View Full Version : Gaa 2013
14/03/2013, 6:30 PM
Dublin will be needing new sponsors this summer.
Vodafone are ending their sponsorship with the team.
Vodafone Ireland today announced that its current sponsorship deal with Dublin GAA is to conclude at the end of the championship year.
The decision was taken following a recent review by Vodafone Ireland of the company’s wider sponsorship strategy and in accordance with the terms of the partnership. Vodafone will continue its relationship with Dublin GAA as an associate sponsor beyond this year’s championship, into 2014.
Announcing the decision, Vodafone Head of Brand Anne Mulcahy said: “Our sponsorship of Dublin GAA covered one of the most successful periods ever for the county across all codes and age groups. It’s a time that will live long in the memory of fans.
“Vodafone is delighted to have played a role in that success by way of providing much valued financial and other support for teams across all age groups, from the senior teams right down to the rising stars of the games.
“We look forward this year to delivering another busy programme of activities that, together with our financial backing, will help maintain the hugely successful ongoing promotion of the games in the capital. We also look forward to continuing our relationship with Dublin as an associate partner and wish them well in securing a new lead sponsor for 2014.”
Dublin GAA Chairman Andy Kettle said that the county has never been in a stronger position as it sets about securing a sponsor for the 2014 season. “Vodafone have been excellent partners. They raised the sponsorship of Dublin GAA to a new level by way of the range of activity and support, financial and otherwise, they brought to the table. We thank them for that support over the course of the past three years and in the year ahead. The partnership between Vodafone and Dublin has been one of the most successful and mutually beneficial sports sponsorship of recent times,” he said.
“We will go to market in the summer to secure a new sponsor in the confidence that this is by far the strongest county brand and sponsorship property in the GAA and also one of the most coveted and high profile sports sponsorships in Ireland. As part of our new commercial strategy, a new sponsor will continue to enjoy the exposure and affinity that Dublin GAA provides with our massive fan base and large participation numbers. Evidence of this is the successful Spring Series, which has attracted attendances in the region of 30,000 for league matches played in Croke Park.
“We have enjoyed an incredibly successful three years across both codes and all age groups. The success of our underage teams in particular and the emergence of the hurlers ensures that the momentum and success built up over recent years in football and hurling is going to continue long into the future.”
http://www.hill16.ie/index.php?/home/comments/vodafone-dublin-deal-to-conclude-at-end-of-championship/
15/03/2013, 8:35 AM
How much do the Dub county board spend each year trying to buy win the AI title?
15/03/2013, 8:36 AM
Not as much as Kerry did evidently.
15/03/2013, 8:42 AM
Seeing as Kerry usually last longer than Dublin in the AI, you could speculate that their costs will be higher.
The Kerry board hand over about €1m? p/a to the senior team coffers. The Dubs probably spend twice that on their senior team.
15/03/2013, 9:10 AM
I was being glib.
But whatever stuff we're buying hasn't been that successful though in comparison to the great green southern menace. Maybe this year...
15/03/2013, 10:02 AM
I guess all those ice baths haven't cooled down the eternal optimism.
15/03/2013, 10:28 AM
Of course not. You can't dampen my spirit. Unless you're Graham Canty and it's 2010.
17/03/2013, 9:09 AM
Not a bad game Dublin v Tyrone. I suppose the result won't worry the Dubs so much seeing as they rested a few players.
The canny observers will have seen the quality of the Tyrone squad on display out there, from the newcomers to the old hands like O'Neill and Cavanagh
swinfordfc
19/05/2013, 10:16 PM
That's Game 1 out of the way .......
26/05/2013, 3:16 PM
So the big one has begun. Donegal making all the early play.
And the big shock of the day; London beat Sligo!!! 1-12 to 0-14
26/05/2013, 5:51 PM
Well how about that?
Donegal out of the blocks today showing their intent. Just Dublin left of the top table to get their summer started.
Real ale Madrid
26/05/2013, 8:34 PM
They won at their ease - I don't rate Tyrone much though really- they are turning into a Northern version of Kildare - consistent, but a lack of cutting edge against the top sides- maybe they will improve in the Qualifiers, find a few goals.
swinfordfc
26/05/2013, 10:41 PM
Bravo London - fair play. London or Leitrim in the Connacht Final - thats going to be great.
Donegal look the class act again this year and they have a few extra subs now as well this year.
26/05/2013, 10:44 PM
Didn't London nearly beat Mayo last year? The breakthrough was on the cards. Posh must be delighted with that result.
