View Full Version : Chants for Paris
blobbyblob
13/09/2004, 7:35 PM
Paris is less than a month away now. With 20,000 odd expected to travel, we have a huge oppurtunity to rock the joint. A lot of criticism has come in for support (not away support it must be said) on these boards but we now have our best oppurtunity for years to scale new heights of support with the hope that it can be carried back to Lansdowne Rd. I know that people travelling wont need much encouragement to sing their lungs out for the 90 minutes. We can turn the screw on the French and make them intimidated in their own back yard and be Irelands proverbial 12th man hail rain or snow. I know it seems a bit plastic to try and arrange chants. Any thoughts on mixing a bit of old with a bit of new...
1. Que Sera
2. Ireland's Call from the rugby brotherhood
3. National Anthem
4. Fields of Athenry
5. All ya need is Duff
6. No Regrets
7. .... my own composition
Lemon Tree
I wonder how, I wonder why,
Yesterday ya told me 'bout the Blue and White
But all that I can see is just another Stephen Reid
Hes turnin his head up and down.
Turnin' Turnin' Turnin' Turnin' Turnin' around
and all that I can see, is just another Stephen Reid
and I wonder, wonder, I wonder how, I wonder why,
Yesterday ya told me 'bout the Blue and white
But all that I can see, But all that I can see, But all that I can see,
Is just another Stephen Reid :D
8. Willie Nelsons On the Road Again
13/09/2004, 9:29 PM
to the tune of the entertainer (or all the Bohs you know for the younger among you)
Tell all the French you know, that Henry is not going to score
Tell all the French you know, that Pires is not going to score
Tell all the French you know, that Cisse is not going to score
With no points you'll be leaving, cause we've got Shay Given
No Frog puts the ball in our goal. :o
as usual, improvements welcome....
Beavis
14/09/2004, 11:08 AM
2. Ireland's Call from the rugby brotherhood
:eek: Seriously?
brine3
14/09/2004, 11:32 AM
We're all part of Brian's army,
we're all off to Germany.
And we'll really shake 'em up,
when we win the World Cup
'cause Ireland are the greatest football team.
14/09/2004, 11:38 AM
Brian Kerr's Green & White Army
*Clap* *Clap* Green & White Army
Fr. Murphy
14/09/2004, 12:27 PM
i taught the "trams in green" from switzerland was quite good :)
blobbyblob
14/09/2004, 12:37 PM
Irelands Call
:eek: Seriously?
Why not sure...Everyone(nearly) knows the words of the chorus. Its there to be sung. Could be rousing.
Pat O' Banton
14/09/2004, 12:44 PM
As a bit of an environmentalist (or mentalist as others refer to me) how about a bit of recycling...
Gary Breen is unlikely to start so what about 'A team of Robbie Keane's' instead?
Don't think 'Ireland's Call' should be sung at all.
It's a rugby song and was brought in by them solely to keep the players and supporters from Northern Ireland happy. In rugby we are united as 1 nation
In football there are 2 separate teams so technically we are not 'together standing tall' and neither are we 'shoulder to shoulder'
14/09/2004, 3:17 PM
Don't think 'Ireland's Call' should be sung at all.
I agree. It's an awful dirge, and frankly not one of Phil Coulter's finer moments. As for what to sing though, well, I'm still scratching me head...
:) PP
14/09/2004, 3:27 PM
Allez les vertes
in respons eto allez les bleu - that is assuming the lcoals get tickets. :)
14/09/2004, 3:35 PM
Snowdrops and daffodills
Butterflies and bee's....
Ah fcuk, never mind :D
blobbyblob
14/09/2004, 3:53 PM
I agree. It's an awful dirge, and frankly not one of Phil Coulter's finer moments. As for what to sing though, well, I'm still scratching me head...
:) PP
okily dokily...not one of my finer moments either but if you hear it you know its me
14/09/2004, 4:21 PM
As for what to sing though, well, I'm still scratching me head...
Don't know that one, it must be before my time ;)
How about something cool and catchy like "Hey Baby" when we score a goal :D
If Graham Kavanagh is playing, how about "Kav is goina get'cha, Kav is goina get'cha."
To the tune of Sean South from Garryowen.
