View Full Version : LOI Squads 2013

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

wonder88
23/02/2013, 9:34 PM
I think the Sligo manager it taking the right approach. No point in having a big squad, resulting in a lot of players getting no games at all. There is no reserve league either. A good team will pick itself mostly and since Sligo are full-time the number of games played by teams in the LOI is not too demanding.

dong
24/02/2013, 10:27 AM
Ciaran Kelly to be added aswell.
Not a massive squad at all, maybe one of the smallest in the league. But Baraclough has said he prefers work with a small squad rather than having players not getting game time. He could of easily gone to the board demanding big money for players after winning the league but hes been patient and brought in 3 players that he tought would fit in and let 5/6 go. There wasnt pressure on him to trim the squad either, at Thursdays AGM Rovers reported a profit for the fifth year in a row. He seems to put a lot of emphasis on the running costs of the club along with managing/coaching the team

I'm a big fan of Baraclough but to suggest that the signing of Elding is part of some long term plan or being patient is absolute rubbish.
We were left with no other options. The reasons for this may be commendable but let's not kid ourselves.
Only Baraclough knows if the Elding signing is a gamble. I have a feeling he will destroy a lot of defences in this league but the amount of clubs he has gone through has got to be a worry.

gufcfan
24/02/2013, 11:30 AM
Only Baraclough knows if the Elding signing is a gamble. I have a feeling he will destroy a lot of defences in this league but the amount of clubs he has gone through has got to be a worry.
Would be surprised if he makes any significant impact, but I still have it in the back of my mind that he destroyed the LOI when I brought him across in Football Manager about 5 or 6 years ago... :D

srfc1928
24/02/2013, 12:15 PM
I'm a big fan of Baraclough but to suggest that the signing of Elding is part of some long term plan or being patient is absolute rubbish.
We were left with no other options. The reasons for this may be commendable but let's not kid ourselves.
Not suggesting elding or any player is part of a long term plan. But Baraclough could of felt he deserved a bigger budget, he hasnt complained or moaned and just got on with it. He does seem to understand that we cant spend money that we do not have or may not have in the future
. We all know that if you throw enough money at a player he will sign for anyone, he hasnt done that or asked the club to do that so from that point of view i think he has been patient

bluewhitearmy
24/02/2013, 1:12 PM
Jonathon Tiffoney can be added to the Limerick squad.

http://www.limerickfc.ie/jonathan-tiffoney-signs-for-new-season

25/02/2013, 11:03 AM
Squad of 20 for Pats, with plenty of under 19s expected to make squads too (they've all be signed for the LOI season)

But for now here's the squad numbers
1 Brendan Clarke
2 Ger O'Brien
3 Jake Carroll
4 Conor Kenna
5 Aidan Price
6 Greg Bolger
7 Conan Byrne
8 Shane McFaul
9 Christy Fagan
10 John Russell
11 Killian Brennan
12 Ian Bermingham
14 Jordan Keegan
15 Kenny Browne
16 David Ryan
17 Chris Forrester
18 Sean Gannon
19 Jake Kelly
20 Anto Flood
21 Conor Murphy

From the under 19s I'd expect Sean Hoare, Sam Verdon, Gavin Boyne, Peter Durrard, Mario Chindea, and Tom Mulroney to be involved at stages. Pat Jennings Jnr is oour GK coach and has signed forms to play too

Fivesilver
25/02/2013, 5:52 PM
Jonathon Tiffoney can be added to the Limerick squad

http://www.limerickfc.ie/jonathan-tiffoney-signs-for-new-season

All round to his gaff for a fry-up on match mornings so.

25/02/2013, 6:15 PM
This new Limerick manager wasn't joking when he said he had a few contacts in Scotland.

Fivesilver
25/02/2013, 6:16 PM
Current and I would imagine final Sligo Rovers squad:

Gary Rogers,
Alan Keane,
Gavin Peers,
Jeff Henderson,
Seamus Conneely,
Ross Gaynor,
Ryan Connolly,
Joseph Ndo,
David Cawley,
Lee Lynch,
Danny North,
Liam Martin,
Colm McLoughlin [on loan at Ballinamallard United],
Martin Owens,
Aaron Greene,
Iarfhlaith Davoren,
Rafael Cretaro,
Pascal Millien,
Evan McMillan,
Danny Ventre,
Anthony Elding.

Not 100% convinced. We've a lot of quality there. The big question is who can break open a game the way Quigley did. He's a very different type, but if Lynch can consistently produce the kind of form he did on occasion last year, he could be our most influential player. I've high hopes for the playmaking and creativity of Gaynor released from full-back duty, and I'm really looking forward to a full season of Conneely. Add Cawley, one year older and wiser, and you have as good a midfield as anyone, with still other options.

Goals are the big question. North was untouchable last year but he'll miss a chunk of the season and is very unlikely to regain his sharpness immediately. In Elding, have we got a player who'll tear up LoI defences or a headcase who'll be gone halfway through the season? We'll find out soon enough.

25/02/2013, 6:20 PM
Longford Town squad(Squad numbers included)

1. Chris Bennion
2. Noel Haverty
3. Chris Deans
4. William McDonagh
5. William Tyrell
6. Des Hope
7. Keith Gillespie
8. Mark Salmon
9. Colm James
10. Gary Shaw
11. Michael Lee
12. David O'Neill
14. Daniel Purdy
15. David O'Sullivan
16. Gary Cronin
17. Gavin Doyle
18. Paul Hunt
19. Corey Treacy
20. Keith Quinn
21. Etanda Nkololo
22. Josh O'Hanlon
23. Michael Isichei
24. Aaron Brilly
25. Brian McCarthy

Iorfa2MaccaJim
26/02/2013, 9:29 AM
Hi lads.