Ironic that London is in Connacht :)
Donegal blew Tyrone away, I didn't expect it but I really enjoyed it.
swinfordfc
27/05/2013, 8:55 PM
Didn't London nearly beat Mayo last year? The breakthrough was on the cards. Posh must be delighted with that result.
Ironic that London is in Connacht :)
Donegal blew Tyrone away, I didn't expect it but I really enjoyed it.
London should have beaten Mayo two years ago and only lost to Leitrim by a point last year so its been on the cards for a while for sure.....
31/05/2013, 12:34 PM
They won at their ease - I don't rate Tyrone much though really- they are turning into a Northern version of Kildare - consistent, but a lack of cutting edge against the top sides- maybe they will improve in the Qualifiers, find a few goals.
It was quite something to watch Donegal kill that game off so quickly.
I think Tyrone are better than that but there's no one going to stop Donegal in Ulster this year.
Only us up tomorrow of the genuine contenders and I think it should be a canter. I don't like to be full of hubris before a Dublin match but the way we played in the League shows that there's a definite improvement on last year. It's going to be a great weekend of football and the summer is warming up nicely.
One of Donegal, Dublin or Mayo for Sam.
swinfordfc
01/06/2013, 10:02 PM
It was quite something to watch Donegal kill that game off so quickly.
I think Tyrone are better than that but there's no one going to stop Donegal in Ulster this year.
Only us up tomorrow of the genuine contenders and I think it should be a canter. I don't like to be full of hubris before a Dublin match but the way we played in the League shows that there's a definite improvement on last year. It's going to be a great weekend of football and the summer is warming up nicely.
One of Donegal, Dublin or Mayo for Sam.
If O'Connor is out for the season with his shoulder, then Mayo will not win Sam without him.......
01/06/2013, 10:09 PM
Dublin look impressive, but can those kids stand up to Donegals brand of defending. Wouldn't rule out Cork or Kerry either.
02/06/2013, 12:44 PM
If O'Connor is out for the season with his shoulder, then Mayo will not win Sam without him.......
We'll see how it goes this week.
I still think it's between those three with Dublin and Donegal slightly ahead. I'm looking forward to seeing Derry today as well.
Dublin match yesterday was unreal. A training match really but it was nice to see us not let up for too long bar that period towards the end of the first half.
Munster is really pi$$ing me off this year. The gulf in class between Cork and Kerry and the other counties is beyond a joke. Incredibly unfair on Leinster and Ulster teams.
02/06/2013, 12:44 PM
Dublin look impressive, but can those kids stand up to Donegals brand of defending. Wouldn't rule out Cork or Kerry either.
I think we can. But there's a long way to go until then.
swinfordfc
02/06/2013, 10:13 PM
We'll see how it goes this week.
I still think it's between those three with Dublin and Donegal slightly ahead. I'm looking forward to seeing Derry today as well.
Dublin match yesterday was unreal. A training match really but it was nice to see us not let up for too long bar that period towards the end of the first half.
Munster is really pi$$ing me off this year. The gulf in class between Cork and Kerry and the other counties is beyond a joke. Incredibly unfair on Leinster and Ulster teams.
Derry - dont make me laugh!!!!!!
03/06/2013, 9:28 PM
Derry - dont make me laugh!!!!!!
I know right?
Great game though.
CraftyToePoke
10/06/2013, 4:36 PM
Huge performance from the Limerick hurlers in the Gaelic Grounds against Tipperary yesterday. Breakthrough win maybe ?
Either way, superb day. Well done.
swinfordfc
11/06/2013, 2:04 PM
Huge performance from the Limerick hurlers in the Gaelic Grounds against Tipperary yesterday. Breakthrough win maybe ?
Either way, superb day. Well done.
Great game to watch - delighted for Limerick - hopefully they win Munster now
11/06/2013, 2:54 PM
Not a bad weekend for Wexford, underdogs in both codes and came out with a good win in Louth and a draw in Wexford Park. The hurlers will probably rue the missed chance, it was a dreadful game really for long spells but the Dubs looked like they completely lost confidence and were there for the taking. I can't see Dublin being as bad again and I'd be surprised if they don't win the replay by 4 or 5 points.
swinfordfc
17/06/2013, 9:55 AM
Game 2 done and dusted .......
17/06/2013, 9:25 PM
It was a disappointing game altogether. I expected a bit more from the Rossies though it wasn't really in doubt as a result.
Fermanagh were gash in the first half but thankfully improved. Chances are I won't be able to get to their qualifier which is annoying. It's gonna clash with the Dublin match and a trip to Cork.
