing at full-back, Quinn at left half-back and Carney listed at centre-forward. Carney scored 0-5 (0-4f) that day.

Last year's defeat to Donegal marked Mayo's sixth time to be All-Ireland runners-up in 22 years - they have had to cope with falling at the final hurdle in 1989, 1996, 1997, 2004, 2006 and 2012 - but Enda Kenny believes the current Connacht champions have what it takes to end that losing streak.

"James Horan and his team have done a magnificent job here. I think last year's defeat was a lesson learned by Mayo. I think they're in a place where they can certainly win this," Kenny told the Mayo News.

"This is going to be a lifetime ambition and achievement for all these young men, for the entire panel. I think this is going to be great.

"I'm travelling all the counties of Ireland and there’s not a single county that will begrudge Mayo a win but you've got to win it on the pitch, on the scoreboard. You've got to get the ball over the bar, get the goals when they come.

"They have to win it. Nobody is going to show you any sympathy on the pitch. There's no place to hide anymore. Our panel, our team, are more than capable of doing this."

Kenny has his own All-Ireland links of course, with his father Henry an All-Ireland winner with Mayo back in 1936 and just a fortnight ago his teenage son Naoise won the All-Ireland Minor 'C' Hurling Championship with his Mayo side.

The Taoiseach also dismissed as 'nonsense' the supposed curse that was placed on the Mayo footballers in 1951 after the then All-Ireland winners passed by a funeral in Foxford and failed to pay due respects to the funeral procession.

The local priest at the time was incensed by this and legend has it that he placed a curse on Mayo that they would not win another All-Ireland until all of the 1951 team had died.

Current Foxford priest, Fr Padraig Costello, said there is 'no basis in this curse story' - even checking the parish records for any mention of it.

But thankfully for any superstitious supporters, Fr Costello has given the current Mayo team an official blessing at the bridge over the Moy where his predecessor allegedly imposed the curse 62 years ago.

http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/sport/taoiseach-invites-1951-heroes-to-final-607451.html

NeverFeltBetter
19/09/2013, 11:54 AM
GAA has this curse thing. Clare hurling has this ridiculous story about Biddy Early cursing the team after their last All-Ireland win, which neglected the fact that Early died decades beforehand.

Baseball is the same. Not sure why it doesn't crop up more in other sports.

19/09/2013, 12:48 PM
Because it's horse sh!t and an easy way to blame failure on it.

19/09/2013, 3:10 PM
My dad has been banging on about the curse the last 20 years.

I'm gutted I'm not flying back for this one, even without a ticket it's such a brilliant day. If the Mayo forwards turn up then Sam will be heading west. It's going to be a shoot out and that's why Mayo need to be so accurate in front of the posts. Just hope the Mayo lads start well.

19/09/2013, 3:14 PM
I hope everything you say is wrong.

Love All-Ireland final weekend no matter who's playing. Had a great time even last year. Helped by Mayo capitulation.

19/09/2013, 4:51 PM
I hope everything you say is wrong.

Love All-Ireland final weekend no matter who's playing. Had a great time even last year. Helped by Mayo capitulation.
That's why Dub fans are sometimes regarded as the Millwall (scum) in the GAA world, no class ;)

Mayo just have to start on time in the final, it was criminal of them to dawdle for the first 15 minutes in the sf to give that bunch of tyrants from Tyrone, a glimmer of hope in the first half.
If Mayo are still standing after the Dubs shoot their load in the first 15 minutes. then I'd expect them to win.
It should be close game though, but I'd expect Mayo to end the game much stronger than Kerry did.
Kerry's energy levels in the last quarter of the sf, made Dublin look like super athletes.

ArdeeBhoy
21/09/2013, 1:53 PM
Well I'm a Dub by birth and wanted Maigh Eo to win last year. Have so many pals/acquaintances from that part of the world, know all about how long them and their folks have been waiting;beyond Galway & the Rossies, seem to be most people's 2nd favourite county as they have been such chokers.

And for that one reason, wouldn't begrudge them an AI tomorrow. Though still hope the Dubs do it but not as much as v.certain other counties who shall remain nameless.
Personally, would prefer the Dubs to win a hurling AI title. One day...

Spudulika
22/09/2013, 2:23 PM
Want Dublin to win, but feel Mayo will do it.

DannyInvincible
22/09/2013, 4:05 PM
Going for a point when a goal was desperately needed with the four minutes of stoppage time played? What was going through his head?

22/09/2013, 4:14 PM
Excellent by the Dubs on the day and that's what matters, they outplayed a better football team. They took a while to settle into the game but once they did, they didn't let go of the supremacy. Cluxton's kick outs were crafty, somehow the Dub forwards were able to create a number of 'one on one' goal scoring chances and could afford to miss most of them. Mayo looked rattled by the challenge of the Dubs, rather than them not turning up on the day, if you know what I mean.

