View Full Version : Pre season
12/02/2013, 9:28 PM
fantastic outspoken. That date was confirmed at our AGM last night so thought that I would let ye guys know.
fitzpatrick10
12/02/2013, 10:18 PM
There is a big announcement to be made in Dublin on the 21st of this month regarding the new longford town shirt sponsor
what do you mean by to be made in dublin, is der like some sort of press thing or what ??
L.T.F.C.
12/02/2013, 11:42 PM
Why in Dublin? Some sort of press conference?
Bosco
13/02/2013, 12:20 PM
The only info on it at the meeting on Monday was that it was an announcement in Dublin, they hadn't heard anything else. Presumably it is some sort of press conference..
L.T.F.C.
13/02/2013, 12:57 PM
Cheers.
On a more immediate note, where is this pitch for the match on Saturday? The Bohs match has been moved to Blanchardstown IT on Saturday morning at 11.
Ah for **** sake!The venues and times for these friendlies are a real pain in the arse...was looking forward to a trip to Dalymount...
L.T.F.C.
13/02/2013, 1:48 PM
Exactly. Who the hell is deciding the times for these fixtures like?
13/02/2013, 4:18 PM
It's the home club's call, though obviously Town could pull out if it didn't suit them. Reality is it probably works out more cost effective for both clubs to play it at that time. They'd probably have a training session scheduled for Saturday anyway. Bit annoying for the fans obviously but at least we'll have two home friendlies after that.
L.T.F.C.
14/02/2013, 5:49 PM
So any ideas on where the pitch is?
atfconline
14/02/2013, 9:21 PM
These were the directions given on the Drogheda forum ahead of our game against them there.
Directions to itb pitch...
Turn into IDA Business and College Park at the roundabout (the one with the pond and ducks) on Blanchardstown Rd North.
At next roundabout go right (into IDA park) through the security hut, barrier is always up.
Follow road to the very end, left at next roundabout, this brings you to the back of ITB.
Pitch is beside the car park.
.... and its pay and display up to 6pm
howsyourtouch
15/02/2013, 5:19 AM
Ah for **** sake!The venues and times for these friendlies are a real pain in the arse...was looking forward to a trip to Dalymount...
Same here,its only out the back and they changed it,feck!
L.T.F.C.
15/02/2013, 11:20 AM
These were the directions given on the Drogheda forum ahead of our game against them there.
I suppose this is it?
http://goo.gl/maps/ufptI
L.T.F.C.
16/02/2013, 10:01 AM
Brian McCarthy back in town colours.
16/02/2013, 10:07 AM
Interesting.
L.T.F.C.
16/02/2013, 2:29 PM
Not sure if trial or signed. No sign of Dean Marshall, not at all bothered about that either. We also had a striker, went by the name of 'Mick'. No idea of name.
L.T.F.C.
16/02/2013, 2:35 PM
McCarthy signed.
L.T.F.C.
16/02/2013, 2:55 PM
Purdy will be one to watch this year. Both him and Shaw were super. Keith Quinn was very good at left back, as was David O'Neill in midfield. No sign of James nor Gillespie but I wouldn't mind that. O'Sullivan was brilliant when he came on, another to watch. Bennion caught bad for the lobs. Nothing he could do about the last.
Lovely astro turf pitch there. Very nice.
16/02/2013, 3:45 PM
Collie James has been injured he said on Twitter that he's starting back training now. Not sure about Keith, he played in Cork last week though.
fitzpatrick10
16/02/2013, 4:10 PM
Michael Isichei that played with monaghan utd was playing right wing today aswell.. played well, shaw and david o sullivan linked well, the scoreline doesnt really reflect on the towns performace imo. few mistakes in the back four costing us the goals noting id be to concerned about.. keith quinn was excellent at lb aswell, has very good skill and a did well under alot of pressure
16/02/2013, 4:16 PM
McCarthy was with us in 2009 was it? Good player on his day.
16/02/2013, 4:25 PM
McCarthy was with us in 2009 was it? Good player on his day.
correct he was never replaced either. im surprised athlone didnt keep him . wonder wots story with ischael?
16/02/2013, 4:56 PM
I tried to get Brian to sign my town jersey for the craic, at an athlone v Middlesbrough match a few years ago (aussie scored!) and his reply was ''No, if I do they'll kill me'', I liked him last time he was with us, seems a good lad.
16/02/2013, 5:05 PM
I tried to get Brian to sign my town jersey for the craic, at an athlone v Middlesbrough match a few years ago (aussie scored!) and his reply was ''No, if I do they'll kill me'', I liked him last time he was with us, seems a good lad.
in 2009 he was so close to getting player of the yr only his poor disciplinary record went against him. I sincerely hope that was a once off!