23/06/2013, 3:06 PM
So how about that Ulster semi?
Intriguing from start to finish. Down played a great game. Unfortunately they came up slightly short in the end. Donegal are a juggernaut though. Still easily the favourites for Sam. Only 2 wides in that match. Scary stuff.
I think Down could be on a good run this year though as well through the qualifiers, draw dependent there's definite progress since the league whcich you could see slowly come to fruition against Derry.
Now it's time for Cork and Clare. HON THE BANNER!
23/06/2013, 4:19 PM
Epic match happening down in Portlaoise.
23/06/2013, 4:25 PM
Epic match happening down in Portlaoise.
Kilkenny 1-14 Dublin 0-17
TJ Reid drew it with the last poc of the game for KK.
I think it's a chance blown for us. I think a trip to Portlaoise on the way home next Sunday from Cork is on the cards pour moi.
24/06/2013, 10:55 AM
I didn't know they played hurling in Dublin.
Must be one of the effects of migration.
ArdeeBhoy
28/06/2013, 4:43 PM
You're a bit slow on this one. They've had a handy hurling team for a good few years now.
Anyway on a far more serious point, which eejit signed off this particular sponsorship?
FFS.
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=546371438758683&set=a.112587382137093.15016.110967718965726&type=1&theater
ArdeeBhoy
30/06/2013, 6:51 AM
I didn't know they played hurling in Dublin.
Must be one of the effects of migration.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/2013/0629/459668-historic-win-for-dublin-over-kilkenny/
GTF in...
http://balls.ie/gaa/gallery-the-best-images-from-dublins-incredible-win-over-kilkenny/
30/06/2013, 11:23 AM
I suppose we'll see how the mega sponsored, big budget, overhyped team, extracted from the vast pool of available players in the metropolis and county area, are shaping up in today's Leinster sf, versus their trendy, muscle enhanced neighbours.
30/06/2013, 8:10 PM
Nothing on London here. I'm shocked. Haven't followed the GAA properly in years, but that's an incredible feat for London to make the Connacht Final.
Real ale Madrid
01/07/2013, 8:54 AM
Nothing on London here. I'm shocked. Haven't followed the GAA properly in years, but that's an incredible feat for London to make the Connacht Final.
Yep a fantastic achievement, although I'd imagine they would be as many senior football clubs in London than there would be in Leitrim, but a fantastic achievement all the same. No harm to see the provincial championships get a shake up - although If I had my way id have a two tier championship and get rid of the provinces.
Best comment I heard yesterday was:
London - took down the Luftwaffe - now took down Leitrim!
The Hurling Championship is getting just a tad interesting now as in the next two weeks we will have both provincial finals and the small matter of Kilkenny v Tipperary in a knockout match next Saturday night! Not to write Kilkenny off but this is going to be a tough one to turn around. It will be Kilkenny's 3rd week in a row playing and Tipp are bound to be hungry after they threw away the Limerick game. 10/1 the draw with PP - might be worth a tenner.
culloty82
01/07/2013, 10:52 AM
The campaign (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23GetBorisToCastlebar&src=hash) has already started to get the floppy-haired one to Castlebar for the final. As for the championship, if you put Carlow, Leitrim etc into their own competition, they'll never improve - I'd have eight groups of four, one team from each League division, before moving to last 16/QFs according to preference, no need for back doors as everyone gets three matches.
ArdeeBhoy
01/07/2013, 10:57 AM
Ha, nice one 'Diablo Rouge'...
01/07/2013, 11:42 AM
I suppose we'll see how the mega sponsored, big budget, overhyped team, extracted from the vast pool of available players in the metropolis and county area, are shaping up in today's Leinster sf, versus their trendy, muscle enhanced neighbours.
Phew. We just edged that one.
Must've been all thr hype that got us over the line.
Real ale Madrid
01/07/2013, 2:53 PM
As for the championship, if you put Carlow, Leitrim etc into their own competition, they'll never improve
Because the weaker counties have mighty "improvement" in them playing against the big boys every year.
Offaly 0-8 Tyrone 1-27
Armagh 2-21 Wicklow 0-02
I think that improvement comes by playing teams of similar ability to you. Works in every other sport in the world!
Two championships - 4 groups of 4 in each - top 16 for the all Ireland "Premiership", bottom 16 in the all Ireland "Championship".
Only by winning Championship would you get into the Premiership.
When you think of it - the flagship competition in football is the only GAA competition apart from the colleges Sigerson / Fitzgibbon that is not graded in some way ?