Spudulika
22/09/2013, 4:40 PM
Lost wifi at 0 8 to 1 3 , being a good husband and making up for a lot of ot, so just got the result by text and now reading the report. Relieved. Sorry for Mayo but this is what makes sport great. Now she's getting a facial, and I'm takingbthe time to reconnect with sport for an hour.

22/09/2013, 5:27 PM
Now she's getting a facial, and I'm takingbthe time to reconnect with sport for an hour.
Not leaving much to the imagination there...

22/09/2013, 6:29 PM
Mayo forwards let the side down. It was the major worry going into the game & it came back to haunt us. Didn't deserve to win an all Ireland on that performance....the maddening thing is that Dublin were there for the taking, this wasn't a Kerry side filled with top class players. Sickening altogether.

Mayo players saying the ref said they had more time when Cillian kicked the point over.....should have still drilled it in & hoped for the best.

The cynical fouling the last 10 minutes does need to be stamped out, amazed Brolly didn't have a fit.

Oh well we'll be back next year for another beating in the final...hopefully the minor forwards can get us over the line when they mature.

ArdeeBhoy
23/09/2013, 9:54 AM
Maybe, disappointed Maigh Eo didn't turn up but at least they didn't bottle it until the last play of the game.
Watched the game with a lot of Mayo heads yesterday and with one exception, were very philosophical and good sports.

Good luck to 'em.

NeverFeltBetter
23/09/2013, 10:47 AM
Mayo players saying the ref said they had more time when Cillian kicked the point over.....should have still drilled it in & hoped for the best.

The cynical fouling the last 10 minutes does need to be stamped out, amazed Brolly didn't have a fit.

Its just calculation though. The chances of scoring a goal from that position is pretty low in football, considering the bodies in the way. Take a point, and 50/50 shot of winning possession from the kick-out, and then having enough time to make an attack for an equaliser? I think that's a more likely way to get back to even scores before full time, if the team is doing their job right from the kick-out.

Agree totally on the cynical fouling. Only thing is to make punishment worse somehow. Red cards that late wouldn't make much of a difference, maybe add yards on if its professional foul automatically? Increase size of penalty area?

23/09/2013, 1:26 PM
The Dubs didn't need to indulge in the cynical fouling but they couldn't help themselves,
the mask just falls off and they turn into lawless cage fighters. Mayo were not any better at it last year.
It's just when Dublin do it, they look like crazed animals, like that O'Gara.

23/09/2013, 1:39 PM
Note which character is looking up to the big screen to see if he's on it :rolleyes:

http://action81.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Stephen-Cluxton-Dublin-Sam-Maguire.jpg

ArdeeBhoy
23/09/2013, 1:39 PM
Tbf, the 'cynical fouling' was noticeably less than say an Ulaidh team or a certain royal shower were playing...

As above^^^ watched with Mayo-heads, none of whom were indulging in any sour grapes or post-match whining immediately afterwards.

Also Enda, re.the photo, fecked off out of the presentation scene. Part-timer!

Spudulika
23/09/2013, 7:20 PM
Not leaving much to the imagination there...

Just saw how that looked. Should have added it was in the beauty salon.

Going to watch the match tomorrow at a bar with some friends, good excuse to have a midweek session.

23/09/2013, 8:34 PM
Just saw how that looked. Should have added it was in the beauty salon.

Even worse, in public too...:cool:

23/09/2013, 8:52 PM
Tbf, the 'cynical fouling' was noticeably less than say an Ulaidh team or a certain royal shower were playing...

As above^^^ watched with Mayo-heads, none of whom were indulging in any sour grapes or post-match whining immediately afterwards.

There's no way that the cynical stuff should detract from Dublin's triumph, every team just plays the rules as they currently stand. If I remember correctly, Bonnie was disgusted by Mayo's cynical stuff in last year's semi final, and will no doubt be equally, if not more disgusted with Dublin's antics this year, otherwise we might think him/her is a hypocrite. ;)

As regard Ulster cynicism, if you took out Tyrone from that equation, the red bástards of GAA cynical crimes against football, then you're taking out most of Ulster's cynicism. If you watched the Ulster final, you certainly didn't see a purist team like Monaghan, haul, maul or drag Donegal players to the ground with 10 minutes to go.

Real ale Madrid
23/09/2013, 9:41 PM
Is it just me or if a player like Michael Darragh McCauley is in line for player of the year then GAA football is well and truely fupped! He's not even the best midfielder in Dublin for Christ's sake.

That was the only thing that annoyed me about yesterday - you can talk about cynical fouling but everyone does it now. Sin bin next year I think.

