View Full Version : Chants for Paris
22/09/2004, 9:35 AM
Chelsea chant started in the early 80s was very impressive away from home
how about this on as sung by celtic fans but slightly modified.
Aaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggggggggggggg hhhhhhhhhhhhh :mad:
Chelsea, Celtic, leave us alone!
22/09/2004, 9:40 AM
Aaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggggggggggggg hhhhhhhhhhhhh :mad:
Chelsea, Celtic, leave us alone!
Come on now Peadar, quite a few of the chants we sing at city games have been lifted from foreign supporters. Once they generate a bit of noise, who cares where the origins lie. ;)
22/09/2004, 9:53 AM
Come on now Peadar, quite a few of the chants we sing at city games have been lifted from foreign supporters.
That Chelsea chant is associated solely with Chelsea.
"We shall not be moved" has a very political origin.
I don't think we need either of these at an Ireland game.
It's possible that we have people supporting Ireland who are also Rangers fans. You most certainly have loads of Ireland supporters who are not Celtic fans.
aidz1
22/09/2004, 10:30 AM
how about somehow adapting the sultans of ping song for one of our players:
give him a ball and a yard of grass
he'll put you through for the perfect pass
ratt tatt tatt tatt tatt tatt
hes an nice ould man....
parkhead
22/09/2004, 10:50 AM
I don't think we need either of these at an Ireland game.
It's possible that we have people supporting Ireland who are also Rangers fans. You most certainly have loads of Ireland supporters who are not Celtic fans.
It's not only sung by Celtic Fans. It sung by other clubs also!
Dan K
22/09/2004, 11:13 AM
So does "A Soldier's Song". ;)
"We Shall Not Be Moved" is sang at loads of games, by loads of teams so I really don't see a problem. If it's sung at a match, it's about the team and the fans making an atmosphere to support the team, not the songs origins.
How many teams sing an altered "Oh When The Saints"? Who cares, as long as they sing?
4tothefloor
22/09/2004, 11:47 AM
Would never happen............. but for those that don't know Chelsea chant started in the early 80s was very impressive away from home would stay seated til reached 10 men then the last verse sang with all Chelsea support throughout the stadium on their feet, Maine Rd May 84, and derbies at QPR With the away support scattered throughout the ground stand out !!! ......................
20,000 Irish fans in one end singing one man went to mo, with all the other support scattered round the stadium joining in and when it got to 10 men, French wouldn't know what was going on...................... :cool:
Come again... :confused:
Anything Chelsea related turns the stomach as far as i'm concerned. I can't stand that club. Cocky supporters, cocky manager, horrible stadium, horrible jerseys, plus i'm sick of looking at Abramovich's ugly mug on the tv. I'm also sick of looking at, and having to listen to Mourinho, on an almost daily basis on Sky Sports News. Does he ever stop moaning? Of course alot of the prominant British tabloid media journalists are Chelsea fans, which explains alot of the BS that appears in the papers regarding Chelsea.
In any case, adopting a Chelsea song for Ireland is the equivelant of adopting a Rangers song. No thanks. :mad:
22/09/2004, 12:32 PM
"We Shall Not Be Moved" is sang at loads of games, by loads of teams so I really don't see a problem.
How many teams sing an altered "Oh When The Saints"? Who cares, as long as they sing?
They're both crap songs as far as I'm concerned.
More akin to Anti Fox Hunting Ban protesters than a football chant.
Give me , "Come on you Boys in Green" and "Olé Olé Olé" over those two any day.
Bring Back Mick
22/09/2004, 12:44 PM
4tothe floor .....
BO11ix. ok you can't stand Chelsea your choice so any song sang about Damien Duff @ Chelsea and sang @ ireland games will be a "rangers" song.........seems to be some sectarian views posted on this thread
TerryPhelan
22/09/2004, 12:44 PM
A shame he's not playing, because Claude Makalele really lends himself to a bit of Los Del Mar...
Dale a tu cuerpo alegria Makalele
Que tu cuerpo es pa' darle alegria y cosa buena
Dale a tu cuerpo alegria Makalele
Heyyy, Makalele (aiight!)
Just as well we're not Spanish, cos we'd sound like right plonkers singing:
Give your body pleasure, Makalele
Because your body is for giving it pleasure and good things
Give your body pleasure, Makalele
... which is the translation, don't you know.
Should that be 'Gaaayyy Makalele'?
****ing hell... :eek:
22/09/2004, 12:49 PM
so any song sang about Damien Duff @ Chelsea and sang @ ireland games will be a "rangers" song
You may understand what you've just written but I doubt many others do!