NeverFeltBetter
01/07/2013, 3:27 PM
The campaign (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23GetBorisToCastlebar&src=hash) has already started to get the floppy-haired one to Castlebar for the final. As for the championship, if you put Carlow, Leitrim etc into their own competition, they'll never improve
At one point can we expect Tipp, Limerick, Waterford or Clare to win a Munster SFC then?
The archaic provincial system is a problem (in both codes), but football could do with some tiering and hurling could do with some harsher tiering.
swinfordfc
01/07/2013, 3:49 PM
Football teams rankings at present?
1 Dublin. 2 Donegal. 3 Mayo. 4 Kerry. 5 Cork. 6 Tyrone.
That's how i see it at present
01/07/2013, 5:00 PM
Phew. We just edged that one.
Must've been all thr hype that got us over the line.
Not quite as close as the time ye scraped past Wexford, in extra time.
Considering your opposition in the Leinster Final have been unmercifully tanked twice by Monaghan already this year, the standard in Leinster is evidently woeful.
Kildare were primitive yesterday, lumping ball after ball into the waiting arms of the Dublin full back line. Somehow they scored an early flukey goal and that was that.
The Dubs didn't need decision after decision in their favour from the ref after all. Kildare were like brainless gorillas, their goalkeeper just brainless.
I was quite content with Dublin dispatching Kildare, in the manner they did. :)
01/07/2013, 5:18 PM
They were playing in the Connacht SF actually :)
culloty82
01/07/2013, 7:23 PM
At one point can we expect Tipp, Limerick, Waterford or Clare to win a Munster SFC then?
The archaic provincial system is a problem (in both codes), but football could do with some tiering and hurling could do with some harsher tiering.
That was precisely my point, that the provincial championship is doing them little good, but put them in a group against teams they've no negative history, and you've greater potential for upsets.
Real ale Madrid
01/07/2013, 7:42 PM
That was precisely my point, that the provincial championship is doing them little good, but put them in a group against teams they've no negative history, and you've greater potential for upsets.
Like Offaly's lack of negative history with Tyrone helped them on Saturday!?!
No negative history? Sorry now but that's just twaddle.
01/07/2013, 8:37 PM
Because the weaker counties have mighty "improvement" in them playing against the big boys every year.
Offaly 0-8 Tyrone 1-27
Armagh 2-21 Wicklow 0-02
I think that improvement comes by playing teams of similar ability to you. Works in every other sport in the world!
Two championships - 4 groups of 4 in each - top 16 for the all Ireland "Premiership", bottom 16 in the all Ireland "Championship".
Only by winning Championship would you get into the Premiership.
When you think of it - the flagship competition in football is the only GAA competition apart from the colleges Sigerson / Fitzgibbon that is not graded in some way ?
By the same token Kildare should be in this lower championship after that tonking? I mean 4-16 to 1-09 is just not good enough.
I completely disagree with the All-Ireland being 2 tiers in both sports. Hurling has been destroyed somewhat and only made the bigger counties better. Football is on the same trajectory and in fact the change will be quickened by the addition of a second tier. Awful idea.
The provincial championships need changing but until there's something approaching a serious overhaul I would keep it as it is.
01/07/2013, 8:52 PM
Are the provincial championships really that important? I know it's a trophy and all, but outside of Munster is the rivalry between the counties that intense?
Personally, I'd be in favour of splitting into the five historic provinces of Ireland and have Meath play with themselves every year.
01/07/2013, 11:01 PM
Are the provincial championships really that important? I know it's a trophy and all, but outside of Munster is the rivalry between the counties that intense?
Cork Kerry is intense because it's also competitive. Meath v Dublin is an intense rivalry but these days has the magnetic attraction of a limp di*k (not that I know about that one) because Meath are the limp di*k.
It just so happens that this year there is one competitive game and the other 3 look like strolls for the favoured team.
For the obvious reason, the provincial championship has a bit less value since the back door system was introduced.
On it's own, winning a provincial title still has value, eg that's all Meath have to crow about in the last 20 years.
It has practical value for the Ulster and Connacht champions, they have a 2 week rest until the 1/4 finals but the runners-up have only a 6 day turnaround before they have to face the last round of the qualifiers.
The qualifier's path is a path of penance for losing your provincial championship tie.
02/07/2013, 10:33 AM
We need to stop looking at the qualifiers as qualifiers or the back door.
The provincial championships run in parallel with the All-Ireland Championships.
Your progress in the Provincial championship dictates where you enter the All-Ireland.
If it's looked at like that then you can see how it works objectively.
I really wish though that somehow teams that previously played each other were kept apart for a while.