View Full Version : Signings and Re-signings

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

kingpin4
02/01/2013, 8:15 PM
Shane Tracy and Dave O'Leary playing for PFAI team tonight.

Tis true
pic.twitter.com/Zf2hUhlN

02/01/2013, 8:56 PM
Shane Tracy and Dave O'Leary playing for PFAI team tonight.

Wouldn't be surprised if O'Leary gets an offer. It will have to be from someone with a few bob though so that rules out a fair few teams.

NeverFeltBetter
04/01/2013, 9:05 PM
Is Gaffney gone for sure then? I'm hearing Sligo mentioned a lot in regards his immediate future.

thomas72
05/01/2013, 12:18 PM
Pat o Sullivan just said on radio gaffney has agreed a two year deal and it was agreed a month ago.

Jalna
05/01/2013, 12:28 PM
Thats great news. Did he name the new manager? if he didnt, why not? and did he mention any other players signing or have signed

NeverFeltBetter
05/01/2013, 12:28 PM
That's great news!

bluewhitearmy
05/01/2013, 1:25 PM
Pat o Sullivan just said on radio gaffney has agreed a two year deal and it was agreed a month ago.

According to Rory himself he had heard nothing from the club up until yesterday.

Asked about Sligo was he going there and was it near and he said no. Hopefully he has signed a new deal.

Jalna
06/01/2013, 1:16 PM
So rory is treated the same as everyone else. As i said before that last years squad have been treated badly. The likes of rory should have been approached half way through last season to sign an extension. regardless of whom the board wanted as manager whether it was scully or a new manager , they were always going to want the players that were performing the best. Rory would be one of these.

06/01/2013, 3:07 PM
So rory is treated the same as everyone else. As i said before that last years squad have been treated badly. The likes of rory should have been approached half way through last season to sign an extension. regardless of whom the board wanted as manager whether it was scully or a new manager , they were always going to want the players that were performing the best. Rory would be one of these.

The club have done that in the past re approaching players half way though the season. There may have been a reason why they either didn't this year or that they did but players didn't want to re-sign early.

bluewhitearmy
08/01/2013, 10:53 PM
Corie Treacy to Longford confirmed on the main transfer thread.

09/01/2013, 12:37 AM
A pity Corie is gone. It looks like we now need most likely 3 new centre backs.

Jalna
09/01/2013, 11:32 AM
sorry to see him go. wishing him all the best in longford.

Jalna
09/01/2013, 2:16 PM
On the Star newspaper today Shane Tracey said that the manager [stuart taylor] has been in contact with him and has said go and have a good tournament and stay injury free. Its good to know that the manager has been working already even before he is officially unveiled.

Jalna
10/01/2013, 11:50 AM
This morning the irish team drew 1 each with Norway (stephen maher) penalty. But beaten in the penalty shoot out 6 5. Shane tracey scored one of the penaltys.

NeverFeltBetter
10/01/2013, 1:41 PM
I didn't realise the PFAI team would be playing again the same day, but Shane Tracey just scored a penalty against Finland according to the PFAI Twitter.

kingpin4
10/01/2013, 11:55 PM
I didn't realise the PFAI team would be playing again the same day, but Shane Tracey just scored a penalty against Finland according to the PFAI Twitter.

Gaffney re-signed according to twitter.

bluewhitearmy
11/01/2013, 1:04 AM
Gaffney re-signed according to twitter.

Rory Gaffney ‏@RoryGaffney_ (https://twitter.com/RoryGaffney_)
Signed for Limerick again this evening for the coming season.. Looking forward to my first season in the premier..

Targetman
11/01/2013, 8:12 AM
Darren Dennehy is set to sign according to the indo. Then the usual stuff linking us to Eamon Zayed and Evan McMillan, which I can't see happening.

gspain01
11/01/2013, 8:41 AM
Great news re Rory Gaffney.

11/01/2013, 8:51 AM
Darren Dennehy is set to sign according to the indo. Then the usual stuff linking us to Eamon Zayed and Evan McMillan, which I can't see happening.

Who's Darren Dennehy?