It was on a bright October day with the pints of stout put down
And a lorry load of football fans approached the small French town
There were fans from Dublin and from Cork, from Sligo and Athlone
and their hero was a Leeside man, Roy Keane from Corks proud town.
14/09/2004, 4:25 PM
Don't know that one, it must be before my time ;)
How about something cool and catchy like "Hey Baby" when we score a goal :D
If Graham Kavanagh is playing, how about "Kav is goina get'cha, Kav is goina get'cha."
Ah Jesus P, despite inserting Sligo instead of, say, London, I was with you all the way until the last line. He's no hero of mine. Selfish ****wit is about the best I can find to say about him. Only it won't fit with the tune. Try this instead:
"And the arrogant **** who's our number 6, he's Keane and he rooms alone..."
:ball: PP
14/09/2004, 4:29 PM
Try this instead:
"And the arrogant **** who's our number 6, he's Keane and he rooms alone..."
:ball: PP
When I stop laughing I'll come back with a witty response :D
14/09/2004, 4:30 PM
"And their hero was a football God, Brian Kerr from Dublin town"???
Leader instead of hero if you prefer.
blobbyblob
14/09/2004, 4:33 PM
Lemon Tree
I wonder how, I wonder why,
Yesterday ya told me 'bout the Blue and White
But all that I can see is just another Stephen Reid
Hes turnin his head up and down.
Turnin' Turnin' Turnin' Turnin' Turnin' around
and all that I can see, is just another Stephen Reid
and I wonder, wonder, I wonder how, I wonder why,
Yesterday ya told me 'bout the Blue and white
But all that I can see, But all that I can see, But all that I can see,
Is just another Stephen Reid :D
8. Willie Nelsons On the Road Again
What does a man have to do to get some praise around here. I though this was a deadly chant. Not an ounce or recognition.
and Willie Nelson crept in at the bottom and nobody batted an eyelid. Does this mean that were gonna be singing Willie Nelson a la Francaise
Seamusomick
14/09/2004, 4:59 PM
Keeping up the recycling theme...
Oh Ahh Kavanagh, ooh ahh Kavanagh ( assuming he starts and plays a blinder...so maybe not.)
Or Maybe
Ou est Zinedine, ou est Zinedine...
Just to remind them of what they are missing...
4tothefloor
14/09/2004, 7:00 PM
Ou est Zinedine, ou est Zinedine...
Just to remind them of what they are missing...
I like it, but it will only work if we're winning. If we are, you could also sing, to the tune of Chers 'Where's your mamma gone'
Where's your Zidane gone, where's your Zidane gone?
Where's your Thuram gone, where's your Thuram gone?
Far, far, away...
Where's Makelele gone, where's Makelele gone?
Where's Lizarazu gone, where's Lizarazu gone?
Far, far, away... :D
We'll also be singing plenty of 'Who Are ya'? to some of the French players, judging by their selections in the last few games.
My song list would be....
1. Que Sera
2. Come on you Boys in Green
3. On The One Road
4. Fields of Athenry
5. All ya need is Duff
6. We're all part of BrianKerr's Army....
7. Oh Ahh, Kavanagh....
8. Stand up for the boys in green
9. Team of Robbie Keanes
10. Keano, Keano (Roy)
11. The Robbie Keane song (to the tune of New York, New York) - It was posted on another forum recently.
You know that 1980's song 'Cars'? Someone could surely make up a song about Stephen Carr?!
4tothefloor
14/09/2004, 7:18 PM
11. above is the following (contributed by Peader)
"Da, da, da, da da.
Da, da, da, da da.
Start spreading the news,
he's playing today.
He's going to score a goal for us, Keano, Keano.
If he can, *clap*clap, score from there, he'll score from, *clap*clap, anywhere.
It's up to you Keano, Keano.
Da, da, da, da da.
Da, da, da, da da..."
14/09/2004, 10:36 PM
I posted this in another thread without response. We have to get catchie songs and this one could be just that. Whenever Peter Reid was going through a bad patch the away fans used to sing:
"Cheer up Peter Reid, Oh what can it mean
He sent Sunderland down and now he's trying it with Leeds"
I am crap at coming up with Lyrics so surely someone could finish off the following:
"Andy, Andy Reid..." (Oh where have you been?)...?
