Minesapint
06/12/2012, 8:52 PM
Id prefer Connie myself.
Kerley for you is it?
For once we agree i would take connie.
Minesapint
06/12/2012, 8:53 PM
http://mitchieville.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/orange-geek1.jpg
Phil Brown and Stephen Henderson seen leaving a meeting with Limerick officials today.
ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
NeverFeltBetter
07/12/2012, 9:50 PM
Apparently there will be an announcement Monday? Someone has the job anyway.
Targetman
08/12/2012, 7:18 AM
In todays papers it says that Phil Brown is out. One has Mick Cooke as favorite, the other says Peter Taylor.
harpin
08/12/2012, 8:59 AM
Johnny Glynn??? any takers
kingpin4
08/12/2012, 9:20 AM
In todays papers it says that Phil Brown is out. One has Mick Cooke as favorite, the other says Peter Taylor.
What I heard was that Brown had looked for crazy money. Probably not a bad thing, because he'd have jumped ship as soon as an English job opened up.
donnrua
08/12/2012, 10:09 AM
what the hell has Johnny Glynn ever done to merit a job in the premier division? I'm shocked that anyone would even suggest that he could be a candidate..........
harpin
08/12/2012, 10:14 AM
what the hell has Johnny Glynn ever done to merit a job in the premier division? I'm shocked that anyone would even suggest that he could be a candidate..........
No need to be too shocked he was interviewed for the position
donnrua
08/12/2012, 10:29 AM
people get interviewed for positions all the time and it doesn't mean they're contenders. Still haven't heard what he has done to merit even being considered.
harpin
08/12/2012, 10:48 AM
people get interviewed for positions all the time and it doesn't mean they're contenders. Still haven't heard what he has done to merit even being considered.
I was looking for opinions you obviously don't rate him, as for your question you can ask Pat O Sullivan that
08/12/2012, 11:09 AM
I suppose everyone that met the requirements was entitled to an interview at least.
Glad to see Brown turned down if he wanted too much money, it will show people the club aren't prepared to pay ridiculous money for a big name.
Can't see why Mick Cooke would leave Drogheda at the moment.
bluewhitearmy
08/12/2012, 11:52 AM
I was hoping it wouldn't be an Irish manager because the players that are still available in Ireland are not great at all really so it would have been nice if the new man had some contacts in England to get a few over.
Id be shocked if Glynn got it myself he has done nothing he would be in no way a step forward from Scully imo.
da bishop
08/12/2012, 7:27 PM
what a farce this whole episode has become,the club should have had someone lined up prior to scullys departure,now we have had this long drawn out mess of its TAYLOR no its KERR no its BROWN etc etc.....for anyone serious about their soccer its been an embarassment,the bottom line here is we will be appointing anyone but them or like them...it could even be glynn,but....i fancy a big mac myself.
bluewhitearmy
08/12/2012, 9:35 PM
what a farce this whole episode has become,the club should have had someone lined up prior to scullys departure,now we have had this long drawn out mess of its TAYLOR no its KERR no its BROWN etc etc.....for anyone serious about their soccer its been an embarassment,the bottom line here is we will be appointing anyone but them or like them...it could even be glynn,but....i fancy a big mac myself.
They had no-one in line because Scully leaving wasn't planned in advance.
I was hoping for something better then someone like Johnny Mc but anything will do at this stage.
08/12/2012, 9:57 PM
I think if they had someone lined up before getting rid of Skully, people would have been equally if not more disgusted by the situation.
bluewhitearmy
08/12/2012, 10:09 PM
A few people seem to think Johnny Mc would be a great choice but he has done absolutely nothing as a manager really.
08/12/2012, 10:37 PM
agree its been dragged out a bit but ive been told it should be sorted by monday at the latest. Big macs are sold out as of today
CraftyToePoke
09/12/2012, 4:31 AM
I was hoping it wouldn't be an Irish manager because the players that are still available in Ireland are not great at all really so it would have been nice if the new man had some contacts in England to get a few over.
I don't know, it has been a real pleasure to see lads coming through from our u19s into the side, I'd hate to see their careers paused at a key stage when it does look like some of them will be plenty good enough, in favour of mercenary players following a mercenary manager. That would be the worry with a guy like Brown in particular. I would hope whoever comes in it will be stipulated that his tenure must include bringing on those young lads wherever possible, and not just packing the side with journeymen from English lower leagues. That Limerick youth is the real future of the club, and capable of delivering a bright future also in time, if nurtured in tandem with the clubs reemergence.
bluewhitearmy
09/12/2012, 12:23 PM
I don't know, it has been a real pleasure to see lads coming through from our u19s into the side, I'd hate to see their careers paused at a key stage when it does look like some of them will be plenty good enough, in favour of mercenary players following a mercenary manager. That would be the worry with a guy like Brown in particular. I would hope whoever comes in it will be stipulated that his tenure must include bringing on those young lads wherever possible, and not just packing the side with journeymen from English lower leagues. That Limerick youth is the real future of the club, and capable of delivering a bright future also in time, if nurtured in tandem with the clubs reemergence.