Targetman
11/01/2013, 9:03 AM
Who's Darren Dennehy?

I was thinking the same thing. According to the paper he is a centre back that played with Everton before and was released from Barnet last summer. Younger brother of Rovers Billy Dennehy

11/01/2013, 9:08 AM
I was thinking the same thing. According to the paper he is a centre back that played with Everton before and was released from Barnet last summer. Younger brother of Rovers Billy Dennehy

Could be promising as we need a young centre back.

Jalna
11/01/2013, 4:26 PM
O Leary on the Star today said that he is hopeful a deal will be done. Just like Shane Tracey a couple of days ago talks are due with Stuart Taylor.I hope these talks dont drag out as a good preseason is essential for everyone.

skybluelimk
11/01/2013, 6:19 PM
Id like to see gary shanahan added to panel .. can see him coming good after scoring 6 or 7 goals last season in the prem . He still looks to be free so why not ? What ye think .? How about looking at former limk fc player john McGrath. Captain with burton albion and back playing well after injury .. would bring great experience to the club . And out of contract as far as I know at end of season.

da bishop
11/01/2013, 7:44 PM
not retaining corrie tracy a surprise,good last season,potential to be even better.

bluewhitearmy
11/01/2013, 10:58 PM
not retaining corrie tracy a surprise,good last season,potential to be even better.

It wasn't the clubs choice for him to go he decided himself he wouldnt wait for new manager wanted to get sorted asap.

bluewhitearmy
12/01/2013, 1:26 PM
Darren Dennehy has signed for Cork.

14/01/2013, 1:05 PM
It wasn't the clubs choice for him to go he decided himself he wouldnt wait for new manager wanted to get sorted asap.

He jumped the gun imo. I suppose Longford is closer to home and perhaps he feels he'll be more comfortable in the First Division?

Jalna
14/01/2013, 2:05 PM
y ou cant blame corrie as he is unemployed and he wanted his football career sorted out asap. In todays economic climate you want to find out as quickly as possible where your next few euros are coming from. You can understand others if there are others,who decide to do the same.The announcement is over where the manager is concerned, but we are no nearer knowing who his assistants are or who is signing or who is signing back. Hopefully good news soon.

bluewhitearmy
15/01/2013, 1:32 PM
Any clue who the 3 Waterford lads are that trained with us i know who 2 are. Also when did Dave O'Leary supposedly train with Cork?

harpin
15/01/2013, 2:06 PM
Do the team train up at Aisling on Saturday mornings, went up there last week and it was full of kids

bluewhitearmy
15/01/2013, 2:15 PM
Do the team train up at Aisling on Saturday mornings, went up there last week and it was full of kids

Trained in LIT for both training sessions so far.

harpin
15/01/2013, 2:23 PM
Trained in LIT for both training sessions so far.

Thanks if you know what time and day could you post it, wouldn't mind seeing what Taylor is all about

bluewhitearmy
15/01/2013, 2:51 PM
I know they are training tonight trying to find out a time myself wanna get a look too.

15/01/2013, 4:58 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Es-RIBnba8

kingpin4
15/01/2013, 5:41 PM
Any clue who the 3 Waterford lads are that trained with us i know who 2 are. Also when did Dave O'Leary supposedly train with Cork?

There are 3? I heard Seamus Long was a possibility but didnt realise there were 3 lads up. Who are they? Any other new faces?

15/01/2013, 5:59 PM

Don't know exactly, I would presume Mernagh, Long and Burns.

According to cork fans he was training with them last night. Tommy Dunne has been trying to get O'Leary the last two seasons. I can see why he would want to sign for them being his home town club but I can't see them paying the compensation. Hopefully the club sort him soon.

As far as I know Behan is still waiting to hear from the club but he may have heard from them in he last week or so. If they don't want him I think they should just say it straight out and if they do then get him up training with the lads.

bluewhitearmy
15/01/2013, 6:33 PM
Don't know exactly, I would presume Mernagh, Long and Burns.

According to cork fans he was training with them last night. Tommy Dunne has been trying to get O'Leary the last two seasons. I can see why he would want to sign for them being his home town club but I can't see them paying the compensation. Hopefully the club sort him soon.

As far as I know Behan is still waiting to hear from the club but he may have heard from them in he last week or so. If they don't want him I think they should just say it straight out and if they do then get him up training with the lads.

Not sure how true it is but i was told that everyone from last season was asked back so Taylor could get a look at em, if that is the case Denis may just want to leave.

I reckon as soon as Dave is old enough that they dont have to pay compensation we will lose him to Cork with him being a Cork fan and all.

The 2 Wateford lads i know of are Long and Mernagh.

kingpin4
16/01/2013, 12:25 AM
Not sure how true it is but i was told that everyone from last season was asked back so Taylor could get a look at em, if that is the case Denis may just want to leave.

I reckon as soon as Dave is old enough that they dont have to pay compensation we will lose him to Cork with him being a Cork fan and all.

The 2 Wateford lads i know of are Long and Mernagh.

Who decides how much the compensation is?
I think we'll lose Behan if he's trained with Cork and hasn't been back to Limerick yet.

harpin
16/01/2013, 8:14 AM
Who decides how much the compensation is?
I think we'll lose Behan if he's trained with Cork and hasn't been back to Limerick yet.

O'Leary not Behan

El-Pietro
16/01/2013, 8:26 AM
On the 14th of January. Friend of mine saw him there, along with Denis.

16/01/2013, 12:53 PM
So did anyone manage to get up to the training session last night for a look?

harpin
16/01/2013, 1:20 PM
So did anyone manage to get up to the training session last night for a look?

Didn't find out a time or venue...is it a secret? Wouldn't mind knowing the story with Saturday morning will give me something to do

kingpin4
16/01/2013, 4:14 PM
Didn't find out a time or venue...is it a secret? Wouldn't mind knowing the story with Saturday morning will give me something to do

I think they are training tonight, I don't know what time, but I'd say its the usual time they used to train last season, like half 6 or around that.

I meant Behan too, I believe he's close to signing with Cork. It's a pity if true, it will be hard to find another player who does the job that he does. Stephen O'Flynn might be making a return yet ;)

bluewhitearmy
16/01/2013, 4:29 PM
I think they are training tonight, I don't know what time, but I'd say its the usual time they used to train last season, like half 6 or around that.

I meant Behan too, I believe he's close to signing with Cork. It's a pity if true, it will be hard to find another player who does the job that he does. Stephen O'Flynn might be making a return yet ;)

Ya i was told today that it was changed to tonight, still no idea what time though.

bluewhitearmy
17/01/2013, 1:37 AM
Found out what time training was on just before it tonight headed out. No Guthrie or Behan there and 5 new lads training including the 2 from Waterford mentioned already no Craig Burns who has been mentioned.

kingpin4
17/01/2013, 10:29 AM
Found out what time training was on just before it tonight headed out. No Guthrie or Behan there and 5 new lads training including the 2 from Waterford mentioned already no Craig Burns who has been mentioned.

Who were the 5? And will any of them improve the team?

17/01/2013, 1:32 PM
Graham Gartland, Dylan Mernagh, Seamus Long and Gary Shanahan are who I know. They are all defenders barr Shanahan though. I'd say all four would be good additions but nothing amazing. Mernagh has only had one season of LOI at first division level, Shanahan played premier for a year but is still young so unsure, Long is decent but was sent off four times last year and untested at premier as far as I know. Gartland has bags of experience and would be the best addition of the lot.

17/01/2013, 1:50 PM
Gartland has bags of experience and would be the best addition of the lot.

Not based on last year's performances for Rovers he wouldn't (and I say that haven't never seen the other 3).

bluewhitearmy
17/01/2013, 1:51 PM
Ex Dundalk man Micheal Daly is the other. Mernagh would be a good signing imo he looked very very good last season and has the potential to get better, Gartland id also be very happy with for his experience and he is a good solid defender.
Id be less sure about Long as he never really stood out in the first maybe he would be good as a squad player because he can play a few positions. Id personally be disappointed if we signed Shannahan . Been too long since i seen Daly to have any opinion on him but as far as i know he was decent when he was at Dundalk.