View Full Version : manager vacancy

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10]

09/01/2013, 12:15 PM
Can we talk about the manager vacancy now?

Is the announcement today or tomorrow, because I've heard declarations of both?

At this stage it would be a bit late to call a press conference today surely. Unless of course they just make a press release.

Sea Bird
09/01/2013, 1:23 PM
People banging on about a sports scientist and i think people are confused with mike sheilds he was not a sports scientist or fitness coach there was another lad doing that..Paddy Purcell got himself in great shape by going to the gym himself and fair play to him but if we dont get ourselves a quality centre back we are in big trouble judging by how we have had problems dealing with nippy strikers past few seasons look at mcguire last season gave us a torrid time each time he played..also where are we going to get players from all sorts of confusion tracy and o leary are in norway gaffney would have went if he was fit,foley is a great squad player behan needs to lose at least two stone..its a shambles waiting so long to make the premier league and we are so unorganised it defies belief,we should have been the most organised club in the league this season because we need an edge we will liv and die by how we start the season a bad start will lead to bad morale and poor crowds if we start well it will build momentum and get crowds to thomand park to support the lads..Whoever gets the job is walking into a minefield in my opinion and best of luck to him and whoever he has on his staff hopefully he is a diamond because the most experienced of managers would find this a big challenge.Worst case scenario was we kept every player we wanted from last season and the new manager should be identifying where we are weak and bring in the 4-5 players in key positions we need to be competitive up there... And no kingpin i am not mike kerley but know for a fact how good a COACH!! he is and he preaches good football and thats what everyone on this has been screaming for past few seasons so with the right gaffer i think mike would be a great asset as no 2...

bluewhitearmy
09/01/2013, 1:39 PM
gaffney would have went if he was fit,

He is fit so we will see if he will go.

Sea Bird
09/01/2013, 4:03 PM
he aint fit trust me....

Minesapint
09/01/2013, 4:25 PM
The assistant isnt local, im sure limerick have players lined up

09/01/2013, 4:32 PM
he aint fit trust me....

He is fit enough to run and work out though.

According to Jaina in the other thread, Shane Tracey has said the new manager was onto him already but told him to head over to Norway, have a good tournament and try come back injury free. If he told Tracey that then he most likely has talked to other players also.

bluewhitearmy
09/01/2013, 4:42 PM

Who is it then if not Kerley?

09/01/2013, 6:47 PM
Press conference called for Friday according to 95fm.

longfordjames
09/01/2013, 9:50 PM
I see on 95 fm Site that John O'Sullivan is coming from Athlone. Didn't he sack Kerley just a few months ago? It'd be strange to see them team up so soon?

09/01/2013, 9:55 PM
I see on 95 fm Site that John O'Sullivan is coming from Athlone. Didn't he sack Kerley just a few months ago? It'd be strange to see them team up so soon?

Did he sack him or did he leave?

leedsfan88
09/01/2013, 9:59 PM
But sure didn't the new CEO at Athlone who hired Roddy, once sacked him?

longfordjames
09/01/2013, 10:06 PM
But sure didn't the new CEO at Athlone who hired Roddy, once sacked him?
We're on about the same person. He is meant to be going to Limerick now. Dont know whether Kerley left or was sacked I had presumed sacked.

NeverFeltBetter
09/01/2013, 10:22 PM
It's Irish football, backroom staff leave or get sacked all the time. Bound to be frequent crossover.

kingpin4
09/01/2013, 10:47 PM
People banging on about a sports scientist and i think people are confused with mike sheilds he was not a sports scientist or fitness coach there was another lad doing that..Paddy Purcell got himself in great shape by going to the gym himself and fair play to him but if we dont get ourselves a quality centre back we are in big trouble judging by how we have had problems dealing with nippy strikers past few seasons look at mcguire last season gave us a torrid time each time he played..also where are we going to get players from all sorts of confusion tracy and o leary are in norway gaffney would have went if he was fit,foley is a great squad player behan needs to lose at least two stone..its a shambles waiting so long to make the premier league and we are so unorganised it defies belief,we should have been the most organised club in the league this season because we need an edge we will liv and die by how we start the season a bad start will lead to bad morale and poor crowds if we start well it will build momentum and get crowds to thomand park to support the lads..Whoever gets the job is walking into a minefield in my opinion and best of luck to him and whoever he has on his staff hopefully he is a diamond because the most experienced of managers would find this a big challenge.Worst case scenario was we kept every player we wanted from last season and the new manager should be identifying where we are weak and bring in the 4-5 players in key positions we need to be competitive up there...

To be fair, I agree with a good chunk of this. He's going to have a massive job on his hands to get everything going. He has time on his side, but not much.
I've heard the budget isn't huge which is why so many who have been in for contract talks, haven't agreed. It is also a reason why some managers turned down the position. People just think there's a lot more money there than there actually is.

And we should really have at least a core of a squad going in to the start of pre season. I wonder if he knew the situation that was there before he accepted the position. Then again, as he isn't as high profile as everyone was expecting, offers may not have been flying in the door to him.

There should have been a huge wave of optimism carrying people, and the way things are at the moment, everything's just so negative. It's a bad sign when even a senior player is urging the club to sign them up.

Ezeikial
09/01/2013, 11:17 PM
Seannie spotted at arrivals in the airport!