That would all be fine if there were players in the current u19s team good enough to come through to the first team this season and at the minute their isn't. Anybody signed in the LOI is gonna be a mercenary really anyway, we need to improve the squad if we are to do anything decent this season.
09/12/2012, 4:47 PM
And generating such interest in the club is a bad thing why?
When's the last time there was so much media coverage nationally about Limerick FC?
Also, it's only been a few weeks, just be glad they're taking their time and choosing who they think is right for the club.
CraftyToePoke
09/12/2012, 5:31 PM
That would all be fine if there were players in the current u19s team good enough to come through to the first team this season and at the minute their isn't. Anybody signed in the LOI is gonna be a mercenary really anyway, we need to improve the squad if we are to do anything decent this season.
I should have worded that differently, what I'm getting at is id rather not see O'Leary, McGann, Collins, McGrath & Sheedy's development sacrificed to accommodate mercenary journeymen, was all. I think one or more of those players will really measure up.
But I am also confident, that with the roots the club is establishing in the community they are aware of this and will be sensitive to it in any appointment.
09/12/2012, 5:48 PM
Pat O Sullivan has already said they will telling anyone interviewing for the job that they want players brough through and development from within. Any manager not interested in that will be told this isn't the place for them.
I've seen mentioned that an announcement is due tomorrow.
I have to say fair play to the club for keeping it quiet and going about their business. There has only been speculation in the papers about the new manager but the club themselves has gone about the interview process the right way.
It the club rushed out and put the first person they could find in place people would be complaining. There is still 3 months till the season kicks off and a month to pre-season.
bluewhitearmy
09/12/2012, 8:21 PM
I should have worded that differently, what I'm getting at is id rather not see O'Leary, McGann, Collins, McGrath & Sheedy's development sacrificed to accommodate mercenary journeymen, was all. I think one or more of those players will really measure up.
But I am also confident, that with the roots the club is establishing in the community they are aware of this and will be sensitive to it in any appointment.
Ah sorry i took what you were saying up wrong. Agree 100% with that the fact that most of them have a good bit of first team experience already will have them in a good position imo. Garbhan Coughlan is another.
10/12/2012, 8:00 AM
Todays Leader seems to be under the impression it will be Phil Brown but another week of negotiating most likely.
http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/soccer/limerick-fc-hope-to-appoint-brown-1-4570422?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed
DOn't see what the problem is. Limerick's jobh is to get the best man for the job (within their own set of contraints). They SHOULD take to everyone interested in the job
If the media want to speculate on various names, then thats a seperate thing.
Can't see how lImerick have done anything wrong here? WOuld be far worse if they picked the first guy interested in the role
kingpin4
10/12/2012, 10:47 AM
Todays Leader seems to be under the impression it will be Phil Brown but another week of negotiating most likely.
http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/soccer/limerick-fc-hope-to-appoint-brown-1-4570422?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed
Anyone else think that's a bit ridiculous? IF IT IS TRUE, so they let him bring in assistant manager, first team coach and maybe goal keeper coach or some other member of staff. So those staff are coming all the way over from the UK, you're looking after their accommodation for them, a form of transport and their wages. That's going to be about 8 grand a week in total of expenses and wages. With the added benefit of zero league of Ireland knowledge.
Then if a job comes up in England, they jump ship straight away and you not only have to replace a manager and assistant manager, but another 2 members of staff on top of that. Anyone else thinking that way? Or is everyone blinded by the orange lights?
10/12/2012, 10:55 AM
Anyone else think that's a bit ridiculous? IF IT IS TRUE, so they let him bring in assistant manager, first team coach and maybe goal keeper coach or some other member of staff. So those staff are coming all the way over from the UK, you're looking after their accommodation for them, a form of transport and their wages. That's going to be about 8 grand a week in total of expenses and wages. With the added benefit of zero league of Ireland knowledge.
Then if a job comes up in England, they jump ship straight away and you not only have to replace a manager and assistant manager, but another 2 members of staff on top of that. Anyone else thinking that way? Or is everyone blinded by the orange lights?
A lot of ifs there though.
What if the club are telling him they want someone who knows the LOI helping him? Why if they are telling brown he would have to live in Limerick? What of they have ruled Brown out a few days ago due to finances or demands?
None of us know what's going on in the interview process. We don't know who the remaining few in the running are and we don't know if they have picked the manager yet. We don't know what Brown wants either.
All we do know is the paper talk.