The only song for Duff is from his days at Rovers.
"All you need is Duff, da, da da, da da.
All you need is Duff, da, da da, da da.
All you need is Duff, Duff,
Duff is all you need.
Duff is all you need."
Bring it on!
Ozymandias
22/09/2004, 1:25 PM
Hello all just found this site.
how about this on as sung by celtic fans but slightly modified. Nice and simple and with 20,000 singing it could get the crowd and team going!
We shall not, we shall not be moved.
We shall not, we shall not be moved,
Not by the French, the Swiss or the Faroes
We shall not be moved.
we used to sing that tune in school at gaa matches changed the third line to we're with a team on the road to victory...this could be changed to we're with a team on the road to germany
also a good old irish song
Ar Aghaidh Ar aghaidh Ireland Ireland
Ar Aghaidh Ar aghaidh Ireland
answer to to the french Allez les bleus
plastic manc
22/09/2004, 1:59 PM
Would never happen............. but for those that don't know Chelsea chant started in the early 80s was very impressive away from home would stay seated til reached 10 men then the last verse sang with all Chelsea support throughout the stadium on their feet, Maine Rd May 84, and derbies at QPR With the away support scattered throughout the ground stand out !!! ......................
20,000 Irish fans in one end singing one man went to mo, with all the other support scattered round the stadium joining in and when it got to 10 men, French wouldn't know what was going on...................... :cool:
i remember it well, even though i was supporting the other team (man city)
very impressed too, if we could get that organised , it would be brilliant!!!
wallis
22/09/2004, 3:21 PM
give him a ball and a yard of grass
he'll put you through for the perfect pass
ratt tatt tatt tatt tatt tatt
hes an nice ould man....
Dancing in the disco bumper to bumper
Wait a minute - wheres me jumper x5 (?) :D
wallis
22/09/2004, 3:23 PM
You may understand what you've just written but I doubt many others do!
The only song for Duff is from his days at Rovers.
"All you need is Duff, da, da da, da da.
All you need is Duff, da, da da, da da.
All you need is Duff, Duff,
Duff is all you need.
Duff is all you need."
Bring it on!
and the start of that song (All you need is love by The Beatles) begins with the French national anthem
22/09/2004, 3:27 PM
and the start of that song (All you need is love by The Beatles) begins with the French national anthem
I'll leave you sing/hum that bit.
I'll do the Duffer bit :D
22/09/2004, 7:44 PM
Chants (right click < save target as...):
http://members.boards.ie/eirebhoy/Irish%20Chants.doc
Get everyone to learn them!!!
blobbyblob
23/09/2004, 1:05 PM
Chants (right click < save target as...):
http://members.boards.ie/eirebhoy/Irish%20Chants.doc
Get everyone to learn them!!!
I cant believe you left out me Lemon tree song WTF
23/09/2004, 1:16 PM
I cant believe you left out me Lemon tree song WTF
He left out my song too :(
Think I'll just go back to writing songs for Hear'say :D
blobbyblob
23/09/2004, 5:41 PM
He left out my song too :(
Think I'll just go back to writing songs for Hear'say :D
Some people just have no eye for talent.
Nooooooooooooo No regretttttttttts
Noooooooooo No I will have no regretssss
Ramsey1
25/09/2004, 9:49 PM
Lock your wifes and daughters up
Lock your wifes and
Lock your wifes and daughters up .....
would be a good one but just kiddin
I still get shivers when I think of the crowd singing
"On the one road" at the WC Quarter Final against Italy in 1990.
I watched in on TV and had never seem anything like it. It seems like the whle stadium was singing.
Chorus:
We're on the one road, sharing the one load
We're on the road to God knows where
We're on the one Road, it may be the wrong road
But we're together now who cares
Northman, Southmen, comrades all,
Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
We're on the one road, swinging along
Singing an Irish song.
Though we've had our troubles now and then
Now is the time to make them up again
Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow
Now is the time to step together now.
(Chorus)
Tinker, tailor, every watchers son
Butcher, bakers shoulder by his son
Rich man, poor man, every man in line
All together just like Auld Lang Syne.
(Chorus)
Night is darkness just before the down
From this entrance Ireland is reborn
Soon we'll all unite as Irishmen
Pronounce this land our Nation once again.
(Chorus)
We're on the one road, mabey the wrong road
but we're together now who cares.
Northmen, Southmen comrades all,
Belfast, Dublin, Cork and Donegal
we're on the one road, marching along
singing a soldier's song.