El-Pietro
10/01/2013, 7:50 AM
he didn't sack or hire anyone. Football decisions were down to the board, he was just the face of the club and had to make the press anouncements. Along with a lot of other good work he did for them.

longfordjames
10/01/2013, 8:37 AM
he didn't sack or hire anyone. Football decisions were down to the board, he was just the face of the club and had to make the press anouncements. Along with a lot of other good work he did for them.
I don't like admitting it but he really seems to have turned the corner with Athlone. For the 1st time in years they look promotion material and they have made some great advancements off the field. Limerick are a club I'd love to see do well so this move could work for me in two ways :P

El-Pietro
10/01/2013, 10:01 AM
I'd hate to see Limerick do too well, and he will get one hell of a slagging from me if this proves to be true. I have the facebook post ready to go.

He would do a great job though and will make them appear far more credible than they have. There wouldnt be too many more Powerpoint FC jokes.

10/01/2013, 11:09 AM
There wouldnt be too many more Powerpoint FC jokes.

They sound absolutely gas. :good:

kingpin4
10/01/2013, 10:06 PM
Anyone know what time the press conference is tomorrow? Is it open to anyone?

10/01/2013, 10:09 PM
Anyone know what time the press conference is tomorrow? Is it open to anyone?

Saw it mentioned that it is 8am.

Minesapint
10/01/2013, 10:38 PM
Lets hope we get off to a good start to the season, it starts tomorrow after the conferance

thomas72
11/01/2013, 11:56 AM
Any link of new managers interview???

Targetman
11/01/2013, 12:42 PM
Press release now up on the website

http://www.limerickfc.ie/new-manager-and-new-chief-executive-officer-appointed

Treaty Gooner
11/01/2013, 2:30 PM
Can't see anything about his assistant. Is it Kerley or what?

bluewhitearmy
11/01/2013, 2:36 PM
Can't see anything about his assistant. Is it Kerley or what?

He said it will be sorted in the next few days.

Minesapint
11/01/2013, 2:50 PM
No its not a local assistant

da bishop
11/01/2013, 6:39 PM
so,at last our new and latest messiah is here ,not the one any of us were expecting but looking from the outside in he seems a decent fella,now can he manage..thats a question.think the whole charade concerning the process,media etc in finding this appointment was a big disappointment,embarassing even,but he is here now so we will get behind him.regarding the assistants job why would a rookie manager want a not so good reasonably experienced manager as his assistant,sounds like a car crash to me ,wouldn,t like to see that happen.those on here pushing the derek mccarthy line must think the crock of gold at the end of the chairmans rainbow is huge....the amount of ..em..staff..at the club last season resembled an ICA meeting.

Minesapint
11/01/2013, 6:59 PM
Bishop who would you like to see as assistant

kingpin4
11/01/2013, 10:37 PM
Bishop who would you like to see as assistant

I've heard some crazy rumours (from people who think they are "in the know") ranging from Mike Kerley to Johnny Glynn, and about 10 names in between. Truth is, no one knows yet and the club haven't interviewed anyone for it. Think Taylor wants to pick at least 1 staff member himself, usually the case with managers in England when they move clubs. The assistant and first team coach go with them. It'll be interesting to see who turns up to pre season training.

bluewhitearmy
11/01/2013, 10:40 PM
I've heard some crazy rumours (from people who think they are "in the know") ranging from Mike Kerley to Johnny Glynn, and about 10 names in between. Truth is, no one knows yet and the club haven't interviewed anyone for it. Think Taylor wants to pick at least 1 staff member himself, usually the case with managers in England when they move clubs. The assistant and first team coach go with them. It'll be interesting to see who turns up to pre season training.

Starts in the morning be too early for any new faces yet i would think the next week or two should be fun though.

Sea Bird
11/01/2013, 11:50 PM
i wonder will keithpin4 just happen to be driving past the session in the morning?? ;)

kingpin4
12/01/2013, 12:00 AM
i wonder will keithpin4 just happen to be driving past the session in the morning?? ;)

Keithpin4?
No, I had no plans, I'm in Cork tomorrow, keep me posted though with who's there will you?

Sea Bird
12/01/2013, 12:13 AM
will do keithpin hope paddy manages to stay in shape without you..

harpin
12/01/2013, 11:08 AM
Starts in the morning be too early for any new faces yet i would think the next week or two should be fun though.

Any idea what time and where?

NeverFeltBetter
12/01/2013, 1:18 PM
Half page write up in the Daily Mirror today, heavy focus on his past relationship with James McCarthy and "pledge" to find more players like him.

kingpin4
15/01/2013, 11:02 AM
will do keithpin hope paddy manages to stay in shape without you..

I'm not going to bite :good:
Are there any new faces floating about? Everything seems to have gone quiet

15/01/2013, 12:09 PM
I think 3 Waterford lads trained with us and O'Leary trained with Cork City. Evan McMillian is rumoured to be on his way to Sligo and Eamon Zayed to a team in Iran. Think this talk can be moved to the rumours or new signs thread and taken out of the manager talk.

Sea Bird
15/01/2013, 12:31 PM
its a tad worrying at the moment need to produce a couple of decent signings or even be linked to them but does not seem to be a whole pile about unless he is going to use a few of his contacts from across england/scotland...Need at least one quality centre back and a top quality striker and wouldnt say no to a midfielder eiter to add to the spine of the side...we need to be a lot stronger than last season to survive in the premier division..

El-Pietro
15/01/2013, 1:22 PM
apparently Behan was in training in Cork with Dave O'Leary the other night by the way.

bluewhitearmy
15/01/2013, 1:46 PM
apparently Behan was in training in Cork with Dave O'Leary the other night by the way.

Denis hasnt been to any of our first 2 training sessions anyway. Dave was training with us Sunday morning though.