NeverFeltBetter
10/12/2012, 4:07 PM
I'm guessing that there is no announcement today then? Brown seems to be getting linked to jobs in England too, so I wouldn't buy into the "dead cert" way local media are treating him with.
peadar1987
10/12/2012, 4:39 PM
Of course it could be a case of "they jump ship at the first opportunity, and Limerick get a nice transfer fee" sort of thinking. Brown gets to put himself in the shop window, Limerick get a decent manager, and the chance at a good money-earner
10/12/2012, 6:03 PM
I'm guessing that there is no announcement today then? Brown seems to be getting linked to jobs in England too, so I wouldn't buy into the "dead cert" way local media are treating him with.
Seems to be linked to quiet a few over the last week so that tells me he is applying for anything that is going. The Leader are getting a little carried away as Brown may not even be in the running anymore if he has been over in England the last week or so. It is also mentioned in an English paper that last Monday Brown had been telling Hartlepool fans he was their new manager.
I'm starting to hope as time goes on that we go with an experienced LOI manager. I'm not Johnny McDonnells biggest fan but he would have a great knowledge of the league and the quality that is around. Richardsons would be excellent also.
lawman
10/12/2012, 10:29 PM
What about John Gill? Is he spoken for yet?
11/12/2012, 6:06 PM
What about John Gill? Is he spoken for yet?
you make it sound like hes a must have for loi teams. far from it
12/12/2012, 12:12 AM
Looks like whoever will be the assistant manager will have to already hold a "UEFA A License" according to the new rules so that could limit who can fill that position also.
harpin
12/12/2012, 12:44 PM
No Phil according to the Indo...no quotes from anybody
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/exhull-boss-brown-rules-himself-out-of-limerick-job-3323995.html
Minesapint
12/12/2012, 1:31 PM
Looks like whoever will be the assistant manager will have to already hold a "UEFA A License" according to the new rules so that could limit who can fill that position also.
There isn't many in Limerick with UEFA A license that would rule out local Assistant.
NeverFeltBetter
13/12/2012, 12:09 PM
So, not Brown anyway, that's for sure: http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/soccer/blow-for-limerick-fc-as-brown-pulls-out-1-4580384
I'd love if the faint rumors of Mick Cooke were true , but I just can't see that happening, not unless he was offered way more than he's currently getting at Drogheda..
thomas72
13/12/2012, 4:02 PM
Kevin kilbane just tweeted, agreed terms with limerick fc let's do this.
Am agreed what exactly playing role or manager??
13/12/2012, 4:06 PM
Kevin kilbane just tweeted, agreed terms with limerick fc let's do this.
Am agreed what exactly playing role or manager??
Weak..
https://twitter.com/kdkilbane
peadar1987
13/12/2012, 4:09 PM
Had me going for a second. Would love to see Killer play a season or two in the LOI, but doubt it'll happen.
Rory Delap is someone who it might appeal to though, he say's he never wants to retire, just drop through divisions to find his level.
thomas72
13/12/2012, 4:11 PM
He took it down but one of the lads posted his tweet must be something in.
thomas72
13/12/2012, 4:16 PM
Copy of tweet is on limerick junior soccer on Facebook please be a fake :O
13/12/2012, 4:42 PM
Just saw the picture of the tweet. His twitter page has a different picture and just says Kevin Kilbane were as the other one announcing he has joined limerick says Kevin Daniel Kilbane.
peadar1987
13/12/2012, 4:57 PM
Kilbane's actual twitter: https://twitter.com/kdkilbane77
Anyway, Killer joining Limerick probably wouldn't be too consistent with this: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20658881, or with his journalistic ambitions
Steve Staunton was spotted in town today...hopefully doing a bit of xmas shopping
14/12/2012, 11:39 AM
Still no word I assume?
I thought they had hoped to make an announcement this week? Was there any official lines from the club this week at all?
14/12/2012, 11:54 AM
Still no word I assume?
I thought they had hoped to make an announcement this week? Was there any official lines from the club this week at all?
Not a peep from the club. All the recent articles have come with no comment from the club or any manager interviewed.
kingpin4
16/12/2012, 5:41 PM
Not a peep from the club. All the recent articles have come with no comment from the club or any manager interviewed.
Any updates yet? I'm a small but concerned with the fact we still have only 6 players signed up, while most premier teams are settling their squads.
I know there are 2 clubs back doing some training already, while a few others have gotten their squads together for testing. Less than 10 days to Christmas, and realistically, the club will be going in to the new year very under prepared!
gufc2000
16/12/2012, 5:53 PM
Kevin Kilbane confirmed he held talks on the Late Late Friday night. He wasn't prepared to expand any more though. He did say missing his family played a big part in his retirement from playing so going to Limerick may not suit him.
Minesapint
16/12/2012, 7:09 PM
When are the club going to announce a new manager.
peadar1987
16/12/2012, 7:38 PM
When are the club going to announce a new manager.
When they find one