And Mayo - ah Mayo - I was up in Killala for the semi against Tyrone, they love their football, but there was a real sense of "something bad is bound to happen" on the day of the final - the whole Co. needs a change of mindset - go up to Croker and just take the damned thing!

IsMiseSean
24/09/2013, 1:14 PM
Ah Mayo GAA... You never let me down! :D

DeLorean
26/09/2013, 2:33 PM
Excellent by the Dubs on the day and that's what matters, they outplayed a better football team.

Neither team were excellent on the day really. Dublin were that bit better though, no doubt. They clearly have classier, scoring forwards, not even open for debate I would think. What makes you say Mayo are better football team?

26/09/2013, 10:18 PM
Too much is made out of expecting great football to be played in the AI final. Doesn't mean excellence is not served up.
Excellence with Dublin was how they steadied themselves after getting the run around in the first quarter, there was just that unquantifiable confidence they had with their game, something that takes years to build and then to carry it with you into the AI final and see it work out on the pitch, was an amazing spectacle. I said it there and then after the 15 min mark to the immediate audience, that Dublin have it. Nothing penetrated that sheer force of 'we are going to win', in fact Dublin didn't need to do all that cynical fouling late on.
For my eyes, that was a gripping final.

Mayo don't play with a sweeper, the ease with which Mayo destroyed Donegal (1/4 final) and toyed with Tyrone (semi final) was outstandingly impressive. Their approach to attacking was way ahead of anything seen this year. A better football team can come in to the final and be beaten. They can be beaten by a cynical team, or they can be beaten by a better team on the day. Mayo just have that natural excellence in the skills of gaelic football, like Kerry.
The Mayo forward line didn't perform, there were issues apart from football ability, which had something to say there.

Then the other issues, Dublin have a 1.3m population and a bottomless barrel of cash to fund the quest for the holy grail.

ArdeeBhoy
26/09/2013, 11:39 PM
Yes, the whole population of Dublin loves/supports/plays GAA. Or sports come to that. Not

'Blow-ins' aside, the 'expectation' factor is much a handicap as anything else.

27/09/2013, 4:42 PM
Maybe, disappointed Maigh Eo didn't turn up but at least they didn't bottle it until the last play of the game.
Watched the game with a lot of Mayo heads yesterday and with one exception, were very philosophical and good sports.

Good luck to 'em.

I think that's the one shining light to take from it for Mayo people.
How they were only a point ahead at half time I don't know.

The calmness that Jim Gavin displays is rather frightening.

Its just calculation though. The chances of scoring a goal from that position is pretty low in football, considering the bodies in the way. Take a point, and 50/50 shot of winning possession from the kick-out, and then having enough time to make an attack for an equaliser? I think that's a more likely way to get back to even scores before full time, if the team is doing their job right from the kick-out.

Agree totally on the cynical fouling. Only thing is to make punishment worse somehow. Red cards that late wouldn't make much of a difference, maybe add yards on if its professional foul automatically? Increase size of penalty area?

There were a lot of bodies in the square it could easily have gone anywhere and bounced in or back out to a Mayo player.

They were relying on winning a kick out after the point which was daft considering they were getting nothing from Cluxton all through the second half.

And as Cluxton knew it was likely to be the last kick of the game he was under no real pressure to attack with it; just find a man and leave it at that.

To lose by two is the same as losing by one. A stupid idea to go for the point.

To be fair Dublin's laziness as the game drew to a close was worrying as they were comfortable and 3 points up the Mayo free at the end shouldn't have been a free that could have won a match from the Dublin point-of-view.

Note which character is looking up to the big screen to see if he's on it :rolleyes:

http://action81.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Stephen-Cluxton-Dublin-Sam-Maguire.jpg

Funny, there's no big screen facing Enda from that side of the ground.

There's no way that the cynical stuff should detract from Dublin's triumph, every team just plays the rules as they currently stand. If I remember correctly, Bonnie was disgusted by Mayo's cynical stuff in last year's semi final, and will no doubt be equally, if not more disgusted with Dublin's antics this year, otherwise we might think him/her is a hypocrite. ;)

As regard Ulster cynicism, if you took out Tyrone from that equation, the red bástards of GAA cynical crimes against football, then you're taking out most of Ulster's cynicism. If you watched the Ulster final, you certainly didn't see a purist team like Monaghan, haul, maul or drag Donegal players to the ground with 10 minutes to go.

I have a vague recollection of being disgusted at Mayo last year but that was the realms of desperate men. You'll have to root out my posts. I accept your recollection.

I though Dublin resorting to that at the end whilst understandable was no more acceptable or palatable. Though having 13 players on the pitch in the dying minutes meant there were no real options for weary bodies.

Is it just me or if a player like Michael Darragh McCauley is in line for player of the year then GAA football is well and truely fupped! He's not even the best midfielder in Dublin for Christ's sake.