Cowboy
28/09/2004, 3:54 PM
Yeah its a classic although most guys go quiet on the second verse :)
[QUOTE=mjpcc]I still get shivers when I think of the crowd singing
"On the one road" at the WC Quarter Final against Italy in 1990.
I watched in on TV and had never seem anything like it. It seems like the whle stadium was singing.
Chorus:
We're on the one road, sharing the one load
We're on the road to God knows where
We're on the one Road, it may be the wrong road
But we're together now who cares
Northman, Southmen, comrades all,
Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
We're on the one road, swinging along
Singing an Irish song.
Though we've had our troubles now and then
Now is the time to make them up again
Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow
Now is the time to step together now.
(Chorus)
Tinker, tailor, every watchers son
Butcher, bakers shoulder by his son
Rich man, poor man, every man in line
All together just like Auld Lang Syne.
ptegan
28/09/2004, 4:06 PM
I always believed that it was already linked with Keane?
"Give him a ball and a yard of grass"
&
"If God had meant for us to play us there he would have put goalpoasts in the sky'
are 2 lines from the song but are Brain Clough quotes, the manager who took Keane to Notts Forest. I remember seeing them lay live and say the song was for Keane and Clough.
IsMiseSean
28/09/2004, 10:07 PM
Good list of songs, but I've one suggestion
When singing the fields of Athenry, include the first verse
For anyone who doesn't know
By a lonely prison wall, I heard a young girl calling
Michael they have taken you away
For you stole trevelyan's corn
So the young might see them morn
Now the prison ship lies waiting in the bay
29/09/2004, 11:47 AM
Can everyone please make sure they follow these simple steps (http://sitemaker.umich.edu/spooner.molly/sample_high_school_choral_lesson_plan) so that their voice is properly warmed up before they start singing ;)
29/09/2004, 12:08 PM
where do ye get this stuff ye mad yoke????? :confused:
The voices tell me...
...I tell you :D
aidz1
29/09/2004, 12:17 PM
below is my salts worth at adapting the chorus of the pogues sally maclennane
the real sally:
We walked him to the station in the rain
We kissed him as we put him on the train
And we sang him a song of times long gone
Though we knew that we'd be seeing him again
(Far away) sad to say I must be on my way
So buy me beer and whiskey 'cause I'm going far away (far away)
I'd like to think of me returning when I can
To the greatest little boozer and to Sally MacLennane
the irish paris version:
We love to see the duffer on the wing
We idolise the duffer pull the strings
And we sang him a song of times long gone
oh we’ll crown him our own irish king
bonjour bonjour, green army are on tour
So buy me wine and whiskey and some strong liquor (morning cure)
Ten thousand paddys on the banks of the seine
To the greatest irish party paris'll never see again
blobbyblob
29/09/2004, 8:22 PM
Bom bom bom aye aye
Sink or swim, sink or swim
one thing is certain we'll never give in
hand in hand, side by side
we'll all stand together
IRELAND IRELAND IRELAND........
The Frogs Chorus....how appropriate is that. (Second time this year Paul McCartney will hear himself in stade de france)
29/09/2004, 8:44 PM
Bom bom bom aye aye
Sink or swim, sink or swim
one thing is certain we'll never give in
hand in hand, side by side
we'll all stand together
IRELAND IRELAND IRELAND........
The Frogs Chorus....how appropriate is that. (Second time this year Paul McCartney will hear himself in stade de france)
Weird. I was going to post this yesterday having heard it on Ryan Tubridy :eek:
aidz1
01/10/2004, 10:14 AM
to the tune of amore:
when the ball hits the net
its one sure fire bet that its keano
robbie keano
and _when ireland do score
you_'ll hear us all roar, its keano
robbie keano
Hes our all time best
At scoring against the rest, its keano
Robbie keano
will it be doh_erty
to score in gay paris, no its keano
Robbie keano
01/10/2004, 11:10 AM
I think it's best to keep the chants short, simple and offensive... :)
Especially for Thierry, after he (hopefully) misses a chance:
"Va-va-voom/You're having a laugh!/Va-va-voom/You're having a laugh!"
"Where's your midfield gone? (Where's your midfield gone?) Where's your midfield gone? (Where's your midfield gone?), etc."
Alternatively
"Where's your Zidane/Zizou gone?"
"As-ter-ix is a ho-mo-sexual" :eek:
"You're worse than Shamrock Rovers"
"Are you 'Home Farm' in disguise?" ;)
On a more positive note, I was listening to some Christy Moore yesterday
Keano, Keeeannno, you're the divil
When you get out on the field
It was a sad day for the Frenchie midfield
When your mouldeds they did feel
And Michael Jackson
It's close to midnight and something evil's lurking in the dark
Under the moonlight you see a sight that almost stops your heart
You try to scream but terror takes the sound before you make it
You start to freeze as horror looks you right between the eyes,
You're paralyzed
'Cause this is KILLER, Killer's night
And no one's gonna save you from the beast about to strike
You know it's KILLER, Killer's night
He's fighting for the ball just like a Killer, thriller tonight!!