Does anyone on here have the Cobh squad so far ?

Cheers..

26/02/2013, 8:05 PM
We have another player on trial so may not be finished signing just yet, given the position he plays in I'd say it's likely we'll sign him...assuming he's not cat altogether.

atfconline
26/02/2013, 8:59 PM
3 more for Athlone.

Niall Scullion re-signed, Paddy O'Boyle from junior football and Garbhan Coughlan coming on loan from Limerick.

oriel
26/02/2013, 9:13 PM
I think we are almost complete now, just missing one defender, if we can manage it within budget (failed to get Kalen Spillane from Cork this week)

Peter Cherrie
Aaran Shanahan

Dane Massey
Eoghan Osborne
Andy Boyle
Mark Rossiter
Chris Shields
John Sullivan
TBC

Stephen O'Donnell (capt)
Stephen McDonnell
Richie Towell
John Dillon
Keith Ward
John Mountney
Darren Meenan

Vinny Faherty
Tiarnan Mulvenna
Kurtis Byrne
Patrick Hoban

Possibly some youth players will be added also, including Sami Osobe, may have spelt name wrong, and one or two others.

Fivesilver
27/02/2013, 8:32 PM
We have another player on trial so may not be finished signing just yet, given the position he plays in I'd say it's likely we'll sign him...assuming he's not cat altogether.

I'm about 900 miles from Castlebar tonight but judging by the tweets he seemed to be involved in everything. Were you at the game?

27/02/2013, 8:51 PM
I'm about 900 miles from Castlebar tonight but judging by the tweets he seemed to be involved in everything. Were you at the game?No I wasn't but as you say, seemed to get himself about. I reckon he could be a decent signing, still young.

peterpan
27/02/2013, 8:59 PM
Cobh squad Off the top of my head,
robert burnskill
Ian llong
Gary cCollins
brian fitzpatrick
john meade
alan o flynn
micky o shea
andrew bandacker
martin deady
conor meade
davin o neil
jonathan Spillane
And the rest are u19 players.

manic da hoop
02/03/2013, 11:13 AM
Shamrock Rovers:

Goalkeepers:
Barry Murphy
Richard Brush
Conor Winn

Defenders:
Pat Sullivan
Daniel Ledwith
Ken Oman
Derek Foran
Jason McGuinness
David Elebert
Conor Powell

Midfielders:
Lorcan Shannon
Stephen Rice
Conor McCormack
Sean O'Connor
James Chambers
Shane Robinson
Gary McCabe
Billy Dennehy
Ronan Finn

Strikers:
Karl Sheppard
Mark Quigley
Tommy Stewart
Ciaran Kilduff
Dean Ebbe

oriel
02/03/2013, 12:26 PM
Christ have you enough midfielders there manic?

Didn't realise Lorcan Shannon re-signed, thought he worked very hard in a very poor DLK side for the second half of last season. Decent player but will he get many games?

02/03/2013, 3:28 PM
http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/sport/irishfootball/article4821129.ece

Heary added: “Dermot Keely is a very good manager and I know people criticise him for the way he went on but look at what he achieved, Pat learnt off Dermot. I take some aspects out of them all. The only one I wouldn’t take anything from is Seán Connor.

02/03/2013, 5:47 PM
Christ have you enough midfielders there manic?

Didn't realise Lorcan Shannon re-signed, thought he worked very hard in a very poor DLK side for the second half of last season. Decent player but will he get many games?
Well he's one of two wingers in the entire squad so I think he will get his opportunities. I'd be more interested to see if Ebbe gets any games, probably not.

oriel
02/03/2013, 7:17 PM
http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/sport/irishfootball/article4821129.ece

Connor was a gangster, no other word could come close to a manager in LOI. Yet 4 clubs employed him, and I'm sure he was on a fair few bob at bohs, not sure Sligo as they were FD at the time, but I know he was on huge money at DLK.

Best wishes Steve Bruce indeed.

02/03/2013, 9:43 PM
Yet 4 clubs employed him, and I'm sure he was on a fair few bob at bohs, not sure Sligo as they were FD at the time, but I know he was on huge money at DLK.

Best wishes Steve Bruce indeed.We hired him first so we're exempt from any blame. It's the clubs who hired him afterwards that were at fault.

El-Pietro
03/03/2013, 5:44 AM
We hired him first so we're exempt from any blame. It's the clubs who hired him afterwards that were at fault.
you brought him in to the league! Its all your fault!

03/03/2013, 6:12 AM
you brought him in to the league! Its all your fault!
I think we can all agree that the only person who's truly to blame for Sean Connor is Satan himself. And Sligo.

noddy102
03/03/2013, 11:21 AM
Well he's one of two wingers in the entire squad so I think he will get his opportunities. I'd be more interested to see if Ebbe gets any games, probably not.

It appears you don't no your players all too well

Id suggest you have:
Dennehey
McCabe
O'Connor

and alternatives in Sheppard and Stewart who have played many a game out wide for Rovers.

Im expecting a reply of he's more of a no.10 etc., if that's the case, hold your type.

03/03/2013, 4:03 PM
I wouldn't consider McCabe or O'Connor wingers. They're wide midfielders. But you're right, I've never seen a game of football so what do I know?

21/03/2013, 10:48 PM
The now annual Dotsy video... :D

Mh6yDGw889Q