I thought he was magnificent.

And Mayo - ah Mayo - I was up in Killala for the semi against Tyrone, they love their football, but there was a real sense of "something bad is bound to happen" on the day of the final - the whole Co. needs a change of mindset - go up to Croker and just take the damned thing!

I wouldn't have begrudged them the victory but I just knew they'd fall short again.

27/09/2013, 4:47 PM
That's why Dub fans are sometimes regarded as the Millwall (scum) in the GAA world, no class ;)

Mayo just have to start on time in the final, it was criminal of them to dawdle for the first 15 minutes in the sf to give that bunch of tyrants from Tyrone, a glimmer of hope in the first half.
If Mayo are still standing after the Dubs shoot their load in the first 15 minutes. then I'd expect them to win.
It should be close game though, but I'd expect Mayo to end the game much stronger than Kerry did.
Kerry's energy levels in the last quarter of the sf, made Dublin look like super athletes.

Only from the likes of yerselves. The Cork and Meath fans now they are on a different plane of scummery altogether.

Well I'm a Dub by birth and wanted Maigh Eo to win last year. Have so many pals/acquaintances from that part of the world, know all about how long them and their folks have been waiting;beyond Galway & the Rossies, seem to be most people's 2nd favourite county as they have been such chokers.

And for that one reason, wouldn't begrudge them an AI tomorrow. Though still hope the Dubs do it but not as much as v.certain other counties who shall remain nameless.
Personally, would prefer the Dubs to win a hurling AI title. One day...

Shoulda been this year bar that dubious red card.

Excellent by the Dubs on the day and that's what matters, they outplayed a better football team. They took a while to settle into the game but once they did, they didn't let go of the supremacy. Cluxton's kick outs were crafty, somehow the Dub forwards were able to create a number of 'one on one' goal scoring chances and could afford to miss most of them. Mayo looked rattled by the challenge of the Dubs, rather than them not turning up on the day, if you know what I mean.

Bang on the money.

Mayo forwards let the side down. It was the major worry going into the game & it came back to haunt us. Didn't deserve to win an all Ireland on that performance....the maddening thing is that Dublin were there for the taking, this wasn't a Kerry side filled with top class players. Sickening altogether.

What happens now though? Is there stomach for another tilt? The more I think about it I think that's them done.

Disgracful shot selection as I said. Don't know what he was thinking. 2 points down with a free with the last kick of the game. There's only one choice for me.

IsMiseSean
27/09/2013, 8:13 PM
Mayo just have that natural excellence in the skills of gaelic football, like Kerry.

Your post was going so well and then you came out with this gem... :rolleyes:

28/09/2013, 2:45 AM
The Dubs didn't need to indulge in the cynical fouling but they couldn't help themselves,
the mask just falls off and they turn into lawless cage fighters. Mayo were not any better at it last year.
It's just when Dublin do it, they look like crazed animals, like that O'Gara.
Just watching it again and I'm not sure how you've managed to reach this conclusion. Dublin played the last 15 minutes with effectively 13 men as O'Gara was crocked and O'Carroll was concussed and could barely stand up. Any team would commit fouls in that instance. The mystery is how Mayo managed to miss so many easy scores in that final period - and give some up - when they had such numerical dominance.

28/09/2013, 7:51 PM
Just watching it again and I'm not sure how you've managed to reach this conclusion. Dublin played the last 15 minutes with effectively 13 men as O'Gara was crocked and O'Carroll was concussed and could barely stand up. Any team would commit fouls in that instance. The mystery is how Mayo managed to miss so many easy scores in that final period - and give some up - when they had such numerical dominance.
O'Gara was acting the macho maggot earlier on in the game, fouling and standing over the downed player shouting some nonsense.

There's no context for justifying cynical play in the 10 - 15 minutes, to destroy the other team's momentum and waste time, except that it can happen under the rules as they stand now.
Not every team does that stuff and as I said, Dublin didn't have to, they had the game won. Just because other teams do it, does not provide a context for it in the game. Just about everybody is totally fed up with it in gaelic football. And there it comes again in the AI final, the best team in the country are doing it.

28/09/2013, 8:08 PM
Well O'Gara's an idiot.

Well there's no real justification for cynical play except that it works, I suppose. McManoman's rugby tackle towards the end being an example that halted Mayo's momentum. To be cynical, you'd think it has to be clever and have a purpose, whereas lot of the supposedly cynical fouling by Dublin towards the end was needless stuff within kicking distance which looked more like tiredness and a result of being completely outnumbered.

Real ale Madrid
29/09/2013, 11:32 PM
Not a bad year for hurling I suppose. Final wasn't too bad either.

ArdeeBhoy
30/09/2013, 1:00 AM
The understatement of the decade so far?

And deserved winners, btw.