Barna Bee
01/10/2004, 11:41 AM
Just don't know why Irish fans and irish people have never adopted this song for the FANs.
I remember barry Mcguigans dad used to send the Kings hall into raptures with this .
Sung by a big crowd it would sound awsome.
and I believe it does have irish origins
what say you all
Oh Danny boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling
From glen to glen, and down the mountain side
The summer's gone, and all the flowers are dying
'Tis you, 'tis you must go and I must bide.
But come ye back when summer's in the meadow
Or when the valley's hushed and white with snow
'Tis I'll be here in sunshine or in shadow
Oh Danny boy, oh Danny boy, I love you so.
And if you come, when all the flowers are dying
And I am dead, as dead I well may be
You'll come and find the place where I am lying
And kneel and say an "Ave" there for me.
And I shall hear, tho' soft you tread above me
And all my dreams will warm and sweeter be
If you'll not fail to tell me that you love me
I'll simply sleep in peace until you come to me.
Barna Bee
01/10/2004, 11:44 AM
THE WEST’S AWAKE
Trad. Arr. Merry Ploughboys
When all beside a vigil keep,
The west asleep, the west asleep.
Alas, and well may Erin weep,
When Connaught lies in slumber deep.
There lake and plain smile fair and free,
'Mid rocks their guardian chivalry,
Sing oh let man learn liberty,
From lashing winds and crashing sea.
For often in O'Connor's van,
To triumph dashed each Connaught clan
And fleet as deer the Normans ran
Through Curlew's Pass and Ardrahan.
And later times saw deeds as brave,
And glory guards Clanricarde's grave,
Sing oh they died their land to save,
At Aughrim's slopes and Shannon's wave.
And if when all a vigil keep,
The west's asleep, the west's asleep.
Alas and well may Erin weep,
When Connaught lies in slumber deep.
But hark, a voice like thunder spake,
The west's awake, the west's awake.
Sing oh hurrah, let England quake
We'll watch till death for Erin's sake.
Additional verse not recorded.
That chainless wave and lovely land,
Freedom and Nationhood demand.
Be sure the great God never planned
For slumbering slaves a home so grand.
And long a proud and haughty race
Honoured and sentinelled the place.
Sing oh not even their sons' disgrace
Can quite destroy their glory's trace.
01/10/2004, 12:25 PM
'Tis I'll be heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeere
You need to start it really low or everyone will sound like a 13 year-old in the middle of their voice breaking when it gets to this part. Great song though, if we could get someone like Johnny Cash (RIP :( ) to lead the singing that would be great...
KEANOS there's only 2 Keanos, there's only 2 Keanos.....
blobbyblob
03/10/2004, 3:02 PM
Why not make use of the backing music in Paris and sing along - bit of Karaoke if you please.
http://acc6.its.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~phalsall/sounds/marseille.ra
We have come today from Ireland,
To put one over on the French.
Eurostar, RyanAir and Aer Lingus,
Brought the biggest crowd ever seen.
Brian Kerr is the man for the job
To guide us through Europe and end up in Germany
No more we'll have South Buckets, will the GAA open Croker?
Andy Reid will score again, Robbie Keane will score again
Four Nil, Four Nil, We'll win Four Nil
If not, Two Nil will do.
Karlos
04/10/2004, 8:52 PM
1. are you ENGLAND in desguise?
2. Stand up for the boys in green!
3. 98, never again! 98, never again! ('havin a laff' tune)
4. It's just like watching Tottenham! (for Va Va Voom and Bobby!)
oh and don't forget to belt out the chorus from Labelle's Lady Marmalade when in contact with any french wannies in the local bars, ya just never know it might work!! :D
munsterskip
04/10/2004, 11:04 PM
If you all hate the English clap your hands,
if you all hate the English clap your hands,
if you all hate the English,
If you all hate the English clap your hands
*clap* *clap* *clap* *clap* *clap* *clap*
si vous tout détestez l'anglais, battez vos mains
si vous tout détestez l'anglais
*clap* *clap* *clap* *clap* *clap* *clap*
No doubt the second verse would end up as a farce if attempted!
this bugs me the whole time
people more concerned with the english than looking after our own
WE ARE NOT PLAYING THE ENGLISH ON SATURDAY
ffs support your own team. u have payed your money to follow "your" team, then get behind them.
rant over
has anyone made a song sheet compiling the best chants that were available from this thread ??
whats it worth printing out a few each(if it exists) and distributing them about the planes, trains and automobiles on the trek to paris for more collective harmony?
As well as song's people could maybe take green and a white balloon's with them, thirty thousand odd balloon's getting fired around the place as the team's come on to the pitch will look the biz, seen it done at a lot of game's by the away support, and it does look the part.
06/10/2004, 9:34 AM
As well as song's people could maybe take green and a white balloon's with them, thirty thousand odd balloon's getting fired around the place as the team's come on to the pitch will look the biz, seen it done at a lot of game's by the away support, and it does look the part.
Or 30,000 little green and white beach balls.
Balloons get burst and that upsets me :( :D
Can everyone wear green and white please?
If I see another yellow or black celtic shirt or anymore Kilkenny shirts I'm going to point them out to the cops and say they're hoolies. :mad:
blobbyblob
06/10/2004, 9:41 AM
1. Que Sera
2. Ireland's Call ?!?!?!
3. National Anthem
4. Fields of Athenry
5. All ya need is Duff
6. No Regrets
7. OLE
8. Willie Nelson - On the Road again
9. Tell all the French you know, that Henry is not going to score
10. We're all part of Brian's army
11. Brian Kerr's Green & White Army (repeat Multiple times)
12. We all dream of a team of Robbie Keanes
13. Oh Ahh Kavanagh, ooh ahh Kavanagh
14. Where's your Zidane gone, where's your Zidane gone?
Where's your Thuram gone, where's your Thuram gone?
Far, far, away...
15. On The One Road
16. New York New York - Robbie Keane stylee
17. Oh Your all very quiet over there
18. You can stick your Renault Clio up your ar se
19. Va Va Voom, Va Va Voom, Va Va Voom
20. You can stick your Eifel Tower up your ar se
21. Oh I'd rather be a Paddy than a Frog (one for Carrick Smasher)
22.. Celine Dion takes it up the ar se - (apologies to any children who may read this)
23. Peadars Garryowen - Special Mention
24. Went to Mow a Meadow routine. (needs clarification)
25. We shall not be moved (the french the swiss or the Faroes)
26. Frogs Chorus
27. Are you Home Farm in disguise?
28. Lemon Tree
29. Theres only 2 Keanos
Most of these are short and sweet with few modifications and should keep you hoarse for a few days. All Lyrics can be found on this thread. Will sound very good on 2FM under the Tower and even better in the Stade. Print and Pack today.
Babysis
06/10/2004, 1:07 PM
A few useful phrases:
"We're all part of Brian's army" - nous sommes toute partie d'armée de Brian
"Come on you boys in green" - vous allume les garçons dans vert
"There's only one Keano" - Il y a seulement 1 keano
"We shall not be moved" - nous ne serons pas déplacés
"come on the welsh" - allume le gallois
Or 30,000 little green and white beach balls.
Balloons get burst and that upsets me :( :D
Can everyone wear green and white please?
If I see another yellow or black celtic shirt or anymore Kilkenny shirts I'm going to point them out to the cops and say they're hoolies. :mad:
Beach ball's I don't mind, that's fine with me. (what game's have you been watching now) ;) Don't worry if any balloon's get burst, there'll be plenty of support for yer now Peader.
I can't say I own any of the banned top's so i'm safe. :)
Davy Langan
06/10/2004, 8:18 PM
How about, to the best of my pigeon French knowledge
Allez le Hommes en vert, allez les hommes en vert,
Allez les hommes, allez les hommes en vert
(Come on you boys(men) in Green)
Rambler1
06/10/2004, 8:48 PM
How bout the old one
She wheels her wheel barrow
Thru streets broad and narrow
Crying
Clap,clap,,,,,,,,,,,,
IRELAND
Youll never beat the Irish!!!!!!!!
sylvo
06/10/2004, 11:28 PM
A few useful phrases:
"We're all part of Brian's army" - nous sommes toute partie d'armée de Brian
"Come on you boys in green" - vous allume les garçons dans vert
"There's only one Keano" - Il y a seulement 1 keano
"We shall not be moved" - nous ne serons pas déplacés
"come on the welsh" - allume le gallois
What's French for I'm starting bevving at 6/15 am on the euro star on saturday now Babysis. ;)
Welcome aboard. :eek:
Karlos
07/10/2004, 7:56 AM
how about -
'your supposed to be at home, your supposed to be at home!'
one for the tv camera's that!!!