Beavis
14/09/2004, 11:26 PM
'Zi-idane,It's just like watching Zidane,
we call him Kevin Kilbane,It's just like watching Zidane'
15/09/2004, 9:18 AM
Here's version II of the song.
And a lorry load of Ireland fans approached the Gay French town
And their hero was the Greener, Brian Kerr from Dublin town.
green army
15/09/2004, 12:17 PM
to the tune of tell all the bohs u know:
tell all the french u know
that we're goin 2 win and then go
cos yis dont have viera
ye'll be beaten by eire
now we're goin for 2 in row.
then launch into a massive "green army, green army" for about 20 mins!!!!!
irwinsalegend
15/09/2004, 12:31 PM
Lads
remember it's going to be 9 o'clock on a satruday night, lets keep it simple.
just sing like F""K, no matter what the words
Well seeing that it look's like most of the ticket's seem to have been grabbed by Irish fan's maybe we could sing,
WHAT'S IT LIKE TO HAVE NO FAN'S
as well as
YOUR SUPPOSED TO BE AT HOME,
maybe if the singing's going well, we could chuck in,
CAN WE SING A SONG FOR YOU,
as well as singing NICE GROUND NO FAN'S, NICE GROUND NO FAN'S. :D
How's about,to their fans............."Where were you,when you were sh*t?!"....though this may be a tad ironic for some of our fans too :rolleyes:
Hey now, taking a side step away from song's in Paris, i'm planning on taking bet's on who's the only Irish fan to get lifted by the Parisian fuzz and you are 2/1 favourite. :eek:
15/09/2004, 2:36 PM
you are 2/1 favourite. :eek:
Surely that's open to rigging?
He could heap a bucket load of cash on himself through an "agent" and then deliberately get "lifted." :eek: :D
TheJamaicanP.M.
15/09/2004, 3:06 PM
Hey now, taking a side step away from song's in Paris, i'm planning on taking bet's on who's the only Irish fan to get lifted by the Parisian fuzz and you are 2/1 favourite. :eek:
There is a chance Roy Keane could be behind bars by then so maybe that decreases Davros' chances of getting arrested. :D
15/09/2004, 3:27 PM
To the tune of Dolly Parton's Jolene:
Roy Keane, Roy Keane, Roy Keane . . . please don't kick him just because you can
Roy Keane, Roy Keane, Roy Keane . . . you're heading for another three match ban!
Brilliant!!! :D
in the spirit of keeping it simple hows about one for thierry henry (to the tune of If you're happy and you know it... and precedded by a chant of
Va Va Voom
Va Va Voom
Va Va Voom
Va Va Voom
You can stick your Renault Clio up your hole
You can stick your Renault Clio You can stick your Renault Clio
You can stick your Renault Clio up your hole :D
...i'll get me coat :eek:
irwinsalegend
15/09/2004, 4:39 PM
You can stick your Renault Clio You can stick your Renault Clio
i like it, followed by
You can stick your Eifel Tower up your hole
and so on until we can think of nothing else French to stick anywhere
Pat O' Banton
15/09/2004, 6:32 PM
He could heap a bucket load of cash on himself through an "agent" and then deliberately get "lifted." :eek: :D
He won't need to 'deliberately' get arrested, he'll no doubt offer the Gendarmes enough opportunity of his own accord ;) .
Pat O' Banton
15/09/2004, 6:33 PM
i like it, followed by
You can stick your Eifel Tower up your hole
and so on until we can think of nothing else French to stick anywhere
Not one of their letters :eek: :D
Mind you knowing him, he'll proberly get himself lifted before he get's to Finsbury Park tube station. That'll mean bet's null and void.
Right song's again.
From Joy division's Love will tear us apart.
Duff Duff will tear you apart again, Duff Duff will tear you apart again.
And also
Ole ole, ole o lay, ole ole, ole o lay
CLINTON MORRISON, CLINTON MORRISON, CLINTON MORRISON, CLINTON MORRISON, CLINTON MORRISON.
Taken from that feeling hot hot hot song. That got sung at him at the unity cup game v Jamaica, he gave some wicked big up's in return back to the fan's. :D
15/09/2004, 9:46 PM
After reading this lot, how the f**k did we ever win the Eurovision? :o
Sure no other fcecker wanted the eurovision apart from us.
