View Full Version : Signings and Re-signings

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

thomas72
25/01/2013, 11:14 AM
Papers saying were close to signing Stephen folan. Who??

superblueslfc
25/01/2013, 11:41 AM
21 year old centre back who Newcastle released last summer. I think he came from one of the Galway clubs originally.

kingpin4
25/01/2013, 12:10 PM
Papers saying were close to signing Stephen folan. Who??

Think he was playing with Newcastle, has had a few injury problems though. Heard he was training with Shamrock Rovers and Sligo too.
What's the story with bringing in players from the UK? Does all business have to be done by the close of the transfer window over there?

Bayern Munchies
25/01/2013, 4:51 PM
Yeah he was playing over at Newcastle think he's 20/21 and played right and center back for Newcastle I believe butt played as a center midfielder for Salthill at underage level he was a very handy player for them(Salthil) but that was when he was 16 so injuries could have taken a toll and from what I know he was very unlucky with injuries

25/01/2013, 7:25 PM
I am pretty sure that Stephen Folan played for Galway utd a few seasons back before going across the water

superblueslfc
26/01/2013, 1:27 PM
LOI blog saying Marc Griffin could be on his way to limerick according to their "sources" unlikely but would be a good signing.

26/01/2013, 1:51 PM
LOI blog saying Marc Griffin could be on his way to limerick according to their "sources" unlikely but would be a good signing.

Rumour was going about last week when it was said the Derry deal might fall through. Would be a good signing but other than the rumour he hasn't trained or anything.

NeverFeltBetter
26/01/2013, 1:51 PM
Who did they copy/paste that story from?

26/01/2013, 1:57 PM
Who did they copy/paste that story from?

Probably here. Most the stories and breaking news they put up is news a day late or a rumour up on foot.

kingpin4
26/01/2013, 7:24 PM
Probably here. Most the stories and breaking news they put up is news a day late or a rumour up on foot.

There's a game tomorrow I heard. I think it's in UL, but can't find out a time off anyone. Any idea?

26/01/2013, 8:08 PM
There's a game tomorrow I heard. I think it's in UL, but can't find out a time off anyone. Any idea?

Would prob have to be afternoon with the Astro bring used in the morning. Would love to get down for a look if anyone gets a time.

Jalna
26/01/2013, 9:18 PM
met one of the players about an hour ago and he said that there is a match tomorrow among themselves in UL. The players meeting at 11 so i presume the match is on around 12.30 or 1.

adamd164
27/01/2013, 1:50 PM
Dan Murray?

27/01/2013, 1:56 PM
Dan Murray?

Wouldn't be surprised to be linked with him but going by how he got on with yerselves I would think he would only be signed as back up which might not suit him. I wouldn't mind seeing us try sign Gavin Kavanagh, I don't think he has re-signed with ye yet?

adamd164
27/01/2013, 2:04 PM
No, apparently he's not going to re-sign. Good centre half who would do a job for you.

Our centre back pairing will likely be Kevin Murray and Darren Dennehy this season, with Kalen Spillane 3rd choice. I would have thought we'd want one more, but maybe if we sign another full back then we can shuffle things around and have someone else fill in if 2 of them are out.

leedsfan88
27/01/2013, 8:04 PM
No thanks to Dan Murray, he'd be another disaster like Guthrie...Murray is way too slow and with Paddy we'd be cut open week in week out

27/01/2013, 8:13 PM
No thanks to Dan Murray, he'd be another disaster like Guthrie...Murray is way too slow and with Paddy we'd be cut open week in week out

Well with Stephen Folan signed now it will add a bit more youth to the back.

Kelly, Purcell, Folan, Tracey looks like a good starting back 4.

27/01/2013, 8:21 PM
Can Murrey drive ride on lawn mowers or something?past it two years ago....not a hope of him comming our way thank f,,,k

bluewhitearmy
27/01/2013, 9:17 PM
Stephen Folan has signed.

Shane Tracy and Jeff Judge have re-signed great news.

Also a french left back and Axel played in a friendly today and turns out Axel is that lad that was at Hamilton that i think it was Kingpin found.

Gutted that Sean Brosnan is gone i must say.

28/01/2013, 12:23 AM
so, so far its
Ins
Stuart Taylor and assistant ????
Val Feeney (Athlone Town)
Stephen Folan (Newcastle utd)

Outs
Pat Scully
Alex Scully (Athlone town)
Mark Dempsey
Mick Sheil
Dave Ryan (St Patrick's Ath)
Corrie Tracey (Longford Town)
Denis Behan (Released)
Shane Guthrie (Released)
Paudie Quinn (Waterford Utd)
Sean Brosnan (Released)
Andrew Bhandarker (rumured to be gone to cobh)
Robert Klucier (hasnt been seen at training)

kingpin4
28/01/2013, 2:53 PM
so, so far its
Ins
Stuart Taylor and assistant ????
Val Feeney (Athlone Town)
Stephen Folan (Newcastle utd)

Outs
Pat Scully
Alex Scully (Athlone town)
Mark Dempsey
Mick Sheil
Dave Ryan (St Patrick's Ath)
Corrie Tracey (Longford Town)
Denis Behan (Released)
Shane Guthrie (Released)
Paudie Quinn (Waterford Utd)
Sean Brosnan (Released)
Andrew Bhandarker (rumured to be gone to cobh)
Robert Klucier (hasnt been seen at training)

Doesn't sound great when you put it like that! Bit disappointed Brosnan is gone.
I saw on twitter the assistant is Malky Thomson. ???

Anyone impress in the game yesterday Blueandwhitearmy?

28/01/2013, 3:21 PM
Doesn't look great that way but when you look at who has signed/re-signed it looks much better:

Rory Gaffney
Joe Gamble
Shaun Kelly
Stephen Bradley
Stephen McGann
Garbhan Coughlan
Dominic Foley
Shane Tracey
Jeffrey Judge
Stephen Folan
Dave O'Leary
Pat Purcell

With more training than that there are potentially a few more signing in the coming days.

bluewhitearmy
28/01/2013, 4:29 PM
Form what i hear the Portugese striker was awful, French left back was good but probably wont be kept. Was told by some that Axel was ok and others were very impressed with him so id say he will at least train more possibly play another match before a decision is made on him. Folan was the other that played he must have impressed.

Trevor Croly was in the papers today saying he was disappointed Folan didn't sign for them after he had been training with them.

28/01/2013, 5:51 PM
Potential staring 11 already of:

Cusack/Ryan (if one or both sign)

Kelly
Purcell
Folan
Tracey

Gamble
O'Leary
Bradley

Judge
Gaffney
Coughlan

That ain't a bad line up with the potential for a few more quality players to come into that team/squad.

bluewhitearmy
28/01/2013, 6:45 PM
Doesn't sound great when you put it like that! Bit disappointed Brosnan is gone.
I saw on twitter the assistant is Malky Thomson. ???

Anyone impress in the game yesterday Blueandwhitearmy?

He is he was at the match in UL. Ex Inverness CT assistant manager.

28/01/2013, 8:40 PM
According to this article he has been involved with Aberdeen, Hibs, Celtic, Dundee United, Inverness Caley Thistle and Birmingham

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/former-dundee-united-coach-malky-1069064

harpin
29/01/2013, 7:47 AM
Form what i hear the Portugese striker was awful, French left back was good but probably wont be kept. Was told by some that Axel was ok and others were very impressed with him so id say he will at least train more possibly play another match before a decision is made on him. Folan was the other that played he must have impressed.

Trevor Croly was in the papers today saying he was disappointed Folan didn't sign for them after he had been training with them.

Wasn't impressed with that Axel lad's touch in the warm-ups but to be fair to him he looked for the ball everytime in the match, Folan big and strong has the look of a player not much to do at the back so couldn't say how good he is.

gspain01
29/01/2013, 10:34 AM
According to this article he has been involved with Aberdeen, Hibs, Celtic, Dundee United, Inverness Caley Thistle and Birmingham

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/former-dundee-united-coach-malky-1069064

He was most recently at Rangers.

Dermotron
29/01/2013, 9:00 PM
Stephen McGann rumoured to be on trial at Wolves?

29/01/2013, 9:26 PM
Stephen McGann rumoured to be on trial at Wolves?

According to a lad on another thread he has had his trial and is signing this week.

dutchie
29/01/2013, 11:21 PM
They need to bring in players pronto,league not far away,might be battling relegation if the house isn't sorted soon!!!!

29/01/2013, 11:52 PM
Genuinely not worried about relegation.

Shels are poison.

Bray and Bohs look poor aswell.

El-Pietro
30/01/2013, 6:38 AM
Genuinely not worried about relegation.

Shels are poison.

Bray and Bohs look poor aswell.
Bray are the undead, they cannot be relegated.

30/01/2013, 2:30 PM
Bray are the undead, they cannot be relegated.

And for a long time, we could not be promoted. Things changing, the apocalypse is near.

LK37oldskool
30/01/2013, 4:26 PM
Malky Thomson appointed Assistant manager according to the Limerick Leader. Former coach at Birmingham City.

kingpin4
30/01/2013, 7:08 PM
Malky Thomson appointed Assistant manager according to the Limerick Leader. Former coach at Birmingham City.

Taylor seen at a couple of junior games over the weekend. Are they stuck for players or is he just running the eye over a few? From what I have heard, there are 5 players they are negotiating with from the UK

30/01/2013, 7:38 PM
Taylor seen at a couple of junior games over the weekend. Are they stuck for players or is he just running the eye over a few? From what I have heard, there are 5 players they are negotiating with from the UK

I'm sure he is out to see the standard and what kind of quality is on doorstep. He'd be foolish not to. I don't think we are really stuck for players but it seems maybe we are trying to get a bit of quality of quantity.

kingpin4
02/02/2013, 5:03 PM
I'm sure he is out to see the standard and what kind of quality is on doorstep. He'd be foolish not to. I don't think we are really stuck for players but it seems maybe we are trying to get a bit of quality of quantity.

Barry Ryan agrees terms
http://www.limerickfc.ie/terms-agreed-2
Brian O'Callaghan and Stephen Folan
http://www.limerickfc.ie/terms-agreed-3

Just my own opinion, but O'Callaghan is a funny one. The club are either short of options or else the guy has really proved his fitness so far. I hope it's the latter and he can get back to what he used to be like...

02/02/2013, 5:16 PM
I would have been dodgy about O Callaghan too but from what I have heard he has been training hard and is trying to get his fitness way up. A fit O Callaghan would be an excellent addition.

bluewhitearmy
02/02/2013, 5:28 PM
O'Callaghan is ridiculously fit lads. He has put in some serious serious work to get from the injury he had to where he is now deserves a chance imo. In the best shape hes been in since he first signed for us.

Shannonsider
04/02/2013, 1:51 PM
Brian O' Callaghan is a very good addition to the squad. Looks to have got really fit and has lost a lot of weight. His experience will be vital. Still need another defender or two.

bluewhitearmy
09/02/2013, 8:59 PM
If the rumours of Anthony Elding and Vinny Faherthy are true they would be 2 very good signings.

09/02/2013, 9:43 PM
http://www.thisisgrimsby.co.uk/Anthony-Elding-leaves-Grimsby-Town-Irish-Premier/story-18090457-detail/story.html#axzz2KRNafm6l

09/02/2013, 10:05 PM
His attitude looks shocking going by his twitter. Potential to be a top signing for us though.

NeverFeltBetter
09/02/2013, 10:12 PM
Frequent one-seasoner, but that's par for the course for many LoI players.

bluewhitearmy
09/02/2013, 10:19 PM
His attitude looks shocking going by his twitter. Potential to be a top signing for us though.

Seems grand when he is playing regularly doesnt handle not playing well though.

09/02/2013, 11:27 PM
Seems grand when he is playing regularly doesnt handle not playing well though.

Probably one of these lads that likes to be the star man. No harm in that if he can do the business. Seems to have split the Grimsby fans but that means he must have done something right.

Faherty would be a good singing also. I have always thought he was a handy striker and he has plenty of Premier experience now.

kingpin4
11/02/2013, 9:48 AM
Danny Galbraith trained with Limerick over the weekend. Surely he won't sign? He must have a pile of offers from the UK...

CraftyToePoke
11/02/2013, 9:59 AM
Danny Galbraith trained with Limerick over the weekend. Surely he won't sign? He must have a pile of offers from the UK...

Looking at his Wiki he has an awful injury record.

11/02/2013, 10:41 AM
Ya injury record could be going against him. Like Folan though Limerick could be seen as an opportunity to get his career back on track. If he trained at the weekend I would think they have been in talks with him for a few weeks now.