16/02/2013, 5:11 PM
He's more experienced now so he shouldn't make as many rash decisions. Seemed a really nice lad when he was here yeah.
16/02/2013, 8:51 PM
ah most of his red cards were because he was the last man and that kind of stuff. It was as much bad positioning and the rest of the defence being **** more than him having bad discipline.
17/02/2013, 2:58 AM
Agreed it wasn't all his fault but that's largely what I meant, his getting caught wrong side when it could have been avoided. Anyway it's four years on and he's played a lot more games.
17/02/2013, 9:15 PM
Any word on when our LSC game is? I see quite a few clubs announcing their ties now, any word on when Willows and Kevins will play?
Cabs88
18/02/2013, 6:48 PM
No harm in signing McCarthy, yes his disciplinary record wasn't the best but there have been signs since that he has matured as a player and may be a useful addition over the course of the season. We look to have great competition for places in the back four with new players and those that have resigned. I haven't made any of the pre season games, however from the reports I have received I wouldn't be entirely confident with our goalkeeping options.. I hope im wrong but our lack of a quality keeper might cost us..
L.T.F.C.
18/02/2013, 6:52 PM
I'd have far more confidence in Hunt at the minute over Bennion.
McCarthy was caught bad for the penalty on Saturday. Time will tell. I think TC has addressed the problem with no replacements for injured players.
23/02/2013, 8:55 PM
Not a bad display tonight. Matched Shels for most of it. Stupid back pass from James for their goal and a soft penalty for ours but overall we did quite well. Like the look of O'Sullivan, I think he'll do well. Treacy, McCarthy and Nkololo all did well too. Not overly impressed with Bennion. Just seems very slow to get across his line. Isichei has signed for us I'm told. There was a Josh O'Hanlon on the bench who's a 17 year old prospect apparently, not too sure where he's coming from.
23/02/2013, 10:10 PM
Is next week's friendly v Bray a 3pm kickoff lads?
23/02/2013, 10:14 PM
Yep..
Tallanted
24/02/2013, 12:45 PM
Josh O'Hanlon played for St Kevins Boys U18s
24/02/2013, 1:08 PM
Yeah I googled him out of curiosity. Supposed to be a real prospect.
24/02/2013, 6:29 PM
Not that last nights game was a thriller or anything but we more than matched Shels throughout who look to be a very poor side this season.
Was impressed with quite a few new signings last night especially Treacy who was very composed on the ball at CB, McCarthy who won every header, Nkolo who gave good width first half and was always looking to get on the ball and involved, Quinn who clearly has some class about him and O'Sullivan who has real speed up top.
Tyrell had a dodgey first half but grew in confidence in the 2nd while Gavin Doyle looks to have a great touch and control about him and he was 'clever' enough to 'win' a penalty last night wink wink.
Only position I'm worried about right now is between the posts. Bennion looks extremely slow to get off the line or down low while Hunt flapped badly at a ball after coming on but then again he was probably cold as they say so I'd have to go with Hunty to start the season, TC will regret letting Hyland go tho I feel.
Have to end this post by saying fair play to young Aaron Brilly who came on, I've watched him a few times for the 19's and hes a born leader. Even last night he wasnt afraid to tell the senior players what he wanted from them which I thought was fantastic, future captain in him.
24/02/2013, 6:40 PM
Did I miss something in has William Tyrell signed for us? I was very impressed last night. Nkolo was class on the wing for us. I am worried about Keith Quinn hes a bit of a mouth on him I hope he wont be the next Alan Reynolds! Did anyone see him arguing with Salmo to take the peno. I dont rate Bennion at all. His kicks are awful. I dont understand the fuss with him. Hes the worst town keeper since Kevin McCormack. I think Paul Hunt has to be first choice for me.
24/02/2013, 6:41 PM
why 3 ko?
24/02/2013, 6:45 PM
Did I miss something in has William Tyrell signed for us? I was very impressed last night. Nkolo was class on the wing for us. I am worried about Keith Quinn hes a bit of a mouth on him I hope he wont be the next Alan Reynolds! Did anyone see him arguing with Salmo to take the peno. I dont rate Bennion at all. His kicks are awful. I dont understand the fuss with him. Hes the worst town keeper since Kevin McCormack. I think Paul Hunt has to be first choice for me.
Tyrell signed with the other wayside/arklow lads and I know Quinn had a rep for a short fuse at Cork but I wouldnt worry hes clearly a class act and if anyone can settle him down its TC plus the influence of lads like Gillespie and Deans in the dressing room.
L.T.F.C.
24/02/2013, 6:54 PM
In fairness Marty, you've seen Bennion play one match in a town shirt.
A friend of mine played with both O'Sullivan and Quinn and said that Quinn will get sent off alot! Wouldn't mind that too much to be honest. I liked him from what I saw at Bohs.
24/02/2013, 7:00 PM
In fairness Marty, you've seen Bennion play one match in a town shirt.
A friend of mine played with both O'Sullivan and Quinn and said that Quinn will get sent off alot! Wouldn't mind that too much to be honest. I liked him from what I saw at Bohs.
thats true but to be honest from reading other forums not too many fans seem to rate bennion and a lot of lads our side didnt fancy Bennion .. Any away fans that read this forum what did you think of Bennion when he was with your club?
25/02/2013, 11:27 AM
I've yet to see one person on foot say that they rate him.
rossi_eire
25/02/2013, 5:15 PM
I agree with alot of the above analysis of Saturday's game. There were alot of positives. Treacy looked the more composed of the centre halves. Nkololo really came into the game in the second half. Gillespie can still hit a pass. O'Sullivan is rapid and hopefully he'll hit the net against Bray and start the season on a high.
Bearing in might this game was ultimately about building match fitness I still believe the number 1 position is something we need to sort out. You can't judge ability over a couple of pre-season games but on the night I felt very nervous everytime Bennion had, or was near, the ball.
Cabs88
25/02/2013, 7:28 PM
I was impressed by what i saw the other night, it would be unwise to start making rash opinions on players after a pre-season game, but some of the things I took from the game
-McCarthy and Treacy looked very.. with McDonagh/Deans/Hope/Haverty not even involved, we look to have good cover at centre back
-James will require a few games to come back after injury
-Gillespie impressive, and hopefully he will give it one final push for his last season
-Nkolo looked lively, and im sure first division defenders wont like facing him
-Shaw looking very fit, wasnt fully fit starting last season despite scoring in the first game, so hoping this year he can hit the ground running
-O'Sullivan and Quinn - two very useful additions
-Good to see Garto back at the club - surprised rovers didnt keep him
-If i was TC i'd be keeping an eye out for a keeper in the next two weeks..
26/02/2013, 4:00 PM
I was impressed by what i saw the other night, it would be unwise to start making rash opinions on players after a pre-season game, but some of the things I took from the game
-McCarthy and Treacy looked very.. with McDonagh/Deans/Hope/Haverty not even involved, we look to have good cover at centre back
-James will require a few games to come back after injury
-Gillespie impressive, and hopefully he will give it one final push for his last season
-Nkolo looked lively, and im sure first division defenders wont like facing him
-Shaw looking very fit, wasnt fully fit starting last season despite scoring in the first game, so hoping this year he can hit the ground running
-O'Sullivan and Quinn - two very useful additions
-Good to see Garto back at the club - surprised rovers didnt keep him
-If i was TC i'd be keeping an eye out for a keeper in the next two weeks..
Agree with most of that but just on Colly he was playing RB the other night a position I never like to see him in. HJopefully on Saturday Haverty will slot back in at RB and Colly can show just how good he is going forward, only for injury last season who knows what we could have achieved.
Agree on preferring Colly playing more forward,just look at some of the goals he scored last season.Did think he looked a bit heavy the other night though or has he bulked up?
In the first half I got the impression that Nkolo was going to be the headless wasteful whinger that some had feared but thought he was a lot better in the second half, seemed a lot more assured on the ball and most of what he tried seemed to come off.
Thought Quinn seemed to just put his head down and run anytime he got the ball, he seemed to get it stuck under his feat a few times in the first half. Having said that when he did get to the byline some of the crosses he put in were of serious quality. Perfect kind of balls for shaw to try and stick his head on.
Like the look of O'Sullivan, very quick and strong little forward...really looking forward to watching him for us.
27/02/2013, 12:16 PM
Bosco I think Colly has always looked a bit bulky but it's just his natural build as far as I can see, there's certainty no question of his fitness levels I mean he always plays the full 90 and gives it his all so I'd have no concerns there.
28/02/2013, 6:42 PM
I saw a sign outside city calling stadium and also received a club text. It said that it is a 3.30 ko on saturday v Bray!
L.T.F.C.
02/03/2013, 4:06 PM
Looks ****e from the official twitter calling the football on show today "Dire stuff."
Great advertising for the game on the LTFC homepage. Not what is required.
02/03/2013, 5:05 PM
Not a bad display all in all, first half particularly. O'Sullivan impressed again, Treacy and Tyrrell did well I thought, defence generally was good. Bennion didn't inspire confidence though again, one very good save but he just looks so leaden footed and slow to get down. Pity young O'Hanlon didn't stick away his chance at the very end but he looked to have a bit about him.
02/03/2013, 5:28 PM
Keith Gillespie was unlucky to score Quigley tipped it over in the first half. Gary Shaw was unlucky to score with his header hittin the post. I am not that gone on Ischiel he looks clumsy- he may be good at breaking down oppostion attacks thats all I can think he is good at! I thought we created more chances in the first half tbh