We win eurovision every year, we win eurovision every year, we win eurovision eevvery year. Ahh an old chant from the past. :D
16/09/2004, 8:42 AM
I haven't heard if Fabien Barthez is fit again so they may stick with Gregory Coupet, but if Barthez was playing surely it would be worth singing;
Barthez, give us a wave, Barthez, Barthez give us a wave just as Clint is running through on goal. The clown is sure to turn around and wave :D
17/09/2004, 7:59 AM
I haven't heard if Fabien Barthez is fit again so they may stick with Gregory Coupet, but if Barthez was playing surely it would be worth singing;
Barthez, give us a wave, Barthez, Barthez give us a wave just as Clint is running through on goal. The clown is sure to turn around and wave :D
You're right he would but Clinton would still miss. :D :D
"There's only one R*y Keane,
And his spirit's very mean;
He plays for Himself,
He should be left on the shelf,
Delete as applicable
Living in a Saipan/Fenian/McCarthy Wonderland!" :p
Swiftly followed by
"On your own, on your own, on your own........"
17/09/2004, 9:43 AM
You're right he would but Clinton would still miss. :D :D
Two games, two goals!?
The boy is off to a flyer in this campaign.
Wouldn't bet against him scoring in Paris.
17/09/2004, 12:07 PM
Here's version II of the song.
I've added 2 more verses.
To the tune of Sean South of Garryowen.
It was on a bright October day
with the pints of stout put down
There were fans from Dublin and from Cork,
from Sligo and Athlone
And their hero was the Greener,
Brian Kerr from Dublin town.
Oh how we cheered the young Given boy
and the pace of Finnan wide,
Kilbane fought hard for the master Roy,
with Reidy by his side
What I'd give to shake the regal hand,
Of Duffer, Clint or Keane
Another hero for old Ireland
Was the Captain Cunningham.
So the Greener attained his daring plan
Left the Frenchmen on the floor
With Clint and Robbie both on song
We knew they had to score
And when Henry, Saha and Cisse missed
Their faces cold as stone
We were sure of triumph, cheered and kissed,
Three points were all our own...
TheJamaicanP.M.
18/09/2004, 1:42 PM
I've added 2 more verses.
To the tune of Sean South of Garryowen.
It was on a bright October day
with the pints of stout put down
There were fans from Dublin and from Cork,
from Sligo and Athlone
And their hero was the Greener,
Brian Kerr from Dublin town.
Oh how we cheered the young Given boy
and the pace of Finnan wide,
Kilbane fought hard for the master Roy,
with Reidy by his side
What I'd give to shake the regal hand,
Of Duffer, Clint or Keane
Another hero for old Ireland
Was the Captain Cunningham.
So the Greener attained his daring plan
Left the Frenchmen on the floor
With Clint and Robbie both on song
We knew they had to score
And when Henry, Saha and Cisse missed
Their faces cold as stone
We were sure of triumph, cheered and kissed,
Three points were all our own...
It never ceases to amaze me how much spare time some people have. :)
20/09/2004, 9:17 AM
It never ceases to amaze me how much spare time some people have. :)
My boss is thinking the same thing.
20/09/2004, 9:25 AM
My boss is thinking the same thing.
Good work though, Peadar, I have to hand it to you. :)
:D PP
Bring Back Mick
21/09/2004, 10:24 AM
Would never happen............. but for those that don't know Chelsea chant started in the early 80s was very impressive away from home would stay seated til reached 10 men then the last verse sang with all Chelsea support throughout the stadium on their feet, Maine Rd May 84, and derbies at QPR With the away support scattered throughout the ground stand out !!! ......................
20,000 Irish fans in one end singing one man went to mo, with all the other support scattered round the stadium joining in and when it got to 10 men, French wouldn't know what was going on...................... :cool:
parkhead
22/09/2004, 9:24 AM
Hello all just found this site.
how about this on as sung by celtic fans but slightly modified. Nice and simple and with 20,000 singing it could get the crowd and team going!
We shall not, we shall not be moved.
We shall not, we shall not be moved,
Not by the French, the Swiss or the Faroes
We shall not be moved.
22/09/2004, 9:25 AM
We shall not, we shall not be moved.
We shall not, we shall not be moved,
Not by the French, the Swiss or the Faroes
We shall not be moved.
yeah.
recognised chant, nice and simple changes, good one :cool: